Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morishita (JP 05-152060) with references made to applicant provided machine translation.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Morishita discloses, a sheath heater including a heating wire 23 (corresponding to the first metal wire), a connection terminal 22 (corresponding to the first terminal connected to the first end of the first metal wire) shown on the upper side and connected to the heating wire 2, a stranded wire 26/27 (corresponding to the first conductive flexible member connected to the first terminal) connected to
the connection terminal 24 shown on the upper side, a connection terminal 24 (corresponding to the second terminal connected to the second end of the first metal wire) shown on the lower side and connected to the second end of the heating wire 23 (corresponding to the first metal wire), and a stranded wire 10 (corresponding to the second conductive flexible member connected to the second terminal) connected to the connection terminal 24 shown on the lower side. Here, the stranded wire 26/27 (corresponding to the first conductive flexible member connected to the first terminal) connected to the connection terminal 11 illustrated on the upper side, and the stranded wire 10 (corresponding to the second conductive flexible member connected to the second terminal) connected to the connection terminal 11 illustrated on the lower side are both connected to the crimp terminal 12. Fig 5 shows the third metal wire 26. Fig 5 also shows the heating wire 23 being in a heating zone with the remaining elements not being in the heating zone. Regarding claim 2, the conductive flexible members 26 are a twisted wire.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishita (JP 05-152060) in view of Kitagawa (US 2015/0373783).
The teachings of Morishita have been discussed above. Morishita may fail to disclose, the first conductive flexible member and the second conductive flexible member are selected from a metal coil, a twisted wire, and a flat knitted wire.
Kitagawa discloses a conductive flexible wire is a twister wire which is bendable. (See Paragraph [0055]) It would have been obvious to adapt Morishita in view of Kitagawa to provide the twisted wire as this is an obvious variant for a conductive flexible member in a heating device. Regarding claims 3 and 5, The bend would be obvious and arranged based on the desired configuration of the device.
Claim(s) 4, 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishita (JP 05-152060) in view of Kitagawa (US 2015/0373783) and Oberle et al (US 10, 201,042).
The teachings of Morishita have been discussed above. Morishita fails to disclose, the conductive members are coils where the pitch of a second metal coil is larger than the pitch of a first metal coil.
Oberle discloses using a metal coil in a flexible conductive member. (See Column 7, Line 65 – Column 8, Line 9) The coil density and pitch is selected, and is different across the elements, for applying different heating intensities at different depth intervals. It would have been obvious to adapt Morishita in view of Oberle to provide the conductive members are coils where the pitch of a second metal coil is larger than the pitch of a first metal coil for applying different heating intensities at different depth intervals.
Regarding claim 6, Morishita discloses the metal sheath 1 (See Abstract). It would have been obvious to provide a curvature radius of the bend is more than double the diameter of the metal sheath in order not to collapse the tubular structure, the bending radius must be kept in multiples of the tube diameter. This can be determined through routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 7, insulation fills the sheath and keeps the conductive flexible members at a distance. Selecting a distance of 0.14 mm of more would have been obvious based on the amount of insulation used and the voltage or current through the conductors and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN W JENNISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761