DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-16 and new claim 20, in the reply filed on 04/23/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue burden to examine both groups together. This is not found persuasive because the groups have different classifications and also it is reiterated that all claims of Group II are indefinite, because it is not clear if they are drawn to a product or a process.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Upon further consideration election of species is withdrawn.
Claims 17-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04/23/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 16 depends on claim 1 and adda a limitation that viral vector – based RNA delivery system is for use in a mammal. Such limitation is of intended use and does not affect the structure of the system of claim 1. Therefore claim 16 does not further limit claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (CN 109971756, July 2019, cited from machine translation of 20 pages).
Concerning claims 1, 4, 12-13 and 15-16 Zhang disclose viral vector-based siRNA delivery systems (see page 3), wherein siRNA targets EGFR (see page 2), such system includes targeting tag of RVG peptide to target malignant tumors (see pages 3, 10). Zhang teach that such systems use liver as a biogenerator to generate and envelope small RNAs in exosomes for delivery by circulatory system to target tissues (see page 10).
Concerning claim 5 such system can comprise promoter and a targeting tag (see pages 3 and 9).
Concerning claims 6, 9, 10 such system comprises promoter and siRNA (see page 3). Claims 9 and 10 depend on claim 6 and add limitations to one of the options recited in claim 6. Rejection of claim 6 is made based on the other option in the claim, therefore claims 9 and 10 are rejected by it as well.
Concerning claim 7 such system can comprise 5’promoter-flanking sequence-siRNA with loop sequence-3’ flanking sequence, wherein siRNA forms stem-loop structure with a compensatory strand complementary to the other strand of siRNA and a loop in between strands, such loop comprising SEQ ID NO: 2 identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 2 (see pages 3, 7).
Concerning claim 11 Zhang disclose that the system can be delivered to liver forming an exosome (see page 10).
Concerning claim 14 Zhang disclose siRNA targeting EGFR of SEQ ID NO: 1, 20 nucleotides long (see page 6, sequence listing).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, above, as applied to claims 1, 4-7, 9-16 and in further view of Konstantinova et al (WO 2016/102664, June 2016) and Gong et al (US 2018/0140557, May 2018).
Teachings of Zhang are discussed above. It is further noted that Zhang teach 5’ flanking sequence of SEQ ID NO: 12 on page 3, which is 70% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1, and 3’ flanking sequence of SEQ ID NO: 15 on page 4, which is 70% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 3.
Zhang do not teach flanking sequences at least 80% identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 3 or expression in adeno-associated virus type 5 or targeting peptide of GE11.
Konstantinova teach siRNA delivery expression cassettes such as of SEQ ID NO: 20 (see Figure 2F, description on pages 3-4), which comprises 5’ flanking sequence at least 90% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (highlighted first below) and 3’ flanking sequence at least 90% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 3 (highlighted second below):
Further Konstantinova teach expression of siRNAs in adeno-associated vectors (AAV) such as AAV serotype 5 (see lines 5-20 on page 18).
Gong teach targeting peptide GE11 as a ligand binding to cancer cells (see paragraph [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce elements taught by Konstantinova into systems taught by Zhang or to replace RVG targeting peptide with GE11 one taught by Gong, arriving at instant invention. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, because Zhang suggest viral vectors for expression of siRNAs and Konstantinova teach using AAV for expression of siRNAs. Further, Konstantinova provide example of flanking sequences, which are 70% similar to ones taught by Zhang and therefore can be used in the systems taught by Zhang. One would be motivated to replace RVG targeting peptide of Zhang by GE11 peptide taught by Gong, because Gong teach that such peptide can target cancer cells similar to RVG peptide of Zhang, therefore providi8ng targeted delivery of siRNAs to such cells.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,533,173 in view of Zhang, Konstantinova and Gong, above. Claims from ‘173 recite expression vectors comprising siRNAs targeting the same genes as in instant invention. Teachings of Zhang, Konstantinova and Gong are discussed above. It would have been obvious to further modify vectors from ‘173 with teachings of Zhang, Konstantinova and Gong, arriving at instant invention.
Claims 1-16 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,982,213 in view of Zhang, Konstantinova and Gong, above. Claims from ‘213 recite expression vectors comprising siRNAs targeting the same genes as in instant invention. Teachings of Zhang, Konstantinova and Gong are discussed above. It would have been obvious to further modify vectors from ‘213 with teachings of Zhang, Konstantinova and Gong, arriving at instant invention.
Claims 1-16 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,304,970 in view of Zhang, Konstantinova and Gong, above. Claims from ‘970 recite expression vectors comprising siRNAs targeting the same genes as in instant invention. Teachings of Zhang, Konstantinova and Gong are discussed above. It would have been obvious to further modify vectors from ‘970 with teachings of Zhang, Konstantinova and Gong, arriving at instant invention.
Claims 1-16 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,553,048 in view of Zhang, Konstantinova and Gong, above. Claims from ‘048 recite expression vectors comprising siRNAs targeting the same genes as in instant invention. Teachings of Zhang, Konstantinova and Gong are discussed above. It would have been obvious to further modify vectors from ‘048 with teachings of Zhang, Konstantinova and Gong, arriving at instant invention.
Claims 1-16 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/373,605 in view of Konstantinova, above. Claims from ‘605 recite the same constructs as in instant claims. Teachings of Konstantinova are discussed above. It would have been obvious to modify constructs from ‘605 with teachings of Konstantinova, arriving at instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-16 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 18/374,236 in view of Konstantinova, above. Claims from ‘236 recite the same constructs as in instant claims. Teachings of Konstantinova are discussed above. It would have been obvious to modify constructs from ‘236 with teachings of Konstantinova, arriving at instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637