DETAILED ACTION
Claims
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claims 1-2, 7-8 and 13-14 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (pages 6-7 dated 08/20/2026) with respect to the rejection of claims 1-18 under the 103 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is set forth below; Hill et al US20120226452 in view of Farhadiroushan et al US20140092710.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites the limitation "the signal". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 also recites “perform signal processing on the signal acquired by a signal acquisition unit”. However the signal processing is already recited as being performed by the processor. Therefore, the claim has been rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill et al US20120226452 in view of Farhadiroushan et al US20140092710.
Regarding independent claim 1, Hill discloses a signal processing apparatus (signal processor-108) comprising:
at least one memory (processor-108 includes storing capabilities, claim 4) configured to store instructions; and
at least one processor (processor-108) configured to execute the instructions to:
acquire signals measured by a signal measurement apparatus (interrogator-106 includes a laser-112, modulator-114 and at least one photodetector-116) at a plurality of points located along an optical fiber (fibre-104); and
determine whether there is an event based on the similarity between the signals measured at adjacent points (Paragraph 0067 discloses identifying an acoustic response that is due to the acoustic stimulus, which is an event). (Paragraph 0057-0067, Fig 1)
However, Hill fails to disclose calculate, using a correlation function, a degree of similarity between the signals measured at adiacent points. Farhadiroushan discloses calculate, using a correlation function, a degree of similarity between the signals measured at adiacent points (Paragraph 0066 discloses processing means-103 and 105 performing calculations using a cross-correlation function to determine a degree of similarity between signals measured at adjacent sensors.) (Paragraphs 0016, 0032-0033, 0099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Farhadiroushan into Hill for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for improved repeatability and threshold settings.
Regarding claim 2, Hill discloses determine, for each of the plurality of points, whether there is an event based on similarity between the signal at a target point and a signal at an adjacent point that is adjacent to the target point and whether there is an event based on the similarity between the signal at a target point and a signal at an adjacent point that is adjacent to the target point (Paragraph 0017, 0065-0067).
However, Hill fails to disclose the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: generate, for each of the plurality of points, a set including a point where a degree of similarity between a signal at the point and a signal at a target point is to be calculated; calculate, for each of the plurality of points, a degree of similarity between the signal at a target point and a signal at the point included in the set in which the target point is included; and determine, for each of the plurality of points,
Farhadiroushan discloses the at least one processor (processing means 103 and 105) is further configured to execute the instructions to: generate, for each of the plurality of points, a set including a point where a degree of similarity between a signal at the point and a signal at a target point is to be calculated (Paragraph 0016); calculate, for each of the plurality of points, a degree of similarity between the signal at a target point and a signal at the point included in the set in which the target point is included; and determine, for each of the plurality of points, whether there is an event based on the degree of similarity between the signal at a target point and a signal at an adjacent point that is adjacent to the target point (Paragraphs 0016, 0032-0033, 0064-0066, 0082 discloses processing means-103 and 105 performing calculations using a cross-correlation function to determine a degree of similarity between signals measured at adjacent sensor and a target point; See also claims 23-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Farhadiroushan into Hill for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for improved repeatability and threshold settings.
Regarding claim 3, Hill in view of Farhadiroushan discloses the apparatus according to claim 2.
Hill discloses the at least one processor (processor-108) is further configured to execute the instructions to select, for each of the plurality of points, an adjacent point that is adjacent to a target point, and include the selected adjacent point in the set in which the target point is included (Paragraphs 0017, 0065-0068 and claim 11)
Regarding claim 4, Hill in view of Farhadiroushan discloses the apparatus according to claim 3.
Hill discloses the signal measurement apparatus (interrogator-106 includes a laser-112, modulator-114 and at least one photodetector-116) is an apparatus configured to handle a signal measured at any gauge length as a signal at one point (paragraph 0008, 0067), and the at least one processor (processor-108) is further configured to execute the instructions to include in the set in which the target point is included, for each of the plurality of points, a point located within a range of a predetermined number times the gauge length from the target point (Paragraphs 0017, 0065-0068).
Regarding claim 5, Hill in view of Farhadiroushan discloses the apparatus according to claim 3.
Hill discloses the at least one processor (processor-108) is further configured to execute the instructions to include in the set in which the target point is included, for each of the plurality of points, a point located within a range of a predetermined distance from the target point. (Paragraph 0008, 0065-0068)
Regarding clam 6, Hill discloses the apparatus according to claim 2.
However, Hill fails to disclose the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: perform signal processing on the signal acquired by a signal acquisition unit; and calculate a degree of similarity between the signals that have been subjected to the signal processing. Farhadiroushan discloses the at least one processor (processing means 103 and 105) is further configured to execute the instructions to: perform signal processing on the signal acquired by a signal acquisition unit (paragraph 0066, 0083); and calculate a degree of similarity between the signals that have been subjected to the signal processing (Paragraph 0018, claims 23-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Farhadiroushan into Hill for the purpose of increasing result accuracy. The modification would allow for decreasing undesired noise of the acoustic event and improve reliability.
Regarding independent claim 7, Hill discloses a signal processing method (signal processor-108 implements the method) executed by a signal processing apparatus, the signal processing method comprising:
a signal acquisition step of acquiring signals measured by a signal measurement apparatus (interrogator-106 includes a laser-112, modulator-114 and at least one photodetector-116) at a plurality of points located along an optical fiber (fibre-104); and
a determination step of determining whether there is an event based on the similarity between the signals measured at adjacent points (Paragraph 0067 discloses identifying an acoustic response that is due to the acoustic stimulus, which is an event; also see paragraphs 0057-0067 and Fig 1).
However, Hill fails to disclose a degree of similarity calculation step of calculating, using a correlation function, a degree of similarity between the signals measured at adjacent points. Farhadiroushan discloses a degree of similarity calculation step of calculating, using a correlation function, a degree of similarity between the signals measured at adjacent points (Paragraph 0066 discloses processing means-103 and 105 performing calculations using a cross-correlation function to determine a degree of similarity between signals measured at adjacent sensors; also see paragraphs 0016, 0032-0033, 0099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Farhadiroushan into Hill for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for improved repeatability and threshold settings.
Regarding claim 8, Hill discloses an event determination step of determining, for each of the plurality of points, whether there is an event based on the similarity between the signal at a target point and a signal at an adjacent point that is adjacent to the target point (Paragraph 0017, 0065-0067).
However, Hill fails to disclose the determination step comprises: a set generation step of generating, for each of the plurality of points, a set including a point where a degree of similarity between a signal at the point and a signal at a target point is to be calculated; a degree of similarity calculation step of calculating, for each of the plurality of points, a degree of similarity between the signal at a target point and a signal at the point included in the set in which the target point is included. Farhadiroushan discloses the determination step (processing means 103 and 105 implement the step) comprises:
a set generation step of generating, for each of the plurality of points, a set including a point where a degree of similarity between a signal at the point and a signal at a target point is to be calculated (paragraph 0016);
a degree of similarity calculation step of calculating, for each of the plurality of points, a degree of similarity between the signal at a target point and a signal at the point included in the set in which the target point is included (Paragraphs 0016, 0032-0033, 0064-0066, 0082 disclose processing means-103 and 105 performing calculations using a cross-correlation function to determine a degree of similarity between signals measured at adjacent sensor and a target point; See also claims 23-24)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Farhadiroushan into Hill for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for improved repeatability and threshold settings.
Regarding claim 9, Hill in view of Farhadiroushan discloses the method according to claim 8.
Furthermore, Hill discloses in the set generation step (processor-108 implements the step) for each of the plurality of points, an adjacent point that is adjacent to a target point is selected, and the selected adjacent point is included in the set in which the target point is included (Paragraphs 0017, 0065-0068 and claim 11).
Regarding claim 10, Hill in view of Farhadiroushan discloses the method according to claim 9.
Furthermore, Hill discloses the signal measurement apparatus (interrogator-106 includes a laser-112, modulator-114 and at least one photodetector-116) is an apparatus configured to handle a signal measured at any gauge length as a signal at one point (paragraph 0008, 0067), and in the set generation step, for each of the plurality of points, a point located within a range of a predetermined number times the gauge length from the target point is included in the set in which the target point is included (Paragraphs 0017, 0065-0068).
Regarding claim 11, Hill in view of Farhadiroushan discloses the method according to claim 9.
Furthermore, Hill discloses in the set generation step (processor-108 implements the step), for each of the plurality of points, a point located within a range of a predetermined distance from the target point is included in the set in which the target point is included (Paragraph 0008, 0065-0068).
Regarding claim 12, Hill discloses the method according to claim 8.
However, Hill fails to disclose in the degree of similarity calculation step, signal processing is performed on the signal acquired by the signal acquisition step, and a degree of similarity between the signals that have been subjected to the signal processing is calculated. Farhadiroushan discloses in the degree of similarity calculation step (processing means 103 and 105 perform the step), signal processing is performed on the signal acquired by the signal acquisition step (paragraph 0066, 0083), and a degree of similarity between the signals that have been subjected to the signal processing is calculated (Paragraph 0018, claims 23-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Farhadiroushan into Hill for the purpose of increasing result accuracy. The modification would allow for decreasing undesired noise of the acoustic event and improve reliability.
Regarding independent claim 13, Hill discloses a signal acquisition procedure (signal processor-108 implements the procedure) for acquiring signals measured by a signal measurement apparatus (interrogator-106 includes a laser-112, modulator-114 and at least one photodetector-116) at a plurality of points located along an optical fiber (fibre-104); and a determination procedure for determining whether there is an event based on the similarity between the signals measured at adjacent points (Paragraph 0067 discloses identifying an acoustic response that is due to the acoustic stimulus, which is an event; Paragraphs 0057-0067, Fig 1).
However, Hill fails to disclose a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute: a degree of similarity calculation procedure for calculating, using a correlation function, a degree of similarity between the signals measured at adjacent points. Farhadiroushan discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute (Paragraphs 0032-0033, 0075): a degree of similarity calculation procedure for calculating, using a correlation function, a degree of similarity between the signals measured at adjacent points (Paragraph 0066 discloses processing means-103 and 105 performing calculations using a cross-correlation function to determine a degree of similarity between signals measured at adjacent sensors.) (Paragraphs 0016, 0032-0033, 0099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Farhadiroushan into Hill for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for improved repeatability and threshold settings.
Regarding claim 14, Hill discloses and an event determination procedure for determining, for each of the plurality of points, whether there is an event based on the degree of similarity between the signal at a target point and a signal at an adjacent point that is adjacent to the target point (Paragraph 0017, 0065-0067).
However, Hill fails to disclose a non-transitory computer readable medium, a non-transitory computer readable medium the determination procedure comprises: a set generation procedure for generating, for each of the plurality of points, a set including a point where a degree of similarity between a signal at the point and a signal at a target point is to be calculated; a degree of similarity calculation procedure for calculating, for each of the plurality of points, a degree of similarity between the signal at a target point and a signal at the point included in the set in which the target point is included.
Farhadiroushan discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium (Paragraphs 0032-0033, 0075): the determination procedure (processing means 103 and 105 implements the procedure) comprises: a set generation procedure for generating, for each of the plurality of points, a set including a point where a degree of similarity between a signal at the point and a signal at a target point is to be calculated (paragraph 0016); a degree of similarity calculation procedure for calculating, for each of the plurality of points, a degree of similarity between the signal at a target point and a signal at the point included in the set in which the target point is included (Paragraphs 0016, 0032-0033, 0064-0066, 0082 disclose processing means-103 and 105 performing calculations using a cross-correlation function to determine a degree of similarity between signals measured at adjacent sensor and a target point; See also claims 23-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Farhadiroushan into Hill for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for improved repeatability and threshold settings.
Regarding claim 15, Hill discloses in the set generation procedure (processor-108 implements the procedure), for each of the plurality of points, an adjacent point that is adjacent to a target point is selected, and the selected adjacent point is included in the set in which the target point is included (Paragraphs 0017, 0065-0068 and claim 11).
However, Hill fails to disclose a non-transitory computer readable medium.
Farhadiroushan discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium (Paragraphs 0032-0033, 0075).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Farhadiroushan into Hill for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for improved threshold settings and comparing previous and current results to ensure measurement accuracy.
Regarding claim 16, Hill discloses the signal measurement apparatus (interrogator-106 includes a laser-112, modulator-114 and at least one photodetector-116) is an apparatus configured to handle a signal measured at any gauge length as a signal at one point (paragraph 0008, 0067), and in the set generation procedure (processor-108 implements the procedure), for each of the plurality of points, a point located within a range of a predetermined number times the gauge length from the target point is included in the set in which the target point is included (Paragraphs 0017, 0065-0068).
However, Hill fails to disclose a non-transitory computer readable medium.
Farhadiroushan discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium (Paragraphs 0032-0033, and 0075).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Farhadiroushan into Hill for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for improved threshold settings and comparing previous and current results to ensure measurement accuracy.
Regarding claim 17, Hill discloses in the set generation procedure (processor-108 implements the procedure), for each of the plurality of points, a point located within a range of a predetermined distance from the target point is included in the set in which the target point is included (Paragraph 0008, 0065-0068).
However, Hill fails to disclose a non-transitory computer readable medium.
Farhadiroushan discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium (Paragraphs 0032-0033, and 0075).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Farhadiroushan into Hill for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for improved threshold settings and comparing previous and current results to ensure measurement accuracy.
Regarding claim 18, Hill fails to disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 16, wherein in the degree of similarity calculation procedure, signal processing is performed on the signal acquired by the signal acquisition procedure, and a degree of similarity between the signals that have been subjected to the signal processing is calculated. Farhadiroushan discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium (Paragraphs 0032-0033, 0075), wherein in the degree of similarity calculation procedure (processing means 103 and 105 perform the procedure), signal processing is performed on the signal acquired by the signal acquisition procedure (paragraph 0066, 0083), and a degree of similarity between the signals that have been subjected to the signal processing is calculated (Paragraph 0018, claims 23-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Farhadiroushan into Hill for the purpose of increasing result accuracy. The modification would allow for decreasing undesired noise of the acoustic event and improve reliability.
Conclusion
The prior art as cited on the PTO-892 is made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kojima US20220146303 discloses An optical fiber sensing system according to the present disclosure includes: a cable (20) including optical fibers; a reception unit (31) configured to receive an optical signal from at least one optical fiber included in the cable (20) and acquire a first parameter and a second parameter having a pattern in accordance with a state of a target to be monitored based on the optical signal; and a state detection unit (32) configured to detect a predetermined event based on the pattern that the first parameter has and then detect the state of the target to be monitored based on the pattern that the second parameter has.
NEC Corporation WO2022044203 discloses an optical fiber sensor that is capable of highly accurately detecting an abnormality in a structure from vibration information. This optical fiber sensor comprises an optical fiber that is laid in the vicinity of a structure, a light source for introducing pulsed light of a specific period into the optical fiber, and an optical sensor for detecting return light that has been obtained as a result of the introduction of the pulsed light into the optical fiber. The structure is determined to have an abnormality if the spectral centroid of vibration information exceeds a threshold.
The Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). The Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIGEL H PLUMB/ /Eric S. McCall/Examiner, Art Unit 2855 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2856