DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 filed on 09/28/2023 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ardanaz does not disclose “adding a dummy load in a high-power multi-voltage system or a dummy sink current to an output of a switching regulator of a power module to reduce an amount of a current change ratio in response to said executed task indicating an amount of said current change ratio exceeding a threshold value within a period of time,” as recited in independent claim 1 and similarly recited in independent claims 8 and 15. Applicant asserts that Ardanaz merely discloses executing dummy instructions to gradually increase load current, and therefore does not disclose adding a “dummy load” as claimed. Applicant further argues that Ardanaz does not disclose the claimed “current change ratio,” which Applicant identifies as a ratio of current before and after a predicted rush current. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, Applicant’s argument that Ardanaz merely discloses executing dummy instructions is not persuasive because the instant application also describes the claimed “dummy load” as code or a task that is executed to consume power and pull current. See, for example, [0064]: “Both the real load task and the dummy load task are then converted into execution code in code generator 108. The converted code is then sent to high-power multi-voltage system 104. In one embodiment, the additional dummy load code is executed in high-power multi-voltage system 104.”
Thus, under Applicant’s own description, the “dummy load” may be implemented as the same type of instructions as Ardanaz, executed by the system for the purpose of consuming power and pulling current to avoid rush current.
Second, Applicant’s argument that Ardanaz does not disclose reducing a “current change ratio” is not persuasive. Applicant relies on the Specification’s statement that a current change ratio refers to a ratio of current before and after a predicted rush current. However, Ardanaz discloses the same current-before/current-after relationship. Ardanaz discloses that, without dummy instructions, the load current increases from I1 to I2 between time t1 and time t2. See Ardanaz [0013], [0016], [0042]. Ardanaz further discloses that, with dummy instructions, the load current is first increased from I1 to I1p between time t0 and time t1, and then increased from I1p to I2 between time t1 and time t2. See Ardanaz [0053]-[0056]. Thus, Ardanaz discloses the current before and after the predicted rush-current event. Even if the ratio is not expressly labeled as a “current change ratio,” the ratio necessarily exists because Ardanaz discloses the relevant current values before and after the predicted current increase.
Further, Ardanaz reduces that ratio by increasing the pre-event current before execution of the real workload. In the absence of dummy instructions, the current change is from I1 to I2. With dummy instructions, the current immediately before execution of the real workload is increased to I1p, and the subsequent current increase is from I1p to I2. Since I1p is greater than I1, the before/after current ratio associated with the sudden real-load increase is reduced. This is consistent with Ardanaz’s teaching that injecting dummy instructions before the actual loading event substantially decreases the rate of increase in load current and gradually increases the load current from a stalled current value I1 to a fully operational current value I2. See Ardanaz [0055]-[0058]. Accordingly, Ardanaz discloses reducing the amount of the claimed current change ratio.
Applicant further argues that Ardanaz does not disclose adding a dummy load “in response to said executed task indicating an amount of said current change ratio exceeding a threshold value within a period of time.” This argument is also not persuasive. Ardanaz discloses detecting conditions indicating that the real workload will cause a sudden spike in load current. In particular, Ardanaz discloses that the load status circuitry may predict an imminent and sudden increase in load current, may predict whether an instruction pipeline stores high power instructions, and may predict when the load may come out of a stall condition. See Ardanaz [0033]. Ardanaz also discloses that the controller transitions from normal mode to warmup mode when high-power instructions are detected in the pipeline, when the load status circuitry predicts an imminent potential and sudden spike in load current, or when the load status circuitry predicts an imminent end of a stalled condition followed by a high-load condition. Once in warmup mode, Ardanaz injects dummy instructions into the load. See Ardanaz [0072]. Ardanaz’s detection of high power instructions and predicted sudden current spike therefore satisfies the claimed threshold-based indication.
For at least these reasons, the rejection is still deemed proper and has been maintained.
Applicant may wish to amend the claims to require determining an amount of dummy load to add based on an amount by which the estimated before/after current ratio for the real-load task exceeds the threshold, such that a greater excess over the threshold causes a greater amount of dummy load to be added. See [0086] of Applicant’s specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-10, 12, 13, 15-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ardanaz et al. (US 2019/0034203 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ardanaz discloses a computer-implemented method for handling a surge of current due to a sudden increase in operation load, the method comprising:
scheduling a task to be executed, wherein said task comprises a real load ([0019]: “a system may predict a start of a loading event, e.g., predict an imminent increase of load current from, for example, time t1”); and
adding a dummy load in a high-power multi-voltage system ([0019]: “Based on such prediction, the system may artificially increase the load current prior to the time t1. For example, the load may execute dummy instructions prior to the time t1, thereby gradually increasing the load current”) or a dummy sink current to an output of a switching regulator of a power module ([0032]: “the load 308 may receive the load current 324 from the VR 304. The VR 304 may be any appropriate type of voltage regulator, or voltage generator. The load current 324 may be supplied with an output voltage level 328”) to reduce an amount of a current change ratio (FIG. 4 and [0056]: “injecting the power noise (e.g., via dummy instructions 316), prior to the actual loading event from time t1, may substantially decrease the rate of increase in the load current 324”) in response to said executed task indicating an amount of said current change ratio exceeding a threshold value within a period of time ([0043]: “to avoid the high rate of change in the load current 324, prior to the time t1, the load 324 may be supplied with the dummy instructions 316”).
Regarding claim 2, Ardanaz discloses the method as recited in claim 1.
Ardanaz further discloses further comprising: generating code to include both said real load and a dummy load ([0045]: “the load status circuitry 376 may be based on instruction-type detection at a decode phase in the pipeline associated with the load 308. The pipeline (not illustrated in the figures) may store instructions for execution by the load 308, and may also be referred to as an instruction pipeline”).
Regarding claim 3, Ardanaz discloses the method as recited in claim 2.
Ardanaz further discloses wherein said code is executed so that compensated current which includes current for both said real load and said dummy load is pulled from said output of said switching regulator of said power module ([0025]: “FIG. 3A schematically illustrates a system 300 comprising a VR 304 supplying load current 324 to a load 308, wherein power noise (e.g., comprising dummy instructions 316) is opportunistically injected in the load 308 ahead of a loading event to control a rate of change of the load current 324”).
Regarding claim 5, Ardanaz discloses the method as recited in claim 1.
Ardanaz further discloses further comprising: generating control signals to add said dummy sink current to said output of said switching regulator of said power module ([0028-0029]: “the dummy instructions 316 may be instructions that may be executed by the load 308, e.g., merely to keep the load current 324 artificially high, and may not contribute to an actual workload of the load 308… the multiplexer 310 may receive the instructions 312 and dummy instructions 316, and may selectively output, at any given time, one of the instructions 312 and dummy instructions 316 to the load 308. The output of the multiplexer 310 may be based on a control signal 318. In some embodiments, a control circuitry 320 may generate the control signal 318”).
Regarding claim 6, Ardanaz discloses the method as recited in claim 5.
Ardanaz further discloses wherein said control signals are used to instruct a programmable electrical load to pull said dummy sink current from said output of said switching regulator of said power module to reduce said amount of said current change ratio ([0028-0030]: “the dummy instructions 316 may be instructions that may be executed by the load 308, e.g., merely to keep the load current 324 artificially high, and may not contribute to an actual workload of the load 308… the multiplexer 310 may receive the instructions 312 and dummy instructions 316, and may selectively output, at any given time, one of the instructions 312 and dummy instructions 316 to the load 308. The output of the multiplexer 310 may be based on a control signal 318. In some embodiments, a control circuitry 320 may generate the control signal 318… in anticipation of an imminent sharp and sudden increase in the load current 324, the control circuitry 320 may artificially increase the load current 324 from prior to time t1, e.g., such that the increase in the load current 324 (e.g., the rate of change of the load current 324) is gradual from time t1”; [0043]: “to avoid the high rate of change in the load current 324, prior to the time t1, the load 324 may be supplied with the dummy instructions 316”).
Regarding claim 8, Ardanaz discloses a computer program product for handling a surge of current by a power module due to a sudden increase in operation load, the computer program product comprising one or more computer readable storage mediums having program code embodied therewith ([0092]: “Elements of embodiments are also provided as a machine-readable medium (e.g., memory 2160) for storing the computer-executable instructions (e.g., instructions to implement any other processes discussed herein)”),
the program code comprising programming instructions for: scheduling a task to be executed, wherein said task comprises a real load ([0019]: “a system may predict a start of a loading event, e.g., predict an imminent increase of load current from, for example, time t1”); and
adding a dummy load in a high-power multi-voltage system ([0019]: “Based on such prediction, the system may artificially increase the load current prior to the time t1. For example, the load may execute dummy instructions prior to the time t1, thereby gradually increasing the load current”) or a dummy sink current to an output of a switching regulator of a power module ([0032]: “the load 308 may receive the load current 324 from the VR 304. The VR 304 may be any appropriate type of voltage regulator, or voltage generator. The load current 324 may be supplied with an output voltage level 328”) to reduce an amount of a current change ratio (FIG. 4 and [0056]: “injecting the power noise (e.g., via dummy instructions 316), prior to the actual loading event from time t1, may substantially decrease the rate of increase in the load current 324”) in response to said executed task indicating an amount of said current change ratio exceeding a threshold value within a period of time ([0043]: “to avoid the high rate of change in the load current 324, prior to the time t1, the load 324 may be supplied with the dummy instructions 316”).
Regarding claim 9, Ardanaz discloses the computer program product as recited in claim 8.
Ardanaz further discloses wherein the program code further comprises the programming instructions for: generating code to include both said real load and a dummy load ([0045]: “the load status circuitry 376 may be based on instruction-type detection at a decode phase in the pipeline associated with the load 308. The pipeline (not illustrated in the figures) may store instructions for execution by the load 308, and may also be referred to as an instruction pipeline”).
Regarding claim 10, Ardanaz discloses the computer program product as recited in claim 9.
Ardanaz further discloses wherein said code is executed so that compensated current which includes current for both said real load and said dummy load is pulled from said output of said switching regulator of said power module ([0025]: “FIG. 3A schematically illustrates a system 300 comprising a VR 304 supplying load current 324 to a load 308, wherein power noise (e.g., comprising dummy instructions 316) is opportunistically injected in the load 308 ahead of a loading event to control a rate of change of the load current 324”).
Regarding claim 12, Ardanaz discloses the computer program product as recited in claim 8.
Ardanaz further discloses wherein the program code further comprises the programming instructions for: generating control signals to add said dummy sink current to said output of said switching regulator of said power module ([0028-0029]: “the dummy instructions 316 may be instructions that may be executed by the load 308, e.g., merely to keep the load current 324 artificially high, and may not contribute to an actual workload of the load 308… the multiplexer 310 may receive the instructions 312 and dummy instructions 316, and may selectively output, at any given time, one of the instructions 312 and dummy instructions 316 to the load 308. The output of the multiplexer 310 may be based on a control signal 318. In some embodiments, a control circuitry 320 may generate the control signal 318”).
Regarding claim 13, Ardanaz discloses the computer program product as recited in claim 12.
Ardanaz further discloses wherein said control signals are used to instruct a programmable electrical load to pull said dummy sink current from said output of said switching regulator of said power module to reduce said amount of said current change ratio ([0028-0030]: “the dummy instructions 316 may be instructions that may be executed by the load 308, e.g., merely to keep the load current 324 artificially high, and may not contribute to an actual workload of the load 308… the multiplexer 310 may receive the instructions 312 and dummy instructions 316, and may selectively output, at any given time, one of the instructions 312 and dummy instructions 316 to the load 308. The output of the multiplexer 310 may be based on a control signal 318. In some embodiments, a control circuitry 320 may generate the control signal 318… in anticipation of an imminent sharp and sudden increase in the load current 324, the control circuitry 320 may artificially increase the load current 324 from prior to time t1, e.g., such that the increase in the load current 324 (e.g., the rate of change of the load current 324) is gradual from time t1”; [0043]: “to avoid the high rate of change in the load current 324, prior to the time t1, the load 324 may be supplied with the dummy instructions 316”).
Regarding claim 15, Ardanaz discloses a system, comprising:
Ardanaz further discloses a memory for storing a computer program for handling a surge of current by a power module due to a sudden increase in operation load ([0092]: “Elements of embodiments are also provided as a machine-readable medium (e.g., memory 2160) for storing the computer-executable instructions (e.g., instructions to implement any other processes discussed herein)”); and
a processor connected to said memory ([0084]: processor 2110), wherein said processor is configured to execute program instructions of the computer program comprising:
scheduling a task to be executed, wherein said task comprises a real load ([0019]: “a system may predict a start of a loading event, e.g., predict an imminent increase of load current from, for example, time t1”); and
adding a dummy load in a high-power multi-voltage system ([0019]: “Based on such prediction, the system may artificially increase the load current prior to the time t1. For example, the load may execute dummy instructions prior to the time t1, thereby gradually increasing the load current”) or a dummy sink current to an output of a switching regulator of a power module ([0032]: “the load 308 may receive the load current 324 from the VR 304. The VR 304 may be any appropriate type of voltage regulator, or voltage generator. The load current 324 may be supplied with an output voltage level 328”) to reduce an amount of a current change ratio (FIG. 4 and [0056]: “injecting the power noise (e.g., via dummy instructions 316), prior to the actual loading event from time t1, may substantially decrease the rate of increase in the load current 324”) in response to said executed task indicating an amount of said current change ratio exceeding a threshold value within a period of time ([0043]: “to avoid the high rate of change in the load current 324, prior to the time t1, the load 324 may be supplied with the dummy instructions 316”).
Regarding claim 16, Ardanaz discloses the system as recited in claim 15.
Ardanaz further discloses wherein the program instructions of the computer program further comprise: generating code to include both said real load and a dummy load ([0045]: “the load status circuitry 376 may be based on instruction-type detection at a decode phase in the pipeline associated with the load 308. The pipeline (not illustrated in the figures) may store instructions for execution by the load 308, and may also be referred to as an instruction pipeline”).
Regarding claim 17, Ardanaz discloses the system as recited in claim 16.
Ardanaz further discloses wherein said code is executed so that compensated current which includes current for both said real load and said dummy load is pulled from said output of said switching regulator of said power module ([0025]: “FIG. 3A schematically illustrates a system 300 comprising a VR 304 supplying load current 324 to a load 308, wherein power noise (e.g., comprising dummy instructions 316) is opportunistically injected in the load 308 ahead of a loading event to control a rate of change of the load current 324”).
Regarding claim 19, Ardanaz discloses the system as recited in claim 15.
Ardanaz further discloses wherein the program instructions of the computer program further comprise: generating control signals to add said dummy sink current to said output of said switching regulator of said power module ([0028-0029]: “the dummy instructions 316 may be instructions that may be executed by the load 308, e.g., merely to keep the load current 324 artificially high, and may not contribute to an actual workload of the load 308… the multiplexer 310 may receive the instructions 312 and dummy instructions 316, and may selectively output, at any given time, one of the instructions 312 and dummy instructions 316 to the load 308. The output of the multiplexer 310 may be based on a control signal 318. In some embodiments, a control circuitry 320 may generate the control signal 318”).
Regarding claim 20, Ardanaz discloses the system as recited in claim 19.
Ardanaz further discloses wherein said control signals are used to instruct a programmable electrical load or a switching device to pull said dummy sink current from said output of said switching regulator of said power module to reduce said amount of said current change ratio ([0028-0030]: “the dummy instructions 316 may be instructions that may be executed by the load 308, e.g., merely to keep the load current 324 artificially high, and may not contribute to an actual workload of the load 308… the multiplexer 310 may receive the instructions 312 and dummy instructions 316, and may selectively output, at any given time, one of the instructions 312 and dummy instructions 316 to the load 308. The output of the multiplexer 310 may be based on a control signal 318. In some embodiments, a control circuitry 320 may generate the control signal 318… in anticipation of an imminent sharp and sudden increase in the load current 324, the control circuitry 320 may artificially increase the load current 324 from prior to time t1, e.g., such that the increase in the load current 324 (e.g., the rate of change of the load current 324) is gradual from time t1”; [0043]: “to avoid the high rate of change in the load current 324, prior to the time t1, the load 324 may be supplied with the dummy instructions 316”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, 11, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ardanaz et al. (US 2019/0034203 A1), in view of Liu et al. (WO 2019/138623 A1) (Note: a machine translation is used for mapping, attached to this action).
Regarding claim 4, Ardanaz discloses the method as recited in claim 1.
While Ardanaz teaches using any type of voltage regulator ([0032]: “VR 304 may be any appropriate type of voltage regulator, or voltage generator”), Ardanaz does not explicitly teach “said switching regulator comprises a DCDC switching regulator.”
Liu further teaches wherein said switching regulator comprises a DCDC switching regulator ([0005]: “The power supply device is, for example, a switching regulator type DC/DC converter that generates power for the microcomputer from a battery power source”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the method of Ardanaz to incorporate the teachings of Liu so as to include said switching regulator comprising a DCDC switching regulator. Doing so would allow effective use of a dummy load with a switching regulator with the aim of reducing rapid changes in current demand (Liu, [0007]: “particularly in the case of a switching regulator, simply providing a dummy load may make it difficult to maintain the ripple of the output voltage within a required range”; [0011]: “The dummy load control circuit controls the timing of enabling or disabling the dummy load circuit based on the switching timing of the switching control signal”).
Regarding claim 7, Ardanaz discloses the method as recited in claim 5.
Ardanaz does not explicitly teach “said control signals are used to instruct a switching device to pull said dummy sink current from said output of said switching regulator of said power module to reduce said amount of said current change ratio.”
Liu further teaches wherein said control signals are used to instruct a switching device to pull said dummy sink current from said output of said switching regulator of said power module to reduce said amount of said current change ratio ([0011]: “A power supply device according to one embodiment includes an inductor that supplies power to a load device, a switching element that stores power in the inductor when controlled to be turned on, a switching control circuit that generates a switching control signal for controlling the on/off of the switching element, a dummy load circuit, and a dummy load control circuit… The dummy load control circuit controls the timing of enabling or disabling the dummy load circuit based on the switching timing of the switching control signal”; [0066]: “The current change prediction circuit 21 determines the timing of a sudden decrease and a sudden increase of the load current Imcu by determining whether the rate of change of the load current Imcu detected by the current detection circuit 20 has reached a predetermined threshold value for determining a sudden decrease and a predetermined threshold value for determining a sudden increase, respectively”).
The reasons to combine Liu into Ardanaz are the same as articulated in Claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 11, Ardanaz discloses the computer program product as recited in claim 8.
While Ardanaz teaches using any type of voltage regulator ([0032]: “VR 304 may be any appropriate type of voltage regulator, or voltage generator”), Ardanaz does not explicitly teach “said switching regulator comprises a DCDC switching regulator.”
Liu further teaches wherein said switching regulator comprises a DCDC switching regulator ([0005]: “The power supply device is, for example, a switching regulator type DC/DC converter that generates power for the microcomputer from a battery power source”).
The reasons to combine Liu into Ardanaz are the same as articulated in Claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 14, Ardanaz discloses the computer program product as recited in claim 12.
Ardanaz does not explicitly teach “said control signals are used to instruct a switching device to pull said dummy sink current from said output of said switching regulator of said power module to reduce said amount of said current change ratio.”
Liu further teaches wherein said control signals are used to instruct a switching device to pull said dummy sink current from said output of said switching regulator of said power module to reduce said amount of said current change ratio ([0011]: “A power supply device according to one embodiment includes an inductor that supplies power to a load device, a switching element that stores power in the inductor when controlled to be turned on, a switching control circuit that generates a switching control signal for controlling the on/off of the switching element, a dummy load circuit, and a dummy load control circuit… The dummy load control circuit controls the timing of enabling or disabling the dummy load circuit based on the switching timing of the switching control signal”; [0066]: “The current change prediction circuit 21 determines the timing of a sudden decrease and a sudden increase of the load current Imcu by determining whether the rate of change of the load current Imcu detected by the current detection circuit 20 has reached a predetermined threshold value for determining a sudden decrease and a predetermined threshold value for determining a sudden increase, respectively”).
The reasons to combine Liu into Ardanaz are the same as articulated in Claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 18, Ardanaz discloses the system as recited in claim 15.
While Ardanaz teaches using any type of voltage regulator ([0032]: “VR 304 may be any appropriate type of voltage regulator, or voltage generator”), Ardanaz does not explicitly teach “said switching regulator comprises a DCDC switching regulator.”
Liu further teaches wherein said switching regulator comprises a DCDC switching regulator ([0005]: “The power supply device is, for example, a switching regulator type DC/DC converter that generates power for the microcomputer from a battery power source”).
The reasons to combine Liu into Ardanaz are the same as articulated in Claim 4 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.I.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117