DETAILED ACTION
EXAMINER RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
The amendment filed May 21, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8, and 15
are currently amended. Claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 remain as previously presented. Applicant's arguments
concerning the prior rejection have been considered. The prior rejection is withdrawn to the extent it did not account for the limitations added to claims 1, 8, and 15. The following rejections are newly made.
Response to Applicant's Arguments
Applicant's arguments concerning the former combination are persuasive only to the extent that the former rejection did not expressly account for the newly added relationship between UE information, the SSB-association condition of the BWP, and configuration of the BWP for SDT. The former rejection is therefore withdrawn and replaced by the rejections above.
The present rejection does not rely merely on unrelated disclosures of capability reporting and BWP configuration. Shih teaches the specific context of configuring and using a BWP for SDT and associating that BWP with downlink reference signals. Kwak teaches the missing capability-responsive relationship: the UE supplies information indicating reduced-capability operation, the network configures the UE's operating BWP based on that information, and an NCD-SSB is enabled within the configured BWP while the CD-SSB is outside it. Tsai supplies the express RSRP-based SDT decision, SSB-selection, and timing-advance teachings applied to claims 7 and 14.
Although Kwak calls the UE transmission a first control message indicating entry into a
reduced-capability mode rather than using the words "UE capability information," the message
communicates the UE's supported operating mode and directly controls the BWP configuration returned by the network. In the proposed combination, that capability-responsive BWP is the BWP configured for Shih's SDT procedure. The amended relationship is therefore taught by the combined references.
References
Shih et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0022276 A1 ("Shih"), filed July 9, 2021,
claiming priority to July 15, 2020, and published January 20, 2022.
Kwak et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0354225 A1 ("Kwak"), filed April 29, 2022 and published November 2, 2023. Kwak is relied upon under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2), subject to any applicable
exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2).
Tsai et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0417983 A1 ("Tsai"), filed June 23, 2022, claiming priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/214,507, filed June 24, 2021, and published December 29, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih in view of Kwak.
Claims 1-6
Regarding claim 1, Shih teaches a method performed by a UE for configuring and using an uplink bandwidth part for small data transmission. In particular, Shih teaches determining whether a UL BWP for SDT is configured and, when it is configured, performing the SDT procedure on that BWP. Shih further teaches configuring the UL BWP for SDT through system information or a dedicated RRC message, including RRCRelease, and storing the configuration in the UE Inactive AS context. Thus, Shih teaches
receiving, by the processor, a configuration associated with the BWP for SDT from the network node ( Shih,paragraphs [0436]-[0439]).
Shih further teaches that the RRC layer may indicate to a lower layer that the SDT procedure is to be performed on the UL BWP for SDT; that the UE may receive an RRCRelease message identifying the BWP for a configured-grant SDT procedure; and that the network may identify a particular UL BWP for SDT in dedicated RRC signaling and the UE may perform SDT on the indicated BWP. Accordingly, Shih teaches initiating, by the processor, an SDT procedure on the BWP according to the configuration. (Shih, paragraphs[0441], [0449], and [0468]-[0470]).
Shih also teaches that each UL BWP in a set of UL BWPs for SDT may be associated with one or more downlink reference signals and that the UE may select the UL BWP based on measurements and the reference-signal quality of those associated signals. (Shih, paragraphs [0472]-[0473]). Shih therefore teaches a BWP configured for SDT and an association between that SDT BWP and synchronization/reference signaling. Shih does not expressly teach transmitting UE capability information
to the network node, the capability information indicating support for the specifically claimed
SSB-association condition, or configuring the SDT-BWP configuration based on that capability information.
Kwak teaches transmitting, by a processor of an apparatus, UE capability information to a network node of a wireless network. Specifically, the UE transmits a first control message indicating that it is entering a reduced-capability or enhanced-reduced-capability mode, and the network receives that message. (Kwak, paragraphs [0020], [0036], and [0106]. The indication communicates the UE's supported operating mode and therefore constitutes UE capability information for purposes of the claimed functional language).
Kwak further teaches that a reduced-capability UE may operate on a BWP narrower than the
serving-cell bandwidth; that the cell-defining SSB may be outside the UE's operating BWP; and that an NCD-SSB may be configured, scheduled, or enabled inside that operating BWP. ( Kwak, paragraphs [0048]-[0052] and [0107]). Kwak therefore teaches the claimed condition of synchronization signal block association, including an operating BWP associated with an NCD-SSB while the CD-SSB is outside the BWP.
Kwak additionally teaches that, in response to receiving the UE's first control message, the network identifies and configures the UE's operating bandwidth and transmits a second control message configuring that bandwidth. (Kwak, paragraphs [0020], [0036], and [0106]). Kwak therefore teaches that the configuration is configured based on the UE capability information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply Kwak's capability-responsive reduced-capability BWP and in-BWP NCD-SSB arrangement to Shih's BWP
used for SDT. Shih expressly configures and uses a BWP for SDT and associates SDT BWPs with downlink reference signals. Kwak expressly configures a reduced-capability UE's operating BWP based on information transmitted by the UE and enables an NCD-SSB within that BWP when the CD-SSB is outside it. The proposed modification would have allowed a reduced-capability UE to perform Shih's SDT procedure within its supported operating bandwidth while using an in-BWP synchronization/reference signal. Kwak identifies the predictable benefits of avoiding RF retuning outside the operating BWP, avoiding the
resulting interruption or throughput loss, and improving resource utilization. Kwak, paragraphs
[0050]-[0052]. The combination uses each teaching for its established function and would have produced predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. zfIn the resulting combination, the UE transmits information indicating its reduced-capability operating
support; the network configures the corresponding BWP based on that information; the configured BWP has the claimed NCD-SSB/CD-SSB association; and that BWP is used as Shih's BWP for SDT. The combination therefore teaches UE capability information indicates that the apparatus supports using a BWP with a condition of SSB association for SDT, receiving the corresponding SDT-BWP configuration, the configuration being configured based on the UE capability information, and initiating SDT on that BWP according to the configuration.
Regarding claim 2, Kwak teaches a CD-SSB transmitted outside the reduced-capability UE's operating BWP and an NCD-SSB configured, scheduled, or enabled inside that BWP. (Kwak, paragraphs [0049]-[0052] and [0107]. When that operating BWP is used as Shih's BWP for SDT as set forth above, the combination
teaches the BWP is associated with no cell-defining SSB or is associated with NCD-SSB, and the configuration includes one or more NCD-SSBs associated with the BWP for SDT. The alternatives recited in claim 2 are therefore taught or suggested.)
Regarding claim 3, Kwak teaches configuring the operating BWP after the UE indicates
reduced-capability operation, with the CD-SSB outside that BWP and an NCD-SSB inside it. Kwak, paragraphs [0020], [0048]-[0052], and [0106]-[0107]. The combined system therefore receives the SDT-BWP configuration when the BWP contains no CD-SSB or is a reduced-capability, i.e., RedCap-specific, BWP, as alternatively recited.
Regarding claim 4, Shih expressly teaches that SDT is performed in RRC_INACTIVE and enables the UE to transmit data without first entering RRC_CONNECTED. Shih, paragraphs [0424]-[0425]. Shih further teaches storing the UL-BWP-for-SDT configuration in the UE Inactive AS context and performing CG-SDT or RA-SDT on the configured BWP. Shih, paragraphs [0438], [0449], [0520], and [0529]. Because claim 4 recites RRC inactive, idle, or connected state in the alternative, Shih's express RRC_INACTIVE disclosure
satisfies the limitation.
Regarding claim 5, Shih expressly teaches that the SDT procedure may be a configured-grant SDT procedure and separately teaches a RACH-based or random-access SDT procedure. Shih, paragraph [0449] and paragraphs [0529]-[0535]. Shih therefore teaches the recited RA-SDT procedure or CG-SDT procedure.
Regarding claim 6, Shih expressly teaches that the BWP-for-SDT configuration or indication may be
provided to and received by the UE in an RRCRelease message. Shih, paragraphs [0438]-[0439], [0449], and [0529].
Regarding claim 8, Shih teaches an apparatus including a communication device usable as a UE, a transceiver that transmits and receives wireless signals, and a CPU/control circuit that executes program code and controls operation of the device and transceiver. Shih, paragraphs [0044]-[0045]. Shih therefore teaches a transceiver which, during operation, wirelessly communicates with a network node of a wireless network and a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver and configured to perform the disclosed operations.
For the reasons stated for claim 1, Kwak teaches the processor/transceiver operation of transmitting UE capability information to the network node; Shih in view of Kwak teaches that the information indicatessupport for using an SDT BWP having the claimed SSB-association condition; Shih teaches receiving, via the transceiver, a configuration associated with the BWP for SDT from the network node; Kwak teaches that the configuration is configured based on the UE capability information; and Shih teaches initiating an SDT procedure on the BWP according to the configuration. Shih, paragraphs [0436]-[0439], [0441], [0449], and [0468]-[0473]; Kwak, paragraphs [0020], [0036], [0048]-[0052], and [0106]-[0107]. It would have
been obvious to configure Shih's disclosed UE apparatus to perform the combined operations for the reasons stated for claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Kwak teaches the CD-SSB outside the reduced-capability operating BWP and the NCD-SSB inside that BWP. Kwak, paragraphs [0049]-[0052] and [0107]. Applying that arrangement to Shih's BWP for SDT teaches the alternatively recited SSB-association conditions and NCD-SSB configuration.
Regarding claim 10, Kwak configures the operating BWP in response to the UE's reduced-capability
indication, with the CD-SSB outside the BWP and the NCD-SSB inside it. Kwak, paragraphs [0020],
[0048]-[0052], and [0106]-[0107]. The combined apparatus therefore receives the configuration under at least the claimed RedCap-specific-BWP/no-CD-SSB condition.
Regarding claim 11, Shih expressly teaches initiating and performing SDT while the UE is in RRC_INACTIVE. Shih, paragraphs [0424]-[0425]. Shih further teaches use of the configured BWP for CG-SDT
and RA-SDT. Shih, paragraphs [0438], [0449], [0520], and [0529]. RRC_INACTIVE is one of the alternatives
recited in claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Shih expressly teaches CG-SDT and RA-SDT procedures. (Shih, paragraph [0449] and paragraphs [0529]-[0535].)
Regarding claim 13, Shih expressly teaches receiving the BWP-for-SDT configuration or indication via RRCRelease ( Shih, paragraphs [0438]-[0439], [0449], and [0529]).
Regarding claim 15, Kwak teaches a network entity receiving a first control message from the UE indicating reduced-capability operation. Kwak, paragraphs [0036] and [0106]. Shih's communication device may be used to implement the network and includes a CPU/control circuit and transceiver. (Shih, paragraph [0044]). The references therefore teach receiving, by a processor of a network node, UE capability information from an apparatus.
For the reasons stated for claim 1, Shih in view of Kwak teaches that the received information indicates support for using a BWP having the claimed SSB-association condition for SDT. Shih, (paragraphs [0436]-[0439] and [0472]-[0473]; Kwak, paragraphs [0048]-[0052] and [0106]-[0107]).
Shih teaches the network transmitting, by the processor, a configuration associated with the BWP for SDT to the apparatus in dedicated RRC signaling. (Shih, paragraphs [0438]-[0439] and [0469]-[0470]). Kwak teaches that the network configures the operating bandwidth in response to and based on the UE's reduced-capability indication.( Kwak, paragraphs [0036] and [0106]). Shih further teaches the network-configured BWP being used for the CG-SDT or RA-SDT exchange. (Shih, paragraphs [0436]-[0439], [0449], [0470], and [0529]).
Thus, the combination teaches performing, by the processor, an SDT procedure with the apparatus on the BWP, wherein the SDT procedure is initiated according to the configuration. The rationale stated for claim 1 applies equally to the reciprocal network-side method of claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, Kwak teaches the CD-SSB outside and the NCD-SSB inside the reduced-capability operating BWP. (Kwak, paragraphs [0049]-[0052] and [0107]). Applying that arrangement to Shih's BWP for SDT teaches the alternatively recited SSB-association conditions and NCD-SSB configuration.
Regarding claim 17, Kwak teaches the network transmitting the capability-responsive BWP configuration after receiving the UE's reduced-capability indication, with the CD-SSB outside and the NCD-SSB inside the operating BWP. ( Kwak, paragraphs [0020], [0036], [0048]-[0052], and [0106]-[0107). The combination therefore transmits the SDT-BWP configuration under the claimed no-CD-SSB or RedCap-specific-BWP condition.
Regarding claim 18, Shih expressly teaches initiating and performing SDT while the UE operates in RRC_INACTIVE. Shih, paragraphs [0424]-[0425]. Shih further teaches use of the configured BWP for CG-SDT and RA-SDT. (Shih, paragraphs [0438], [0449], [0520], and [0529]). This satisfies one of the alternatively recited RRC states.
Regarding claim 19, Shih expressly teaches that the SDT procedure may be CG-SDT or RA-SDT. (Shih, paragraph [0449] and paragraphs [0529]-[0535]).
Regarding claim 20, Shih expressly teaches the network transmitting the BWP-for-SDT configuration or indication to the UE via RRCRelease. (Shih, paragraphs [0438]-[0439], [0449], and [0529]).
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih in view of Kwak as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Tsai.
Claims 7 and 14 each require at least one of three alternatively listed operations. Tsai teaches determining whether to initiate an SDT procedure, including RA-SDT or CG-SDT, based on RSRP and expressly teaches initiating SDT when RSRP exceeds an SDT threshold. Tsai, paragraphs [0065] and [0068]. Kwak teaches monitoring and measuring the NCD-SSB positioned within the reduced-capability UE's operating BWP. Kwak, paragraphs [0052] and [0121]-[0124]. Therefore, Tsai in view of Kwak teaches
or suggests performing an RSRP measurement based on the NCD-SSBs to determine whether to perform the SDT procedure.
Tsai additionally teaches an SDT-specific RSRP threshold for SSB selection in RA-SDT and teaches configuring and applying an RSRP threshold to select an SSB and corresponding resource for CG-SDT. Tsai,paragraphs [0139]-[0142] and [0199]-[0203]. Tsai further teaches selecting the highest-RSRP SSB for CG-SDT. Tsai, paragraphs [0328]-[0331]. In view of Kwak's measurement of the in-BWP NCD-SSB, the combination teaches performing an RSRP measurement based on the NCD-SSBs to determine which SSB to select for RA-SDT and CG-SDT.
Tsai also teaches determining that timing advance for CG-SDT is valid, validating the CG resource using TA validity and a TA timer, and starting or restarting a CG-SDT time-alignment timer based on a TA configuration or TA command. Tsai, paragraphs [0022]-[0023], [0078]-[0081], and [0382]-[0383]. In the combined reduced-capability implementation, Kwak's in-BWP NCD-SSB supplies the measured beam/reference signal used with Tsai's TA-validity process. This teaches or suggests the additionally recited alternative of maintaining TA alignment and TA timer validation for SDT based on the NCD-SSBs. Thus, It would have been obvious to use Kwak's in-BWP NCD-SSB as the SSB measured in Tsai's RSRP-based
SDT decision and SSB-selection procedures. Tsai and Kwak both address UE measurement and control operations used to support communications on a configured operating bandwidth. Substituting the available in-BWP NCD-SSB for an out-of-BWP CD-SSB would have preserved Tsai's threshold-based decision and beam-selection functions while avoiding the RF retuning, communication interruption, and throughput loss identified by Kwak. The modification therefore would have produced predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/ANGEL T BROCKMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2412