DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the Amendment filed 10 August 2026. Claims 1-19, 21 are now pending. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1-19 and newly added claim 21.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
-Claim 1 recites “one or more implanted helical wire structure second electrode” in line 11. Examiner recommends amending to – one or more implanted helical wire structure second electrodes—
-Claim 1 recites “wherein the one or more stimulation” in line 18. Examiner recommends amending to –and wherein the one or more stimulation—
-Claim 3 recites “to assist” in line 4. Examiner recommends removing the extra space after “to”.
-Claim 4 recites “the user-when” in line 5. Examiner recommends amending to –the user when—
-Claim 4 recites “processes…and trigger” in lines 6-7. Examiner recommends amending to –processes…and triggers—
-Claim 5 recites “configured to” in line 2. Examiner recommends removing the extra space after “configured”.
-Claim 6 recites “that configured to allow” in line 3. Examiner recommends amending to –that are configured to allow—
-Claim 8 recites “wherein the at least one sensor are” in line 2. Examiner recommends amending to –wherein the at least one sensor is—
-Claim 18 recites “and improved perfusion of abdomen” in line 3. Examiner recommends amending to –and improved perfusion of the abdomen—
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
-Claim 1 recites “recorder device” which is a generic placeholder. There is no sufficient structure for this limitation provided in the claims. The function of this limitation is to capture the acceleration or the change of the acceleration of the user. According to the specification the sensors includes memory, non-transitory storage device, RAM/EPROM [0075] and equivalents thereof.
-Claim 13 recites “transporting device” which is a generic placeholder. There is no sufficient structure for this limitation provided in the claims. The function of this limitation is to automate an ability of the user to activate muscle pumps utilizing an augmentative device. According to the specification the transporting device includes aircraft, airplane, watercraft and land craft [0057] and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-Claim 1 recites “the electrical stimulation signals from the at least one first electrode” in lines 13-14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
-Claim 1 recites “the acceleration and the change of the acceleration of the user” in lines 22-23. It is unclear whether this limitation requires both the acceleration and the change of the acceleration since the claim originally listed “an acceleration or a change of the acceleration” listed in the alternative in lines 2-3. Further clarification should be provided.
-Claim 1 recites “a recorder device operatively connected to the at least one sensor and the one or more stimulation signal generators and said recorder device enabled to capture the acceleration and the change of the acceleration of the user and initiation of the application of the electric currents to the at least one helical wire structure second electrodes” in lines 20-26. It is unclear whether this limitation is listing all connections and capabilities of the recorder device, or a separate embodiment. It appears this limitation could alternatively read –a recorder device operatively connected to the at least one sensor and the one or more stimulation signal generators, wherein said recorder device is enabled to capture the acceleration, the change of the acceleration of the user and initiation of the application of the electric currents to the at least one helical wire structure second electrodes.—
-Claim 3 recites “said muscle pump” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
-Claim 4 recites “a mechanical band enabled” in line 3. It is unclear whether this is the same or different from “a mechanical band” originally referenced in claim 3, line 2. Further clarification should be provided.
-Claim 4 recites “an electrical measurement (EMG) band” in line 1. It is unclear whether EMG is required by this limitation due to the nature of being more limiting than just electrical measurement. Further clarification should be provided.
-Claim 4 recites “fast and forced exhalation of the user” in lines 4-5. It is unclear what is required by this limitation due to the use of the relative terms “fast and forced”. Further clarification should be provided to identify whether this is referring to a specific measurement or characteristic of exhalation or a separate embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
-Claim 1 recites “one or more implanted helical wire structure electrode placed inside the user” in line 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10, 11, 13, 16, 18, 19, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annicelli (U.S. 20100256704) in view of Paz (U.S. 20210138232) and in further view of Oehler (U.S. 10588571).
Regarding Claim 1, Annicelli teaches an electrically assisted muscle pumping system [Abstract], comprising:
at least one sensor to measure an acceleration or a change of the acceleration of a user in at least one dimension [Fig. 1, element 109 “Sensor”] and [0020];
a processor operatively coupled with the at least one sensor [Fig. 1, element 109 “Regulator”], wherein the processor is configured to register an orientation of the user based on the acceleration of the user [0022];
at least one first electrode integrated into a pressure suit of the user and operatively connected to one or more stimulation signal generators and said stimulation signal generators are configured to generate electrical stimulation signals [Fig. 1, elements 101-107 (electrodes) and 109 “Stimulator”]; and
the one or more stimulation signal generators operatively coupled with the processor, wherein the one or more stimulation signal generators are to apply electric currents to the at least one first electrode [0022; “System 100 or a kit may have a regulator (in box 109), for automatically regulating stimulation, in direct relation to the magnitude of acceleration.”];
Annicelli is silent on and one or more implanted helical wire structure second electrode placed inside the user so as to receive the electrical stimulation signals from the at least one first electrode and transmit the electrical stimulation signals to one or more tissue targets; a recorder device operatively connected to the at least one sensor and the one or more stimulation signal generators and said recorder device enabled to capture the acceleration and the change of the acceleration of the user and initiation of the application of the electric currents to the at least one helical wire structure second electrodes. Paz teaches and one or more implanted helical wire structure second electrode placed inside the user [Fig. 3, elements 26a-b], [0182] and [0206]; so as to receive the electrical stimulation signals from the at least one first electrode and transmit the electrical stimulation signals to one or more tissue targets [0240] and [0191].
a recorder device operatively connected to the at least one sensor and the one or more stimulation signal generators and said recorder device enabled to capture the acceleration and the change of the acceleration of the user [0245]—describes the controller device requiring memory for the variations of processors and [0306] and initiation of the application of the electric currents to the at least one helical wire structure second electrodes [0031]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use implantable electrodes and recording functionality as taught by Paz to provide electrical stimulation to a user as suggested by Annicelli, as Annicelli discusses the disadvantages of using Anti-G Straining Maneuvers (AGSM) such as response time, bulk, weigh, thermal burden and distractions [0003-0004] with Paz because Paz teaches the described device being controlled manually or automatically to generate inducing muscle action and can be integrated into a suit or any wearable garment [0271 and 0239].
Annicelli and Paz are silent on whether the implanted helical wire structure second electrode(s) are operatively connected to the at least one first electrode using capacitive and resistive coupling. Oehler teaches a second electrode is operatively connected to a first electrode using capacitive and resistive coupling [Fig. 4], [Col 4, lines 4-19], and [Col 8, lines 6-16]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use capacitive and resistive coupling between electrodes as taught by Oehler to integrate into the combination of devices as suggested by Annicelli, and Paz, as Annicelli discusses connecting cables between electrodes [0020] and Paz which discloses the use of resistor [0290] and capacitance meters [0291] with Oehler because Oehler teaches implementation of a 2-channel electrode system [Col 8, lines 6-9].
Regarding Claim 2, Annicelli further teaches wherein the one or more stimulation signal generators are fitted to at least one of: a leg of said pressure suit, both legs of said pressure suit, an abdomen of said pressure suit, both the legs and the abdomen of said pressure suit, a thorax of said pressure suit, and a mid and lower back of said pressure suit [0016] and [Fig. 2, element 110 (garment/suit)].
Regarding Claim 3, Annicelli further teaches wherein the at least one sensor determines at least one of: a weight of the user and the orientation of the user and said weight of the user and the orientation of the user is used to drive said muscle pump to assist with blood pressure control based on the acceleration of the user [0016].
Regarding Claim 4, Annicelli is silent on further comprising an electrical measurement (EMG) band or a mechanical band and said electrical measurement (EMG) band or a mechanical band enabled to measure a circumference of a thorax of the user and capture measure fast and forced exhalation of the user when the user inhales and exhales, wherein the processor processes the fast and forced exhalation of the user and trigger the one or more stimulation signal generators. Paz teaches further comprising an electrical measurement (EMG) band or a mechanical band and said electrical measurement (EMG) band or a mechanical band enabled to measure a circumference of a thorax of the user and capture measure fast and forced exhalation of the user when the user inhales and exhales, wherein the processor processes the fast and forced exhalation of the user and trigger the one or more stimulation signal generators [0283]—describes use of EMG to measure muscle activity, and [0115]—reference to the wearable device placed around the thorax. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate EMG devices as taught by Paz to convey thorax, abdomen and trunk related information to the system as suggested by Annicelli, as Annicelli discusses a wearable device placed around a human abdomen [Fig. 4, element 320] with Paz because Paz teaches using this EMG information to differentiate healthy patients from PD patients [0378].
Regarding Claim 6, Annicelli is silent on wherein the one or more stimulation signal generators determine electrical waveforms of the electric currents that configured to allow for contraction of muscles of the user, and send pulsatile application of the electrical waveforms to the at least one helical wire structure second electrode. Paz teaches wherein the one or more stimulation signal generators determine electrical waveforms of the electric currents that configured to allow for contraction of muscles of the user, and send pulsatile application of the electrical waveforms to the at least one helical wire structure second electrode [0159]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate vary electrical stimulation as taught by Paz in response to specific variables as suggested by Annicelli, as Annicelli discusses a stimulation delivered in response to variables other than acceleration [0024] with Paz because Paz teaches the output signal may be based on an electrical circuit, or may be based on a generated or stored digital data [0159].
Regarding Claim 7, Annicelli further teaches wherein the electrical waveforms are at least one of: signals of 20 Hz, signals of 50 Hz, burst signals of 200 to 300 Hz, signals up to 1.5 kHz, and signals of at least 100 kHz or more [Table 1, “Stim 200 Hz” and “Stim 100 Hz”].
Regarding Claim 8, Annicelli is silent on wherein the at least one sensor are selected from any one or a combination of: an audio sensor, an electromyography (EMG) sensor, and a stretch sensor and said at least one sensor is placed in a cockpit of an airplane or the pressure suit of the user, such that the user provides an audio command to activate or modify the pulsatile application of the electrical waveforms. Paz teaches wherein the at least one sensor are selected from any one or a combination of: an audio sensor [0222], an electromyography (EMG) sensor [0115], and a stretch sensor and said at least one sensor is placed in a cockpit of an airplane or the pressure suit of the user, such that the user provides an audio command to activate or modify the pulsatile application of the electrical waveforms (not interpreted to be required by the claim). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use audio, EMG or stretch sensors as taught by Paz to measure various parameters as suggested by Annicelli, as Annicelli discusses a sensor electrically connected to a pressurized suit [Fig. 3, element 200] with Paz because Paz teaches a sensor may provide an electrical output signal in response to a physical, chemical, biological or any other phenomenon, serving as a stimulus to the sensor [0164].
Regarding Claim 10, Annicelli is silent on wherein the pulsatile application of the electrical waveforms are varied with changing gravitational forces that cause the user to accelerate. Paz teaches wherein the pulsatile application of the electrical waveforms are varied with changing gravitational forces that cause the user to accelerate [0169]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary electrical stimulation as taught by Paz to refer to gravitational forces as suggested by Annicelli, as Annicelli discusses increasing blood pressure via electrical stimulation of muscle groups at normal gravity [0028] with Paz because Paz teaches a sensor may provide an electrical output signal in response to a physical, chemical, biological or any other phenomenon, serving as a stimulus to the sensor [0164].
Regarding Claim 11, Annicelli further teaches further comprising an external driver that is configured to be placed into a pocket of the pressure suit and connected to one or more cables woven within the pressure suit [Fig. 1, element 109 (component box), 108 (cables), 110 (garment)] and [0020; “During flight, Box 109 could be attached to some point on a flight suit (not shown) or on a cockpit surface, for example.”]
Regarding Claim 13, Annicelli further teaches wherein the electrically assisted muscle pumping system is integrated into the pressure suit of the user or coupled to a transporting device via a data link or an electrical or electromagnetic coupling [0020].
Regarding Claim 16, Annicelli further teaches wherein the system is used to prevent gravity-induced loss of consciousness [0020], [0003]—description of G-LOC as one of the side effects of acceleration, and [0015].
Regarding Claim 18, Annicelli is silent on wherein the system is configured to provide an improved perfusion of abdomen and the legs to combat at least one of: restless leg syndrome, diabetic peripheral neuropathy, cold legs and/or hands, and nociceptive pain. Paz teaches wherein the system is configured to provide an improved perfusion of abdomen and the legs to combat at least one of: restless leg syndrome, diabetic peripheral neuropathy, cold legs and/or hands, and nociceptive pain [0115]—reference to stimulation in the abdomen, thorax and legs, [0407]—description of treatment peripheral neuropathy in reference to Sarcoidosis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat patients with the described symptoms and medical conditions as taught by Paz to stimulate muscles to counter the effects of long duration flights as suggested by Annicelli, as Annicelli discusses preventing DVT and decreased venous blood pooling [0024-0025] with Paz because Paz teaches applying comfortable electrical impulses transmitted to the patient to modify the pain perspective [0369].
Regarding Claim 19, Annicelli teaches wherein the electrically assisted muscle pumping system enables the user to automatically activate said electrically assisted muscle pumping system to reduce cognitive load on the user [0020]—references the attachment of the device to the cockpit surface and [0021].
Regarding Claim 21, Annicelli teaches wherein the electrically assisted muscle pumping system enables the user to activate said electrically assisted muscle pumping system to reduce cognitive load on the user [0020]—references the attachment of the device to the cockpit surface and [0021].
Claim(s) 5, 12, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annicelli (U.S. 20100256704) in view of Paz (U.S. 20210138232) and in further view of Oehler (U.S. 10588571) and in even further view of Lyons (U.S. 10124172).
Regarding Claim 5, Annicelli, Paz, and Oehler are silent on wherein the one or more stimulation signal generators are configured to automatically engage muscles that pump venous blood against centrifugal or gravitational forces from deep inside a leg and an abdomen of the user and move the venous blood back towards the heart of the user based on the acceleration of the user. Lyons teaches wherein the one or more stimulation signal generators are configured to automatically engage muscles that pump venous blood against centrifugal or gravitational forces from deep inside a leg and an abdomen of the user and move the venous blood back towards the heart of the user based on the acceleration of the user [Col 8, lines 52-65] and [Col 10, lines 8-35]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use muscle pumping stimulation parameters to prevent syncope and symptoms of syncope as taught by Lyons to stimulate muscles to counter the effects of long duration flights as suggested by Annicelli, Paz, and Oehler, as Annicelli discusses preventing G-LOC through muscle activation [0003], Paz which discusses close physiological monitoring of the heart [0275], and Oehler which discusses the use of the electrodes to monitor heart rate and other variable biosignals [Col 4, lines 1-4] with Lyons because Lyons teaches the correlation of loss of consciousness with blood pressure and perfusion [Col 1, lines 10-46].
Regarding Claim 12, Annicelli, Paz and Oehler are silent on wherein the one or more implanted helical wire structure second electrodes are configured to be injected to be in close proximity to the one or more tissue targets. Lyons teaches wherein the one or more implanted helical wire structure second electrodes are configured to be injected to be in close proximity to the one or more tissue targets [Col 8, lines 52-65] and [Col 10, lines 8-35] and [Col 16, lines 45-52]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to inject electrodes in close proximity of the nerves of the user as taught by Lyons to stimulate muscles to counter the effects of long duration flights as suggested by Annicelli and Paz, as Annicelli discusses use of transcutaneous nerve stimulation [0029], Paz which discusses the branching structure of nerves in the face stimulation by the electrical stimulation [0332] and Oehler which discloses the use of signal generators to generate first and second injection signals fed from the injection electrodes [Abstract] with Lyons because Lyons teaches the body in healthy individuals detecting a decrease in blood pressure and increase and decrease in parasympathetic outflow from the central nervous system [Col 1, lines 35-40].
Regarding Claim 17, Annicelli, Paz and Oehler are silent on wherein the system is configured to stabilize the user and ensures perfusion of brain and inner organs of the user. Lyons teaches wherein the system is configured to stabilize the user and ensures perfusion of brain and inner organs of the user [Col 11, lines 17-28]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include blood pressure considerations as taught by Lyons to ensure sufficient circulation and blood flow in the user as suggested by Annicelli, Paz, and Oehler as Annicelli discusses preventing blood pooling and DVT [0024] and Paz which discusses monitoring blood pressure [0217] and Oehler which discloses recording electrical biosignals from a biosignal source [Abstract] with Lyons because Lyons teaches correlation between blood pressure and syncope events [Col 1, lines 27-46].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annicelli (U.S. 20100256704) in view of Paz (U.S. 20210138232) in further view of Oehler (U.S. 10588571) and in even further view of Wijting (U.S. 8620438).
Regarding Claim 9, Annicelli, Paz and Oehler are silent on wherein the one or more stimulation signal generators are configured to drive the pulsatile application of the electrical waveforms in one or more locations of the body of the user in response to sensing a reduction in acceleration forces by the at least one sensor. Wijting teaches wherein the one or more stimulation signal generators are configured to drive the pulsatile application of the electrical waveforms in one or more locations of the body of the user in response to sensing a reduction in acceleration forces by the at least one sensor [Col 4, lines 34-50]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control electrical stimulation in response to acceleration as taught by Wijting to stimulate muscles and cause movement of the muscles as suggested by Annicelli, Paz, and Oehler, as Annicelli discusses recruiting muscle fibers for increased muscular contraction [0025], Paz which discusses various muscle contractions [0016] and Oehler which discloses embedding the electrodes in textile structures [Col 3, lines 18-21] with Wijting because Wijting teaches the use of electrical stimulation to cause muscle and limb movement [Abstract].
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annicelli (U.S. 20100256704) in view of Paz (U.S. 20210138232) in further view of Oehler (U.S. 10588571) and in even further view of Chernomorsky (U.S. 20150045675).
Regarding Claim 14, Annicelli, Paz and Oehler are silent on wherein the at least one helical wire structure second electrode comprise a radiopaque element made of a metal or a wire on an outside edge or face of the at least one helical wire structure second electrode. Chernomorsky teaches wherein the at least one helical wire structure second electrode comprise a radiopaque element made of a metal or a wire on an outside edge or face of the at least one helical wire structure second electrode [0138]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include radiopaque elements as taught by Chernomorsky to track trajectory, position and orientation as suggested by Annicelli, Paz, and Oehler, as Annicelli discusses positioning electrodes to be in contact with a person’s skin [0023], Paz which discusses the use of medical imaging in typical diagnosis [0387] and Oehler which discloses establishing galvanic contact with the skin [Col 3, lines 19-21] with Chernomorsky because Chernomorsky teaches facilitating imaging to determine characteristics such as depth, rotational alignment and instrument alignment [0138].
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annicelli (U.S. 20100256704) in view of Paz (U.S. 20210138232) and in further view of Oehler (U.S. 10588571) and in even further view of Dickau (U.S. 20030034902).
Regarding Claim 15, Annicelli, Paz, and Oehler are silent on wherein an activation of the system is triggered by a manual input to allow the user to initiate controlled increase in blood volume and venal blood pressure to temporarily treat hypotensive effects. Dickau teaches wherein an activation of the system is triggered by a manual input to allow the user to initiate controlled increase in blood volume and venal blood pressure to temporarily treat hypotensive effects [0042], [0040], [0044], and [0045].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow for manual triggering of the blood flow control system as taught by Dickau to prevent pooling and control blood pressure as suggested by Annicelli, Paz, and Oehler, as Annicelli discusses prevention of blood pooling in peripheral body regions [0024], Paz which discusses monitoring blood pressure in the body [0217] and Oehler which discloses the use of input variables and impedances [Col 9, lines 4-7] with Dickau because Dickau teaches control over the G suit and inflation system by any one of the doctor, pilot or automatic pilot [0045].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 August 2026 with respect to the specification, abstract, and claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive however, new claim objections are presented in light of the amendments. The previous specification and
Applicant's arguments filed 10 August 2026 with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive however, new rejections are
presented in light of the amendments for claims 1-4. Despite the amendments, these claims contain limitations which lack antecedent basis and/or are indefinite. See the body of the rejection for more information.
Applicant's arguments filed 10 August 2026 with respect to 35 U.S.C. 101
rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive for claims 5, 6, 9, 12, 14, 17, 18. Claims 1 and 2 contain limitations that are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. Please see the body of rejection in regards to these limitations.
Applicant’s arguments filed 10 August 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-4, 6-8, 11, 13, 16, 18, 19 under 35 U.S.C.103 have been fully considered and are persuasive, however, new rejections are presented above in light of the amendments for claims 1-4, 6-8, 11, 13, 16, 18, 19 and newly added claims 21.
Regarding Claim 1, applicant contends that the invention of Annicelli in view of Paz:
(1) does not have a first electrode in communication with an implanted at least one helical wire structure second electrode capacitive and resistive coupling, and
(2) does not provide for a two electrode system wherein the second electrode is a flexible helical wire implanted electrode.
Examiner agrees with assertion (1) and introduces the new grounds of rejection citing Annicelli, in view of Paz and in further view of Oehler to include reference to the teaching supporting the limitation regarding “and one or more implanted helical wire structure second electrode placed inside the user and operatively connected to the at least one first electrode using capacitive and resistive coupling.”
In response to assertion (2), examiner notes that the combination of Annicelli and Paz teaches the two-electrode system with the following paragraphs referenced in the body of the rejection: (Annicelli; [Fig. 1, elements 101-107 (electrodes) and 109 “Stimulator”] ) in combination (Paz; [Fig. 3, elements 26a-b], [0182] and [0206]). The applicant further provides reference to the specification paragraphs [0008] and [0011] citing features and functionalities of the electrode system that are not included in the claim. Further, In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “allows … and the flexibility of the flexible helical wire implanted second electrode facilitates movement by the patient”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding Claims 5, 9, 12, 14, 15, 17, applicant contends that Wijting, Lyons, Chernomorsky, and Dickau fail to cure the deficiencies identified in claim 1 in regards to the limitation “and one or more implanted helical wire structure second electrode placed inside the user and operatively connected to the at least one first electrode using capacitive and resistive coupling.” The examiner agrees with these assertions in regards to the amended limitations and has presented the following new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103:
Claims 5, 12 and 17 citing Annicelli in view of Paz and further in view of Oehler and in even further view of Lyons,
Claim 9 citing Annicelli in view of Paz, further in view of Oehler and in even further view of Wijting,
Claim 14 citing Annicelli in view of Paz, further in view of Oehler and in even further view of Chernomorsky, and
Claim 15 citing Annicelli in view of Paz, further in view of Oehler and in even further view of Dickau.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.N.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/CARRIE R DORNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791