DETAILED ACTION
inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 7/7/2026 has been entered.
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 15 are amended.
Claims 8 and 20 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-13, filed 7/7/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-7 and 9-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sterrett.
35 U.S.C. 103:
Regarding independent claims 1 and 15, applicant argues Syed, alone or in combination with the prior, does not teach “the predetermined deployed state of the at least two frame elements defining a spoon shaped curvature to conform to a convex epicardium surface and to receive the convex epicardium surface into the spoon shaped curvature.” After further search and consideration, the examiner will now rely on Sterrett to teach this limitation (fig. 1B; col. 6, lines 45-67; col. 7, lines 1-9; col. 7, lines 40-63). Figure 1B shows two frame segments (103-106) that are constructed from a flexible material in a planar configuration. The segments are also shown to be in a spoon shaped curvature, which mar conform to a convex epicardium.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape and orientation of the frame elements from Syed to apply the spoon-like configuration from Sterrett for the benefit of achieving a desired resiliency, flexibility, foldability, and conformability of the electrode elements to the surface of a patient’s tissue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Syed et al.
US Pub.: US 20190224477 A1, hereinafter Syed in view of Sterrett et al. US Pat.: US11039773 B2, hereinafter Sterrett.
Regarding claim 1, Syed teaches a catheter for mapping and ablation of epicardial tissue, comprising (fig. 2a-b; paragraph 30-32 and 40):
a shaft configured for insertion into a body of a subject (fig. 2a-b; paragraph 33-34); Steerable sheath 120.
a distal assembly configured at a distal end of the shaft, the distal assembly being expandable from a collapsed state to a deployed state (fig. 2b; paragraph 68); Distal shaft pacing leads 210a-b and spacing member 220. These distal members are expandable and may be collapsed.
the distal assembly comprising at least two frame elements (fig. 2b; paragraph 68); Distal shaft pacing leads 210a-b
each frame element comprising an arched distal portion on which a plurality of electrodes for delivery of ablation energy are disposed (fig. 3a-4; paragraph 45 and 50); It is disclosed “first pacing lead 210a and second pacing lead 210b are inherently curved to a convexity similar to the contours of the epicardial surface.”
wherein in the deployed state, the distal assembly assumes a concave profile for conforming to a curvature of the epicardium (fig. 3a-4; paragraph 45 and 50); It is disclosed “first pacing lead 210a and second pacing lead 210b are inherently curved to a convexity similar to the contours of the epicardial surface.”
and a plurality of position sensors disposed on one or both of the shaft and the frame elements for tracking a position and an orientation of at least a portion of the distal assembly or the shaft (fig. 2a-b; paragraph 36, 43, 49, 68, 72). The electrodes 214ba-db indicates the orientation of the distal end assemble equates to the plurality of position sensors.
However, Syed does not teach the distal assembly comprising at least two frame elements comprising shape memory material configured to assume a predetermined deployed state automatically when the distal assembly is released from a sheath; in the deployed state, the at least two frame elements causing the distal assembly to assume a concave profile for conforming to a convex curvature of the epicardial tissue, the predetermined deployed state of the at least two frame elements defining a spoon shaped curvature to conform to a convex epicardium surface and to receive the convex epicardium surface into the spoon shaped curvature.
Sterrett teaches a high density electrode mapping catheter and further teaches the distal assembly comprising at least two frame elements comprising shape memory material configured to assume a predetermined deployed state automatically when the distal assembly is released from a sheath; in the deployed state, the at least two frame elements causing the distal assembly to assume a concave profile for conforming to a convex curvature of the epicardial tissue, the predetermined deployed state of the at least two frame elements defining a spoon shaped curvature to conform to a convex epicardium surface and to receive the convex epicardium surface into the spoon shaped curvature (fig. 1B; col. 6, lines 45-67; col. 7, lines 1-9; col. 7, lines 40-63). Figure 1B shows two frame segments (103-106) that are constructed from a flexible material in a planar configuration. The segments are also shown to be in a spoon shaped curvature, which mar conform to a convex epicardium.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape and orientation of the frame elements from Syed to apply the spoon-like configuration from Sterrett for the benefit of achieving a desired resiliency, flexibility, foldability, and conformability of the electrode elements to the surface of a patient’s tissue.
Regarding claim 2, Syed in view of Sterrett teaches the claimed invention and Syed further
teaches further comprising an inflatable element extendable from the distal end of the shaft and positioned, when inflated, to back the distal assembly and apply pressure onto the distal assembly from a side opposite a tissue contacting side of the distal assembly, so as to push the plurality of electrodes of the distal assembly against the tissue (fig. 3a-4; paragraph 45 and 50); It is disclosed “first pacing lead 210a and second pacing lead 210b are inherently curved to a convexity similar to the contours of the epicardial surface.”
Regarding claim 3, Syed in view of Sterrett teaches the claimed invention and Syed further
teaches wherein each of the plurality of electrodes comprises an energy emitting surface configured to contact the tissue, and wherein the plurality of electrodes are disposed on the frame elements such that their energy emitting surfaces are on a tissue contacting side of the distal assembly (fig. 2e-f; paragraph 58). A shaft 212d has about an 135° exposed (non-insulated) electrode surface.
Regarding claim 4, Syed in view of Sterrett teaches the claimed invention and Syed further
teaches wherein the energy emitting surfaces of the plurality of electrodes face a center of the concavity defined by the distal assembly (fig. 2e-f; paragraph 58). A shaft 212d has about an 135° exposed (non-insulated) electrode surface. Various amounts of exposed electrode surface is disclosed.
Regarding claim 6, Syed in view of Sterrett teaches the claimed invention and Syed further
teaches wherein in the deployed state of the distal assembly the at least two frame elements at least partially overlap (fig. 3a-4; paragraph 45 and 50). They overlap in at least one plane.
Regarding claim 9, Syed in view of Sterrett teaches the claimed invention and Syed further
teaches wherein the plurality of electrodes are configured to deliver radiofrequency (RF) ablation energy or pulsed-field ablation (PFA) energy (paragraph 32). A plurality of modalities are disclosed. This includes therapy that involves radiofrequency (RF) ablation energy and pulsed-field ablation (PFA) energy, such as targeted interrogation and ablation of the autonomic ganglia and cardiac nerves as modulators of arrhythmia, cardiac contractility modulation.
Regarding claim 10, Syed in view of Sterrett teaches the claimed invention and Syed further
teaches wherein the plurality of electrodes are configured for sensing cardiac electrical activity (paragraph 32). A plurality of modalities are disclosed. This includes therapy that involves cardiac mapping and contractility modulation.
Regarding claim 11, Syed in view of Sterrett teaches the claimed invention and Syed further
teaches further comprising an external sheath in which the shaft and the distal assembly, when in the collapsed state, are contained; and wherein the distal assembly is configured to expand from the collapsed state to the deployed state upon protruding from a distal end of the sheath (fig. 2a-b; paragraph 41). First pacing lead 210a and second pacing lead 210b are separate shafts that are individually slidably disposed within one or more lumens of sheath 120 and are configured to be partially extendable beyond the distal end of sheath 120.
Regarding claim 12, Syed in view of Sterrett teaches the claimed invention and Syed further
teaches wherein the plurality of position sensors include one or more of: a single axis position sensor, a dual axis position sensor, and a triple axis position sensor, the position sensors being operable with a magnetic pad of a position sensing system (fig. 2b; paragraph 68); Distal shaft pacing leads 210a-b has a plurality of dual axis position sensors 214.
Regarding claim 13, Syed in view of Sterrett teaches the claimed invention and Syed further
teaches wherein the inflatable element comprises a plurality of apertures through which fluid is allowed to flow (fig. 2a-b and 3f; paragraph 43 and 66). First shaft 212a and/or second shaft 212b can include one or more apertures. Cooling manifold 326 is a tubular channel through which a cooling fluid (liquid or gas) can flow to cool pacing lead 322.
Regarding claim 14, Syed in view of Sterrett teaches the claimed invention and Syed further
teaches wherein the inflatable element comprises a single inflatable cell, or multiple inflatable cells (fig. 3a-4; paragraph 45 and 50); It is disclosed “first pacing lead 210a and second pacing lead 210b are inherently curved to a convexity similar to the contours of the epicardial surface in an inflated state.”
Regarding claim 15, Syed teaches a method of ablating epicardial tissue, comprising:
introducing a catheter comprising, at a distal tip thereof, a distal assembly configured to assume a concave profile for conforming to a curvature of the epicardial tissue (fig. 2b; paragraph 68); Distal shaft pacing leads 210a-b and spacing member 220. These distal members are expandable and may be collapsed.
inflating an inflatable element on a back side of the distal assembly (fig. 3a-4; paragraph 45 and 50); It is disclosed “first pacing lead 210a and second pacing lead 210b are inherently curved to a convexity similar to the contours of the epicardial surface.”
and delivering ablation energy via the electrodes to the epicardial tissue (paragraph 32). A plurality of modalities are disclosed. This includes therapy that involves radiofrequency (RF) ablation energy and pulsed-field ablation (PFA) energy, such as targeted interrogation and ablation of the autonomic ganglia and cardiac nerves as modulators of arrhythmia, cardiac contractility modulation.
However Syed does not teach the predetermined deployed state defining a spoon shaped curvature to conform to a convex epicardium surface and to receive the convex epicardium surface into the spoon shaped curvature; unsheathing the distal assembly so the shape memory material automatically assumes the predetermined deployed state.
Sterrett teaches a high density electrode mapping catheter and further teaches the predetermined deployed state defining a spoon shaped curvature to conform to a convex epicardium surface and to receive the convex epicardium surface into the spoon shaped curvature; unsheathing the distal assembly so the shape memory material automatically assumes the predetermined deployed state (fig. 1B; col. 6, lines 45-67; col. 7, lines 1-9; col. 7, lines 40-63). Figure 1B shows two frame segments (103-106) that are constructed from a flexible material in a planar configuration. The segments are also shown to be in a spoon shaped curvature, which mar conform to a convex epicardium.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape and orientation of the frame elements from Syed to apply the spoon-like configuration from Sterrett for the benefit of achieving a desired resiliency, flexibility, foldability, and conformability of the electrode elements to the surface of a patient’s tissue.
Regarding claim 16, Syed in view of Sterrett teaches the claimed invention and Syed further
teaches wherein the inflatable element is inflated between the epicardium and the parietal layer of the pericardium (fig. 3a-4; paragraph 45 and 50); It is disclosed “first pacing lead 210a and second pacing lead 210b are inherently curved to a convexity similar to the contours of the epicardial surface.”
Regarding claim 17, Syed in view of Sterrett teaches the claimed invention and Syed further
teaches wherein the catheter further comprises a plurality of position sensors and wherein said method comprises tracking a position and an orientation of at least a portion of the catheter using the position sensors (fig. 2a-b; paragraph 36, 43, 49, 68, 72). The electrodes 214ba-db indicates the orientation of the distal end assemble equates to the plurality of position sensors.
Regarding claim 18, Syed in view of Sterrett teaches the claimed invention and Syed further
teaches further comprising sensing cardiac electrical activity via electrodes of the distal assembly (paragraph 32). A plurality of modalities are disclosed. This includes therapy that involves electrical activity such as cardiac mapping and contractility modulation.
Regarding claim 19, Syed in view of Sterrett teaches the claimed invention and Syed further
teaches comprising identifying, based on the sensed cardiac electrical activity, arrhythmic patterns associated with an epicardial source (paragraph 32). A plurality of modalities are disclosed. This includes therapy that involves electrical activity such as contractility modulation with cardiac nerves as modulators of arrhythmia.
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syed in view of
Sterrett in view of Asirvatham et al. US Pub.: US 20160051322 A1, hereinafter Asirvatham.
Regarding claim 5, Syed in view of Sterrett does not teach wherein the plurality of electrodes
are staggered with respect to each other so that in the collapsed state of the distal assembly the electrodes alternately fit adjacent one another.
Asirvatham, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the plurality of electrodes are staggered with respect to each other so that in the collapsed state of the distal assembly the electrodes alternately fit adjacent one another (fig. 9-10). It is shown in figures 9 and 10 that the electrodes are staggered.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distal assembly of Syed in view of Sterrett with the staggering of electrodes from Asirvatham for the benefit of alternately fitting the electrodes adjacent to one another in a collapsed state.
Regarding claim 7, Syed in view of Sterrett does not teach wherein each of the frame elements
defines a closed contour with the distal end of the shaft.
Asirvatham, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein each of the frame elements defines a closed contour with the distal end of the shaft (fig. 10). The electrode assembly is shown in a closed contour state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distal assembly of Syed in view of Sterrett with the closed contour shape from Asirvatham for the benefit of improving energy efficiency, biocompatibility, and signal quality.
Conclusion
/T.J.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/Benjamin J Klein/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792