DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because numeral 4000 -21, for example. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the terms “fourth” and “fifth” are grammatically awkward, since there are no previous recitations of first through third holes. It is noted that under the broadest reasonable interpretation since the fourth and fifth holes are the only holes being recited, the terms “fourth” and “fifth” are being treated as merely a matter of nomenclature. Thus, the claim as drafted requires only two holes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicantver, the disclosure as filed does not show any connecting structure (e.g. drivetrain, linkage, gearing, etc.) connecting these two members nor does it show any way of imparting motion between both. Merely, applicant shows possession of a motor that actuates the grass trimmer head.
Claims 1-10 rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
The claim(s) are narrative in form and replete with indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device. The claim(s) must be in one sentence form only. Note the format of the claims in the patent(s) cited.
Claim 1 (from which claims 2-10 depend) contains multiple sentences, leading to a lack of clarity as to what is required of the claim.
Claims 1-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “tank wheel device” in claim 1 (and claims 2-19 which depend thereof) is used by the claim to mean “a skid” or “runner,” while the accepted meaning is "a wheel" (i.e. something that rotates / spins). The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Furthermore, Claim 2 recites the limitation " at the " in Lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: "angle adjustment mechanism" in claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5 – 7, 11, 17 - 18, and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention. Tong (CN Pub. App. 114642113) anticipates said claims before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Re. Claim 1, Tong discloses a grass trimmer (plant trimmer, abstract) comprising: a machine head (machine head 102) comprising at least one electric motor (“the brush motor is electrified to work”, embodiment 3), a grass trimmer head driven by the electric motor (cutting device 202, “to drive the first cutting device 103 to rotate”, embodiment 3, Figs. 9-10), and a housing for containing the electric motor (housing 102a); and a base comprising a shell for supporting the machine head (“supported under the shell 102a”, bottom plate 105a, protective cover 102b, Fig. 2); and a trimming wheel device that assists in moving the grass trimmer head during trimming operations (“to support the plant trimmer, and can roll on the ground, which is convenient for moving the [trimmer]”, trimming wheel 106); and in addition, at least one tank wheel device that assists in moving the grass trimmer head during mowing operation (tank wheel 105); the tank wheel device and the trimming wheel device form a detachable connection to the base; when trimming is required, the base is connected to the trimming wheel device; when mowing is required, the tank wheel device replaces the connection between the trimming wheel device and the base (Both the tank wheel and trimming wheels can be removably attached to the trimmer bottom plate via a connecting rod 105b at a connection groove inserted in the mounting groove 102e, further mounted on the housing 102a).
Re Claim 2, Tong further discloses wherein said tank wheel device forms a detachable connection with said trimming wheel device at the same connection position as said base (“the tank wheel 105 is set at the end of the connecting rib 102c, two sides respectively the shell 102a is provided with a tank wheel 105; trimming wheel 106 is set at the end of the connecting rib 102c, two sides respectively the shell 102a is provided with a trimming wheel 106.”; toothed strip 105c; Refer to the image of Figure 2 below – because the rib 102c serves as said base, it can then be clearly understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that the tank wheel 105 and trimming wheel 106, occurring together at both ends of the rib, are detachably connected “at the same connection position”, at least vertically by being in a coaxial relationship. Moreover, both sets of wheels can be removably attached to the trimmer bottom plate via a connecting rod 105b at a connection groove inserted in the mounting groove 102e, uniting them via toothed strip 105c and connecting them in a separable manner to the disclosed rib via housing 102a.).
Re. Claim 3, Tong discloses wherein said base (e.g. 102c) is provided with an installation cavity (sleeve 102d, mounting groove 102e), and said trimming wheel device comprises a first connecting frame (frame protecting device, inclined frame part 109b, machine head 201), a first connecting piece (connecting rib 102c, sleeve 102d, rod 105b), and a second trimming wheel (second cutting device), said first connecting frame being insertable into said installation cavity (“the connecting rod 105b is set on the bottom plate 105a top and inserted into the mounting groove 102e”; “the movable rod 102f to make it separated from the toothed strip 105c, namely can move the connecting rod 105b along the mounting groove 105b, so as to adjust the connecting rod 105b extends to the length of the bottom end of the connection groove so as to support the shell 102a at the bottom plate 105a”), said first connecting piece (connecting strips 106b) being fixedly connected to an end of said first connecting frame and said second trimming wheel forming a rotatable connection with said first connecting piece (“the trimming wheel is rotatably connected on the sleeve 102d”).
Re. Claim 5, Tong discloses wherein said tank wheel device comprises a first tank wheel (tank wheel 105, first cutting device 103), said first tank wheel being provided with at least one sled surface in contact with the ground (Tong’s tank wheel inherently has the recited sled surface as it has surfaces in contact with the ground in order to support the trimmer as it moves.).
Re. Claim 6, Tong discloses further comprising a cover shell (shell 102a, protective cover 102b), said cover shell being provided with at least one reinforcing rib (Embodiment 1; Connecting rib 102c is inherently reinforcing).
Re. Claim 7, Tong discloses wherein said cover shell is provided with a first viewing port (While the first viewing port is not explicitly stated, a range of observation or angles for viewing the grass trimmer head to serve as said port is present in a broad but reasonable sense in Tong’s Figure 2, as attached herein. Specifically, the above, is equivalent to what Applicant construes as their own “viewing port”; thus, the claims are being construed consistently with Applicant’s own disclosure).
Re Claim 11, Tong discloses a grass trimmer comprising: a machine head comprising at least one electric motor (“the machine head 201 is provided with a driving motor”), a grass trimmer head actuated by said electric motor (“the grass head of the motor to rotate at high speed”), and a housing for holding said electric motor (“the motor is fixed in the housing 102a”); and a base (head 102) comprising a shell (shell 102a) for supporting the machine head; and a moving mechanism removably attached to said base for supporting said grass trimmer head and for assisting in the movement of said grass trimmer head while said grass trimmer head is in operation (Both the tank wheel and trimming wheels can be removably attached to the trimmer bottom plate via a connecting rod 105b at a connection groove inserted in the mounting groove 102e, further mounted on the housing 102a); and wherein the moving mechanism comprises a trimming wheel device and a tank wheel device (disclosed in Re. Claim 1), said trimming wheel device forming a fixed connection with said tank wheel device (“the tank wheel 105 is set at the end of the connecting rib 102c, two sides respectively the shell 102a is provided with a tank wheel 105; trimming wheel 106 is set at the end of the connecting rib 102c, two sides respectively the shell 102a is provided with a trimming wheel 106”), and said trimming wheel device being supported in a direction transverse to the supporting direction of said tank wheel device (please refer to Figure 2 and 6); and wherein said tank wheel device forms a support for said grass trimmer head and assists in the movement of said grass trimmer head when said grass trimmer head is engaged in haying operations, and said trimming wheel device forms a support for said grass trimmer head and assists in the movement of said grass trimmer head when said grass trimmer head is engaged in trimming operations (the structure of either serving as supports for grass trimmer head and thus assisting in movement previously disclosed ad nauseam).
Re Claim 17, Tong discloses further comprising a cover shell, said cover shell being in fixed connection with said base and forming a semi-enclosure for said grass trimmer head (Protective cover 102b, being provided as part the shell 102a, is inherently fixedly connected to said base (connecting rib 102c) and forms a semi-enclosure over said trimmer head (trimming wheel 106), as it does not encompass a full revolution (i.e. 360 degrees) of coverage.).
Re Claim 18, Tong further discloses wherein said cover shell is provided with a first viewing port, said first viewing port being capable of observing the trajectory of said grass trimmer head during operation of said grass trimmer (As discussed Re. Claim 7, Figure 2 discloses a viewing port that is inherently capable of observing the movement of said grass trimmer head.).
Re Claim 20, Tong discloses a grass trimmer (plant trimmer) comprising: a machine head (102) comprising at least one electric motor (“the battery pack 207 supplies power to the driving motor”), a grass trimmer head (103, cutting device 202) actuated by said electric motor (“the cutting part is fixed on the grass head of the motor to rotate at high speed”), and a housing for holding said electric motor (housing 102a); and a base (102c) comprising a shell (102b) for supporting the machine head (see photo of Fig. 6 below); and a moving mechanism (105, 106) removably attached to said base for supporting said grass trimmer head and for assisting in the movement of said grass trimmer head while said grass trimmer head is in operation (Both the tank wheel and trimming wheels can be removably attached to the trimmer bottom plate via a connecting rod 105b at a connection groove inserted in the mounting groove 102e, further mounted on the housing 102a); and a main handle (operating handle 104, main handle 203) removably attached to said machine head for holding said grass trimmer for operation (connecting sleeve 151) ; and said main handle comprising a connecting rod (111) and a handle (204, 104), said connecting rod being fixedly connected to said handle (see Fig. 1 or 11); and a secondary handle (108) detachably attached (when the reversing holding rod 111e, the movable gear ring 111f is embedded with the fixed gear ring 111b, and the jacket 111a close the outer rod 111, namely can fix the auxiliary handle 108 on the outer rod of the position and the auxiliary handle 108 and the outer rod 111 between the included angle) to said connecting rod for assisting said main handle in controlling said grass trimmer for operation; and said secondary handle comprising a connecting pipe (jacket 111a), an auxiliary handle (holding rod 111e), and an adjustment handle (screw rod 111c), said auxiliary handle being rotatably attached to said connecting pipe (“rotating holding rod 111e, the holding rod 111e rotates relative to the screw 111c, and drives the end part of the auxiliary handle 108 away from the end of the jacket 111a”), said adjustment handle being threaded through said auxiliary handle and against said connecting pipe (“other end of the screw [rod] 111c passes through the jacket 111a and is in threaded connection with a holding rod 111e”; “one end of the adjusting rod 131a close to the shell 102a is hinged on the adjusting ring 131 and is provided with a rear cam 131b; adjusting ring 131 extends out of one end of the outer rod 111 is fixed with a rear friction pad 131c, rear friction pad 131c and the rear cam 131b contact when the adjusting rod 131a rotates to its length direction parallel to the length direction of the outer rod 111, the cam after the rear friction pad 131c pressing, so that the back friction pad 131c clings to the inner rod 121, so as to limit the relative sliding between the adjusting ring 131 and the inner rod 121, so as to limit the relative sliding between the inner rod 121 and the outer rod 111; when the adjusting rod 131a rotates to its length direction and the length direction of the outer rod 111 are obliquely intersected”); and said connecting pipe having a generally cylindrical shaped inner wall surface, said inner wall surface defining a space, said space accommodating said connecting rod, said connecting pipe being further provided with an opening, said opening defining a passage for said main handle to enter said space (“Specifically, as shown in FIG. 3 to FIG. 8, the inner rod 121 and the outer rod 111 are hollow rod, the cross section of the two at least has one arc side (hence “generally cylindrical”) and a straight line connected end to end, and the outer rod 111 close to one end of the shell 102a inserted into the inner rod 121 and the inner wall of the inner rod 121, the outer rod 111 sliding connected with the inner rod 121, so as to flexibly adjust the total length of the extending rod 101 according to the operation need, and not only ensures the strength of the extending rod 101, but also reduces the weight of the extending rod 101, convenient operation and use”), said connecting pipe being further provided with a buckle structure (107c), said buckle structure being closable or openable to said opening and restricting the displacement of said main handle entering said space (“one end of the movable cover plate 107b away from the storage shell 107a is provided with a buckle 107c, the buckle 107c is plastic, piece is provided with an opening 107d, at the same time, the storage shell 107a outer surface is provided with a bump 107e, when the movable cover plate 107b is rotated to the closed position, the bump 107e is embedded in the opening 107d, so that the movable cover plate 107b is kept in the closed position, preventing the second cutting device in the storage space from dropping out”), said connecting pipe being further provided with an angle adjustment mechanism (recited as a gear in one embodiment, movable gear ring 111f, fixed gear ring 111b) for adjusting the angle between said auxiliary handle and said adjustment handle and said connecting pipe (“two ends respectively the auxiliary handle 108 are sleeved on the screw rod 111c and the handle; and the end part of the auxiliary handle 108 is provided with a movable gear ring 111f, when the forward rotating holding rod 111e, the holding rod 111e rotates relative to the screw 111c, and drives the end part of the auxiliary handle 108 away from the end of the jacket 111a, the movable gear ring 111f is away from the fixed gear ring 111b. at this time, it can rotate the auxiliary handle 108 to adjust the auxiliary handle 108 and the included angle between the outer rod 111, the jacket 111a and the outer rod 111 is loosened, the jacket 111a can slide on the outer rod 111, so as to adjust the auxiliary handle 108 on the outer rod of the position of 111, it is convenient to hold the auxiliary handle 108; when the reversing holding rod 111e, the movable gear ring 111f is embedded with the fixed gear ring 111b, and the jacket 111a close the outer rod 111, namely can fix the auxiliary handle 108 on the outer rod of the position and the auxiliary handle 108 and the outer rod 111 between the included angle.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong (CN Pub. App. 114642113), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Chung (US Pub. App. 20230345872).
Re Claim 4, Tong discloses said installation cavity. Tong also discloses the use of a nut and bolt fastener system and holes to receive them, widely known in every mechanically relevant art, both having threads to secure an outer rod 111 and a jacket 111a (“a screw 111c is inserted between the two ends of the jacket 111a, one end of the screw 111c is in threaded connection with a nut 111d, and the nut 111d is fixedly connected to one end of the jacket 111a; the other end of the screw 111c passes through the jacket 111a and is in threaded connection with a holding rod 111e”; holding rod can be reasonably inferred to have at least one threaded hole in order to connect to the screw (which reads functionally as a threaded bolt when meshed with the nut) as disclosed; Fig. 8).
Tong does not clearly disclose wherein said cavity is provided with a threaded hole and said first connecting frame is provided with a second threaded hole, said first threaded hole corresponding to said second threaded hole, said first connecting frame being bolted to said installation cavity.
Chung discloses at least one threaded hole (315) (see [0045], Lines 4-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Tong such that there would exist at least two mating threaded holes, in view of Chung, to allow the disclosed and readily available threaded fastener, such as said bolt, to unify both said first connecting frame and said cavity, instead of a snap fit, in order to achieve a sturdy and predictably reliable connection while being a cost-effective means of doing so on tool parts, especially for the joining of plastic or heat-sensitive components that are not easily welded, for example. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
Claim(s) 8 – 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong (CN Pub. App. 114642113), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Tong (CN Pub. App. 114651597).
Tong (CN Pub. App. 114642113) discloses: A grass trimmer comprising: a machine head comprising at least one electric motor, a grass trimmer head driven by the electric motor, and a housing for containing the electric motor; and a base comprising a shell for supporting the machine head; and a trimming wheel device that assists in moving the grass trimmer head during trimming operations; and in addition, at least one tank wheel device that assists in moving the grass trimmer head during mowing operation. The tank wheel device and the trimming wheel device form a detachable connection to the base. When trimming is required, the base is connected to the trimming wheel device. When mowing is required, the tank wheel device replaces the connection between the trimming wheel device and the base.
Tong (CN Pub. App. 114642113) does not clearly teach “wherein said tank wheel device comprises at least one connecting part, whereby one end of said connecting part is detachably connected to said base.”
Tong (CN Pub. App. 114651597 (hereinafter ‘597)) discloses the further limitations of said claim via a rod (103b) that can be removably inserted into a cavity on the base of the trimmer and can remain reasonably connected through the presence of locating grooves (103c) on its sides, as seen in Figs. 3 and 5 -7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching reference of Tong, so as to include at least one connecting part on the tank wheel device, whereby one end of said connecting part is detachably connected to said base, in view of Tong’s secondary reference, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of quick connection of parts via snap- or interference-fit and interchangeability/replacement in the event of a failed or dysfunctional tank wheel or any component for that matter.
Re. Claim 9, the combination of Tong in view of Tong ‘597 further teaches wherein said base has a face abutting said connecting part, said face being provided as a curved surface, based on Figure 7, Claims 3 and 7, the connect portion (102b), the connect arm (102), and the groove (102d) of Tong (CN Pub. App. 114651597).
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tong to further include a circular or round cavity to receive the connecting part, in view of Tong ‘597, since doing so would improve the strength and durability of the involved parts by minimizing stress concentrations and allowing for higher flexibility in all directions before fracture or total failure can occur.
Re Claim 10, the combination of Tong in view of Tong ‘597 further teaches wherein said connecting part is provided with a locking structure at one end of said connecting part near said base, based on Tong’s connect arm (102) and locking hooks (101a), shown in Figs. 3 and 6-7 (CN Pub. App. 114651597). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tong to further include at least one pair of locking hooks within a connecting part to marry the tank wheel and the base, in view of himself, in order to allow ease of access to internal structure and interchangeability of parts on the main structure of a trimmer by providing a non-permanent means of fixture.
Re Claim 12, the combination of Tong in view of Tong ‘597 further teaches further comprising a connecting part, said moving mechanism being detachably attached to said base through said connecting part, based on Tong’s (‘597) auxiliary device (100), connect (102), and adjusting rod (104), as shown in the picture of Figures 4 - 5 attached below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tong to further include at least one well-known fastener, such as a bolt or pin, to detachably attach said moving mechanism to said base, in view of himself ‘597, since doing so would enable ease of assembly and change or replacement of parts for a user.
Claims 13 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong (CN Pub. App. 114651597) in view of Tong (CN Pub. App. 114642113), as applied to claim 11 above, further in view of Templeton (US Pub. App. 6006434).
Tong discloses a grass trimmer comprising: a machine head comprising at least one electric motor, a grass trimmer head actuated by said electric motor, and a housing for holding said electric motor; and a base comprising a shell for supporting the machine head; and a moving mechanism removably attached to said base for supporting said grass trimmer head and for assisting in the movement of said grass trimmer head while said grass trimmer head is in operation; and wherein the moving mechanism comprises a trimming wheel device and a tank wheel device, said trimming wheel device forming a fixed connection with said tank wheel device, and said trimming wheel device being supported in a direction transverse to the supporting direction of said tank wheel device; and wherein said tank wheel device forms a support for said grass trimmer head and assists in the movement of said grass trimmer head when said grass trimmer head is engaged in haying operations, and said trimming wheel device forms a support for said grass trimmer head and assists in the movement of said grass trimmer head when said grass trimmer head is engaged in trimming operations.
Tong does not clearly teach:
a quick-release part provided with said connecting part and wherein said connecting part being detachably attached to said base via said quick-connect part
wherein said quick-release part is made of plastic
wherein said base has a mounting portion specifically receiving and releasing said quick-connect part as to allow said moving mechanism to be quickly removed and installed on said base
and finally, wherein said tank wheel device and said trimming wheel device are each formed into a fixed connection with said connecting part.
Templeton discloses a quick-release component connector (24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tong, so as to provide the connecting part with a quick-connect member, in view of Templeton, in order to enable the reasonably rapid release and attachment of a connecting part to said base through the use of a press-fit lever or equivalents thereof. This would achieve the benefit of saved downtime during operation.
Re Claim 14, the combination of Tong in view of Templeton further teaches said quick-release part as plastic, based on Claim 10 of Tong and Templeton’s shafts (26, 36) that are made of plastic tubing (Paragraph 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tong, so as to use a well-known and readily-available material, such as a nylon or plastic, in view of Templeton, with predictable and effective results when used in the field of endeavor. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious).
Re Claim 15, the combination of Tong in view of Templeton further teaches wherein said base is provided with a mounting portion, said mounting portion receiving and releasing said quick-release part so that said moving mechanism can be quickly removed and installed on said base. In this regard, Tong teaches a mounting groove 102e and a tank wheel and trimming wheel to both comprise a moving mechanism. Additionally, Templeton teaches a quick-release part. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tong such that the quick-release part could interface with the mounting groove, in view of Templeton, since doing so would have allowed for said moving mechanism to be more easily removed and attached to said base of a given grass trimmer.
Re Claim 16, the combination of Tong in view of Templeton further teaches wherein said tank wheel device and said trimming wheel device are each formed into a fixed connection with said connecting part. In this regard, Tong teaches “the tank wheel 105 is set at the end of the connecting rib 102c, two sides respectively the shell 102a is provided with a tank wheel 105; trimming wheel 106 is set at the end of the connecting rib 102c, two sides respectively the shell 102a is provided with a trimming wheel 106” and a “cutting device 202” “fixedly connected with the machine head 201”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ROHAN OM PATEL/
Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/JOSEPH M ROCCA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671