Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 5, and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN113890961A, hereinafter “CN’961” in view of GB2605667A, hereinaftrer “GB’667.”
The examiner notes that all citations to CN’961 listed below refer to the previously supplied English translation of CN’961.
As per claims 1 and 12, CN’961 discloses a method of denoising an input image (and the computer-readable medium of claim 12, see page 2, 2nd full paragraph), the method comprising: segmenting input image data (see page 1, 2nd paragraph under the heading “Summary of the Invention”) representing the input image into a plurality of input tiles (“blocks”); generating a corresponding plurality of output tiles (blocks are processed one-by-one, i.e. “traversed” to create output blocks that are denoised) by processing each of the plurality of input tiles (target blocks) using a respective thread group (as broadly claimed “thread group” is considered the traversal across the input blocks one-by-one, with each block representing a separate thread of processing); extracting a set of core pixels from each output tile of the plurality of output tiles (core tiles are the “target block” with padding of pixels surrounding the target block being “adjacent blocks”); and generating a denoised output image using the extracted core pixels (each of the target blocks in the image are used once, with repeated execution of steps 2 and 3 in order to “obtain a denoised image”).
However, CN’961 fails to disclose the concurrent processing of the input tiles.
In the same field of endeavor (denoising an image), GB’667 discloses at page 22, “Tiling” [00123] that the image is initially broken into a plurality of tiles, and processing of each tile can be performed in parallel, i.e. concurrently processed.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have taken the series processing of tiles taught by CN’961 and instead used parallel processing of the tiles as taught by GB’667 as doing so would have enabled a facilitation of increased processing speed as taught by GB’667 at [00123].
As per claim 5, CN’961 discloses wherein segmenting the original input image into the plurality of input tiles comprises padding each of the plurality of input tiles using data associated with one or more pixels adjacent to each input tile (see page 1, 2nd paragraph under “Summary of the Invention - “adjacent blocks” surrounding the “target” (core) block).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-21 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited disclose the general state of the art for denoising images via segmentation of the input image.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID OMETZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2672
/DAVID OMETZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672