DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant filed a preliminary amendment on January 17th, 2024.
Applicant canceled claims 21 – 50.
The pending claims are 1 – 20.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 17th, 2024 was filed before the mailing date of the First Action on the Merits (this Office Action). The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “906” [Paragraph 40 line 11 in Figure 9]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “No” and “Yes” [Figure 4].
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (the eye imaging inventive aspect is not in the title of the invention).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Paragraph 34 line 9, there is not ending parenthesis after HMD thus the phrase “HMD.” should read as --HMD).-- for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “display screen” in claim 13.
The Examiner notes the claimed “display screen” connotes sufficient structure to one of ordinary skill in the art and thus does NOT invoke Functional Analysis.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations:
“a communications interface” [Claim 13];
“an imaging subsystem” [Claim 13];
“analysis agent” [Claim 13]; and
“control circuitry configured to …” [Claim 13]
have been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, but the result is inconclusive. Thus, it is unclear whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claimed terms in view of Specification Paragraphs 30, 50, 53, 55, and 58 recites the various limitations “may be implemented in hardware, firmware, or software” [e.g. Paragraph 58 specifically lists the “control circuitry” as having “software” embodiments] as “software” is not structural and thus the terms are Indefinite in view of the Specification as connoting sufficient structure or not. The boundaries of this claim limitation are ambiguous; therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In response to this rejection, applicant must clarify whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Mere assertion regarding applicant’s intent to invoke or not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is insufficient. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to clearly invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by reciting “means” or a generic placeholder for means, or by reciting “step.” The “means,” generic placeholder, or “step” must be modified by functional language, and must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
(b) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, should apply because the claim limitation recites a function to be performed and does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts to perform that function;
(c) Amend the claim to clearly avoid invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by deleting the function or by reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the recited function; or
(d) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, does not apply because the limitation does not recite a function or does recite a function along with sufficient structure, material or acts to perform that function.
Regarding claims 14 – 20, the dependent claims do not cure the deficiencies of independent claim 13 and thus are similarly Rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krueger (US PG PUB 2023/0210442 A1 referred to as “Krueger” throughout), and further in view of Hsieh, et al. (WO2023/195972 A1 referred to as “Hsieh” throughout).
Regarding claim 1, see claim 13 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 2, see claim 14 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 3, see claim 15 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 4, see claim 16 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 5, see claim 17 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 6, see claim 18 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 7, see claim 19 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 8, see claim 20 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 9, Krueger teaches a HMD (head-mounted display) for patient health with a communications interface and generating images for analyzing health of a user with neural networks (NNs) / artificial intelligence (AI). Hsieh teaches a similar HMD but has appointment scheduling / reporting health information of the user and adjusting images accordingly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Krueger with the arrangements and image based processing capabilities as taught by Hsieh. The combination teaches
generating, using the imaging subsystem and the display screen [See claim 13 for citations of the “imaging subsystem” (of the eye / face region of the user of the HMD) and “display screen”], the second screening images based on the second imaging parameters, the second screening images being of the ocular facial region of the wearer of the head-mounted display [See claim 1for citations of the “first screening images” and additionally Krueger Figures 13 – 15, 17 – 20, 32, 35 – 39 as well as Paragraphs 159 – 161 (adaptive processing to continuously capture images and assess health issues), 185 – 186 (repeatable display), 438 – 448 (AI / ML for analysis to determine what to do next and to repeat the screening / imaging as in Paragraphs 448 – 449 (repeating training / ocular parameter determinations in response to stimuli / visual tracking or cues), 453 – 465 (see at least steps 1 (imaging an eye / ocular region – Paragraphs 453 – 455) and 7 – 9 in Paragraphs 462 – 465 for a repeatable process rendering obvious the “second” imaging to capture claimed such as under a test or training process in Paragraphs 463 – 466 or in Paragraphs 483 – 488 and 560 – 564 and additionally in view of MPEP2144.04 VI B (Duplication of Parts))];
transmitting, via the communications interface, the second screening images to the analysis agent [Krueger Figures 13 – 15, 17 – 20, 32, 35 – 39 as well as Paragraphs 478 – 486 (image based approach – see step 3 (Paragraph 485 which is combinable with Paragraphs 510 – 515 and 520 – 522 (machine learning / AI with image inputs / parameters further with Paragraphs 561 – 563 (image based machine learning)) and combinable with Hsieh’s image based approach in Paragraphs 24 – 28 for the machine analysis by the analysis agent)]; and
receiving, via the communications interface, third imaging instructions from the analysis agent [See Hsieh for “analysis agent” citations and additionally Krueger Figures 13 – 15, 17 – 20, 32, 35 – 39 as well as Paragraphs 159 – 161 (adaptive processing to continuously capture images and assess health issues), 185 – 186 (repeatable display), 438 – 448 (AI / ML for analysis to determine what to do next and to repeat the screening / imaging as in Paragraphs 448 – 449 (repeating training / ocular parameter determinations in response to stimuli / visual tracking or cues), 453 – 465 (see at least step 6 in Paragraph 462 for a repeatable process rendering obvious the “third” instructions claimed such as under a test or training process in Paragraphs 463 – 466 or in Paragraphs 483 – 488 and 560 – 564 and additionally in view of MPEP2144.04 VI B (Duplication of Parts))].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Krueger and Hsieh.
Regarding claim 10, Krueger teaches a HMD (head-mounted display) for patient health with a communications interface and generating images for analyzing health of a user with neural networks (NNs) / artificial intelligence (AI). Hsieh teaches a similar HMD but has appointment scheduling / reporting health information of the user and adjusting images accordingly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Krueger with the arrangements and image based processing capabilities as taught by Hsieh. The combination teaches
displaying, on the display screen, an object image based on the first imaging parameters [See claim 13 for citations of the claimed “display screen” and “first imaging parameters” and additionally Krueger Figures 2 – 5, 7, 19 (see at least reference character 1912) and 29 – 32 as well as Paragraphs 171, 245 – 247 (objects display for viewing while tracking) 448 (displaying images for test / training / diagnosis including stationary /moving targets rendering obvious the claimed “object image” to one of ordinary skill in the art and further in Paragraphs 426 – 430 (moving or stationary visual target) and 433 – 440 (see “display” discussion)]; and
generating the first screening images while eyes of the wearer track to the object image [Krueger Figures 2 – 7 and 19 (see at least reference character 1912) as well as Paragraphs 170 – 172 (eyes of view respond to tracking object) and 247 – 254 (tracking projected objects with eye tracking sensors), 434 – 443, 476 – 486, and 594 – 595].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Krueger and Hsieh.
Regarding claim 11, Krueger teaches a HMD (head-mounted display) for patient health with a communications interface and generating images for analyzing health of a user with neural networks (NNs) / artificial intelligence (AI). Hsieh teaches a similar HMD but has appointment scheduling / reporting health information of the user and adjusting images accordingly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Krueger with the arrangements and image based processing capabilities as taught by Hsieh. The combination teaches
displaying the object image moving on the display screen [See claim 13 for citations of the claimed “display screen” and additionally Krueger Figures 2 – 5, 7, 19 (see at least reference character 1912) and 29 – 32 as well as Paragraphs 171, 245 – 252 (objects display for viewing while tracking eye viewing a moving target / object), 448 (displaying images for test / training / diagnosis including stationary /moving targets rendering obvious the claimed “object image” to one of ordinary skill in the art and further in Paragraphs 426 – 430 (moving or stationary visual target / object) and 433 – 440 (see “display” discussion)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Krueger and Hsieh.
Regarding claim 12, Krueger teaches a HMD (head-mounted display) for patient health with a communications interface and generating images for analyzing health of a user with neural networks (NNs) / artificial intelligence (AI). Hsieh teaches a similar HMD but has appointment scheduling / reporting health information of the user and adjusting images accordingly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Krueger with the arrangements and image based processing capabilities as taught by Hsieh. The combination teaches
wherein the imaging subsystem comprises at least one camera [Krueger Figures 2 – 5 (see at least reference characters 406, 408, 414, 426, and 428) and 9 – 10 as well as Paragraphs 201 – 212 (eye imaging device / sensor properties / components (e.g. lenses and sensors), 222 – 225 (eye and forward / head facing camera or imaging system), 240 – 242 (left / right eye imaging devices), and 232 – 236 (eye imaging device and cameras facing the head / face working in tandem / sampling the eyes to image)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Krueger and Hsieh.
Regarding claim 13, Krueger teaches a HMD (head-mounted display) for patient health with a communications interface and generating images for analyzing health of a user with neural networks (NNs) / artificial intelligence (AI). Hsieh teaches a similar HMD but has appointment scheduling / reporting health information of the user and adjusting images accordingly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Krueger with the arrangements and image based processing capabilities as taught by Hsieh. The combination teaches
a communications interface [Krueger Figures 2 – 5 (see at least reference character 422), 7 (subfigures included and see at least reference characters 560 and 561), and 9 – 10 as well as Paragraphs 214 – 216 (sensors / imagers communicating information for health analysis / diagnosis) and 248 – 255 (communications to external device)];
an imaging subsystem [Krueger Figures 2 – 5 (see at least reference characters 406, 408, 414, 426, and 428) and 9 – 10 as well as Paragraphs 201 – 212 (eye imaging device / sensor properties / components (e.g. lenses and sensors), 222 – 225 (eye and forward / head facing camera or imaging system), 240 – 242 (left / right eye imaging devices), and 232 – 236 (eye imaging device and cameras facing the head / face working in tandem / sampling the eyes to image)];
a display screen [Krueger Figures 2 – 6 (see at least reference characters 402, 416 and 418) and 9 – 10 as well as Paragraphs 214 – 216 (display interface controlling a screen / display for the user to view), 234 – 238 (various display type embodiments for AR / VR / XR))];
control circuitry [Krueger Figures 2 – 6 (see at least reference characters 412, 414, 418, and 420) as well as Paragraphs 218 – 222 (embodiments or controller implementation considered as having circuitry implementations in Paragraph 218 or alternatively in Paragraphs 561 – 565), 237 – 28, and 248 (CPUs obvious variant of the claimed circuitry)] configured to:
receive, via the communications interface [See Krueger citations above], first imaging instructions from the analysis agent [Hsieh Figures 1 – 2 and 5 – 6 (see at least reference characters 100, 102, 114, 404 (machine learning analysis / model), and 500) as well as Paragraphs 25 – 31 (model part of computer / HMD / external device as the analysis agent which provides instructions)], the first imaging instructions comprising first imaging parameters [Krueger Figures 13 – 15, 17 – 20, 32, 35 – 39 as well as Paragraphs 187, 249 – 251, 434 – 443 (first time operation renders obvious first instructions to obtain “ocular parameters” rendering obvious the “first parameters” claimed to one of ordinary skill in the art (Paragraphs 440 – 441) and using external devices / analysis agents (Paragraphs 443 – 448)) where Paragraphs 478 – 486 (similar to Paragraphs 434 – 443 for parameters determinations based on first / initial images)];
generate, using the imaging subsystem and the display screen [See Krueger citations above], the first screening images based on the first imaging parameters, the first screening images being of an ocular facial region of a wearer of the head-mounted display [Krueger Figures 13 – 15, 17 – 20, 32, 35 – 39 as well as Paragraphs 187, 249 – 251, 419 – 421 (modifications to the visual target based on determinations / diagnosis of the user), 434 – 447 (initial / first images of a target for analysis where the screening images are those viewed during imaging (e.g. steps 1, 4, and 6 in Paragraphs 439, 442, or 446)) where Paragraphs 478 – 486 (image based approach – see step 3 (Paragraph 485 which is combinable with Paragraphs 510 – 515 and 520 – 522 (machine learning / AI with image inputs / parameters further with Paragraphs 561 – 563 (image based machine learning)) and combinable with Hsieh’s image based approach in Paragraphs 24 – 28 for the machine analysis)];
transmit, via the communications interface [See Krueger citations above], the first screening images to the analysis agent [Krueger Figures 13 – 15, 17 – 20, 32, 35 – 39 as well as Paragraphs 478 – 486 (image based approach – see step 3 (Paragraph 485 which is combinable with Paragraphs 510 – 515 and 520 – 522 (machine learning / AI with image inputs / parameters further with Paragraphs 561 – 563 (image based machine learning)) and combinable with Hsieh’s image based approach in Paragraphs 24 – 28 for the machine analysis)]; and
receive, via the communications interface [See Krueger citations above], second imaging instructions from the analysis agent [See Hsieh for “analysis agent” citations and additionally Krueger Figures 13 – 15, 17 – 20, 32, 35 – 39 as well as Paragraphs 159 – 161 (adaptive processing to continuously capture images and assess health issues), 185 – 186 (repeatable display), 438 – 448 (AI / ML for analysis to determine what to do next and to repeat the screening / imaging as in Paragraphs 448 – 449 (repeating training / ocular parameter determinations in response to stimuli / visual tracking or cues), 453 – 465 (see at least step 6 in Paragraph 462 for a repeatable process rendering obvious the “second” instructions claimed such as under a test or training process in Paragraphs 463 – 466 or in Paragraphs 483 – 488 and 560 – 564 and additionally in view of MPEP2144.04 VI B (Duplication of Parts))].
The motivation to combine Hsieh with Krueger is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of user experience wearing HMDs with XR / AR / VR viewing with diagnostic capabilities [Hsieh Paragraphs 1 and 10 – 11] in order to improve diagnosing wearer eye conditions [Hsieh Paragraphs 10 – 13 where the Examiner observes at least KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
This is the motivation to combine Krueger and Hsieh which will be used throughout the Rejection.
Regarding claim 14, Krueger teaches a HMD (head-mounted display) for patient health with a communications interface and generating images for analyzing health of a user with neural networks (NNs) / artificial intelligence (AI). Hsieh teaches a similar HMD but has appointment scheduling / reporting health information of the user and adjusting images accordingly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Krueger with the arrangements and image based processing capabilities as taught by Hsieh. The combination teaches
wherein, to generate the first screening images, the control circuitry is further configured to [See claim 13 for citations of “first screening images” and “control circuitry”]:
display, on the display screen, a predetermined scene based on the first imaging parameters [See claim 13 for citations of the claimed “display screen” and “first imaging parameters” and additionally Krueger Figures 2 – 5, 7, 19 (see at least reference character 1912) and 29 – 32 as well as Paragraphs 171, 245 – 250 (“specific image” used as an obvious variant of the claimed “predetermined scene” which allows for eye image data collection), 333 – 342 (see the background “initially presented” which renders obvious the predetermined image), 448 (displaying images for test / training / diagnosis including stationary /moving targets rendering obvious the claimed “object image” to one of ordinary skill in the art and further in Paragraphs 426 – 430 (moving or stationary visual target) and 433 – 440 (see “display” discussion), and 534 (initial image and analysis)]; and
generate the first screening images while displaying the predetermined scene to the wearer [Krueger Figures 2 – 5, 17 – 19 (see at least reference character 1912) and 29 – 32 as well as Paragraphs 171, 245 – 250 (“specific image” used as an obvious variant of the claimed “predetermined scene” which allows for eye image data collection), 333 – 343 (see the background “initially presented” which renders obvious the predetermined image which is then added with objects (e.g. Paragraphs 340 – 343) for diagnosing the user’s eye / eye imaging thus the target renders obvious the first screening images claimed to one of ordinary skill in the art), 448 (displaying images for test / training / diagnosis including stationary /moving targets rendering obvious the claimed “object image” to one of ordinary skill in the art and further in Paragraphs 426 – 430 (moving or stationary visual target) and 433 – 440 (see “display” discussion), and 534 (initial image and analysis)].
See claim 13 for the motivation to combine Krueger and Hsieh.
Regarding claim 15, Krueger teaches a HMD (head-mounted display) for patient health with a communications interface and generating images for analyzing health of a user with neural networks (NNs) / artificial intelligence (AI). Hsieh teaches a similar HMD but has appointment scheduling / reporting health information of the user and adjusting images accordingly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Krueger with the arrangements and image based processing capabilities as taught by Hsieh. The combination teaches
wherein the predetermined scene comprises one of a video, a still image, and an illumination setting [Krueger Figures 2 – 5, 17 – 19 (see at least reference character 1912) and 29 – 32 as well as Paragraphs 171, 245 – 250 (“specific image” used as an obvious variant of the claimed “predetermined scene” which allows for eye image data collection), 333 – 343 (see the background “initially presented” which renders obvious the predetermined image which is then added with objects (e.g. Paragraphs 340 – 343) for diagnosing the user’s eye / eye imaging thus the target renders obvious the first screening images claimed to one of ordinary skill in the art) in which the background settings are suggested in Paragraphs 404 – 417 (e.g. illumination / intensity / contrast setting) or can be static / still or video (Paragraphs 244 – 247 and 426)].
See claim 13 for the motivation to combine Krueger and Hsieh.
Regarding claim 16, Krueger teaches a HMD (head-mounted display) for patient health with a communications interface and generating images for analyzing health of a user with neural networks (NNs) / artificial intelligence (AI). Hsieh teaches a similar HMD but has appointment scheduling / reporting health information of the user and adjusting images accordingly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Krueger with the arrangements and image based processing capabilities as taught by Hsieh. The combination teaches
wherein the control circuitry is further configured to transmit [Krueger Paragraphs 438 – 448 (see the use of cloud storage / external devices such as Paragraphs 527, 624 – 625 (transmit data in the cloud), or combinable with Hsieh Paragraphs 21 – 27 (communicatively connected rendering obvious the “transmit” feature claimed)], via the communications interface [See claim 13 for citations], the first screening images to a network storage [Krueger Figures 2 – 5, 7 – 9, 17 – 19 as well as Paragraphs 438 – 448 (see the use of cloud storage / external devices and transmitting data such as in Paragraph 446 and also Paragraphs 527, 624 – 625 (transmit data in the cloud where the cloud renders obvious the claimed “network storage”)].
See claim 13 for the motivation to combine Krueger and Hsieh.
Regarding claim 17, Krueger teaches a HMD (head-mounted display) for patient health with a communications interface and generating images for analyzing health of a user with neural networks (NNs) / artificial intelligence (AI). Hsieh teaches a similar HMD but has appointment scheduling / reporting health information of the user and adjusting images accordingly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Krueger with the arrangements and image based processing capabilities as taught by Hsieh. The combination teaches
wherein the first imaging instructions comprise a schedule for generating the first screening images [Krueger Figures 13 – 15, 17 – 20, 32, 35 – 39 as well as Paragraphs 187, 249 – 251, 383 – 403 (repeating process / schedule of images while in a test sequence assessing the HMD user), 434 – 447 (initial / first images of a target for analysis where the screening images are those viewed during imaging (e.g. steps 1, 4, and 6 in Paragraphs 439, 442, or 446)) where Paragraphs 478 – 492 (image based approach in which in Paragraphs 487 – 491 (especially 488 where a sequential presentation of visual information is given to the user / wearer of the HMD which renders obvious the “schedule” claimed to one of ordinary skill in the art)].
See claim 13 for the motivation to combine Krueger and Hsieh.
Regarding claim 18, Krueger teaches a HMD (head-mounted display) for patient health with a communications interface and generating images for analyzing health of a user with neural networks (NNs) / artificial intelligence (AI). Hsieh teaches a similar HMD but has appointment scheduling / reporting health information of the user and adjusting images accordingly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Krueger with the arrangements and image based processing capabilities as taught by Hsieh. The combination teaches
wherein the second imaging instructions comprise a preliminary screening analysis based on the first screening images [See Hsieh for “analysis agent” citations and additionally Krueger Figures 13 – 15, 17 – 20, 32, 35 – 39 as well as Paragraphs 159 – 161 (adaptive processing to continuously capture images and assess health issues), 185 – 186 (repeatable display), 438 – 448 (AI / ML for analysis to determine what to do next and to repeat the screening / imaging as in Paragraphs 448 – 449 (repeating training / ocular parameter determinations in response to stimuli / visual tracking or cues), 453 – 465 (see at least step 7 in Paragraph 463 for diagnosing health based on eye images / screening images also in Paragraphs 485 – 488 and 560 – 564); Hsieh Figures 4 – 6 as well as Paragraphs 27 – 31 (temporary health diagnosis / issue identified for further testing / contacting care provider)].
See claim 13 for the motivation to combine Krueger and Hsieh.
Regarding claim 19, Krueger teaches a HMD (head-mounted display) for patient health with a communications interface and generating images for analyzing health of a user with neural networks (NNs) / artificial intelligence (AI). Hsieh teaches a similar HMD but has appointment scheduling / reporting health information of the user and adjusting images accordingly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Krueger with the arrangements and image based processing capabilities as taught by Hsieh. The combination teaches
wherein the control circuitry is further configured to transmit [Krueger Paragraphs 438 – 448 (see the use of cloud storage / external devices such as Paragraphs 527, 624 – 625 (transmit data in the cloud), or combinable with Hsieh Paragraphs 21 – 27 (communicatively connected rendering obvious the “transmit” feature claimed)], via the communications interface [See claim 13 for citations], the preliminary screening analysis [See next limitation for citations as well Krueger Figures 13 – 15, 17 – 20, 32, 35 – 39 as well as Paragraphs 159 – 161 (adaptive processing to continuously capture images and assess health issues), 185 – 186 (repeatable display), 438 – 448 (AI / ML for analysis to determine what to do next and to repeat the screening / imaging as in Paragraphs 448 – 449 (repeating training / ocular parameter determinations in response to stimuli / visual tracking or cues), 453 – 465 (see at least step 7 in Paragraph 463 for diagnosing health based on eye images / screening images also in Paragraphs 485 – 488 and 560 – 564)] to a health care system [Hsieh Figures 3 – 6 (see at least reference character 306) as well as Paragraphs 23 – 26 (doctor appointment scheduled based on detected health issue) and 27 – 31 (temporary health diagnosis / issue identified for further testing / contacting care provider)].
See claim 13 for the motivation to combine Krueger and Hsieh.
Regarding claim 20, Krueger teaches a HMD (head-mounted display) for patient health with a communications interface and generating images for analyzing health of a user with neural networks (NNs) / artificial intelligence (AI). Hsieh teaches a similar HMD but has appointment scheduling / reporting health information of the user and adjusting images accordingly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Krueger with the arrangements and image based processing capabilities as taught by Hsieh. The combination teaches
wherein the second imaging instructions comprise second imaging parameters [Krueger Figures 13 – 15, 17 – 20, 32, 35 – 39 as well as Paragraphs 159 – 161 (adaptive processing to continuously capture images and assess health issues), 185 – 187 (repeatable display),, 249 – 251, 419 – 421 (modifications to the visual target based on determinations / diagnosis of the user), 434 – 448 (initial / first images of a target for analysis where the screening images are those viewed during imaging (e.g. steps 1, 4, and 6 in Paragraphs 439, 442, or 446)) and also AI / ML for analysis to determine what to do next and to repeat the screening / imaging as in Paragraphs 448 – 449 (repeating training / ocular parameter determinations in response to stimuli / visual tracking or cues where Paragraphs 478 – 486 (image based approach – see step 3 (Paragraph 485 which is combinable with Paragraphs 510 – 515 and 520 – 522 (machine learning / AI with image inputs / parameters further with Paragraphs 561 – 563 (image based machine learning)) and Paragraphs 453 – 465 (see at least step 6 in Paragraph 462 for a repeatable process rendering obvious the “second” instructions claimed such as under a test or training process in Paragraphs 463 – 466 or in Paragraphs 483 – 488 and 560 – 564 and additionally in view of MPEP2144.04 VI B (Duplication of Parts)) combinable with Hsieh’s image based approach in Paragraphs 24 – 28 for the machine analysis)].
See claim 13 for the motivation to combine Krueger and Hsieh.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fateh (US PG PUB 2016/0324416 A1 referred to as “Fateh” throughout) teaches in Figures 6 – 7 diagnosing health conditions with eye imaging and image / display control in an iterative process. Legerton, et al. (US PG PUB 2023/0089522 A1 referred to as “Legerton” throughout) teaches in Figure 13 embodiments for the HMD and scheduling / health service / care notification capabilities.
/TYLER W. SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487