DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received 05/11/2026, the objection to claim 18 has been withdrawn from the previous office action.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 17, the examiner understands the “amount of silicon-based active material” being the same in each layer referring to a proportion, or weight percentage, of silicon-based active material in the coating composition for each respective layer, rather than to specific mass-based or volume-based quantities of silicon-based active materials in each layer, which appears to be in accordance with the present specification: Example 1, [0097] of present specification lists ratios of active materials for each coating composition, such as 60/39/1 and 70/29/1, where SiO in each composition is 1 in each ratio.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, 15, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US20220069293A1, hereafter Song, in view of Published Application US20230286806A1, hereafter Yamaji.
Regarding claim 1, Song discloses a negative electrode for a secondary battery ([0057] negative electrode 7; [0033] rechargeable lithium battery), comprising:
a current collector ([0033] negative electrode includes current collector);
a first negative electrode active material layer provided on the current collector ([0033] negative active material layer; [0034] first negative active material layer on current collector); and
a second negative electrode active material layer provided on the first negative electrode active material layer ([0034] second negative active material layer on first layer),
wherein the first and second negative electrode active material layers comprise a silicon-based active material and natural graphite ([0085] negative active material layer may include Si-based negative active material; [0084] negative active material may be mixture of artificial graphite and natural graphite), and
an OI (004/110) of the first and second negative electrode active material layers is 8 or less ([0081] negative electrode has I(110)/I(004), of greater than or equal to about 0.3, and, for example, greater than or equal to about 0.3 and less than or equal to about 0.7).
Song is silent on the natural graphite having an average particle diameter (D50) of 10 m or less.
In the analogous art of secondary battery electrodes, Yamaji discloses the natural graphite ([0082] graphite may be natural graphite) having an average particle diameter (D50) of 5-12 µm ([0136-0137] spherically shaped coated graphite has average particle diameter of 5-12µm), which overlaps with the claimed range of 10 µm or less. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 (I)). Yamaji further discloses this size range yielding excellent cycle capacity-maintaining property ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Song to select a natural graphite average particle diameter of 5-10µm as disclosed by Yamaji in order to yield an excellent cycle capacity-maintaining property, as suggested by Yamaji.
Regarding claim 2, Song further discloses wherein a thickness of the second negative electrode active material layer is 10-100 µm and the first negative electrode active material layer is 40-400µm ([0072] first layer of 40-400µm; [0075] second layer of 10-100µm), which overlaps with the thickness of the second negative electrode active material layer being 40% to 60% of a thickness of the first negative electrode active material layer. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding claim 3, Yamaji discloses wherein the natural graphite has an average particle diameter (D50) of 5 µm to 12 µm, which overlaps with the claimed range of 6 µm to 9 µm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding claim 4, Song further discloses wherein the first and second negative electrode active material layers further comprise artificial graphite ([0084] negative active material may be mixture of artificial graphite and natural graphite).
Regarding claim 6, Song further discloses wherein each of the first and second negative electrode active material layers comprises the silicon-based active material in an amount of 1 part by weight to 50 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of a total amount of negative electrode active material ([0085] 50:50 to about 99:1 of carbon based active material to non-carbon based negative active material), which overlaps with the claimed range of 1 part by weight to 40 parts by weight. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding claim 7, Song further discloses wherein the silicon-based active material comprises at least one of:
SiOx, wherein 0≤x<2 ([0086]),
SiMy, wherein M is a metal and 1≤y≤4 ([0086]), and
Si/C ([0086]).
Regarding claim 8, Song further discloses wherein each of the first and second negative electrode active material layers comprises the natural graphite in an amount of 10 parts by weight to 50 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of a total amount of negative electrode active material ([0084] artificial graphite to natural graphite ratio of 70:30 wt% to about 95:5 wt%; [0085] 50:50 to about 99:1 of carbon based active material to non-carbon based negative active material).
Regarding claim 9, Song further discloses wherein each of the first and second negative electrode active material layers comprises artificial graphite in an amount of 50 parts by weight to 99 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of a total amount of negative electrode active material ([0084] artificial graphite to natural graphite ratio of 70:30 wt% to about 95:5 wt%; [0085] 50:50 to about 99:1 of carbon based active material to non-carbon based negative active material).
Regarding claim 10, modified Song discloses a secondary battery ([0033] rechargeable lithium battery) comprising the negative electrode according to claim 1 (see above rejection of claim 1), a positive electrode ([0033] positive electrode), and a separator ([0166] separator).
Regarding claim 11, Song further discloses wherein the positive electrode comprises a lithium composite transition metal compound comprising nickel (Ni) and cobalt (Co) as an active material ([0139] Li Ni Co mixed oxide positive electrode active material).
Regarding claim 12, Song further discloses wherein the lithium composite transition metal compound further comprises at least one of manganese or aluminum ([0139] Li Ni Mn X oxide; [140] X may be Co).
Regarding claim 15, Song further discloses wherein the thickness of the second negative electrode active material layer is 20% to 35% relative to a total thickness of the first and second negative electrode active material layers ([0074] 20% to 80%, which encompasses the claimed range of 20% to 35%). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding claim 17, Song further discloses wherein the amount of silicon-based active material in each of the first and second negative electrode active material layers is the same ([0085-0086] Si-based negative active material is discussed as part of the negative active material layer, which is made of the first and second layers; no evidence the composition of the Si-based active material is different between layers - examples all appear to show identical compositions with differing viscosities).
Regarding claim 18, Song further discloses wherein a weight loading ratio of the second negative electrode active material layer is about 20% to 80% based on a total weight of the first and second negative electrode active material layers ([0074] 20%-80% thickness ratio of first layer to negative active material layer; [0087] 95 wt% to about 99 wt% of negative active material based on total weight of each layer; Examiner notes this range of thickness with 95-99 wt% negative active material in the second layer necessarily results in a weight loading ratio of the second layer that will overlap with the claimed range of 20% to 35%). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US20220069293A1, hereafter Song, in view of Published Application US20230286806A1, hereafter Yamaji, as stated above for claim 4, in view of Published Application US20200295351A1, hereafter Piao.
Regarding claim 5, Song is silent on wherein the artificial graphite has an average particle diameter (D50) of 15 µm to 50 µm.
In the analogous art of secondary battery electrode materials, Piao discloses wherein the artificial graphite has an average particle diameter (D50) of 10 µm to 30 µm resulting in excellent dispersibility, charging properties, and lifespan properties ([0035]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 15 µm to 50 µm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to further modify the invention of Song to select the range of 15 µm to 30 µm, in order to achieve excellent dispersibility, charging properties, and lifespan properties, as suggested by Piao.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US20220069293A1, hereafter Song, in view of Published Application US20230286806A1, hereafter Yamaji, as stated above for claim 1, as evidenced by Foreign Publication KR20210071836A (used attached machine translation), hereafter Woo.
Regarding claim 19, Song is silent on wherein when included in the secondary battery, the secondary battery exhibits 3C Li plating SOC of 27% or more, wherein the 3C Li plating SOC is an SOC value at a slope change point identified from a differential curve obtained by differentiating output voltage with respect to capacity during 3 C constant-current charging for 15 minutes, the SOC being calculated based on a discharge capacity of a third cycle performed at 1 C after three formation cycles at 0.1 C.
However although modified Song is entirely silent on any 3C Li plating SOC, one skilled in the art would have understood that modified Song would have some 3C Li plating SOC when tested, and, as evidenced by Woo which discloses a similar invention to modified Song having a natural graphite/Si active material (Song, [0085] negative active material layer may include Si-based negative active material; [0084] negative active material may be mixture of artificial graphite and natural graphite; Woo, [0029] natural graphite anode active material; [0097] anode active material layer may also include Si) with a D50 of 5-12 µm (Song, [0136-0137] spherically shaped coated graphite has average particle diameter of 5-12µm; Woo, [0079] natural graphite D50 of 6-15µm), and an I(004)/I(110) of about 8 or less (Song, [0081] negative electrode has I(110)/I(004), of greater than or equal to about 0.3, and, for example, greater than or equal to about 0.3 and less than or equal to about 0.7; Woo, [0105] I(004)/I(110) of 9-12) that results in a 3C Li plating SOC of over 27% (Woo, [0200] 3C Li-plating SOC; [0202] examples 1 and 2, 41% and 42% respectively), could reasonably expect the 3C Li plating SOC of modified Song to overlap with the claimed range of 27% or more.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding claim 1 on page 7 of applicant’s remarks that the OI range recited in the claimed invention could not be achieved by simply applying the manufacturing process of Song to a mixed active material comprising natural graphite and a silicon-based active material, which have different physical and chemical properties than Song which requires artificial graphite as suggested by the examiner, the examiner notes, as stated in the rejection, that Song discloses all of the claimed limitations, including the claimed OI range, with the exception of the particle diameter of the natural graphite, on which Song is entirely silent. One skilled in the art would have understood when making and using the invention of Song, that the natural graphite would have to have some particle diameter, and could reasonably look to the prior art to select an appropriate size, such as the 5-12 µm size suggested by Yamaji ([0136]). Furthermore, the OI range being dependent on particle size and Song disclosing the OI range reasonably implies that the particle sizes of Song are likely also within or overlapping the claimed range as well in order to impart the overlapping OI range to Song.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding claim 19 on page 8 of applicant’s remarks that it would not have been predictable that the combination of the cited prior art would exhibit the claimed improved 3C Li plating SOC characteristics, the examiner disagrees, and notes, as stated in the rejection, that the 3C Li plating SOC percentage of modified Song would have been reasonably expected to overlap with the claimed 27% or more as evidenced by Woo which discloses a similar invention ([0029] natural graphite anode active material; [0079] natural graphite D50 of 6-15µm; [0097] anode active material layer may also include Si; [0105] I(004)/I(110) of 9-12) that results in a 3C Li plating SOC of over 27% ([0200] 3C Li-plating SOC; [0202] examples 1 and 2, 41% and 42% respectively). Further, applicant’s demonstration of criticality of 27% or more is unpersuasive for percentages above 32%, as the claim as written is not limited to the narrow range of 27-32%, which is required for criticality since the presented examples 1-3 in Table 1 only demonstrate data for 29%, 32%, and 27%, respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.G.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754