DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a DIV of 17/369,589 dated 07/07/2021. US Pat. 11957667
17/369,589 has PRO 63/049,140 dated 07/08/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/28/2023, and 02/16/2024 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 are pending and currently under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (US Pat. US 8.440,649 B2).
Lee teaches phenanthroindolizidine analogues which exhibit anti-CoV activity, i.e., reducing CoV-induced cytopathic effects or inhibiting viral protein production and viral replication which is used as a method of treating infection by CoV (e.g., SARS-associated virus and transmissible gastroenteritis virus) with a compound of Formula I, wherein the derivative of compound 1 anticipates the structural limitations of instant claims 1-2 and 6-17 wherein the X-Y ring comprises single bonds, Y is N, R1, R4, R5, R8-R15 are H, R2, R3, R6, and R7 are alkoxy (OMe), R16 and R17 are bond, a X is CR’R” wherein R’ and R” are H and n is 1 (Summary, table 1).
Lee’s compound 1 (Left) Derivative of formula I instant claim 17 (Right)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (Design, synthesis, antiviral activity, and SARs of 13a-substituted phenanthroindolizidine alkaloid derivatives) in view of Wang (Tylophorine Analogs Allosterically Regulates Heat Shock Cognate Protein 70 And Inhibits Hepatitis C Virus Replication) and further in view of Lee (US Pat. US 8.440,649 B2).
The instant claims are directed to a method of treating a disease caused by a positive strand RNA virus comprising identifying a subject suffering from the disease, and administering to the subject an effective amount of a compound of Formula I.
In addition to the disclosures of Lee above, Su et al. teach the phenanthroindolizidine alkaloid compound of (R)-tylophorine, registry number 25908-92-3 which meets the structural limitations of the compound of formula I of the instant claims wherein the X-Y ring comprises single bonds, Y is N, R1, R4, R5, R8-R15 are H, R2, R3, R6, and R7 are alkoxy (OMe), R16 and R17 are bond, a X is CR’R” wherein R’ and R” are H and n is 1 (fig. 1).
Su discloses Table 1 and 2 wherein the In vivo antiviral activity of tylophorine targeting the positive strand RNA virus of tobacco mosaic virus (TMV) RNA.
However, Su et al. fail to explicitly disclose administering the compound of (R)-tylophorine for the treatment of the positive strand RNA viruses of SARS-CoV-2, Zika, Dengue, HCoV-OC43, or HCoV-229E.
Wang et al. teach tylophorine analogs which exhibit potent inhibitory activity against hepatitis C virus (HCV) replication in genotype 1b Con 1 isolate wherein the HCV replication is partially mediated through cellular heat shock cognate protein 70 (Hsc70) (Abstract). Wang also teaches Hsc70 is associated with the HCV replication complex. Host chaperones and co-chaperones play important functions in the assembly of the viral replication complex and the replication of the viral genome. Hsc70 participated in the RNA-dependent replication of sindbis virus, influenza virus, rotavirus, and dengue virus (Discussion, page 7, 2nd paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to administer a compound of formula I as tylophorine for the treatment of a positive strand RNA virus to a subject in need thereof by combining the anti-TMV teachings of Su with the anti-HCV activity and Hsc-70 participation in the RNA dependent replication of sindbis, rotavirus, and dengue (Flaviviridae family) virus as disclosed by Wang because each of the viruses are positive stranded RNA viruses and Lee teaches compound of tylophorine is useful in treating coronaviruses. See MPEP 2144.06 and MPEP 2143.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer an effective amount of the compound of tylophorine to treat a disease caused by a positive strand RNA virus in a subject in need thereof by combining the teachings of treating TMV by Su with the disclosures of treating HCV with tylophorine and how tylophorine affects Hsc-70 in the other positive stranded viruses of sindbis, rotavirus, and dengue (Flaviviridae family) virus by Wang. In light of Lee’s disclosure of a method of treating infection by CoV (e.g., SARS-associated virus and transmissible gastroenteritis virus) with a derivative of Lee’s Formula I (compound 1), a skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in treating other positive stranded RNA viruses including the SARS-CoV-2 virus based on the results disclosed by Su and Wang of tylophorine to treat the positive stranded RNA viruses of TMV sindbis, rotavirus, and dengue and further in view of Lee’s disclosure of treating corona viruses. See MPEP 2112and MPEP 2144.05(II).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, and 6-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. US 7,332,502 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of claims 1 and 6-17 of the instant application are directed to the same invention as reference claims 1-7. The compound derivatives of formula I of instant claim 17 are satisfied by the reference claims 1-7 wherein compound 2 of the patent anticipate compound 1 of instant claim 17.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected, no claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/E.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/ADAM C MILLIGAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1623