DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on 09/28/2023; 05/20/2024; 12/16/2024 have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 forms).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites a polymer analysis apparatus comprising: a processor configured to process a first mass spectrum of a first polymer, and a second mass spectrum of a second polymer having a non-primary-chain segment which is identical to a non-primary-chain segment of the first polymer, wherein the processor is configured to: calculate at least one mass candidate for the non-primary-chain segment based on a first polymer molecule mass and a first repeating unit mass identified from the first mass spectrum; apply Kendrick Mass Defect (KMN/D) analysis on the at least one mass candidate using the first repeating unit mass, to thereby produce a first KMN/D analysis result; apply KMD analysis on the second mass spectrum using a second repeating unit mass identified from the second mass spectrum, to thereby produce a second KMN/D analysis result; and produce an image for identifying a mass of the non-primary-chain segment or judge the mass of the non-primary-chain segment based on the first KMN/D analysis result and the second KINMD analysis result,
Claim 10 recites a method of analyzing a polymer, the method comprising: calculating, based on a first polymer molecule mass and a first repeating unit mass identified from a first mass spectrum of a first polymer, at least one mass candidate for a non- primary-chain segment of the first polymer; applying Kendrick Mass Defect (KMD) analysis on the at least one mass candidate using the first repeating unit mass, to thereby produce a first KMD analysis result; applying KMD analysis on a second mass spectrum of a second polymer having a non- primary-chain segment which is identical to the non-primary-chain segment of the first polymer, using a second repeating unit mass identified from the second mass spectrum, to thereby produce a second KMD analysis result; and producing an image for identifying a mass of the non-primary-chain segment or judging the mass of the non-primary-chain segment based on the first KMD analysis result and the second KMD analysis result…
Claim 12 recites a non-transitory recording medium storing a program for executing polymer analysis in an information processing device, the program, when executed, causing the information processing device to perform functions to: calculate, based on a first polymer molecule mass and a first repeating unit mass identified from a first mass spectrum of a first polymer, at least one mass candidate for a non-primary- chain segment of the first polymer; apply Kendrick Mass Defect (KMD) analysis on the at least one mass candidate using the first repeating unit mass, to thereby produce a first KMD analysis result; apply KMD analysis on a second mass spectrum of a second polymer having a non- primary-chain segment which is identical to the non-primary-chain segment of the first polymer, using a second repeating unit mass identified from the second mass spectrum, to thereby produce a second KMD analysis result; and produce an image for identifying a mass of the non-primary-chain segment or judge the mass of the non-primary-chain segment based on the first KMD analysis result and the second KMD analysis result…
and thus grouped as Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations.
Claim 1 recites a polymer analysis apparatus comprising: a processor configured to process a first mass spectrum of a first polymer, and a second mass spectrum of a second polymer having a non-primary-chain segment which is identical to a non-primary-chain segment of the first polymer, wherein the processor is configured to: calculate at least one mass candidate for the non-primary-chain segment based on a first polymer molecule mass and a first repeating unit mass identified from the first mass spectrum; apply Kendrick Mass Defect (KMN/D) analysis on the at least one mass candidate using the first repeating unit mass, to thereby produce a first KMN/D analysis result; apply KMD analysis on the second mass spectrum using a second repeating unit mass identified from the second mass spectrum, to thereby produce a second KMN/D analysis result; and produce an image for identifying a mass of the non-primary-chain segment or judge the mass of the non-primary-chain segment based on the first KMN/D analysis result and the second KINMD analysis result,
Claim 10 recites a method of analyzing a polymer, the method comprising: calculating, based on a first polymer molecule mass and a first repeating unit mass identified from a first mass spectrum of a first polymer, at least one mass candidate for a non- primary-chain segment of the first polymer; applying Kendrick Mass Defect (KMD) analysis on the at least one mass candidate using the first repeating unit mass, to thereby produce a first KMD analysis result; applying KMD analysis on a second mass spectrum of a second polymer having a non- primary-chain segment which is identical to the non-primary-chain segment of the first polymer, using a second repeating unit mass identified from the second mass spectrum, to thereby produce a second KMD analysis result; and producing an image for identifying a mass of the non-primary-chain segment or judging the mass of the non-primary-chain segment based on the first KMD analysis result and the second KMD analysis result…
Claim 12 recites a non-transitory recording medium storing a program for executing polymer analysis in an information processing device, the program, when executed, causing the information processing device to perform functions to: calculate, based on a first polymer molecule mass and a first repeating unit mass identified from a first mass spectrum of a first polymer, at least one mass candidate for a non-primary- chain segment of the first polymer; apply Kendrick Mass Defect (KMD) analysis on the at least one mass candidate using the first repeating unit mass, to thereby produce a first KMD analysis result; apply KMD analysis on a second mass spectrum of a second polymer having a non- primary-chain segment which is identical to the non-primary-chain segment of the first polymer, using a second repeating unit mass identified from the second mass spectrum, to thereby produce a second KMD analysis result; and produce an image for identifying a mass of the non-primary-chain segment or judge the mass of the non-primary-chain segment based on the first KMD analysis result and the second KMD analysis result…
and thus grouped as Mental Processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion).
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements, the additional elements (claims 1 and 12) “a processor” and “information processing device” are recited as performing generic computer functions routinely used in computer applications. Generic computer components recited as performing generic computer functions amount to no more than using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. All of which are considered not indicative of integration into a practical application (see “Federal Register / Vol. 84, No. 4/ Monday, January 7, 2019 / Notices” – page 55, second column).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements of the processing system are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and deemed insufficient to qualify as “significantly more” see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Dependent claims 2-9 and 11 when analyzed as a whole are patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the dependent claims fail to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea as they are directed mathematical concepts and/or mental processes and do not add significantly more to the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Satoh [US 2022/0122825 A1 (as submitted in IDS 09/28/2023)].
Regarding claim 1, Satoh teaches a polymer analysis apparatus comprising:
a processor configured to process a first mass spectrum of a first polymer, and a second mass spectrum of a second polymer having a non-primary-chain segment which is identical to a non-primary-chain segment of the first polymer (Mass analyses of the first polymer sample and the second polymer sample are sequentially performed - 0053) (a first mass spectrum of a first polymer sample is generated based on a first digital detection signal acquired by a mass analysis of the first polymer sample. In addition, a second mass spectrum of a second polymer sample is generated based on a second digital detection signal acquired by a mass analysis of a second polymer sample - 0058), wherein the processor is configured to:
calculate at least one mass candidate for the non-primary-chain segment based on a first polymer molecule mass and a first repeating unit mass identified from the first mass spectrum (via difference calculation device – 0062-0063);
apply Kendrick Mass Defect (KMD) analysis on the at least one mass candidate using the first repeating unit mass, to thereby produce a first KMD analysis result (via KMD plot generator – 0064-0069) (Kendrick Mass Defect Analysis – 0039-0052);
apply KMD analysis on the second mass spectrum using a second repeating unit mass identified from the second mass spectrum, to thereby produce a second KMN/D analysis result (via KMD plot generator – 0064-0069) (Kendrick Mass Defect Analysis – 0039-0052); and
produce an image (image combining function from a display processor and calculator – 0071, 0072) for identifying a mass of the non-primary-chain segment or judge the mass of the non-primary-chain segment based on the first KMD analysis result and the second KMD analysis result (via KMD plot generator – 0064-0069).
Regarding claim 2, Satoh teaches the processor is further configured to: produce a plot representing the second KIN/D analysis result; and produce a reference image representing the first KIN/D analysis result, which is to be added to the plot (via KMD plot generator – 0064-0069, 0071-0073, 0080-0081).
Regarding claim 3, Satoh teaches the plot includes at least one of an NKM-KMD plot having a Nominal Kendrick Mass (NKM) axis and a KMD axis, or an RKM-KMD plot having a Remainder of Kendrick Mass (RKM) axis and the KMD axis (figures 5 and 8 - 0086, 0091-0093).
Regarding claim 4, Satoh teaches the processor is further configured to calculate a plurality of mass candidates for the non- primary-chain segment, and the reference image includes at least one of a first reference image including a plurality of figures representing a plurality of KMDs calculated from the plurality of mass candidates and displayed on the NKM-KMD plot, or a second reference image including a plurality of figures representing a plurality of sets of RKM-KMDs calculated from the plurality of mass candidates and displayed on the RKM-KMD plot (figures 5 and 8 - 0086, 0091-0093).
Regarding claim 5, Satoh teaches the processor is further configured to: calculate a plurality of mass candidates by repeating subtraction of the first repeating unit mass from the first polymer molecule mass (subtracting the mass - 0030) (subtracting the second intensity from the first intensity – 0088).
Regarding claim 6, Satoh teaches the processor is further configured to: determine, when a remaining mass after subtraction belongs in a mass range which is designated, the remaining mass as a mass candidate (subtracting the mass - 0030) (subtracting the second intensity from the first intensity – 0088).
Regarding claim 7, Satoh teaches the processor is further configured to: repeat calculation of a degree of polymerization along with repetition of the subtraction, to thereby create a list in which the plurality of mass candidates and a plurality of degrees of polymerization corresponding thereto are registered (degrees of polymerization – 0029-0031, 0039, 0047, 0051).
Regarding claim 8, Satoh teaches the processor is further configured to: calculate a total ionic strength for each calculated KMD based on the second mass spectrum, to thereby create a graph representing a plurality of total ionic strengths corresponding to a plurality of KMDs (figures 5 and 8 - 0086, 0091-0093).
Regarding claim 9, Satoh teaches one of the first polymer and the second polymer is a polymer before derivatization, and the other of the first polymer and the second polymer is a polymer after derivatization (degrees of polymerization – 0029-0031, 0039, 0047, 0051).
Regarding claim 10, Satoh teaches a method of analyzing a polymer, the method comprising:
calculating, based on a first polymer molecule mass and a first repeating unit mass identified from a first mass spectrum of a first polymer (Mass analyses of the first polymer sample and the second polymer sample are sequentially performed - 0053) (a first mass spectrum of a first polymer sample is generated based on a first digital detection signal acquired by a mass analysis of the first polymer sample. In addition, a second mass spectrum of a second polymer sample is generated based on a second digital detection signal acquired by a mass analysis of a second polymer sample - 0058), at least one mass candidate for a non- primary-chain segment of the first polymer (via difference calculation device – 0062-0063);
applying Kendrick Mass Defect (KMD) analysis on the at least one mass candidate using the first repeating unit mass, to thereby produce a first KMD analysis result (via KMD plot generator – 0064-0069) (Kendrick Mass Defect Analysis – 0039-0052);
applying KMD analysis on a second mass spectrum of a second polymer having a non- primary-chain segment which is identical to the non-primary-chain segment of the first polymer, using a second repeating unit mass identified from the second mass spectrum, to thereby produce a second KMD analysis result (via KMD plot generator – 0064-0069) (Kendrick Mass Defect Analysis – 0039-0052); and
producing an image (image combining function from a display processor and calculator – 0071, 0072) for identifying a mass of the non-primary-chain segment or judging the mass of the non-primary-chain segment based on the first KMD analysis result and the second KMD analysis result (via KMD plot generator – 0064-0069).
Regarding claim 11, Satoh teaches derivatizing one of the first polymer and the second polymer, so as to prepare the other of the first polymer and the second polymer (degrees of polymerization – 0029-0031, 0039, 0047, 0051).
Regarding claim 12, Satoh teaches a non-transitory recording medium storing a program for executing polymer analysis in an information processing device, the program, when executed, causing the information processing device to perform functions to (information processor includes a non-transitory recording medium storing the program - 0038):
calculate, based on a first polymer molecule mass and a first repeating unit mass identified from a first mass spectrum of a first polymer (Mass analyses of the first polymer sample and the second polymer sample are sequentially performed - 0053) (a first mass spectrum of a first polymer sample is generated based on a first digital detection signal acquired by a mass analysis of the first polymer sample. In addition, a second mass spectrum of a second polymer sample is generated based on a second digital detection signal acquired by a mass analysis of a second polymer sample - 0058), at least one mass candidate for a non- primary-chain segment of the first polymer (via difference calculation device – 0062-0063);
apply Kendrick Mass Defect (KMD) analysis on the at least one mass candidate using the first repeating unit mass, to thereby produce a first KMD analysis result (via KMD plot generator – 0064-0069) (Kendrick Mass Defect Analysis – 0039-0052);
apply KMD analysis on a second mass spectrum of a second polymer having a non- primary-chain segment which is identical to the non-primary-chain segment of the first polymer, using a second repeating unit mass identified from the second mass spectrum, to thereby produce a second KMD analysis result (via KMD plot generator – 0064-0069) (Kendrick Mass Defect Analysis – 0039-0052); and
produce an image (image combining function from a display processor and calculator – 0071, 0072) for identifying a mass of the non-primary-chain segment or judging the mass of the non-primary-chain segment based on the first KMD analysis result and the second KMD analysis result (via KMD plot generator – 0064-0069).
Relevant Prior Art / Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Uematsu et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0065849 A1) discloses a mass spectrum processing apparatus and model generation method;
Byer et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0312641 A1) discloses a method of determining mass defect plots with user-defined mass scaling, filtering, and labeling in a mass spectrometer.
/RICKY GO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857