DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendment after non-final filed 21 April 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the 35 USC 102(a)(1) rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 12-16, 19, and 20 as being anticipated under Sanghera et al. (US Publication no. 2019/0299010) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Sanghera et al. fails to teach that the one or more cardiac metrics are correlated with a pain state of the patient. Nor does Sanghera et al. teach that the electrical signal is delivered to non-cardiac anatomical element. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sanghera et al. (US Publication no. 2019/0299010) in view of Srivastava et al. (US Publication no. 2018/0193650).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 12-16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanghera et al. (US Publication no. 2019/0299010 – previously cited) in view of Srivastava et al. (US Publication no. 2018/0193650).
In regard to claim 1, Sanghera et al. disclose a system for identifying and reducing noise in a therapeutic procedure, comprising:
a pulse generator 102 configured to generate a therapeutic electrical signal (figure 3, para 62-68);
one or more leads 312/314 in communication with the pulse generator and configured to transmit the therapeutic electrical signal to a plurality of electrodes (para 66);
the plurality of electrodes in communication with the one or more leads 312/314 (para 66-67), the plurality of electrodes configured to apply the therapeutic electrical signal to an anatomical element of a patient and configured to measure a physiological response (para 68, a plurality of electrodes are utilized to create sensing and delivery vectors);
a processor (para 65, controller 302 includes a processor); and
a memory storing data for processing by the processor (para 64, controller 32 includes storage 308) the data, when processed, causes the processor to (para 64, electronic storage 308 can store instructions configured to be implemented by the controller to control the functions of pulse generator 102):
measure, via one or more of the plurality of electrodes, one or more signals with cardiac activity of the patient (para 174, 192);
identify one or more sources of noise that are distorting the one or more signals with cardiac activity (para 193-195, many sources of noise may corrupt cardiac signal detection, signal preparation 1702 apply filters to these signals to identify noise contained within these signals);
reduce the one or more sources of noise from the one or more signals with cardiac activity (para 194-195, signal preparation 1702 prepares the signals by applying hardware filters 1710, software filters 1712 and gain amplifiers 1714 for removing noise or interference signals 1706 detected by sensors of the cardiac pacing system);
determine one or more aggregate cardiac-derived metrics and/or save processed cardiac data based at least in part on the one or more signals with cardiac activity with the one or more sources of noise reduced (para 193, determine which signals are acceptable for use and then select the preferred signals for downstream sensing algorithms, wherein the “acceptable for use” signals are the “processed cardiac data with noise reduced”, and statement that “selects” preferred signals from acceptable signal implies that the acceptable signals are “set-aside” or “saved” in order to select which preferred signals are suitable for processing by downstream algorithms); and
determine one or more parameters for applying the therapeutic electrical signal to the anatomical element based at least in part on the one or more aggregate cardiac-derived metrics and/or saved processed cardiac data (para 226-227, the cardiac pacing system can use the resultant processed sensing signal(s) to analyze whether pacing a patient's heart is appropriate. Accurately sensing atrial and ventricular activity enables the cardiac pacing system to assess the need for therapy delivery, and the appropriate pacing mode for the patient).
Sanghera et al. is considered to describe the invention as claimed, however does not teach that the one or more aggregate cardiac-derived metrics based at least in part on the one or more signals with cardiac activity with the one or more sources of noise reduced, wherein the one or more aggregate cardiac-derived metrics are correlated with a pain state of the patient; and determine one or more parameters for applying the therapeutic electrical signal to the non-cardiac anatomical element to address the pain state of the patient based at least in part on the one or more aggregate cardiac-derived metrics.
Srivastava et al. describes a system and technique for pain management based on cardiovascular parameters. As part of the pain management technique, Srivastava et al. appears to acquire one or more aggregate cardiac derived metrics that include pulse wave parameters, arterial pulsative activity, or ECG based electrical activity. Srivastava et al. teach that the aggregate cardiac derived metrics are then correlated to patient pain such as through sympathetic and parasympathetic nervous system control and used to quantify patient pain (para 98, 100, 105; the references teaches that cardiac activity may be correlated to an increase in sympathetic tone when a pain episode occurs). Srivastava et al. then applies therapeutic electrical neurostimulation to non-cardiac anatomical elements such as the spinal cord, deep brain structures, peripheral nerves, vagus nerve etc (para 46) that can adaptively control the delivery of pain therapy by automatically adjusting stimulation parameters based on the pain score.
Modifying the system and method of Sanghera et al. to correlate the one or more aggregate cardiac derived metrics to a pain state and then to apply therapeutic stimulation to a non-cardiac anatomical element to address the pain is considered to have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since this feature is explicitly taught by Srivastava et al. The modification is considered to comprise the application of a known technique to a known device to yield an improvement in the treatment of an intended disorder.
In regard to claim 2, Sanghera et al. teaches that the memory stores further data for processing by the processor that, when processed, causes the processor to: process one or more portions of the one or more signals with cardiac activity, the one or more portions corresponding to time points when the one or more sources of noise are expected to occur after the therapeutic electrical signal is applied to the anatomical element (para 224, the smart switch algorithm can anticipate the inappropriateness of the signal selection based on the detected event and prophylactically switches to alternative sensing signal(s)). Additionally, it is found that Srivastava et al. applies therapeutic electrical neurostimulation to non-cardiac anatomical elements such as the spinal cord, deep brain structures, peripheral nerves, vagus nerve etc (para 46).
In regard to claim 9, Sanghera et al. teach that the data stored in the memory that, when processed causes the processor to reduce the one or more sources of noise from the one or more signals with cardiac activity further causes the system to: filter the one or more signals with cardiac activity to reduce the one or more sources of noise (para 200, software filters can be executed by one or more processors of the cardiac pacing system, such as being embodied in controller of pulse generator; Software filters 1712 can be executed by one or more processors of a programmer wherein it is considered that the software filter is data stored in the storage element 308 to be executed by the processor).
In regard to claim 12, Saghera et al. teach that the one or more signals with cardiac activity of the patient are measured using a continuously running noise filter, wherein the noise filter is adjusted when the one or more sources of noise meet or exceed a predetermined threshold, wherein the adjusted noise filter uses more power than the non-adjusted noise filter (para 207, at 1734, a determination is made as to whether the signal meets the one or more criteria being assessed 1732. In response to a determination that the signal does not meet the criteria, no additional filter changes are required, and the signal is ready to be passed to downstream algorithms. At 1736, in response to a determination that the signal does meet the criteria, a determination can be made as to whether to alter the dynamic filter response).
In regard to claim 13, Sanghera et al. is equipped to output, via a user interface (programmer 320), the one or more aggregate cardiac-derived metrics and/or the saved processed cardiac data, wherein the one or more parameters for applying the therapeutic electrical signal to the anatomical element are determined based at least in part on outputting the one or more aggregate cardiac-derived metrics and/or the saved processed cardiac data (para 71-73 and 202, programmer is used by a clinician to define how signals are sensed and therapy is delivered, additionally the programmer may be programmed to enable a user or automatically modify its filtering upon meeting certain conditions). Additionally, it is found that Srivastava et al. applies therapeutic electrical neurostimulation to non-cardiac anatomical elements such as the spinal cord, deep brain structures, peripheral nerves, vagus nerve etc (para 46).
In regard to claim 14, Sanghera et al. teach that the one or more signals with cardiac activity are measured when the patient is stationary or in a specific position (para 208, dynamic filtering assessments when obtaining patient input during the setup procedure for normalizing the cardiac pacing system, especially when conducting, for example, posture analysis, exercising, and the like; para 258, such signals are used to create templates that reflect the template when the patient is in different postures, has different heart rates, for different sense vectors, and for other like parameters. Furthermore, the selection of the appropriate template for comparison can be automatically updated based upon factors including pacing mode, heart rate, posture, time of day or other measures of the input signals). Additionally, Srivastava et al. teaches that the cardiovascular signals that may be correlated to pain include heart rate signals and heart rate variability signals (para 57).
In regard to claim 15, Sanghera et al. teaches that the one or more sources of noise are caused by the patient walking or moving, a stimulation artifact, environmental noise, evoked compound action potential activity, evoked compound muscle action potential activity, or a combination thereof (para 176; accelerometers ca be used to identify potential noise in signals; para 194, noise may come from muscle tissue movements.
In regard to claim 16, Sanghera et al. disclose a system for identifying and reducing noise in a therapeutic procedure, comprising:
a processor (para 65, controller 302 includes a processor); and
a memory storing data for processing by the processor (para 64, controller 32 includes storage 308) the data, when processed, causes the processor to (para 64, electronic storage 308 can store instructions configured to be implemented by the controller to control the functions of pulse generator 102):
measure, via one or more of the plurality of electrodes, one or more signals with cardiac activity of the patient (para 174, 192);
identify one or more sources of noise that are distorting the one or more signals with cardiac activity (para 193-195, many sources of noise may corrupt cardiac signal detection, signal preparation 1702 apply filters to these signals to identify noise contained within these signals);
reduce the one or more sources of noise from the one or more signals with cardiac activity (para 194-195, signal preparation 1702 prepares the signals by applying hardware filters 1710, software filters 1712 and gain amplifiers 1714 for removing noise or interference signals 1706 detected by sensors of the cardiac pacing system);
determine one or more aggregate cardiac-derived metrics and/or save processed cardiac data based at least in part on the one or more signals with cardiac activity with the one or more sources of noise reduced (para 193, determine which signals are acceptable for use and then select the preferred signals for downstream sensing algorithms, wherein the “acceptable for use” signals are the “processed cardiac data with noise reduced”, and statement that “selects” preferred signals from acceptable signal implies that the acceptable signals are “set-aside” or “saved” in order to select which preferred signals are suitable for processing by downstream algorithms); and determine one or more parameters for applying the therapeutic electrical signal to the anatomical element based at least in part on the one or more aggregate cardiac-derived metrics and/or saved processed cardiac data (para 226-227, the cardiac pacing system can use the resultant processed sensing signal(s) to analyze whether pacing a patient's heart is appropriate. Accurately sensing atrial and ventricular activity enables the cardiac pacing system to assess the need for therapy delivery, and the appropriate pacing mode for the patient).
Sanghera et al. is considered to describe the invention as claimed, however does not teach that the one or more aggregate cardiac-derived metrics based at least in part on the one or more signals with cardiac activity with the one or more sources of noise reduced, wherein the one or more aggregate cardiac-derived metrics are correlated with a pain state of the patient; and determine one or more parameters for applying the therapeutic electrical signal to the non-cardiac anatomical element to address the pain state of the patient based at least in part on the one or more aggregate cardiac-derived metrics.
Srivastava et al. describes a system and technique for pain management based on cardiovascular parameters. As part of the pain management technique, Srivastava et al. appears to acquire one or more aggregate cardiac derived metrics that include pulse wave parameters, arterial pulsative activity, or ECG based electrical activity. Srivastava et al. teach that the aggregate cardiac derived metrics are then correlated to patient pain such as through sympathetic and parasympathetic nervous system control and used to quantify patient pain (para 98, 100, 105; the references teaches that cardiac activity may be correlated to an increase in sympathetic tone when a pain episode occurs). Srivastava et al. then applies therapeutic electrical neurostimulation to non-cardiac anatomical elements such as the spinal cord, deep brain structures, peripheral nerves, vagus nerve etc (para 46) that can adaptively control the delivery of pain therapy by automatically adjusting stimulation parameters based on the pain score.
Modifying the system and method of Sanghera et al. to correlate the one or more aggregate cardiac derived metrics to a pain state and then to apply therapeutic stimulation to a non-cardiac anatomical element to address the pain is considered to have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since this feature is explicitly taught by Srivastava et al. The modification is considered to comprise the application of a known technique to a known device to yield an improvement in the treatment of an intended disorder.
In regard to claim 19, Sanghera et al. disclose a system for identifying and reducing noise in a therapeutic procedure, comprising:
a pulse generator 102 configured to generate a therapeutic electrical signal (figure 3, para 62-68);
one or more leads 312/314 in communication with the pulse generator and configured to transmit the therapeutic electrical signal to a plurality of electrodes (para 66);
the plurality of electrodes in communication with the one or more leads 312/314 (para 66-67), the plurality of electrodes configured to apply the therapeutic electrical signal to an anatomical element of a patient and configured to measure a physiological response (para 68, a plurality of electrodes are utilized to create sensing and delivery vectors);
wherein the therapeutic electrical signal is applied to the anatomical element (para 226-227, the cardiac pacing system can use the resultant processed sensing signal(s) to analyze whether pacing a patient's heart is appropriate. Accurately sensing atrial and ventricular activity enables the cardiac pacing system to assess the need for therapy delivery, and the appropriate pacing mode for the patient) according to one or more parameters determined from one or more aggregate cardiac metrics and/or saved processed cardiac data derived from one or more signals with cardiac activity measured via one or more of the plurality of electrodes (para 193, determine which signals are acceptable for use and then select the preferred signals for downstream sensing algorithms, wherein the “acceptable for use” signals are the “processed cardiac data with noise reduced”, and statement that “selects” preferred signals from acceptable signal implies that the acceptable signals are “set-aside” or “saved” in order to select which preferred signals are suitable for processing by downstream algorithms), the one or more signals with cardiac activity having one or more sources of noise reduced from the one or more signals with cardiac activity (para 194-195, signal preparation 1702 prepares the signals by applying hardware filters 1710, software filters 1712 and gain amplifiers 1714 for removing noise or interference signals 1706 detected by sensors of the cardiac pacing system).
Sanghera et al. is considered to describe the invention as claimed, however does not teach that the one or more aggregate cardiac-derived metrics based at least in part on the one or more signals with cardiac activity with the one or more sources of noise reduced, wherein the one or more aggregate cardiac-derived metrics are correlated with a pain state of the patient; and determine one or more parameters for applying the therapeutic electrical signal to the non-cardiac anatomical element to address the pain state of the patient based at least in part on the one or more aggregate cardiac-derived metrics.
Srivastava et al. describes a system and technique for pain management based on cardiovascular parameters. As part of the pain management technique, Srivastava et al. appears to acquire one or more aggregate cardiac derived metrics that include pulse wave parameters, arterial pulsative activity, or ECG based electrical activity. Srivastava et al. teach that the aggregate cardiac derived metrics are then correlated to patient pain such as through sympathetic and parasympathetic nervous system control and used to quantify patient pain (para 98, 100, 105; the references teaches that cardiac activity may be correlated to an increase in sympathetic tone when a pain episode occurs). Srivastava et al. then applies therapeutic electrical neurostimulation to non-cardiac anatomical elements such as the spinal cord, deep brain structures, peripheral nerves, vagus nerve etc (para 46) that can adaptively control the delivery of pain therapy by automatically adjusting stimulation parameters based on the pain score.
Modifying the system and method of Sanghera et al. to correlate the one or more aggregate cardiac derived metrics to a pain state and then to apply therapeutic stimulation to a non-cardiac anatomical element to address the pain is considered to have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since this feature is explicitly taught by Srivastava et al. The modification is considered to comprise the application of a known technique to a known device to yield an improvement in the treatment of an intended disorder.
In regard to claim 20, Sanghera et a. teach that the one or more sources of noise are caused by the patient walking or moving, a stimulation artifact, environmental noise, evoked compound action potential activity, evoked compound muscle action potential activity, or a combination thereof (para 176; accelerometers ca be used to identify potential noise in signals; para 194, noise may come from muscle tissue movements).
Claim(s) 3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanghera et al. (US Publication no. 2019/0299010 – previously cited in view of Srivastava et al. (US Publication no. 2018/0193650), further in view of Sholder (US Patent no. 4,974,589 – previously cited).
In regard to claim 3 and 17, Sanghera et al. in view of Srivastava et al. describes the invention as claimed, however does not teach that the one or more portions of the one or more signals with cardiac activity are blanked immediately before, during, and/or after individual pulses of the therapeutic electrical signal are applied to the anatomical element. Sholder teaches that is known in the art to utilized blanking intervals in a pacemaker disable sensing channels following delivery of stimulation pulse in order to avoid sensing noise (col 2 lines 43-54). In view of this, it is considered to have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to blank a cardiac signals before, during, or after a therapeutic pulse since the technique is explicitly taught as being conventional and well known in the art by Sholder. The modification is considered to comprise the application of a known technique to a known device to yield a predictable result. Additionally, it is found that Srivastava et al. applies therapeutic electrical neurostimulation to non-cardiac anatomical elements such as the spinal cord, deep brain structures, peripheral nerves, vagus nerve etc (para 46).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanghera et al. (US Publication no. 2019/0299010 – previously cited) in view of Srivastava et al. (US Publication no. 2018/0193650), and Sholder (US Patent no. 4,974,589 – previously cited), further in view of Schie et al. (US Publication no. 2015/0045684 – previously cited).
In regard to claim 4, Sanghera et al. in view of Srivastava et al. and Sholder suggest the invention as claimed, however do not teach that the one or more portions of the one or more signals with cardiac activity are processed based at least in part on a template subtraction method, spectral filtering, wavelet filtering, or a combination thereof. Schie et al. teaches that wavelet decomposition is a common technique for filtering cardiac signals (para 40). Therefore the modification to implement in the software/hardware filters of Sanghera et al. a wavelet decomposition algorithm is considered to have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as the application of a known technique to a known device to yield a predictable result. Moreover, the template subtraction method and spectral filtering are considered suitable alternative equivalents of wavelet filtering that one of ordinary skill in the art may substitute.
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanghera et al. (US Publication no. 2019/0299010 – previously cited) in view of Srivastava et al. (US Publication no. 2018/0193650), further in view of Karantonis et al. (US Publication no. 2019/0239768 – previously cited).
In regard to claims 5, 6, and 19, Sanghera et al. in view of Srivastava et al. describe the invention as claimed, however does not teach that the he memory stores further data for processing by the processor that, when processed, causes the processor to: generate one or more growth curves based at least in part on applying the therapeutic electrical signal to the anatomical element; determine a threshold based at least in part on the one or more growth curves, wherein the one or more aggregate cardiac-derived metrics are collected when evoked signals are below the determined threshold; and perform signal processing for stimuli that evoke signals larger than the threshold to measure the one or more signals with cardiac activity, wherein the one or more sources of noise are reduced based at least in part on performing the signal processing for stimuli that evoke signals larger than the threshold, wherein the stimuli that evoke signals larger than the threshold comprise stimulation amplitudes for added processing. Karantonis et al. teaches and depicts in figures 10 and 11, generate one or more growth curves based at least in part on applying the therapeutic electrical signal to the anatomical element; determine a threshold based at least in part on the one or more growth curves, wherein the one or more aggregate cardiac-derived metrics are collected when evoked signals are below the determined threshold; and perform signal processing for stimuli that evoke signals larger than the threshold to measure the one or more signals with cardiac activity, wherein the one or more sources of noise are reduced based at least in part on performing the signal processing for stimuli that evoke signals larger than the threshold, wherein the stimuli that evoke signals larger than the threshold comprise stimulation amplitudes for added processing (para 85, the stimulus threshold, above which compound action potentials are being evoked by the applied stimuli, is a critical parameter for most neuromodulation applications, the slope of the growth curve above the stimulus threshold, another critical parameter in many neuromodulation applications, is much less affected by noise). Therefore it is considered to have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to derive growth curve since Karantonis et al. demonstrates that growth curves are well known for to estimate thresholds for which as stimulus evokes a response. The modification is considered to comprise the application of a known technique to a known device to yield predictable results.
Additionally, it is found that Srivastava et al. applies therapeutic electrical neurostimulation to non-cardiac anatomical elements such as the spinal cord, deep brain structures, peripheral nerves, vagus nerve etc (para 46).
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanghera et al. (US Publication no. 2019/0299010 – previously cited) in view of Srivastava et al. (US Publication no. 2018/0193650), further in view of Vallejo et al. (US Publication no. 2020/0353256 – previously cited).
In regard to claim 7, Sanghera et al. in view of Srivastava et al. describe the invention as claimed, however does not teach that the data stored in the memory that, when processed causes the processor to reduce the one or more sources of noise from the one or more signals with cardiac activity further causes the system to: cycle one or more parameters used for applying the therapeutic electrical signal to the anatomical element and/or one or more parameters for measuring the one or more signals with cardiac activity between ‘on’ phases and ‘off’ phases, wherein the one or more signals with cardiac activity are measured during the ‘off’ phases. The present specification teaches that this technique is known in the art as differential target multiplexing “DTM” (para 61 and 91, DTM leverages cycling off times to record the signals). Vallejo et al. incorporates DTM for pain treatment. In view of this, it is considered to have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to cycle one of more parameters when reducing noise in the collected signal since Vallejo et al. teaches that this technique known as “DTM” is commonly applied in the art. The modification would comprise the application of a known technique to a known device to yield an improvement in noise reduction. Additionally, it is found that Srivastava et al. applies therapeutic electrical neurostimulation to non-cardiac anatomical elements such as the spinal cord, deep brain structures, peripheral nerves, vagus nerve etc (para 46).
In regard to claim 8, Vallejo et al. further teaches that the DTM technique comprises applying the therapeutic electrical signal to the anatomical element using a combination of high frequency and/or low frequency stimulations and/or high and/or low amplitudes, and the ‘off’ phases comprise applying the therapeutic electrical signal to the anatomical element using low frequency stimulations, lower ratios of cycling, low amplitudes, or a combination thereof (para 8). The limitations are considered to comprise conventional aspects of the DTM technique. Additionally, it is found that Srivastava et al. applies therapeutic electrical neurostimulation to non-cardiac anatomical elements such as the spinal cord, deep brain structures, peripheral nerves, vagus nerve etc (para 46).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanghera et al. (US Publication no. 2019/0299010 – previously cited) in view of Srivastava et al. (US Publication no. 2018/0193650), further in view of Kogure (US Publication no. 2019/0159695 – previously cited).
In regard to claim 10, Sanghera et al. in view of Srivastava et al. describe the invention as claimed, however does not teach that the data stored in the memory that, when processed causes the processor to reduce the one or more sources of noise from the one or more signals with cardiac activity further causes the system to: identify time points when the one or more signals with cardiac activity have been corrupted by the one or more sources of noise; and remove portions of the one or more signals with cardiac activity corresponding to the identified time points to reduce the one or more sources of noise from the one or more signals with cardiac activity. Kogure teaches that to reduce the one or more sources of noise identifies time points when the one or more signals with cardiac activity have been corrupted by the one or more sources of noise; (para 60-61, an evaluating unit evaluates the reliability of the biological information value on the basis of an amplitude and variation of waveforms after filtering, and if there is variation in the amplitude, the reliability evaluating unit determines that the reliability is relatively low; the features or amplitude or variation are considered to comprise time points in the signal). It is considered that the hardware/software filters of Sanghera et al. can remove the low reliability signals identified by Kogure in order to improve reliability and accuracy of sensed signals. In view of this, it is considered to have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art time points in a signal that are corrupted as determined by Kogure into the filtering technique of Sanghera et al. in order to remove signal of low reliability. The modification would comprise the application of a known technique to a known device to yield an improvement in signal processing.
In regard to claim 11, the technique of Kogure as relied on above teaches that the time points are identified based at least in part on time intervals when a given R-R interval is non-physiological and/or differs from R-R intervals detected for preceding heartbeats by a defined threshold (para 61, Kogure determines variations in R-R- interval variability).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN T GEDEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796 22 June 2026