DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to amendment filed on 10/02/2025 and Petition Decision filed on 07/15/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Examiner has acknowledged the amended claims 1 - 9, and the submission of new claims 10 – 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (page 6) that George fails to disclose "displaying, on the at least one client device, a prompt requesting verification of one or more recipients of the draft message prior to sending the draft message to the one or more recipients wherein the prompt includes a selectable input to confirm or halt sending of the draft message to one or more client devices associated with the one or more recipients of the draft message" as claimed by Applicant in claim 1. In other words, George fails to disclose the user being prompted to review intended recipients of a draft message prior to mistakenly sending the message to the recipients of the draft message. Instead, George discloses a monitoring tool to moderate content and comments posted at a source, which is not the same as prompting a user to verify intended recipients of a draft message prior to sending the draft message.
Further, George fails to disclose "displaying, a verification message using a textual effect in a message input box on the at least one client device to remind the user to verify the one or more recipients prior to the at least one client device allowing the user to compose the draft message in the message input box" as claimed by Applicant in claim 1. As stated above, George discloses a monitoring tool to moderate content and comments posted to a source, which is not the same as warning or reminding a user to verify one or more intended recipients prior to composing a draft message.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertion because the Examiner did not rely on GEORGE to address such limitations. Therefore, the argument is moot. Applicants have amended the claims heavily which change the scope of such claims.
However, the Examiner has shown that Meister does teach the argued limitations by the Applicants.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (page 8) that Meister fails to teach "displaying, a verification message using a textual effect in a message input box on the at least one client device to remind the user to verify the one or more recipients prior to the at least one client device allowing the user to compose the draft message in the message input box" as claimed by Applicant in claim 1. Instead, Meister teaches and claims a predefined condition (blacklist) to prevent a user draft message from being sent to unintended recipients. Further, Meister fails to teach or claim unconditional review of intended recipients for a draft message, that is, "displaying, on the at least one client device, a prompt requesting verification of one or more recipients of the draft message prior to sending the draft message to the one or more recipients, wherein the prompt includes a selectable input to confirm or halt sending of the draft message to one or more client devices associated with the one or more recipients of the draft message" as claimed by Applicant in claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument because Meister discloses that the system 100 (FIG. 1) may be configured to provide a prompt (alert or notification) 501 (FIG. 5) when a sender indicates a destination containing a particular word, for example ".gov" as part of a recipient address of a message to be sent by the sender (see paragraphs [0033 – 0034], [0041]).
Meister further discloses that any of the sources 801 may indicate a destination relative to any of the destinations 805 which then may trigger the system 800 to prompt the sources 801 to confirm the destination data prior to transmission based on information maintained in the database 807)(see paragraphs [0041 - 0042], [0044]).
The Examiner contends that the combination of GEORGE and Meister read on the dependent claims.
Thus, the Examiner contends that the prior art read on the claimed invention.
It appears that applicants are interpreting the claims very narrow without considering the broad teaching of the references used in the rejection. Applicants are reminded that the examiner is entitled to the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims. The Applicants always have the opportunity to amend the claims during prosecution and broad interpretation by the examiner reduces the possibility that the claim, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. In re Prater 162 USPQ 541,550-51 (CCPA 1969).
In view of such, the rejections are as follows:
Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over George et al (US 2014/0180788; hereinafter George) in view of Mark Meister (US 2012/0089686; hereinafter Meister).
Regarding claim 1, George discloses a method for providing a multi-feed mobile chat platform for separating business use from personal use, the multi-feed mobile chat platform communicatively coupling a server and a plurality of client devices over a network (paragraph [0102]; GEORGE discloses that the clients 906 interact with the SRM 901 using one or more computing devices 912 (such as cell phones, PDAs, desktops, laptops, tablets, and notebooks); , comprising:
receiving user message data associated with at least one client device of the plurality of client devices (paragraphs [0032], [0059], [0061], [0063]; GEORGE discloses that in some embodiments, monitoring server 302 obtains content from the sources whenever it detects a change at the sources (e.g., monitoring server 302 can periodically check the sources for any changes such as newly posted content or updates made to existing content). In some embodiments, monitoring server 302 obtains content from the sources at a request by a user);
generating a draft message based on using the user message data (paragraphs [0054 – 0055], [0057], [0114]; GEORGE discloses that the formatter 1006 may allow developers 914 to create a desired message and later check the message for compatibility with the destination media systems);
sending the draft message data, including any modifications to the draft message to the server for inclusion in one of a plurality of message feeds (paragraphs [0054 – 0055], [0057], [0087], [0099]; GEORGE discloses that the system then dispatches and/or creates the appropriate messages to be sent to destinations within the enterprise).
GEORGE discloses all the limitations, but fails to specifically disclose displaying, on the at least one client device, a prompt requesting verification of one or more recipients of the draft message prior to sending the draft message to the one or more recipients, wherein the prompt includes a selectable input to confirm or halt sending of the draft message to one or more client devices associated with the one or more recipients of the draft message; responsive to the selected input from the client device being to halt sending of the draft message, halting sending of the draft message to the one or more client devices associated with the one or more recipients of the draft message; responsive to selected input from the client device being to send the draft message, sending the draft message to the one or more client devices associated with the one or more recipients of the draft message; and displaying, a verification message using a textual effect in a message input box on the at least one client device to remind the user to verify the one or more recipients prior to the at least one client device allowing the user to compose the draft message in the message input box.
Meister, in an analogous art, discloses displaying, on the at least one client device, a prompt requesting verification of one or more recipients of the draft message prior to sending the draft message to the one or more recipients (paragraphs [0033 – 0034], [0041]; Meister discloses that the system 100 (FIG. 1) may be configured to provide a prompt (alert or notification) 501 (FIG. 5) when a sender indicates a destination containing a particular word, for example ".gov" as part of a recipient address of a message to be sent by the sender), wherein the prompt includes a selectable input to confirm or halt sending of the draft message to one or more client devices associated with the one or more recipients of the draft message (FIG. 5; paragraphs [0034 – 0035]; Meister discloses that FIG. 5 shows an alert 501 provided to an email sender. As shown in FIG. 5, the alert or prompt 501 may include descriptive content 502, an identifier of a recipient 503, an approve button 504 and a cancel button 505. The alert 501 may be provided as a "Confirmation Request" to an email sender in order to prevent inadvertent transmission to an unintended recipient.); responsive to the selected input from the client device being to halt sending of the draft message, halting sending of the draft message to the one or more client devices associated with the one or more recipients of the draft message (paragraphs [0034 – 0036]; Meister discloses that as shown in FIG. 5, the alert 501 includes provides the content 502, displays the addressee's email address as the identifier 503 and requests that the sender either "approve" using the approve button 504 the transmission, in which case the application makes the connection 306 (FIG. 3) to the email server 102 to continue the transmission sequence, or "cancel" using the cancel button 505 the transmission and return the sender to any of the email drafting steps coming before 310 the send button is activated 301.); responsive to selected input from the client device being to send the draft message, sending the draft message to the one or more client devices associated with the one or more recipients of the draft message (paragraphs [0034 – 0037]); and displaying, a verification message using a textual effect in a message input box on the at least one client device to remind the user to verify the one or more recipients prior to the at least one client device allowing the user to compose the draft message in the message input box (paragraphs [0041 - 0042], [0044]; Meister discloses that any of the sources 801 may indicate a destination relative to any of the destinations 805 which then may trigger the system 800 to prompt the sources 801 to confirm the destination data prior to transmission based on information maintained in the database 807).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of GEORGE by displaying, on the at least one client device, a prompt requesting verification of one or more recipients of the draft message prior to sending the draft message to the one or more recipients, wherein the prompt includes a selectable input to confirm or halt sending of the draft message to one or more client devices associated with the one or more recipients of the draft message; responsive to the selected input from the client device being to halt sending of the draft message, halting sending of the draft message to the one or more client devices associated with the one or more recipients of the draft message; responsive to selected input from the client device being to send the draft message, sending the draft message to the one or more client devices associated with the one or more recipients of the draft message; and displaying, a verification message using a textual effect in a message input box on the at least one client device to remind the user to verify the one or more recipients prior to the at least one client device allowing the user to compose the draft message in the message input box as evidenced by Meister for the purpose of reducing confusion and preventing mistakes in communications when replying to a message with multiple recipients.
Regarding claim 2, GEORGE and Meister disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the draft message further comprises message type data indicating the feed and the one or more recipients of the draft message (Meister: paragraphs [0022 – 0026]).
Regarding claim 3, GEORGE and Meister disclose the method of claim 2, wherein message type data comprises a business message feed, a personal feed, a dual messaging and chat feeds, a live streaming feed, a marketplace feed, and a billboard feed (GEORGE: 201, fig. 2A; paragraph [0038]; GEORGE discloses that data is provided to the user at user station 101 through one or more dashboards for information relevant to the social data analysis and marketing campaign. A dashboard is a user interface mechanism that provides views of key metrics and indicators relevant to a particular objective or business process).
Regarding claim 4, GEORGE and Meister disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising, upon receiving a further communication by the at least one client device that one or more recipients are not intended recipients, allowing the at least one client device to cancel sending of the draft message after communicating, through the selected input from the at least one client device, to send the draft message (Meister: paragraph [0031]; Meister discloses that after displaying the blacklist alert and transmit confirm request 307, process 300 awaits 305 user input to indicate either approval to continue to transmit the message, or to cancel its transmission. When the determination of approval 305 indicates disapproval).
Regarding claim 5, GEORGE and Meister disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising displaying a pop-up notification on the at least one client device communicating a listing of one or more recipients of the draft message prior to sending the message (paragraph [0037]; Meister discloses that ).
Regarding claim 6, GEORGE and Meister disclose the method of claim 5, wherein, upon displaying the listing of one or more recipients of the draft message, allowing the at least one client device to cancel sending of the draft message, remove one or more recipients of the draft message, and resend the draft message (paragraphs [0033], [0036]; Meister discloses that the alert 501 includes provides the content 502, displays the addressee's email address as the identifier 503 and requests that the sender either "approve" using the approve button 504 the transmission, in which case the application makes the connection 306 (FIG. 3) to the email server 102 to continue the transmission sequence, or “cancel” using the cancel button 505 the transmission and return the sender to any of the email drafting steps coming before 310 the send button is activated 301 ).
Regarding claim 7, GEORGE and Meister disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising displaying the listing of the one or more recipients of the draft message, and recalling the sent draft message upon a determination that one or more unintended recipients of the draft message are shown (paragraph [0037]; Meister discloses that content listed in the database 600 may be caused to trigger an alert 501 (FIG. 5) when the content is designated as a designation for a message being drafted by sender. The content information is also associated with servers, senders, recipients, devices, conditions, and vice versa. The relationship database 600 thus enables a link between servers, senders, recipients, devices, conditions and content such that any of the stored elements can be specified to cause the alert 501 (FIG. 5) to be displayed).
Regarding claim 8, GEORGE and Meister disclose the method of claim 5, wherein the pop-up notification displays on the at least one client device, through a web browser on the at least one client device, the recipient of the sent draft message, and allows the at least one client device to cancel sending of the draft message (paragraphs [0036]; Meister the alert 501 includes provides the content 502, displays the addressee's email address as the identifier 503 and requests that the sender either "approve" using the approve button 504 the transmission, in which case the application makes the connection 306 (FIG. 3) to the email server 102 to continue the transmission sequence, or “cancel” using the cancel button 505 the transmission and return the sender to any of the email drafting steps coming before 310 the send button is activated 301).
Regarding claim 9, GEORGE and Meister disclose the method of claim 5, further comprising allowing the at least one client device to remove one or more recipients and resend the draft message (paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 10, GEORGE and Meister disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the user message data further includes a background theme (GEORGE: paragraphs [0043], [0050], [0077]).
Regarding claim 11, GEORGE and Meister disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the user message data further comprises user specified message modification data (GEORGE: paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 12, GEORGE and Meister disclose the method of claim 11, wherein when the user specified message modification data contains predefined chat sticker template and face filter instruction data, applying the background theme to all images associated with the user of the at least one client device contained in the draft message (paragraphs [0040], [0043], [0046], [0054]; GEORGE discloses that the data that is received for processing includes non-social data. Such data may include, for example, enterprise data (e.g., email, chats, transcribed phone conversations, transcribed videos)).
Regarding claim 13, GEORGE and Meister disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the user message data further includes an image associated with the user of the at least one client device (GEORGE: paragraphs [0130], [0160]; George discloses ”social media profiles”).
Regarding claim 14, GEORGE and Meister disclose the method of claim 13, wherein when the user specified message modification data contains at least one of predefined chat sticker template and face filter instruction data, applying the at least one of predefined chat sticker template and face filter to all images associated with the user of the at least one client device contained in the draft message (paragraphs [0040], [0043], [0046], [0054]; GEORGE discloses that the paragraphs [0040], [0043], [0046], [0054]; GEORGE discloses that the data that is received for processing includes non-social data. Such data may include, for example, enterprise data (e.g., email, chats, transcribed phone conversations, transcribed videos) ).
Regarding claim 15, GEORGE and Meister disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the user message data further comprises user specified message time data (GEORGE: paragraphs [0119], [0129], [0145]).
Regarding claim 16, GEORGE and Meister disclose the method of claim 15, wherein when the user specified message time data contains message deletion instruction data, inserting a deletion time instruction based on the message deletion instruction data into the draft message to cause the server to delete the message at the date and time specified in the deletion time instruction (GEORGE: paragraph [0146]).
Regarding claim 17, GEORGE and Meister disclose the method of claim 15, wherein when the user specified message time data contains message schedule instruction data, inserting a scheduled posting time instruction as defined in the message schedule instruction data into the draft message to cause the server to preschedule a message post based on a posting date and time defined in the scheduled posting time instruction and to delete the message post at the date and time as specified in a posting deletion time instruction as defined in the message schedule instruction data (paragraph [0146]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/YVES DALENCOURT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457