Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the first motor” should read “a first motor”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim reads “the second rotation shaft” however is not dependent on a claim disclosing “a first rotation shaft”. Thus, the claim should be amended to be dependent upon any of claims 10-14, or amended to recite “a first rotation shaft”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim reads “a second mover” and “a second motor”, however is not dependent on a claim disclosing “a first mover” or a ““a second motor”. Thus, the claim should be amended to be dependent upon any of claims 18-21, or amended to recite “a first mover” and “a first motor”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1,: “a driving device disposed on an upper side of the base panel”
Claim 2: “a first driving device configured to change a shape of the variable panel”, “a second driving device configured to move a position of the variable panel”
With regards to the driving device of claims 1-16 and 24, the corresponding structure described in the subsequent claims is an assembly comprising “a first motor” (claim 4), “a second motor” (claim 6), “a first gear”, “a second gear”, “a first panel moving plate”, “a second panel moving plate” (claim 7), and “a spacer” (claim 8).
With regards to the first driving device of claim 2, the corresponding structure described in [0164] of the specification is a subassembly of the driving device comprising the first motor, the second motor, the first panel moving plate, and the second panel moving plate.
With regards to the second driving device of claim 2, the corresponding structure described in [0164] of the specification is a subassembly of the driving device comprising the first motor and the first panel moving plate.
With regards to the driving device of claims 1 and 17-24, the corresponding structure described in the subsequent claims is an assembly comprising “a first motor”, “a first mover”, “a first gear”, “a second gear” (claim 18), “a motor gear” (claim 19), “a first gear”, and “a second mover” (claim 22).
Note: Since claims 17-22 describe an embodiment that comprises a driving device with an alternate structure than that of claims 2-16, an amendment to include a first driving device or second driving device in any of claims 17-22 would result in the first driving device or second driving device comprising corresponding structure described in [0127-0219] of the specification.
Additionally, with regards to claim 14, “wherein the first gear surface and the second gear surface are continuously engaged with the first gear” is interpreted such that the first gear is continuously engaged with either the first gear surface or the second gear surface, wherein the first gear surface and the second gear surface are fixed to one another; thus, the claim is not interpreted such that the first gear is continuously engaged with both the first gear surface and the second gear surface simultaneously. As shown on figs. 24-27 of applicant’s disclosure, the motor gear 126 may be engaged with the first gear surface but not the second gear surface (fig. 24), or the motor gear 126 may be engaged with the second gear surface but not the first gear surface (fig. 27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yabu (US20090098820A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yabu teaches
an air conditioner (air conditioning apparatus 1) comprising:
a base panel (bottom plate 33) having a first communication hole formed in one side thereof (suction port 34), and a second communication hole formed in another side thereof (discharge port 35a);
a variable panel disposed under the base panel and changed in shape to open and close the first communication hole and the second communication hole (dividing panels 41a-d, fig. 7); and
a driving device (moveable mechanism 43, angle adjustment mechanism 44) disposed on an upper side of the base panel and changing a position of one side of the variable panel in an up-down direction, so that the variable panel is changed in shape (from fig. 8a to fig. 8b)
Regarding claim 2, Yabu teaches the air conditioner of claim 1, wherein the driving device comprises:
a first driving device configured to change a shape of the variable panel (angle adjustment mechanism 44); and
a second driving device configured to move a position of the variable panel (opening/closing moveable mechanism 43)
Regarding claim 3, Yabu teaches the air conditioner of claim 1,
wherein the variable panel comprises a cover part disposed at a lower side of the first communication hole or the second communication hole (part of dividing panels 41a-d that covers suction port 34), and a variable part changing an inclination angle of the cover part (part of dividing panels 41a-d in connection with angle adjustment mechanism 44)
Regarding claim 6, Yabu teaches the air conditioner of claim 1,
wherein the variable panel comprises a first plate disposed at a lower side of the first communication hole (first dividing panel 41a), and a second plate disposed at a lower side of the second communication hole (second dividing panel 41b), wherein the driving device comprises a second motor configured to change an inclination angle of the second plate (second angle adjustment mechanism 44b), wherein the first motor is configured to change an inclination angle of the first plate or to move a position of the first plate (first angle adjustment mechanism 44a)
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (EP2208943A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches
an air conditioner (cabinet 10) comprising:
a base panel (front cover 16) having a first communication hole formed in one side thereof, and a second communication hole formed in another side thereof (air discharge holes 17, fig. 2);
a variable panel disposed under the base panel and changed in shape to open and close the first communication hole and the second communication hole (front panel 20); and
a driving device (rotating units 50) disposed on an upper side of the base panel and changing a position of one side of the variable panel in an up-down direction, so that the variable panel is changed in shape (from fig. 4 to fig. 7)
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the air conditioner of claim 1,
wherein the variable panel comprises a cover part disposed at a lower side of the first communication hole or the second communication hole (first and second panels 21 and 22), and a variable part changing an inclination angle of the cover part (brackets 25)
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the air conditioner of claim 1,
wherein the driving device comprises a first motor fixed to the base panel (drive motor 53), and configured to change the shape of the variable panel or to move the position of the variable panel (between from fig. 4 to fig. 7)
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the air conditioner of claim 1,
wherein the variable panel comprises a first plate disposed at a lower side of the first communication hole (first panel 21), and a second plate disposed at a lower side of the second communication hole (second panel 22), wherein the driving device comprises a second motor configured to change an inclination angle of the second plate (drive motor 53 associated with second panel 22), wherein the first motor is configured to change an inclination angle of the first plate or to move a position of the first plate (drive motor 53 associated with first panel 21)
Regarding claim 23, Kim teaches the air conditioner of claim 1,
wherein the first communication hole and the second communication hole may be opened and closed simultaneously or together by the variable panel (figs. 4-6, opened simultaneously)
Claim(s) 1-6, 16 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Joong (EP2208942A2).
Regarding claim 1, Joong teaches
an air conditioner (fig. 1) comprising:
a base panel (cabinet 10) having a first communication hole formed in one side thereof discharge hole 42, fig. 4A), and a second communication hole formed in another side thereof (discharge hole 43, fig. 4A);
a variable panel disposed under the base panel and changed in shape to open and close the first communication hole and the second communication hole (front panel 40); and
a driving device (drive unit 50, fig. 6) disposed on an upper side of the base panel (as shown in alternate configuration of fig. 7A) and changing a position of one side of the variable panel in an up-down direction, so that the variable panel is changed in shape (fig. 4A)
Regarding claim 2, Joong teaches the air conditioner of claim 1, wherein the driving device comprises:
a first driving device configured to change a shape of the variable panel (rotating motor 65, fig. 6); and
a second driving device configured to move a position of the variable panel (single drive motor 55, fig. 6)
Regarding claim 3, Joong teaches the air conditioner of claim 1,
wherein the variable panel comprises a cover part disposed at a lower side of the first communication hole or the second communication hole (part of moving panels 46 that cover first discharge hole 42 and second discharge hole 43), and a variable part changing an inclination angle of the cover part (part of moving panels 46 in connection with bracket 61, fig. 6)
Regarding claim 4, Joong teaches the air conditioner of claim 1,
wherein the driving device comprises a first motor fixed to the base panel (single drive motor 55), and configured to change the shape of the variable panel or to move the position of the variable panel (move position of moving panels 46 as shown on fig. 4A)
Regarding claim 5, Joong teaches the air conditioner of claim 1,
wherein the variable panel comprises a fixed part disposed between the first communication hole and the second communication hole and fixed in position vertically relative to the base panel (center panel 41, wherein fig. 4A is interpreted so that moving panels 46 are moving In the “down” direction), and a cover part disposed on one side of the fixed part and changed in position vertically relative to the base panel (moving panels 46, fig. 4A), wherein the first motor is configured to change an inclination angle of the cover part or to move a position of the cover part (“both the moving panels 46 may be moved forward or rearward via rotation of the single drive motor 55”) [0053]
Regarding claim 6, Yabu teaches the air conditioner of claim 1,
wherein the variable panel comprises a first plate disposed at a lower side of the first communication hole (left moving panel 46, fig. 4A), and a second plate disposed at a lower side of the second communication hole (right moving panel 46, fig. 4A), wherein the driving device comprises a second motor configured to change an inclination angle of the second plate (rotating motor 65 associated with right moving panel 46), wherein the first motor is configured to change an inclination angle of the first plate or to move a position of the first plate (“both the moving panels 46 may be moved forward or rearward via rotation of the single drive motor 55”) [0053]
Regarding claim 16, Joong teaches the air conditioner of claim 6, further comprising
a moving panel disposed under the base panel to be movable forward and backward (bracket 61), and coupled to the variable panel (fig. 6), wherein the first motor is fixed to one side of the base panel, and the second motor is fixed to an upper side of the moving panel (rotating motor 65 fixed to guide member 63 on upper side of bracket 61 as shown on fig. 7A)
Regarding claim 23, Joong teaches the air conditioner of claim 1,
wherein the first communication hole and the second communication hole may be opened and closed simultaneously or together by the variable panel (opened simultaneously as shown on fig. 4A)
Regarding claim 24, Joong teaches
an air conditioner (fig. 1) comprising:
a base panel (cabinet 10) having a first communication hole formed in one side thereof discharge hole 42, fig. 4A), and a second communication hole formed in another side thereof (discharge hole 43, fig. 4A);
a variable panel disposed under the base panel and changed in shape to open and close the first communication hole and the second communication hole (front panel 40); and
a driving device (drive unit 50, fig. 6) disposed on an upper side of the base panel (as shown in alternate configuration of fig. 7A) and changing a position of one side of the variable panel in an up-down direction, so that the variable panel is changed in shape (fig. 4A),
wherein the driving device comprises a motor fixed to the base panel (single drive motor 55, fig. 6), and a gear rotated by the motor (pinion gear 53),
wherein a panel moving plate, on which a gear surface engaged with the gear is formed, is disposed on the variable panel (Y-shaped rack gear 52),
wherein the gear surface is formed to change a shape of the variable panel or to move a position of the variable panel, when the motor is activated (“the drive unit 50 may include a Y-shaped rack gear 52. In this case, both the moving panels 46 may be moved forward or rearward via rotation of the single drive motor 55”) [0053]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (EP2208943A1) in view of Kang (US20170067681A1).
Regarding claim 7, Kim does not teach the air conditioner of claim 6,
wherein the driving device comprises: a first gear connected to the first motor to be rotated thereby;
a second gear connected to the second motor to be rotated thereby;
a first panel moving plate connected to the first plate and changing an inclination angle of the first plate by the rotation of the first gear; and
a second panel moving plate connected to the second plate and changing an inclination angle of the second plate by the rotation of the second gear
Kang teaches a similar panel rotation system to that of Kim, however further shows a motor 240 rotating first gear 281 and second gear 282 to rotate the angle of blade 210 on figs. 15-16. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the gear system of Kang to the rotating units 50 of Kim, since “The gear unit 280 may generate great torque although the same motor is used, so as to reduce vibrations and noise that are generated upon use of the high capacity motor 240” [0013 of Kang].
Thus, the combination teaches
wherein the driving device comprises: a first gear connected to the first motor to be rotated thereby (first gear 281 of Kang applied to rotating unit 50 of first panel 21);
a second gear connected to the second motor to be rotated thereby (first gear 281 of Kang applied to rotating unit 50 of second panel 22);
a first panel moving plate connected to the first plate and changing an inclination angle of the first plate by the rotation of the first gear (bracket 25 of first panel 21); and
a second panel moving plate connected to the second plate and changing an inclination angle of the second plate by the rotation of the second gear (bracket 25 of second panel 22)
Regarding claim 8, Kim, as modified, teaches the air conditioner of claim 7,
wherein the driving device further comprises a spacer maintaining a distance between the first panel moving plate and the second panel moving plate (display panel 18, as shown on fig. 6)
Regarding claim 9, Kim, as modified, teaches the air conditioner of claim 7,
wherein a panel guider, guiding movement of each of a first panel guide and a second panel guide, is disposed on the base panel (cover 57, fig. 3)
Regarding claim 10, Kim, as modified, teaches the air conditioner of claim 9, wherein:
a first guide pin, extending around a first rotating shaft of the first panel moving plate, is disposed on the first panel moving plate (protrusion 26 associated with first panel 21);
a second guide pin, extending around a second rotating shaft of the second panel moving plate, is disposed on the second panel moving plate (protrusion 26 associated with second panel 22); and
a first guide hole and a second guide hole are formed in the panel guider (guide regions 58 of covers 57 associated with first and second panels 21 and 22), the first guide hole guiding movement of the first guide pin (guide region 58 associated with first panel 21), and the second guide hole guiding movement of the second guide pin (guide region 58 associated with second panel 22)
Regarding claim 15, Kim, as modified, teaches the air conditioner of claim 7,
wherein a gear surface is formed on the second panel moving plate (as modified by Kang, second panel moving plate comprises a driven gear), the gear surface radially spaced apart from the second rotation shaft (radially spaced from rotation shaft 281a of Kang) and engaged with the second gear (engaged with first gear 281 of Kang applied to rotating unit 50 of second panel 22) on an outer circumferential surface extending in a circumferential direction (as shown on fig. 15 of Kang, first gear 281 and second gear 282 engage with one another on their outer circumferential surfaces), and a stopper is disposed on an upper surface of the second panel moving plate, the stopper limiting downward movement of the second panel moving plate (upward curved section of second panel 22, disposed above bracket 25 of second panel 22, limits downward movement of second panel 22 when it abuts display panel 18, thus reading on a stopper)
Regarding claim 17, Kim, teaches the air conditioner of claim 1,
wherein the variable panel comprises: a first plate disposed under the base panel so as to open and close the first communication hole (first panel 21); and
a second plate disposed under the base panel so as to open and close the second communication hole (second panel 22)
Kim does not teach
a first variable panel comprising a first panel gear connected to the driving device to change a position of the first plate
a second variable panel comprising a second panel gear connected to the driving device to change a position of the second plate
Kang teaches a similar panel rotation system to that of Kim, however further shows a motor 240 rotating first gear 281 and second gear 282 to rotate the angle of blade 210 on figs. 15-16. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the gear system of Kang to the rotating units 50 of Kim, since “The gear unit 280 may generate great torque although the same motor is used, so as to reduce vibrations and noise that are generated upon use of the high capacity motor 240” [0013 of Kang].
Thus, the combination teaches
a first variable panel comprising a first panel gear connected to the driving device to change a position of the first plate (first gear 281 of Kang applied to rotating unit 50 of first panel 21)
a second variable panel comprising a second panel gear connected to the driving device to change a position of the second plate (first gear 281 of Kang applied to rotating unit 50 of second panel 22)
Claim(s) 17-18, 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joong (EP2208942A2) in view of Park (US20180008924A1).
Regarding claim 17, Joong teaches the air conditioner of claim 1,
wherein the variable panel comprises: a first plate disposed under the base panel so as to open and close the first communication hole (left moving panel 46, fig. 7A), and a first variable panel comprising a first panel gear connected to the driving device to change a position of the first plate (guide member 63 moves up and down based on movement of drive unit 50, guide member 63 changes angle of left moving panel 46); and
a second plate disposed under the base panel so as to open and close the second communication hole (right moving panel 46, fig. 7A), and a second variable panel comprising a second panel gear connected to the driving device to change a position of the second plate (guide member 63 moves up and down based on movement of drive unit 50, guide member 63 changes angle of right moving panel 46)
Joong describes “The rotating motor 65 and guide member 63 are mounted to the rack gear 51. The rotating motor 65 rotates the guide member 63 by a predetermined angle about the end of the guide member 63 close to the center panel 41, i.e. a coupling portion of the guide member 63 and rack gear 51, thereby rotating the bracket 61” in [0052]. However, Joong does not explicitly describe how the rotation of rotating motor 65 rotates the guide member 63, and therefore does not explicitly teach the claimed first panel gear and second panel gear. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the rotating motor 65 and guide member 63 as a geared system, as taught on fig. 12 of Park comprising driving motor 500 and driving gear 502 to drive internal gear 503 and thus rotate first discharge vane 24, as the geared system would allow for an effective and reliable opening and closing system of moving panels 46. The two guide members 63 Joong, as modified by Park, would thus read on the claimed first and second panel gears.
Regarding claim 18, Joong, as modified, teaches the air conditioner of claim 17, wherein the driving device comprises:
a first motor (single drive motor 55);
a first mover coupled to the first motor so as to move up and down (fork section of Y-shaped rack gear 52);
a first gear coupled to the first mover and changing a position of the first panel gear (left rotating motor 65, comprising a driving gear as modified by Park); and
a second gear coupled to the first mover and changing a position of the second panel gear (right rotating motor 65, comprising a driving gear as modified by Park)
Regarding claim 21, Joong teaches the air conditioner of claim 18,
wherein the first mover comprises a first vertical bar having a first gear surface engaged with the first gear (FVB on annotated fig. 6 below), a second vertical bar spaced apart from the first vertical bar and having a second gear surface engaged with the second gear (SVB on annotated fig. 6 below), and a horizontal bar connecting the first vertical bar and the second vertical bar (HB on annotated fig. 6 below)
Annotated fig. 6 of Joong
Regarding claim 22, Joong teaches the air conditioner of claim 17,
wherein the driving device comprises a second mover moving the position of the variable panel (since claim 22 is not dependent upon a claim reciting a first mover, rack gear 52 can read on the second mover as well), and a second motor disposed on the base panel and moving the second mover (since claim 22 is not dependent upon a claim reciting a first motor, single drive motor 55 can read on the second mover as well)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, the subject matter not found includes “wherein a third guide pin is disposed on the first panel moving plate, the third guide pin radially spaced apart from the first rotating shaft and extending parallel to the first rotating shaft of the first panel moving plate, wherein a third guide hole, guiding movement of the third guide pin, is formed in the panel guider”, in combination with the other elements of claims 1, 6-7, and 9-10 from which claim 11 depends. The closest art of record is Kim in view of Kang, as applied in the office action, however a modification to include this additional claim language would have been non-obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. No other prior art was found to teach the claim in its entirety.
Claim 12 is indicated as allowable subject matter based on its dependence to claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, the subject matter not found includes “the first panel moving plate rotates about the first rotating shaft; a gear surface engaged with the first gear is formed on one side surface of the first panel moving plate, wherein the gear surface comprises a first gear surface formed in a circumferential direction, and a second gear surface connected to one end of the gear surface and extending in a radial direction”, in combination with the other elements of claims 1, 6-7, and 9-10 from which claim 13 depends. The closest art of record is Kim in view of Kang, as applied in the office action, however a modification to include this additional claim language would have been non-obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. No other prior art was found to teach the claim in its entirety.
Claim 14 is indicated as allowable subject matter based on its dependence to claim 13.
Regarding claim 19, the subject matter not found includes “wherein the driving device further comprises a motor gear connected to a rotating shaft of the first motor, wherein the first gear is rotated in engagement with the motor gear, and the first gear is engaged with each of the first mover and the first panel gear”, in combination with the other elements of claims 1, and 17-18 from which claim 19 depends. The closest art of record is Joong in view of Park, as applied in the office action, however a modification to include this additional claim language would have been non-obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. No other prior art was found to teach the claim in its entirety.
Claim 20 is indicated as allowable subject matter based on its dependence to claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art of record not relied upon includes:
Kim2020 (EP3730845A1), Chel (CN101231025A), and Lin (CN106247592A), which teach similar air conditioner arrangements to that claimed
/BRETT P. MALLON/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762