DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria - Step 1:
Claims 1-10 are directed to a method (i.e., a process); Claims 11 are directed to a system (i.e., a machine). Accordingly, claims 1-11 are all within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria - Alice/Mayo Test: Step 2A - Prong One:
Regarding Prong One of Step 2A, the claim limitations are to be analyzed to determine whether, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, they “recite” a judicial exception or in other words whether a judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claims. MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(1). An “abstract idea” judicial exception is subject matter that falls within at least one of the following groupings: a) certain methods of organizing human activity, b) mental processes, and/or c) mathematical concepts. MPEP 2106.04(a).
Representative independent claim 11 includes limitations that recite at least one abstract idea. Specifically, independent claim 1 recites:
11. An apparatus for analyzing durability of a drive line for a vehicle, the apparatus comprising:
a 3D model loading unit configured to load a 3D model implementing each constituent element included in a drive line;
a model data investigating unit configured to prepare a definition of a durability analysis model for each constituent element based on data of the loaded 3D model;
a driving condition defining unit configured to define a driving condition for each system related to the drive line;
a dynamics analysis performing unit configured to define the durability analysis model for each constituent element and perform a dynamics analysis; and
a fatigue analysis performing unit configured to perform a fatigue analysis for the durability analysis model by reflecting a result of the dynamics analysis.
The Examiner submits that the foregoing underlined limitations constitute “a mental process” because analyzing durability of a driveline for a vehicle by loading and preparing definitions for elements in a 3D model, defining driving conditions, performing a dynamic and fatigue analysis using the model are observations/evaluations/judgments/analyses that can, at the currently claimed high level of generality, be practically performed in the human mind using a pen and paper and these steps are recited at a high level of generality and merely use computers as a tool to perform the processes – see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III). Accordingly, independent claim 11 and analogous independent claim 1 recite at least one abstract idea.
Furthermore, dependent claims 2-10 further narrow the abstract idea described in the independent claims. Claim 2 recites allocating identifiers for the 3D model, Claim 3 recites acquiring design data for the 3D model, Claim 4 recites defining the durability analysis model, Claims 5-6 recite defining driving conditions, Claims 7-8 recite the dynamic analysis, Claims 9-10 recite the fatigue analysis. These limitations only serve to further limit the abstract idea and hence, are directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as independent claim 11 and analogous independent claim 1, even when considered individually and as an ordered combination.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria - Alice/Mayo Test: Step 2A - Prong Two:
Regarding Prong Two of Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test, it must be determined whether the claim as a whole integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As noted at MPEP §2106.04(II)(A)(2), it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.” MPEP §2106.05(I)(A).
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted at least one abstract idea recited in the claim are as follows (where the bolded portions are the “additional limitations” while the underlined portions continue to represent the at least one “abstract idea”):
11. An apparatus for analyzing durability of a drive line for a vehicle, the apparatus comprising:
a 3D model loading unit configured to load a 3D model implementing each constituent element included in a drive line;
a model data investigating unit configured to prepare a definition of a durability analysis model for each constituent element based on data of the loaded 3D model;
a driving condition defining unit configured to define a driving condition for each system related to the drive line;
a dynamics analysis performing unit configured to define the durability analysis model for each constituent element and perform a dynamics analysis; and
a fatigue analysis performing unit configured to perform a fatigue analysis for the durability analysis model by reflecting a result of the dynamics analysis.
For the following reasons, the Examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted at least one abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of the apparatus, the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely using computers as tools to perform the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the at least one abstract idea into a practical application.
Looking at the additional limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole with the abstract idea, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea. MPEP §2106.05(I)(A) and §2106.04(II)(A)(2).
For these reasons, representative independent claim 11 and analogous independent claim 1 do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Accordingly, the claims recites at least one abstract idea.
Thus, taken alone, any additional elements do not integrate the at least one abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, the claims are directed to at least one abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria - Alice/Mayo Test: Step 2B:
Regarding Step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test, representative independent claim 11 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for reasons the same as those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
As discussed above, regarding the additional limitations of the apparatus, the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely using computers as tools to perform the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
The dependent claims also do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the dependent claims do not integrate the at least one abstract idea into a practical application.
Therefore, claims 1-11 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Independent claim 11 is directed to a system as described in the preamble. However, the claim does not positively recite any elements that necessarily constitute a system or apparatus, such as computer hardware. It is not clear what structure is included or excluded by the claim language. Software per se is not patentable under § 101; therefore, the claimed invention does not fall within a statutory class of patentable subject matter. See MPEP 2106.01. Examiner recommends amending the claim to clearly include hardware in order to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James (US20200394345) in view of Jain (US20200226302).
As per claim 1, James teaches a method of analyzing durability of a drive line for a vehicle, the method comprising:
generating a three-dimensional (3D) model for each constituent element included in a drive line (para. 69, 109, 118, 147: 3D finite element model of complete gearbox built up; assemblies of different components (shafts, bearings gears); shaft modelled using 3D elements; 3D FE models of the shaft, bearings and gears, highly complex analysis of the stresses and deflections at each node).
James does not expressly teach
defining a durability analysis model for each constituent element based on data of the generated 3D model, a driving condition for each system related to the drive line, and a durability analysis model for each constituent element;
performing a dynamics analysis; and
performing a fatigue analysis for the durability analysis model by reflecting a result of the dynamics analysis.
Jain, however, teaches to a method for modeling a driveline where components of a driveline are modelled in three dimensions (para. 226-230). Jain also teaches to modeling each component based on a specific condition such as heat source (para. 161-164). Jain further teaches to performing an analysis to determine thermal performance of each component and using the thermal data to determine performance metrics (para. 116, 161-164).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the aforementioned features in Jain with James based on the motivation of allowing engineers to simulate a driveline design so driveline performance can be predicted, understood and improved through design modifications (Jain – para. 6).
As per claim 2, James and Jain teach the method of claim 1. James teaches wherein the generating of the 3D model for each constituent element includes allocating an appointed identifier for each type of the generated 3D model (para. 87, 94: Data module may also receive or contain, for example in a database, data relating to the one or more components of the rotating machine assembly; solid geometry for the housing or planet carrier; recognition module that contains a database of functional features of rotating machine components and their connections; it parses the data held in data module to identify features contained within its own database of features).
As per claim 3, James and Jain teach the method of claim 2. James teaches wherein defining the durability analysis model includes:
detecting an identifier allocated to each 3D model (para. 87, 94: Data module may also receive or contain, for example in a database, data relating to the one or more components of the rotating machine assembly; solid geometry for the housing or planet carrier; recognition module that contains a database of functional features of rotating machine components and their connections; it parses the data held in data module to identify features contained within its own database of features); and
acquiring design data for a 3D model identified through the detected identifier (para. 87, 94: Data module may also receive or contain, for example in a database, data relating to the one or more components of the rotating machine assembly; solid geometry for the housing or planet carrier; recognition module that contains a database of functional features of rotating machine components and their connections; it parses the data held in data module to identify features contained within its own database of features).
As per claim 4, James and Jain teach the method of claim 3. James does not expressly teach wherein defining the durability analysis model includes investigating the identified 3D model based on the acquired design data, and wherein the durability analysis model reflecting the result of the investigation is automatically defined.
Jain, however, teaches to obtaining data from datasets including data regarding geometry, material properties of the components, plus component specific properties, power, speed, torque of the rotating machinery, and functioning data regarding how product, sub-systems and components perform their primary function (para. 102-106). Jain also teaches to building a model using all of the data (para. 117).
The motivations to combine the above mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
Claim 11 recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in claim 1, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Prior Art Rejection
All of the cited references fail to expressly teach or suggest, either alone or in combination, the features found within dependent claims 5-10. In particular, the cited prior art of record fails to expressly teach or suggest the combination of: wherein the defining of the driving condition for each system includes: defining a driving condition related to a power transmission path; defining a driving condition related to an engine or a motor; defining a driving condition related to a transmission or a decelerator; defining a driving condition related to specifications, braking, and load of a vehicle; and defining a driving condition related to an Accelerator Pedal Sensor (APS), a Brake Pedal Sensor (BPS), and regenerative braking; wherein the defining of the driving condition for each system includes analyzing Revolutions Per Minute (RPM) of an input shaft and a torque of an output shaft of the transmission based on a driving condition defined for each system related to the drive line, and extracting the driving condition of the drive line based on a result of the analysis of the RPM of the input shaft and the torque of the output shaft of the transmission.
The most relevant prior art of record includes:
James (US20180365357) teaches to managing and coordinating the data in the design of driveline systems so that the most accurate and informative insight on the driveline's performance is delivered to the engineer at the earliest possible point in the design process, hence product design and optimisation can be carried out as quickly and efficiently as possible. Jain (US20200226302) teaches to design of drivelines using computer-aided engineering (CAE), and in particular to the effects of lubricant performance on the design. Pihl (US20230249689) teaches to configuring a driveline for a vehicle, the driveline comprising a plurality of component types adapted to operate together so as to produce propulsion power.
Conclusion
/Jonathan Ng/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619