DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the amendment application on 06/04/2026.
Claims 1-6, and 8-20 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on June 04, 2026. Claims 1, and 15 have been amended. Claim 7 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 16-20 withdrew due to restriction requirement. Claims 1-6, and 8-15 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues see pages 11-13, of the Remarks that JIANG et al. in view of Tynderfeldt et al. fails to show or suggest the element of “wherein if the two adjacent time slots overlap due to adjusting the first uplink TA value according to the first TA information (command), a length of an earlier one of the two adjacent time slots is reduced; or a length of a later one of the two adjacent time slots is reduced; or a length of each time slot of the two adjacent time slots that is not used for transmission is reduced. ” as set forth in claims 1, and 15. Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the Examiner would like to remind the Applicant's that the rejection based on the broadest reasonable interoperation of the claims.
First of all, Tynderfeldt et al. discloses the two adjacent time slots discloses (see, [0058], the second time slot may succeed directly adjacent the first time slot]). Also, On [0085-0086], As can be seen from FIG. 12, transmission from a second user equipment UE2 may arrive at the middle of a subframe at which transmission from a first user equipment UE1 may have arrived. Hence, the transmission may collide or overlap in the time domain. In addition, on Fig. 6-7 , 10, 12, disclose on [0017, 0064-0068], If the measured timing offset corresponds to timing offset zone B in FIG. 10 (i.e. the measured timing offset is greater than the threshold value), an earlier time by UE2 than UE1 so that the data from both users (UE1 and UE2) received by the eNodeB is time aligned.
Moreover, On [0027-0029, 0055-0058], and Fig. 6-7, 10, and 12, discloses the timing advance value to the timing offset reduced by one or more time slot periods. In addition, wherein the timing offset to a threshold value is performed, determine a timing advance value to be sent to said at least one user equipment, If the timing offset is greater than or equal to the threshold value, set the timing advance value to the timing offset reduced by one or more time slot periods. Furthermore, on [0014] to [0016], when the UL timing alignment is maintained by the eNB, timing alignment commands, specifying the timing advance value, to the UE based on measurements on UL transmissions from that UE, timing alignment commands, the UE is instructed to start its UL transmissions earlier, the further the distance to the eNB. Furthermore, On [0013], and Fig. 6, the UL transmissions from multiple UEs need to be time aligned at the eNB, Since UEs may be located at different distances from the eNB (see FIG. 6), the UEs will need to initiate their UL transmissions at different times, given by a timing advance value. A UE (User Equipment) far from the eNB, e.g., UE2, needs to start transmission earlier than a UE close to the eNB, e.g., UE1.
Thus, the combination of JIANG et al. and Tynderfeldt et al. meets the scope of the claimed limitation as currently presented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0337011 A1), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of Tynderfeldt et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0085491 A1), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a transmission timing adjustment method ([see, [0019], method for adjusting uplink transmission timing advance]), comprising:
acquiring first Timing Advance 'TA' information ([see, [0015], acquiring uplink transmission timing advance, including obtaining a timing advance command value (T.sub.A) by a network device]),
the first TA information is estimated by a terminal device ([see, [0015-019], a terminal equipment for calculating timing advance (T.sub.TA)]); and
adjusting a first uplink TA value according to the first TA information to obtain a second uplink TA value ([see, [0019-0020], wherein the adjusting uplink transmission timing advance, receive a timing advance command (TA command), the TA command including a timing advance command value (T.sub.A), and a determine adjusted uplink transmission timing based on the T.sub.A]).
D1 doesn’t explicitly discloses: wherein if the two adjacent time slots overlap due to adjusting the first uplink TA value according to the first TA information (command), a length of an earlier one of the two adjacent time slots is reduced; or
a length of a later one of the two adjacent time slots is reduced; or
a length of each time slot of the two adjacent time slots that is not used for transmission is reduced.
However, D2 discloses wherein if the two adjacent time slots ([see, [0058], the second time slot may adjacent the first time slot]) overlap (collide) due to adjusting the first uplink TA value according to the first TA information (command) ([see, [0058, 0085-0086], On [0085-0086], As can be seen from FIG. 12, transmission from a second user equipment UE2 may arrive at a subframe at which transmission from a first user equipment UE1 may have arrived. Hence, the transmission may collide or overlap in the time domain]), a length of an earlier one of the two adjacent time slots is reduced ([see, [0085-0086], the length of time of the second user equipment UE2 may arrive at a subframe shorter and reduce compare to the transmission from a first user equipment UE1 may have arrived disclosed]); or
a length of a later one of the two adjacent time slots is reduced; or a length of each time slot of the two adjacent time slots that is not used for transmission is reduced.
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide updating time adjustment value results improve capacity, the partitioning of UL resources can be adjusted based on the traffic load for the users in each timing offset zone (D2, [0168]).
As per Claim 2, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the first TA information comprises at least one of a first TA value and first TA variation information ([see, [0079], perform uplink transmission by using the uplink transmission timing advance updated based on the TA command (information), using the uplink transmission timing advance (uplink transmission timing adjustment amount) obtained based on the TA command]).
As per Claim 8, D1 and D2 discloses the method according to claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the reduced length is equal to a length of an overlapping portion of the two adjacent time slots ([see, [0027, 0058], the radio network node sets the timing advance value to the timing offset reduced by one or more time slot periods, when the timing offset is greater than or equal to the threshold value, whereby a time-aligned uplink transmission from said at least one user equipment may be caused to arrive at the radio network node time aligned with a second uplink time slot that is later than the first uplink time slot]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide updating time adjustment value results improve capacity, the partitioning of UL resources can be adjusted based on the traffic load for the users in each timing offset zone (D2, [0168]).
As per Claim 9, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 1, and D1 further discloses further comprising: performing uplink transmission by applying the second uplink TA value in an uplink time unit n+m+1, where n represents an uplink time unit for acquiring or estimating the first TA information, and m is a number greater than or equal to 0 ([see, [0079], perform uplink transmission by using the uplink transmission timing advance updated based on the TA command (information), receives the TA command at an n-th time unit, the TA command is effective at an (n+N)-th (N>0, for example, N=6) time unit, that is, from the (n+N)-th time unit]).
As per Claim 13, D1 discloses the method according to claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein said acquiring the first TA information comprises: acquiring the first TA information according to a first subcarrier spacing ([see, [0015], obtaining a timing advance command value (T.sub.A) by a network device, the T.sub.A being related to a first reference subcarrier spacing (SCS) used by a terminal equipment for calculating timing advance (T.sub.TA)]).
As per Claim 14, D1 discloses the method according to claim 13, and D1 further discloses
wherein the first subcarrier spacing (SCS) is a subcarrier spacing of an uplink active Bandwidth Part 'BWP ([see, [0181], obtain the reference subcarrier spacing (SCS), the first configuration information may be further used to indicate an active uplink bandwidth part (BWP)]); or
the terminal device is configured with a plurality of uplink active BWPs, and the first subcarrier spacing is a largest one of the plurality of uplink active BWPs; OR
the terminal device performs uplink active BWP switching between acquiring the first TA information and performing uplink transmission by applying the second uplink TA value, and the first subcarrier spacing is a subcarrier spacing of a new uplink active BWP; OR the terminal device performs uplink active BWP switching after performing uplink transmission by applying the second uplink TA value, and an absolute value of the second uplink TA value remains unchanged before switching the active BWP and after switching the active BWP.
As per Claim 15, D1 discloses a terminal device ([see, [0153], a terminal equipment]), comprising:
a processor ([see, [0153], a central processing unit 1101]), and
a memory that stores a computer program ([see, [0153], a memory 1102]),
wherein the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to perform:
acquire first Timing Advance 'TA' information ([see, [0015], acquiring uplink transmission timing advance, including obtaining a timing advance command value (T.sub.A) by a network device]),
the first TA information is estimated by a terminal device ([see, [0015-019], a terminal equipment for calculating timing advance (T.sub.TA)]); and
adjust a first uplink TA value according to the first TA information to obtain a second uplink TA value ([see, [0019-0020], wherein the adjusting uplink transmission timing advance, receive a timing advance command (TA command), the TA command including a timing advance command value (T.sub.A), and a determine adjusted uplink transmission timing based on the T.sub.A]).
D1 doesn’t explicitly discloses: wherein if the two adjacent time slots overlap due to adjusting the first uplink TA value according to the first TA information (command), a length of an earlier one of the two adjacent time slots is reduced; or
a length of a later one of the two adjacent time slots is reduced; or
a length of each time slot of the two adjacent time slots that is not used for transmission is reduced.
However, D2 discloses wherein if the two adjacent time slots ([see, [0058], the second time slot may adjacent the first time slot]) overlap (collide) due to adjusting the first uplink TA value according to the first TA information (command) ([see, [0058, 0085-0086], On [0085-0086], As can be seen from FIG. 12, transmission from a second user equipment UE2 may arrive at a subframe at which transmission from a first user equipment UE1 may have arrived. Hence, the transmission may collide or overlap in the time domain]), a length of an earlier one of the two adjacent time slots is reduced ([see, [0085-0086], the length of time of the second user equipment UE2 may arrive at a subframe shorter and reduce compare to the transmission from a first user equipment UE1 may have arrived disclosed]); or
a length of a later one of the two adjacent time slots is reduced; or a length of each time slot of the two adjacent time slots that is not used for transmission is reduced.
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide updating time adjustment value results improve capacity, the partitioning of UL resources can be adjusted based on the traffic load for the users in each timing offset zone (D2, [0168]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide updating time adjustment value results improve capacity, the partitioning of UL resources can be adjusted based on the traffic load for the users in each timing offset zone (D2, [0168]).
Claims 5-6, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of Yu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200314788 A1), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 5, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: further comprising: determining, based on an overlapping status of the two adjacent time slots due to adjusting the first uplink TA value according to the first TA information, whether to adjust the first uplink TA value according to the first TA information overlapping with adjacent time slots, determining whether to adjust the first uplink TA value.
However, D3 discloses determining, based on an overlapping status of the two adjacent time slots due to adjusting the first uplink TA value according to the first TA information, whether to adjust the first uplink TA value according to the first TA information overlapping with adjacent time slots, determining whether to adjust the first uplink TA value ([see, [0046-0047], the UE may calculate a new time adjustment value by updating an old (current) time adjustment value, based on the TA parameter values]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide updating time adjustment value results improve on performance metrics such as latency, reliability and throughput (D3, [0003]]).
As per Claim 6, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose:
wherein when a downlink reference timing of the terminal device changes and is not compensated, or
when the downlink reference timing of the terminal device changes and is partially compensated without receiving a TA command, the terminal device adjusts the first TA information; or
the terminal device adjusts the first uplink TA value according to the first TA information; or
the terminal device adjusts the second uplink TA value according to the first TA information.
However, D3 discloses the terminal device adjusts the second uplink TA value according to the first TA information ([see, [0046-0047], the UE may calculate a new time adjustment value by updating an old-time adjustment value (current or the second uplink TA value), based on the TA parameter values]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide updating time adjustment value results improve on performance metrics such as latency, reliability and throughput (D3, [0003]]).
As per Claim 10, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 1, and D1 appear explicitly disclose: further comprising: determining, based on an overlapping status of two adjacent time slots due to adjusting the first uplink TA value according to the first TA information, an uplink time unit in which the second uplink TA value is applied for uplink transmission.
However, D3 discloses determining, based on an overlapping status of two adjacent time slots due to adjusting the first uplink TA value according to the first TA information, an uplink time unit in which the second uplink TA value is applied for uplink transmission ([see, [0046-0047], the UE may calculate a new time adjustment value by updating an old (current) time adjustment value, based on the TA parameter values]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide updating time adjustment value results improve on performance metrics such as latency, reliability and throughput (D3, [0003]]).
As per Claim 11, D1, D2, and D3 discloses the method according to claim 10, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein when the two adjacent time slots overlap (arrive the same time slot) due to adjusting the first uplink TA value according to the first TA information (command); the terminal device performs uplink transmission by applying the second uplink TA value after the ongoing uplink transmission ends; or when adjusting the first uplink TA value according to the first TA information leads to no overlapping of two adjacent time slots.
However, D2 further discloses wherein when the two adjacent time slots overlap (arrive the same time slot) due to adjusting the first uplink TA value according to the first TA information (command) ([see, [0062], wherein the UE to send uplink transmissions for arrival at the radio network node at the time slots, the timing advance value is quantized (adjusting)]),
the terminal device performs uplink transmission by applying the second uplink TA value after the ongoing uplink transmission ends ([see, [0013], the UL transmissions from multiple UEs need to be time aligned at the eNB. Since UEs may be located at different distances from the eNB (see FIG. 6), the UEs will need to initiate their UL transmissions at different times, given by a timing advance value. A UE (User Equipment) far from the eNB, e.g., UE2, needs to start transmission earlier than a UE close to the eNB]); or
when adjusting the first uplink TA value according to the first TA information leads to no overlapping of two adjacent time slots.
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide updating time adjustment value results improve capacity, the partitioning of UL resources can be adjusted based on the traffic load for the users in each timing offset zone (D2, [0168]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEONG, MOO R. can be reached on (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418