DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 9-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kress et al. (US 20210405255) hereinafter Kress ‘255 in view of Yao et al. (US 11733552).
Regarding claim 1, Kress ‘255 discloses (Figs. 1A-20B) a metalens array comprising: at least one optical transparent substrate (350); a plurality of nanostructures (330, 620) arranged over the at least one optical transparent substrate, the plurality of nanostructures (330, 620) defining one or more metalenses, the one or more metalenses arranged in a predetermined arrangement (section 0098), the at least one optical transparent substrate and the plurality of nanostructures configured to transmit lights (Fig. 3A-3C; section 0062).
Kress ‘255 does not necessarily disclose a reflective layer arranged on the at least one optical transparent substrate, wherein the reflective layer is plain and made of reflective metals; and a spacer layer arranged between the plurality of nanostructures and the reflective layer, wherein the spacer layer is plain and non-patterned and made of non-conductive materials.
Yao discloses (Figs. 2C, 3B, 15D) a reflective layer (228) arranged on the at least one optical transparent substrate (226), wherein the reflective layer is plain and made of reflective metals (aluminum); and a spacer layer (230) arranged between the plurality of nanostructures (234) and the reflective layer, wherein the spacer layer is plain and non-patterned and made of non-conductive materials (aluminum oxide) (col. 7 lines 28-34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yao to obtain ultrafast optical modulators with short response times.
Regarding claim 2, Kress ‘255 discloses (Figs. 1A-20B) the plurality of nanostructures (330, 620) are composed by a dielectric material (section 0108).
Regarding claim 7, Kress ‘255 discloses (Figs. 1A-20B) the metalens array comprises a plurality of unit cells of metalenses (941, 942, 943), each of the plurality of unit cells of metalenses comprises one nanostructure in an anisotropic shape, each of the plurality of unit cells of metalenses (941, 942, 943) is separated from each other by a first predetermined pitch size (P).
Regarding claim 9, Kress ‘255 discloses (Figs. 1A-20B) the plurality of nanostructures (330, 620) are arranged in a plurality of rectangular-shape metalenses (941, 942, 943).
Regarding claim 10, Kress ‘255 discloses (Figs. 1A-20B) the plurality of rectangular-shape metalenses (941, 942, 943) are separated from each other by a second predetermined pitch size (P).
Regarding claim 11, Kress ‘255 discloses (Figs. 1A-20B) a display device comprising: a micro display (section 0046) configured to display real images and illuminate lights; at least one metalens array embedded in a frame of the display device, the at least one metalens array (941, 942, 943) spaced apart from the micro display, the at least one metalens array configured to transmit the lights illuminated by the micro display (Fig. 3A-3C; section 0062), the at least one metalens array comprising: at least one optical transparent substrate (350); a plurality of nanostructures (330, 620) arranged over the at least one optical transparent substrate, the plurality of nanostructures defining one or more metalenses, the one or more metalenses arranged in a predetermined arrangement (section 0098), the at least one optical transparent substrate and the plurality of nanostructures configured to transmit lights (Fig. 3A-3C, 8A-8B; section 0062).
Kress ‘255 does not necessarily disclose a reflective layer arranged on the at least one optical transparent substrate, wherein the reflective layer is plain and made of reflective metals; and a spacer layer arranged between the plurality of nanostructures and the reflective layer, wherein the spacer layer is plain and non-patterned and made of non-conductive materials.
Yao discloses (Figs. 2C, 3B, 15D) a reflective layer (228) arranged on the at least one optical transparent substrate (226), wherein the reflective layer is plain and made of reflective metals (aluminum); and a spacer layer (230) arranged between the plurality of nanostructures (234) and the reflective layer, wherein the spacer layer is plain and non-patterned and made of non-conductive materials (aluminum oxide) (col. 7 lines 28-34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yao to obtain ultrafast optical modulators with short response times.
Regarding claim 12, Kress ‘255 discloses (Figs. 1A-20B) a polarizer module (710), wherein the polarizer module (710) is arranged between the micro display (720) and the at least one metalens array (730), the polarizer module is configured to circularly polarize the lights illuminated by the micro display (section 0117).
Regarding claim 13, Kress ‘255 discloses (Figs. 1A-20B) the plurality of nanostructures (330, 620) are composed by a dielectric material or a metallic material (section 0108).
Regarding claim 14, Kress ‘255 discloses (Figs. 1A-20B) the metalens array further comprises a cladding layer (631), the cladding layer is arranged over the plurality of nanostructures and the at least one optical transparent substrate (section 0112).
Regarding claim 17, Kress ‘255 discloses (Figs. 1A-20B) the metalens array comprises a plurality of unit cells (941, 942, 943) of metalenses, each of the plurality of unit cells of metalenses comprises one nanostructure in an anisotropic shape, each of the plurality of unit cells (941, 942, 943) of metalenses is separated from each other by a first predetermined pitch size (P).
Regarding claim 18, Kress ‘255 discloses (Figs. 1A-20B) the plurality of unit cells (941, 942, 943) of metalenses are arranged as a single rectangular-shape metalens.
Regarding claim 19, Kress ‘255 discloses (Figs. 1A-20B) the plurality of nanostructures (330, 620) are arranged in a plurality of rectangular-shape metalenses.
Regarding claim 20, Kress ‘255 discloses (Figs. 1A-20B) the plurality of rectangular-shape metalenses (941, 942, 943) are separated from each other by a second predetermined pitch size (P).
Claims 3-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kress ‘255 and Yao in view of Kress et al. (US 20230375841) hereinafter Kress ‘841.
Regarding claim 3, Kress ‘255 does not necessarily disclose the plurality of nanostructures are composed by a metallic material.
Kress ‘841 discloses (Figs. 1A-24A) the plurality of nanostructures (330, 610-630, 1265) are composed by a metallic material (sections 0052, 0061, 0120, 0143). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kress ‘841 to reflect optical radiation with high efficiency.
Regarding claim 4, Kress ‘255 discloses (Figs. 1A-20B) a cladding layer (631), wherein the cladding layer is arranged over the plurality of nanostructures and the at least one optical transparent substrate (section 0112).
Regarding claim 8, Kress ‘255 does not necessarily disclose the plurality of unit cells of metalenses are arranged as a single rectangular-shape metallic metalens.
Kress ‘841 discloses (Figs. 1A-24A) the plurality of unit cells (700) of metalenses are arranged as a single rectangular-shape metallic metalens (sections 0043, 0052, 0055, 0061, 0120, 0143). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kress ‘841 to reflect optical radiation with high efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 7-14, and 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES S CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871