Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/14/2026 have been fully considered but the assertion that ZHANG neither discloses nor suggests, “and a CBR of the sidelink resource pool being below or equal to the CBR threshold” is not persuasive.
The examiner draws attention to the prior art of ZHANG, in which ZHANG writes, ““In an embodiment, the base station may configure a resource pool busy-idle degree threshold (channel busy rate (CBR) threshold) for the UE. When a busy-idle degree measurement value measured by the UE on a resource pool configured by the base station is less than the configured resource pool busy-idle degree threshold, the UE may use the resource pool to transmit the relay traffic so that a probability that the UE selects resources collided with another UE during transmission can be avoided, thereby ensuring the transmission reliability of the UE” (paragraph 0118). ZHANG indicates the base station may configure the CBR threshold for the UE, and select the resource pool based on CBR measurement values. Thereby, selecting the appropriate resource pool based on whether the CBR measurement value is above, below or equal to the CBR threshold.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12, regarding “the sidelink resource pool comprising at least one physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource;” and “a sidelink transmission comprising sidelink data for a sidelink logical channel with feedback disabled, wherein a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback transmission of the sidelink data is disabled;”, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The examiner calls attention to the prior art of LI. Regrading, the portion of claim 12 that reads, the sidelink resource pool comprising at least one physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource;
LI writes, “In one embodiment, if the sidelink resource pool is (pre-)configured with PSFCH resource, the first device may consider that the time offset is from PSFCH to PUCCH, i.e. PSFCH to PUCCH (paragraph 0715).
Regrading, the portion of claim 12 that reads, a sidelink transmission comprising sidelink data for a sidelink logical channel with feedback disabled, wherein a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback transmission of the sidelink data is disabled;
LI writes, “Thus, the TX UE may perform the sidelink transmission(s) for delivering data with SL HARQ feedback disabled” (paragraph 0698).
Therefore, claims 4-20, remain rejected. Though claim 1 recites similar distinguishing features, claim 1 also includes feature that are absent from claims 4 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. (US 20230141478 A1, hereinafter, "ZHANG") in view of HUANG et al. (US 20200205166 A1, hereinafter, "HUANG") and LI et al. (US 20210168790 A1, hereinafter, "LI").
Regarding claim 12, ZHANG teaches a first wireless device comprising:
ZHANG writes, “FIG. 8 is a structure diagram of a device according to an embodiment of the present
application” (paragraph 0257; figure 8).
one or more processors (paragraph 0257; figure 8, processor: 710);
and memory storing instructions that (paragraph 0258; figure 8, memory: 720), when executed
by the one or more processors, cause the first wireless device to:
and a channel busy ratio (CBR) threshold;
ZHANG writes, “In an embodiment, the base station may configure a resource pool busy-idle degree
threshold (channel busy rate (CBR) threshold) for the UE” (paragraph 0118).
select, among the plurality of sidelink resource pools, a sidelink resource pool based on:
ZHANG writes, “When a busy-idle degree measurement value measured by the UE on a resource pool
configured by the base station is less than the configured resource pool busy-idle degree threshold, the
UE may use the resource pool to transmit the relay traffic so that a probability that the UE selects
resources collided with another UE during transmission can be avoided, thereby ensuring the
transmission reliability of the UE” (paragraph 0118).
and a CBR of the sidelink resource pool being below or equal to the CBR threshold;
ZHANG writes, “In an embodiment, the base station may configure a resource pool busy-idle degree threshold (channel busy rate (CBR) threshold) for the UE. When a busy-idle degree measurement value measured by the UE on a resource pool configured by the base station is less than the configured resource pool busy-idle degree threshold, the UE may use the resource pool to transmit the relay traffic so that a probability that the UE selects resources collided with another UE during transmission can be avoided, thereby ensuring the transmission reliability of the UE” (paragraph 0118). ZHANG indicates the base station may configure the CBR threshold for the UE, and select the resource pool based on CBR measurement values. Thereby, selecting the appropriate resource pool based on whether the CBR measurement value is above, below or equal to the CBR threshold.
and transmit, to a second wireless device via the sidelink resource pool, the sidelink data for the sidelink logical channel.
ZHANG writes, “In an embodiment, the base station may configure a resource pool busy-idle degree threshold (channel busy rate (CBR) threshold) for the UE. When a busy-idle degree measurement value measured by the UE on a resource pool configured by the base station is less than the configured resource pool busy-idle degree threshold, the UE may use the resource pool to transmit the relay traffic so that a probability that the UE selects resources collided with another UE during transmission can be avoided, thereby ensuring the transmission reliability of the UE” (paragraph 0118).
ZHANG fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “receive, from a base station, one or more messages indicating a plurality of sidelink resource pools of an sidelink carrier”, “the sidelink resource pool comprising at least one physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource;”, and “a sidelink transmission comprising sidelink data for a sidelink logical channel with feedback disabled, wherein a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback transmission of the sidelink data is disabled;”
However, in analogous art, HUANG teaches receive, from a base station, one or more messages indicating a plurality of sidelink resource pools of an sidelink carrier
HUANG writes, “An access network (AN) may be a fixed station or base station used for communicating
with the terminals…” (paragraph 0025). HUANG adds, “At least two sidelink resource allocation modes are defined for NR-V2X sidelink communication. Mode 1: Base station schedules sidelink resource(s) to
be used by UE for sidelink transmission(s). Mode 2: UE determines (i.e. base station does not schedule)
sidelink transmission resource(s) within sidelink resources configured by base station/network or pre-
configured sidelink resources” (paragraph 0130-0132). HUANG continues, “Multiple resource pools can
be configured to a single UE in a given carrier” (paragraph 0177). HUANG identifies a base station, and
explains that the base station schedules sidelink resources to be used by the UE for sidelink transmission(s). HUANG further notes that multiple resource pools can be configured to a single UE in a
given carrier.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of ZHANG to include aspects described by HUANG that “relates to wireless communication networks, and more particularly, to a method and apparatus for handling sidelink feedback collision in a wireless communication system.” HUANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “It may be appreciated that applying one or more of the techniques presented herein may result in one or more benefits including, but not limited to, improving efficiency and/or reducing power consumption by more efficiently handling sidelink feedback collision. For example, by prioritizing transmission of a PSFCH carrying a HARQ-ACK corresponding to ACK over transmission of a PSFCH carrying a HARQ-ACK corresponding to NACK may result in a reduction in retransmissions of sidelink transmissions by UEs expecting to receive HARQ-ACKs” (paragraph 0439).
ZHANG and HUANG fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “the sidelink resource pool comprising at least one physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource;”, and “a sidelink transmission comprising sidelink data for a sidelink logical channel with feedback disabled, wherein a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback transmission of the sidelink data is disabled;”
However, in analogous art, LI teaches the sidelink resource pool comprising at least one physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource;
LI writes, “In one embodiment, if the sidelink resource pool is (pre-)configured with PSFCH resource, the first device may consider that the time offset is from PSFCH to PUCCH, i.e. PSFCH to PUCCH (paragraph 0715).
a sidelink transmission comprising sidelink data for a sidelink logical channel with feedback disabled, wherein a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback transmission of the sidelink data is disabled;
LI writes, “Thus, the TX UE may perform the sidelink transmission(s) for delivering data with SL HARQ feedback disabled” (paragraph 0698).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of ZHANG and HUANG to include aspects described by LI that “relates to wireless communication networks, and more particularly, to a method and apparatus of handling device-to-device resource pool without physical sidelink feedback channel in a wireless communication system.” Motivation to include this prior art is based on LI discussing methods and embodiments that relates to a SL resource pool, SL HARQ feedback, and SL resource pool with/without PSFCH resource.
Regarding claim 13, ZHANG, HUANG, and LI teach the first wireless device of claim 12,
Additionally, HUANG teaches wherein the instructions further cause the first wireless device to receive one or more second messages indicating one or more sidelink carriers.
HUANG writes, “The first UE may transmit a first message, indicative of one or more candidate carriers
of the plurality of carriers, to a second UE” (paragraph 0005).
Claim 4 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 12 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 12. Claim 4 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 12.
Claim(s) 5-9 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG, HUANG, and LI as applied to claims 4 and 12 above, and further in view of RYU et al. (US 20210014831 A1, hereinafter, "RYU").
Regarding claim 14, ZHANG, HUANG, and LI teach the first wireless device of claim 12,
ZHANG, HUANG, and LI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the instructions further cause the first wireless device to receive one or more third messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more first sidelink resource pools of the plurality of sidelink resource pools, each being configured with no PSFCH resources.”
However, in analogous art, RYU teaches wherein the instructions further cause the first wireless device to receive one or more third messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more first sidelink resource pools of the plurality of sidelink resource pools, each being configured with no PSFCH resources.
RYU writes, “Specifically, according to mode 2, the BS provides a sidelink transmission/reception
resource pool for a sidelink to the UE through system information or an RRC message (for example, an
RRC reconfiguration (RRCReconfiguration) message or a PC-5 RRC message) and the transmission UE
selects a resource pool and resources according to a predetermined rule (paragraph 0108). Therefore,
when a first resource pool includes a PSFCH and a second resource pool does not include a PSFCH,
among the plurality of configured resource pools, the UE may select a resource pool according to
whether the PSFCH is needed, that is, whether an HARQ feedback operation is needed” (paragraph
0215).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of ZHANG, HUANG, and LI to include aspects described by RYU that “relates to a wireless communication system. More particularly, the disclosure relates to an apparatus and a method for selecting resources in a wireless communication system.” RYU provides the motivation for modification stating, “An apparatus and a method according to various embodiments can improve reception reliability of sidelink control information, data, and feedback information and efficiency of the use of resources in vehicle communication or Device-to-Device (D2D) communication” (paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 15, ZHANG, HUANG, LI, and RYU teach the first wireless device of claim 14,
Additionally, RYU teaches wherein the instructions further cause the first wireless device to receive one or more fourth messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more second sidelink resource pools of the plurality of sidelink resource pools, each comprising at least one PSFCH resource.
RYU writes, “Specifically, according to mode 2, the BS provides a sidelink transmission/reception
resource pool for a sidelink to the UE through system information or an RRC message (for example, an
RRC reconfiguration (RRCReconfiguration) message or a PC-5 RRC message) and the transmission UE
selects a resource pool and resources according to a predetermined rule (paragraph 0108). Therefore,
when a first resource pool includes a PSFCH and a second resource pool does not include a PSFCH,
among the plurality of configured resource pools, the UE may select a resource pool according to
whether the PSFCH is needed, that is, whether an HARQ feedback operation is needed” (paragraph
0215).
Regarding claim 16, ZHANG, HUANG, LI, and RYU teach the first wireless device of claim 15,
Additionally, ZHANG teaches and the CBR of the sidelink resource pool being a lowest among CBRs of the one or more the second sidelink resource pools.
ZHANG writes, “In a case where the UE has multiple candidate resource pools, the UE may select a
resource pool with the lowest CBR measurement value from the multiple candidate resource pools”
(paragraph 0206).
Additionally, RYU teaches wherein the selecting the sidelink resource pool is further based on: the one or more second sidelink resource pools comprising the sidelink resource pool;
RYU writes, “According to one embodiment, wherein the plurality of sidelink resource pools includes a
first resource pool including a feedback channel and a second resource pool which does not include the
feedback channel” (paragraph 0295).
Regarding claim 17, ZHANG, HUANG, and LI teach the first wireless device of claim 12,
Additionally, ZHANG teaches each of CBRs of the one or more first sidelink resource pools being greater than the CBR threshold;
ZHANG writes, “In a case where the UE has multiple candidate resource pools, the UE may select a
resource pool with the lowest CBR measurement value from the multiple candidate resource pools”
(paragraph 0206). ZHANG adds, “In an embodiment, the first current parameter value may include a
current measurement value and a current traffic priority. The current measurement value may include:
a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) measurement value on a Uu interface, a resource pool busy-
idle degree measurement value, and a driving speed measurement value. The current traffic priority
may include a traffic priority value on the Uu interface and a traffic priority value on a sidelink interface
(PC5 interface)” (paragraph 0039). ZHANG states that when the UE has multiple candidate resource
polls, the UE may select a resource pool with the lowest CBR measurement value amongst the multiple
candidate resource pools. Further, ZHANG explains, the parameter value may include a current
measurement value, such as a CBR measurement value, and a current traffic priority which is based on
the priority value on a sidelink interface. If a first resource pool value has a higher priority than a second
resource pool value, the first resource pool value may take precedence over a second resource pool
value if both have a CBR measurement below threshold. Therefore, the first resource pool values must
be greater than the CBR threshold for the second resource pool value.
and the CBR of at least one of the one or more second sidelink resource pools being below or equal to the CBR threshold.
ZHANG writes, “In a case where the UE has multiple candidate resource pools, the UE may select a
resource pool with the lowest CBR measurement value from the multiple candidate resource pools”
(paragraph 0206). ZHANG adds, “In an embodiment, the first current parameter value may include a
current measurement value and a current traffic priority. The current measurement value may include:
a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) measurement value on a Uu interface, a resource pool busy-
idle degree measurement value, and a driving speed measurement value. The current traffic priority
may include a traffic priority value on the Uu interface and a traffic priority value on a sidelink interface
(PC5 interface)” (paragraph 0039). ZHANG states that when the UE has multiple candidate resource
polls, the UE may select a resource pool with the lowest CBR measurement value amongst the multiple
candidate resource pools. Further, ZHANG explains, the parameter value may include a current
measurement value, such as a CBR measurement value, and a current traffic priority which is based on
the priority value on a sidelink interface. If a first resource pool value has a higher priority than a second
resource pool value, the first resource pool value may take precedence over a second resource pool
value if both have a CBR measurement below threshold. Therefore, the first resource pool values must
be greater than the CBR threshold for the second resource pool value.
Additionally, HUANG teaches a sidelink feedback transmission being disabled for the sidelink logical channel;
HUANG writes, “It is supported to enable and disable SL HARQ feedback in unicast and groupcast”
(paragraph 0219). HUANG adds, “...a dedicated channel (e.g., Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel
(PSFCH)) is designed and/or configured to transmit and/or carry Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request -
Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) of unicast Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH)” (paragraph 0289).
HUANG indicates the SL HARQ feedback may be enabled or disabled, and that the HARQ feedback is
transmitted on a PSFCH.
ZHANG, HUANG, and LI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the instructions further cause the first wireless device to determine, between the one or more first sidelink resource pools and the one or more second sidelink resource pools, the one or more second sidelink resource pools, wherein the determining is based on:”
However, in analogous art, RYU teaches wherein the instructions further cause the first wireless device to determine, between the one or more first sidelink resource pools and the one or more second sidelink resource pools, the one or more second sidelink resource pools, wherein the determining is based on:
RYU writes, “According to one embodiment, wherein the one resource pool is selected based on a type
of communication that the UE desires to perform” (paragraph 0299). RYU continues, “According to one
embodiment, wherein the plurality of sidelink resource pools is configured to correspond to ranges of
different channel qualities, and wherein the one resource pool is selected based on a channel quality
between a BS and the UE or a channel quality between the UE and the other UE” (paragraph 0302). RYU
adds, “According to one embodiment, wherein the one resource pool is selected based on a Quality of
Service (QoS) of a sidelink service” (paragraph 0305). RYU states the resource pool is selected based on
either: a type of communication that he UE desires to perform, channel quality between a BS and the UE
or a channel quality between the UE and the other UE, and/or Quality of Service (QoS) of a sidelink
service. RYU indicates the resource pool may be determined based on a number of attributes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of ZHANG, HUANG, and LI to include aspects described by RYU that “relates to a wireless communication system. More particularly, the disclosure relates to an apparatus and a method for selecting resources in a wireless communication system.” RYU provides the motivation for modification stating, “An apparatus and a method according to various embodiments can improve reception reliability of sidelink control information, data, and feedback information and efficiency of the use of resources in vehicle communication or Device-to-Device (D2D) communication” (paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 18, ZHANG, HUANG, and LI teach the first wireless device of claim 12,
ZHANG, HUANG, and LI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the instructions further cause the first wireless device to receive one or more fifth messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more second sidelink resource pools, each comprising at least one PSFCH resource.”
However, in analogous art, RYU teaches wherein the instructions further cause the first wireless device to receive one or more fifth messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more second sidelink resource pools, each comprising at least one PSFCH resource.
RYU writes, “Specifically, according to mode 2, the BS provides a sidelink transmission/reception
resource pool for a sidelink to the UE through system information or an RRC message (for example, an
RRC reconfiguration (RRCReconfiguration) message or a PC-5 RRC message) and the transmission UE
selects a resource pool and resources according to a predetermined rule (paragraph 0108). Therefore,
when a first resource pool includes a PSFCH and a second resource pool does not include a PSFCH,
among the plurality of configured resource pools, the UE may select a resource pool according to
whether the PSFCH is needed, that is, whether an HARQ feedback operation is needed” (paragraph
0215).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of ZHANG, HUANG, and LI to include aspects described by RYU that “relates to a wireless communication system. More particularly, the disclosure relates to an apparatus and a method for selecting resources in a wireless communication system.” RYU provides the motivation for modification stating, “An apparatus and a method according to various embodiments can improve reception reliability of sidelink control information, data, and feedback information and efficiency of the use of resources in vehicle communication or Device-to-Device (D2D) communication” (paragraph 0016).
Claims 5-9 are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 14-18 that have already
been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 14-18. Claims 5-9
are rejected under the same rational as claims 14-18.
Claim(s) 10-11 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG, HUANG, LI, and RYU as applied to claims 9 and 18 above, and further in view of HWANG et al. (US 20230308245 A1, hereinafter, "HWANG").
Regarding claim 19, ZHANG, HUANG, LI, and RYU teach the first wireless device of claim 18,
ZHANG, HUANG, LI, and RYU fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the one or more first sidelink resource pools and the one or more second sidelink resource pools are mutually exclusive.”
However, in analogous art, HWANG teaches wherein the one or more first sidelink resource pools and the one or more second sidelink resource pools are mutually exclusive.
HWANG writes, “Meanwhile, a UE may be (pre-)configured with a plurality of transmission resource
pools and/or a plurality of reception resource pools. Resources in the plurality of transmission resource
pools may be mutually exclusive to each other so as not to overlap resources in time and/or frequency,
or may be configured in a form that allows resources to overlap in some time and/or frequency.
Resources in the plurality of reception resource pools may be mutually exclusive to each other so as not
to overlap resources in time and/or frequency, or may be configured in a form that allows resources to
overlap in some time and/or frequency” (paragraph 0100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of ZHANG, HUANG, LI, and RYU to include aspects described by HWANG that “relates to a wireless communication system.” HWANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, when network configures an SL resource pool for a UE, an in-coverage UE and an out-of-coverage UE can efficiently perform SL communication” (paragraph 0140).
Regarding claim 20, ZHANG, HUANG, LI, RYU, and HWANG teach the first wireless device of
claim 19,
Additionally, ZHANG teaches wherein the instructions further cause the second wireless device to select the sidelink resource pool further based on the CBR of the sidelink resource pool being a lowest among CBRs of the one or more the second sidelink resource pools.
ZHANG writes, “In a case where the UE has multiple candidate resource pools, the UE may select a
resource pool with the lowest CBR measurement value from the multiple candidate resource pools”
(paragraph 0206). ZHANG adds, “In an embodiment, the first current parameter value may include a
current measurement value and a current traffic priority. The current measurement value may include:
a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) measurement value on a Uu interface, a resource pool busy-
idle degree measurement value, and a driving speed measurement value. The current traffic priority
may include a traffic priority value on the Uu interface and a traffic priority value on a sidelink interface
(PC5 interface)” (paragraph 0039). ZHANG states that when the UE has multiple candidate resource
polls, the UE may select a resource pool with the lowest CBR measurement value amongst the multiple
candidate resource pools. Further, ZHANG explains, the parameter value may include a current
measurement value, such as a CBR measurement value, and a current traffic priority which is based on
the priority value on a sidelink interface. If a first resource pool value has a higher priority than a second
resource pool value, the first resource pool value may take precedence over a second resource pool
value if both have a CBR measurement below threshold. Therefore, the first resource pool values must
be greater than the CBR threshold for the second resource pool value.
Claims 10-11 are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 19-20 that have already
been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 19-20. Claims 10-11
are rejected under the same rational as claims 19-20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3 allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 4/23/2026
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475