DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claims 1, 4, 10, 15, 18, 19, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: The amendment to claim 18 is not clear, whether the method comprises all the feature listed in the claim. As per the specification in paragraph [0267] the dormant BWP has at least one of the following features Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Liu hereafter) (US 20220116902 A1) in view of Manolakos et al. (Manolakos hereafter) (US 20230076043 A1) and in further view of Kazmi et al. (Kazmi hereafter) (US 20140094188 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Liu teaches, A positioning method, wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a network side device (LCS server receives), first target information (positioning requirement from a LCS client for an UE), wherein the first target information comprises at least one of configuration information of a positioning reference signal (PRS) ([0099-0100] location management functionality 220 may send, to the base station 210, a paging indication …periodicity of the PRS transmissions may be carried in the paging indication) (Liu; [0062] the LCS server receives a positioning requirement from a LCS client for an UE in the RRC idle or inactive state, [0059] The LCS server may initialize a uplink Time Difference of Arrival (UTDOA) information exchange procedure to indicate the gNB to notify user equipment (UE) of transmitting Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) such as a SRS and retrieving the PRS configuration from the gNB [0090] the location management functionality 220 and the base station 210 are physically separate, the location management functionality 220 may send, to the base station 210, a paging indication for the base station 210 [0100] the duration of the PRS transmissions or the number of PRS transmissions or a periodicity of the PRS transmissions may be carried in the paging indication so that the base station 210 may indicate the terminal device 205 to automatically perform or release the UL positioning based on the configuration.),
first resource indication information (The positioning algorithms may comprise UL Relative Time of Arrival (RTOA), Angle of Arrival (AOA), and the like.) (Liu; [0059] the LCS server may request Location Measurement Units (LMUs) to perform positioning measurements based on the target UE PRS transmissions. The positioning algorithms may comprise UL Relative Time of Arrival (RTOA), Angle of Arrival (AOA), and the like. Upon completion of the positioning measurements, the LMUs would transfer the measurement results to the LCS server for location calculation or estimation), measurement window information of the PRS, or first resource switching request information; and
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
sending, by the network side device (the location management functionality 220 indicates), positioning service indication signaling to a terminal based on the first target information (configuration related to a UL PRS for the terminal device 205), wherein the positioning service indication signaling (trigger the UL positioning) comprises at least one of first configuration information ([0074] positioning dedicated channel configuration) (Liu; [0073] In order to trigger (305) the UL positioning procedure at the LMU 215, the location management functionality 220 determines a configuration related to a UL PRS for the terminal device 205 …the location management functionality 220
indicates the LMU 225 to perform positioning measurement (for example, TOA) with the related configuration. [0074] The configuration may comprise any suitable configuration related to the PRS transmission. For example, the configuration may comprise at least one of a positioning dedicated channel configuration and an indication of the PRS to trigger the UL positioning. The indication of the PRS may comprise at least one of a sequence index and a cyclic shift of the PRS. The configuration may further comprise positioning assistance data. The positioning assistance data may comprise a duration of the PRS transmissions and the number of PRS transmissions, a period of the PRS transmissions and the like).
or first dynamic indication information,
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
Liu fails to explicitly teach, wherein the first dynamic indication information indicates the terminal to switch to a first resource to perform a positioning service, the positioning service comprises PRS measurement or sounding reference signal (SRS) sending, and
the first configuration information comprises at least one of:
a configuration relationship between a target measurement gap (MG) and the positioning service; or
an association relationship between the target MG and activation signaling of the positioning service; and
the first resource comprises a target bandwidth part (BWP) or the target measurement
However, in the same field of endeavor Manolakos teaches, wherein the first dynamic indication information indicates ( using a single MAC-CE) the terminal to switch to a first resource to perform a positioning service (Manolakos; [0056] FIG. 3 may perform one or more techniques associated with activation or deactivation of the reception of multiple DL PRS and/or the transmissions of multiple UL PRS in the UE 104 using a single MAC-CE), the positioning service comprises PRS measurement or sounding reference signal (SRS) sending (SRS for positioning) (Manolakos; [0069] the UE is provided with the configuration of DL PRS to be received so that the UE may perform PRS positioning measurements. Similarly, the UL PRS, e.g., SRS for positioning, to be transmitted by the UE 104 may be configured using an SRS-Config Information Element (IE). [0075] The transmissions of SRS may be activated or deactivated within a UE 104 with a Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE)), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Manolakos in order to wirelessly communicate with the UE (Manolakos; [0010]).
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
Liu- Manolakos fails to explicitly teach, the first configuration information comprises at least one of:
a configuration relationship between a target measurement gap (MG) and the positioning service; or
an association relationship between the target MG and activation signaling of the positioning service; and
the first resource comprises a target bandwidth part (BWP) or the target measurement.
However, in the same field of endeavor Kazmi teaches, the first configuration information comprises at least one of:
a configuration relationship between a target measurement gap (MG) and the positioning service (Kazmi; [0093] neighboring cells 42 that transmit positioning reference signals 46 over the same non-serving frequency transmit those signals 46 during the same period of time. In this case, the information obtained by the measurement gap configuration circuit 54 may only identify a single neighboring cell 42 for each non-serving frequency on which the device 36 will perform a positioning measurement);
the first resource comprises the target measurement (Kazmi;[0112] wireless devices 36 (such as those capable of carrier-aggregation) may be able to perform inter-frequency measurements on at least some of the frequencies for which it received assistance data without having to request measurement gaps).
or a target bandwidth part (BWP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Manolakos to include the above recited limitations as taught by Kazmi in order to determining the wireless device's geographic position. (Kazmi; [0090]).
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
Regarding claim 19 Liu teaches, A network side device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the network side device to perform:
receiving, by a network side device (LCS server receives), first target information (positioning requirement from a LCS client for an UE), wherein the first target information comprises at least one of configuration information of a positioning reference signal (PRS) ([0099-0100] location management functionality 220 may send, to the base station 210, a paging indication …periodicity of the PRS transmissions may be carried in the paging indication) (Liu; [0062] the LCS server receives a positioning requirement from a LCS client for an UE in the RRC idle or inactive state, [0059] The LCS server may initialize a uplink Time Difference of Arrival (UTDOA) information exchange procedure to indicate the gNB to notify user equipment (UE) of transmitting Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) such as a SRS and retrieving the PRS configuration from the gNB [0090] the location management functionality 220 and the base station 210 are physically separate, the location management functionality 220 may send, to the base station 210, a paging indication for the base station 210 [0100] the duration of the PRS transmissions or the number of PRS transmissions or a periodicity of the PRS transmissions may be carried in the paging indication so that the base station 210 may indicate the terminal device 205 to automatically perform or release the UL positioning based on the configuration.),
first resource indication information (The positioning algorithms may comprise UL Relative Time of Arrival (RTOA), Angle of Arrival (AOA), and the like.) (Liu; [0059] the LCS server may request Location Measurement Units (LMUs) to perform positioning measurements based on the target UE PRS transmissions. The positioning algorithms may comprise UL Relative Time of Arrival (RTOA), Angle of Arrival (AOA), and the like. Upon completion of the positioning measurements, the LMUs would transfer the measurement results to the LCS server for location calculation or estimation), measurement window information of the PRS, or first resource switching request information; and
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
sending, by the network side device (the location management functionality 220 indicates), positioning service indication signaling to a terminal based on the first target information (configuration related to a UL PRS for the terminal device 205), wherein the positioning service indication signaling (trigger the UL positioning) comprises at least one of first configuration information ([0074] positioning dedicated channel configuration) (Liu; [0073] In order to trigger (305) the UL positioning procedure at the LMU 215, the location management functionality 220 determines a configuration related to a UL PRS for the terminal device 205 …the location management functionality 220
indicates the LMU 225 to perform positioning measurement (for example, TOA) with the related configuration. [0074] The configuration may comprise any suitable configuration related to the PRS transmission. For example, the configuration may comprise at least one of a positioning dedicated channel configuration and an indication of the PRS to trigger the UL positioning. The indication of the PRS may comprise at least one of a sequence index and a cyclic shift of the PRS. The configuration may further comprise positioning assistance data. The positioning assistance data may comprise a duration of the PRS transmissions and the number of PRS transmissions, a period of the PRS transmissions and the like).
or first dynamic indication information,
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
Liu fails to explicitly teach, wherein the first dynamic indication information indicates the terminal to switch to a first resource to perform a positioning service, the positioning service comprises PRS measurement or sounding reference signal (SRS) sending, and
the first configuration information comprises at least one of:
a configuration relationship between a target measurement gap (MG) and the positioning service; or
an association relationship between the target MG and activation signaling of the positioning service; and
the first resource comprises a target bandwidth part (BWP) or the target measurement.
However, in the same field of endeavor Manolakos teaches, wherein the first dynamic indication information indicates ( using a single MAC-CE) the terminal to switch to a first resource to perform a positioning service (Manolakos; [0056] FIG. 3 may perform one or more techniques associated with activation or deactivation of the reception of multiple DL PRS and/or the transmissions of multiple UL PRS in the UE 104 using a single MAC-CE), the positioning service comprises PRS measurement or sounding reference signal (SRS) sending (SRS for positioning) (Manolakos; [0069] the UE is provided with the configuration of DL PRS to be received so that the UE may perform PRS positioning measurements. Similarly, the UL PRS, e.g., SRS for positioning, to be transmitted by the UE 104 may be configured using an SRS-Config Information Element (IE). [0075] The transmissions of SRS may be activated or deactivated within a UE 104 with a Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE)), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Manolakos in order to wirelessly communicate with the UE (Manolakos; [0010]).
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
Liu- Manolakos fails to explicitly teach, the first configuration information comprises at least one of:
a configuration relationship between a target measurement gap (MG) and the positioning service; or
an association relationship between the target MG and activation signaling of the positioning service; and
the first resource comprises a target bandwidth part (BWP) or the target measurement
However, in the same field of endeavor Kazmi teaches, the first configuration information comprises at least one of:
a configuration relationship between a target measurement gap (MG) and the positioning service (Kazmi; [0093] neighboring cells 42 that transmit positioning reference signals 46 over the same non-serving frequency transmit those signals 46 during the same period of time. In this case, the information obtained by the measurement gap configuration circuit 54 may only identify a single neighboring cell 42 for each non-serving frequency on which the device 36 will perform a positioning measurement);
the first resource comprises the target measurement (Kazmi;[0112] wireless devices 36 (such as those capable of carrier-aggregation) may be able to perform inter-frequency measurements on at least some of the frequencies for which it received assistance data without having to request measurement gaps).
or a target bandwidth part (BWP)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Manolakos to include the above recited limitations as taught by Kazmi in order to determining the wireless device's geographic position. (Kazmi; [0090]).
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
Regarding claim 20 Liu teaches, 20. A non-transitory readable storage medium, storing a program or an instruction, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by a processor of a network side device, causes the network side device to perform:
receiving, by a network side device (LCS server receives), first target information (positioning requirement from a LCS client for an UE), wherein the first target information comprises at least one of configuration information of a positioning reference signal (PRS) ([0099-0100] location management functionality 220 may send, to the base station 210, a paging indication …periodicity of the PRS transmissions may be carried in the paging indication) (Liu; [0062] the LCS server receives a positioning requirement from a LCS client for an UE in the RRC idle or inactive state, [0059] The LCS server may initialize a uplink Time Difference of Arrival (UTDOA) information exchange procedure to indicate the gNB to notify user equipment (UE) of transmitting Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) such as a SRS and retrieving the PRS configuration from the gNB [0090] the location management functionality 220 and the base station 210 are physically separate, the location management functionality 220 may send, to the base station 210, a paging indication for the base station 210 [0100] the duration of the PRS transmissions or the number of PRS transmissions or a periodicity of the PRS transmissions may be carried in the paging indication so that the base station 210 may indicate the terminal device 205 to automatically perform or release the UL positioning based on the configuration.),
first resource indication information (The positioning algorithms may comprise UL Relative Time of Arrival (RTOA), Angle of Arrival (AOA), and the like.) (Liu; [0059] the LCS server may request Location Measurement Units (LMUs) to perform positioning measurements based on the target UE PRS transmissions. The positioning algorithms may comprise UL Relative Time of Arrival (RTOA), Angle of Arrival (AOA), and the like. Upon completion of the positioning measurements, the LMUs would transfer the measurement results to the LCS server for location calculation or estimation), measurement window information of the PRS, or first resource switching request information; and
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
sending, by the network side device (the location management functionality 220 indicates), positioning service indication signaling to a terminal based on the first target information (configuration related to a UL PRS for the terminal device 205), wherein the positioning service indication signaling (trigger the UL positioning) comprises at least one of first configuration information ([0074] positioning dedicated channel configuration) (Liu; [0073] In order to trigger (305) the UL positioning procedure at the LMU 215, the location management functionality 220 determines a configuration related to a UL PRS for the terminal device 205 …the location management functionality 220
indicates the LMU 225 to perform positioning measurement (for example, TOA) with the related configuration. [0074] The configuration may comprise any suitable configuration related to the PRS transmission. For example, the configuration may comprise at least one of a positioning dedicated channel configuration and an indication of the PRS to trigger the UL positioning. The indication of the PRS may comprise at least one of a sequence index and a cyclic shift of the PRS. The configuration may further comprise positioning assistance data. The positioning assistance data may comprise a duration of the PRS transmissions and the number of PRS transmissions, a period of the PRS transmissions and the like).
or first dynamic indication information,
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
Liu fails to explicitly teach, wherein the first dynamic indication information indicates the terminal to switch to a first resource to perform a positioning service, the positioning service comprises PRS measurement or sounding reference signal (SRS) sending, and
the first configuration information comprises at least one of:
a configuration relationship between a target measurement gap (MG) and the positioning service; or
an association relationship between the target MG and activation signaling of the positioning service; and
the first resource comprises a target bandwidth part (BWP) or the target measurement.
However, in the same field of endeavor Manolakos teaches, wherein the first dynamic indication information indicates ( using a single MAC-CE) the terminal to switch to a first resource to perform a positioning service (Manolakos; [0056] FIG. 3 may perform one or more techniques associated with activation or deactivation of the reception of multiple DL PRS and/or the transmissions of multiple UL PRS in the UE 104 using a single MAC-CE), the positioning service comprises PRS measurement or sounding reference signal (SRS) sending (SRS for positioning) (Manolakos; [0069] the UE is provided with the configuration of DL PRS to be received so that the UE may perform PRS positioning measurements. Similarly, the UL PRS, e.g., SRS for positioning, to be transmitted by the UE 104 may be configured using an SRS-Config Information Element (IE). [0075] The transmissions of SRS may be activated or deactivated within a UE 104 with a Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE)), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Manolakos in order to wirelessly communicate with the UE (Manolakos; [0010]).
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner}
Liu- Manolakos fails to explicitly teach, the first configuration information comprises at least one of:
a configuration relationship between a target measurement gap (MG) and the positioning service; or
an association relationship between the target MG and activation signaling of the positioning service; and
the first resource comprises a target bandwidth part (BWP) or the target measurement.
However, in the same field of endeavor Kazmi teaches, the first configuration information comprises at least one of:
a configuration relationship between a target measurement gap (MG) and the positioning service (Kazmi; [0093] neighboring cells 42 that transmit positioning reference signals 46 over the same non-serving frequency transmit those signals 46 during the same period of time. In this case, the information obtained by the measurement gap configuration circuit 54 may only identify a single neighboring cell 42 for each non-serving frequency on which the device 36 will perform a positioning measurement);
the first resource comprises the target measurement (Kazmi;[0112] wireless devices 36 (such as those capable of carrier-aggregation) may be able to perform inter-frequency measurements on at least some of the frequencies for which it received assistance data without having to request measurement gaps).
or a target bandwidth part (BWP)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Manolakos to include the above recited limitations as taught by Kazmi in order to determining the wireless device's geographic position. (Kazmi; [0090]).
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
Claims 2-5, 7, 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cheng et al. (Cheng hereafter) (WO 2022006750 A1).
Regarding claim 2 Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi teaches, the method according to claim 1,
Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi fail to explicitly teach, wherein the first configuration information comprises at least one of:
first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates whether a serving cell corresponding to the terminal supports the positioning service;
second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates whether a dormant BWP corresponding to the terminal supports the positioning service;
first type information, wherein the first type information indicates a type of the dormant BWP corresponding to the terminal, and the type of the dormant BWP is associated with whether the dormant BWP corresponding to the terminal supports the positioning service;
first enabling information, wherein the first enabling information indicates whether the positioning service is enabled in the dormant BWP corresponding to the terminal or the serving cell corresponding to the terminal; or
second enabling information, wherein the second enabling information indicates whether the dormant BWP corresponding to the terminal or the serving cell corresponding to the terminal supports a positioning service beyond a band range of a BWP.
However, in the same field of endeavor Cheng teaches, first type information, wherein the first type information indicates a type of the dormant BWP corresponding to the terminal, and the type of the dormant BWP is associated with whether the dormant BWP corresponding to the terminal supports the positioning service (Cheng; [0042] Referring again to FIG. 1, in certain aspects, the UE 104 may include a positioning component 198 configured to switch to a dormant BWP for an SCell and reduce positioning measurements or positioning reports in response to switching to the dormant BWP for the SCell. The base station 102/180 may include a positioning component 199 configured to indicate for a UE to switch to a dormant BWP for an SCell and determine different positioning operation for the UE associated with the dormant BWP for the SCell.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi to include the above recited limitations as taught by Cheng in order to reduce power consumption between data traffic (Cheng; [0060]).
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
Regarding claim 3 Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi teaches, the method according to claim 1,
Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi fails to explicitly teach, wherein the first dynamic indication information comprises a BWP switching command and first information, or
the first dynamic indication information comprises an MG activation command and the first information.
Cheng further teaches, wherein the first dynamic indication information comprises a BWP switching command and first information (Cheng; [0060] the network may dynamically indicate for the UE to switch to reduced activity, e.g., dormant behavior. In some examples, the UE may switch to dormant behavior for an activated SCell), or
the first dynamic indication information comprises an MG activation command and the first information.
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi to include the above recited limitations as taught by Cheng in order to reduce power consumption between data traffic (Cheng; [0060]).
Regarding claim 4 Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi teaches, the method according to claim 1,
Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi fails to explicitly teach, wherein the first dynamic indication information further comprises second information, and the second information is configured for assisting the terminal in performing BWP switching, wherein the second information comprises at least one of:
first cell identification information, wherein the first cell identification information indicates a cell configured for the positioning service;
second cell identification information, wherein the second cell identification information indicates an activation state of a cell that comprises a dormant BWP, or
an activation state of a cell group that comprises the dormant BWP; or
BWP identification information, wherein the BWP identification information indicates a to-be-activated BWP; or
the first dynamic indication information further comprises third information, and the third information is configured for assisting the terminal in switching to the first resource to perform the positioning service, wherein the third information comprises at least one of:
first positioning service indication information, wherein the first positioning service indication information indicates to activate the positioning service;
second positioning service indication information, wherein the second positioning service indication information indicates to activate a target BWP of a first cell to perform the positioning service;
third positioning service indication information, wherein the third positioning service indication information indicates to activate a dormant BWP of a second cell to perform the positioning service; or
fourth positioning service indication information, wherein the fourth positioning service indication information indicates to activate the target MG to perform the positioning service.
Cheng further teaches, wherein the first dynamic indication information further comprises second information, and the second information is configured for assisting the terminal in performing BWP switching, wherein the second information comprises at least one of:
an activation state of a cell group that comprises a dormant BWP (Cheng; [0060] The base station may indicate the activation and deactivation of dormant behavior for the SCell.); or
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi to include the above recited limitations as taught by Cheng in order to reduce power consumption between data traffic (Cheng; [0060]).
Regarding claim 5 Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi-Cheng teaches, the method according to claim 3,
Liu teaches, wherein the first information comprises at least one of location request information (Liu; [0072] The triggering may be responsive to a positioning request for the terminal device 205 from a LCS client. The LCS client may be a software and/or hardware entity that may interact with the location management functionality to obtain location information for one or more terminal devices. The LCS client may subscribe to location services in order to obtain location information) or an uplink resource scheduling command.
Regarding claim 7 Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi-Cheng teaches, the method according to claim 5,
Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi-Cheng fails to explicitly teach wherein the uplink resource scheduling command comprises at least one of:
uplink resource scheduling information;
location report-dedicated scheduling information;
a pre-configured identifier of a location request;
a type of the location request; whether a location of the terminal is requested;
a report periodicity of response location information;
a report gap of the response location information; a report quantity of the response location information; response time of the location request; measurement time corresponding to the positioning service or scheduled time T corresponding to the positioning service;
response location information that indicates a location method specified for reporting; or a configuration of a configured grant (CG) or an identifier of the CG, wherein there is an association relationship between the CG and the PRS measurement or between the CG and a PRS measurement window.
Manolakos further teaches, wherein the uplink resource scheduling command comprises at least one of:
a report periodicity of response location information (Manolakos; [0062] Each periodically repeated time window can include a group of one or more consecutive PRS occasions. Each PRS occasion can comprise a number NPRS of consecutive positioning subframes. The PRS positioning occasions for a cell supported by a base station may occur periodically at intervals,);
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Kazmi-Cheng to include the above recited limitations as taught by Manolakos in order to wirelessly communicate with the UE (Manolakos; [0010]).
Regarding claim 8 Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi-Cheng teaches, the method according to claim 5,
Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi-Cheng fails to explicitly teach, wherein the first information comprises the uplink resource scheduling command, and response location information sent by the terminal to the network side device comprises at least one of:
a pre-configured report identifier;
positioning information;
a reason for failure to report the response location information;
a location method corresponding to a report;
whether there is unreported response location information; or
acknowledgement location request information.
Manolakos further teaches, wherein the first information comprises the uplink resource scheduling command, and response location information sent by the terminal to the network side device comprises at least one of:
positioning information (Manolakos; [0108] as those illustrated in FIG. 5 or described in FIGS. 6-9. With MAC-CE block 1200, all of the PRS resource sets identified by UL and DL PRS resource set IDs 1202 have the same QCL field and there is no need to separately configure a QCL field for each UL);
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Kazmi-Cheng to include the above recited limitations as taught by Manolakos in order to wirelessly communicate with the UE (Manolakos; [0010]).
Regarding claim 18 Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi teaches, the method according to claim 1,
Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi fails to explicitly teach, the first configuration information further comprises a dormant BWP, and the method further comprises:
stopping a BWP-inactive timer;
starting a PRS measurement timer;
starting a configured grant (CG) associated with the PRS measurement;
starting resource scheduling associated with the PRS measurement;
skipping responding to other response location information than response location information of a first type;
sending an SRS on the dormant BWP;
measuring a PRS on the dormant BWP; or
reporting response location information on a CG associated with the dormant BWP.
Cheng further teaches, wherein the dormant BWP has at least one of features:
sending an SRS on the dormant BWP; (Cheng; The UE 502 may transmit an SRS 523 using different positioning parameters when in a dormant BWP for the SCell.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi to include the above recited limitations as taught by Cheng in order to reduce power consumption between data traffic (Cheng; [0060]).
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi-Cheng as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Shreevastav et al. (Shreevastav hereafter) (US 20220221548 A1).
Regarding claim 6 Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi-Cheng teaches,. The method according to claim 5,
Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi fails to explicitly teach, wherein the location request information comprises at least one of:
a type of a location request;
whether a location of the terminal is requested;
a report periodicity of response location information;
a report gap of the response location information; a report quantity of the response location information;
response time of the location request;
measurement time corresponding to the positioning service or scheduled time T corresponding to the positioning service; response location information that indicates a location method specified for reporting;
a report type of a PRS measurement result; or a pre-configured identifier of the location request.
However, in the same field of endeavor Shreevastav teaches, wherein the location request information comprises at least one of:
whether a location of the terminal is requested (Shreevastav; [0088] transmitting, to a wireless device 12, assistance data 30 for device-based positioning (Block 700). In some embodiments, the method also includes transmitting configuration signaling 22 from the network node 18 to the wireless device 12);
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi-Cheng to include the above recited limitations as taught by Shreevastav in order to obtain device-based positioning information (Shreevastav; [0088]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi- Cheng as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Hong (Hong hereafter) (US 20230370996 A1).
Regarding claim 9 Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi-Cheng teaches, the method according to claim 8,
wherein the positioning information comprises at least one of: information about an event of sending the response location information;
a measurement result and/or a location estimation;
a current measurement result and/or a current location estimation;
a finally obtained measurement result and/or a finally obtained location estimation;
a differential measurement result and/or a differential location estimation; or
a measurement result in a PRS measurement window and/or a location estimation in the PRS measurement window.
However, in the same field of endeavor Hong teaches, wherein the positioning information comprises at least one of: information about an event of sending the response location information (Hong; [0048] During this location reporting process, the base station can report the identification of the IAB node establishing a connection with the target UE to the AMF network element. Specifically, for example, after receiving the location service request for the target UE, the AMF network element can send a location report request to the base station to request that the base station reports the location information of the target UE);
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi-Cheng to include the above recited limitations as taught by Hong in order to response to the location service request for the target UE (Hong; [0048]).
Claim 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi-Cheng as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Li (Li hereafter) (US 20220007370 A1).
Regarding claim 10 Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi-Cheng teaches, the method according to claim 3,
wherein the BWP switching command indicates any one of:
activating a serving cell to which a target BWP belongs;
activating the target BWP; and
activating the target BWP, wherein the target BWP is the dormant BWP, a BWP currently activated by the terminal, or
a BWP activated for the first time by a serving cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor Li teaches, wherein the BWP switching command indicates any one of:
activating a serving cell to which a target BWP belongs; (Li; [0054] when the activated BWP in a certain serving cell (for example, the target serving cell) for the user equipment is not idle, the base station sends the first indication information and the second indication information to the user equipment through the activated and idle BWP of the first serving cell, such that the user equipment may hand over the activated BWP in the target serving cell (for example, handover to the target BWP indicated by the second indication information), and therefore an idle BWP may be configured as an activated BWP).
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi-Cheng to include the above recited limitations as taught by Li in order to process the data in time on the time-frequency resource of the target BWP (Li; [0054]).
Regarding claim 11 Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi-Cheng teaches, the method according to claim 10,
wherein an activation state of the serving cell to which the target BWP belongs is configured as on when the serving cell is configured for the terminal, or
is configured as on when the serving cell is added to the terminal; or
the activation state of the serving cell to which the target BWP belongs is configured as on before the terminal performs the positioning service.
Li further teaches, wherein an activation state of the serving cell to which the target BWP belongs is configured as on when the serving cell is configured for the terminal (Li; [0054] As a result, the user equipment may process the data in time on the time-frequency resource of the target BWP, thereby the utilization ratio of the carrier of the target serving cell is improved, and the delay of service processing is reduced.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi-Cheng to include the above recited limitations as taught by Li in order to process the data in time on the time-frequency resource of the target BWP (Li; [0054]).
Claim 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Säily et al. (Saily hereafter) (US 20230379865 A1).
Regarding claim 12 Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi teaches, the method according to claim 1,
Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi fails to explicitly teach, wherein a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) of the first dynamic indication information is associated with the positioning service, or
the RNTI of the first dynamic indication information is associated with a power saving RNTI (PS-RNTI).
However, in the same field of endeavor Saily teaches, wherein a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) of the first dynamic indication information is associated with the positioning service (Saily; [0041] At 522 (FIG. 5), the UE 410 may transmit (e.g., as message 3 of a random access procedure) an identifier (e.g., a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI)) that indicates a request for transmission of a PRS (e.g., ATRS) signal),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi to include the above recited limitations as taught by Saily in order to allow a UE position to be determined (Saily; [0030]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xu et al. (Xu hereafter) (US 20230025902 A1).
Regarding claim 13 Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi teaches, the method according to claim 1,
Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi fails to explicitly teach, wherein there is a first association relationship between the target MG and activation signaling of a PRS, and the first association relationship comprises at least one of:
an activation state of the PRS is on, and an activation state of the target MG is on;
the activation state of the PRS is off, and the activation state of the target MG is off;
the activation state of the PRS is on, and the target MG is a first MG; or
the activation state of the PRS is off, and the target MG is a second MG.
However, in the same field of endeavor Xu teaches, wherein there is a first association relationship between the target MG and activation signaling of a PRS, and the first association relationship comprises at least one of:
an activation state of the PRS is on, and an activation state of the target MG is on (Xu; [0088] Fig. 11 the UE to provide PRS information to the serving base station for the serving base station to activate and deactivate the measurement gaps when the serving base station changes the active BWP).
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi to include the above recited limitations as taught by Xu in order to provide PRS information (Xu; [0088]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi-Xu as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Siomina et al. (Siomina hereafter) (US 20210120513 A1).
Regarding claim 14 Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi-Xu teaches, the method according to claim 13,
Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi fails to explicitly teach, wherein the first MG comprises an MG for the PRS measurement and an MG for radio resource management (RRM) measurement, or
the first MG comprises the MG for the PRS measurement; and
the second MG comprises the MG for the RRM measurement.
However, in the same field of endeavor Siomina teaches, wherein the first MG comprises an MG for the PRS measurement and an MG for radio resource management (RRM) measurement (Siomina; [0022] the second measurement gap pattern is different from the first measurement gap pattern. In some embodiments of this aspect, the second measurement gap pattern is configured to support the positioning measurements and the first measurement gap pattern is configured to support mobility measurements).
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi-Xu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Siomina in order to provide PRS information (Siomina; [0088]).
Claim 15, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li (Li hereafter) (US 20230208580 A1) (IDS provided).
Regarding claim 15 Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi teaches, the method according to claim 1,
Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi fails to explicitly teach, wherein there is a second association relationship between the first dynamic indication information and the PRS measurement or a PRS measurement window, and the second association relationship comprises at least one of:
that a time domain location at which the first dynamic indication information is received is earlier than a time domain start point of the PRS measurement;
that the time domain location at which the first dynamic indication information is received is earlier than a time domain location obtained by subtracting first duration from the time domain start point of the PRS measurement;
that the time domain location at which the first dynamic indication information is received is earlier than a time domain start point of the PRS measurement window;
that the time domain location at which the first dynamic indication information is received is earlier than a time domain location obtained by subtracting the first duration from the time domain start point of the PRS measurement window;
that a frequency domain range of a PRS is within a band range of a target BWP;
wherein there is a second association relationship between the first dynamic indication information and the PRS measurement or a PRS measurement window, and the second association relationship comprises at least one of:
that a frequency domain range of an SRS is within the band range of the target BWP; or
in a case that the first resource is the dormant BWP, PRS measurement or SRS sending beyond a band range of a dormant BWP is allowed.
However, in the same field of endeavor Li teaches, that the time domain location at which the first dynamic indication information is received is earlier than a time domain location obtained by subtracting first duration from the time domain start point of the PRS measurement (Li; [0037] When positioning based on the downlink PRS, the terminal can achieve positioning based on an arrival time difference of the downlink PRSs. For example, the terminal perform measurement on the downlink PRSs from multiple network devices to obtain a time difference between the arrival time of the downlink PRS sent by each of the multiple network devices to the terminal, so that location coordinates of the terminal can be obtained through a position estimation algorithm in combination with a position of a sending antenna of each network device and the time difference obtained in the above measurement. [0061] The first time domain parameter includes at least one of a start time slot position)
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi to include the above recited limitations as taught by Li in order to obtain location coordinates (Li; [0037]).
Regarding claim 16 Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi teaches, the method according to claim 1,
Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi fails to explicitly teach, wherein there is a third association relationship between the first dynamic indication information and scheduled time T, and the third association relationship comprises at least one of:
that a time domain location at which the first dynamic indication information is received is earlier than the scheduled time T; or
that the time domain location at which the first dynamic indication information is received is earlier than a time domain location obtained by subtracting first duration from the scheduled time T.
Li further teaches, wherein there is a third association relationship between the first dynamic indication information and scheduled time T, and the third association relationship comprises at least one of:
that a time domain location at which the first dynamic indication information is received is earlier than the scheduled time T (Li; [0185] the first network device detects for three times that the terminal has the positioning requirement, and performs three rounds of transmissions of the downlink PRS at three time intervals, i.e., [T1, T2], [T3, T4], and [T5, T6], respectively by scheduling the trigger information. …there is no need for the terminal to wait for the downlink PRS sent periodically, which can reduce the positioning delay. In addition, the transmission parameters of each round of transmissions of the downlink PRS are configured dynamically, and the first network device can adjust the parameters of the downlink PRS dynamically according to the change of the state of the terminal (e.g., channel state), which enables the positioning accuracy to the maximum extent.)
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi to include the above recited limitations as taught by Li in order to obtain location coordinates (Li; [0037]).
Regarding claim 17 Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi teaches, the method according to claim 1,
Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi fails to explicitly teach, wherein there is a fourth association relationship between the first configuration information and scheduled location time T, and the fourth association relationship comprises at least one of:
that a time domain location at which the first configuration information is received is earlier than the scheduled time T; or
that the time domain location at which the first configuration information is received is earlier than a time domain location obtained by subtracting second duration from the scheduled time T.
Li further teaches, wherein there is a fourth association relationship between the first configuration information and scheduled location time T, and the fourth association relationship comprises at least one of:
that a time domain location at which the first configuration information is received is earlier than the scheduled time T (Li; [0186] the wireless resource position for each round of specified number of transmissions of the downlink PRS is dynamically configured by the network device, thereby realizing the on-demand transmission of the downlink PRS. For example, only when the terminal needs to measure the downlink PRS, the network device configures the trigger information for the terminal and sends a round of transmissions of the downlink PRS, so that the network device does not need to continuously and periodically send the downlink PRS, thereby greatly saving the wireless resources.)
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Manolakos-Kazmi to include the above recited limitations as taught by Li in order to obtain location coordinates (Li; [0037]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W. T/Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416