DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ham et al. (IDS Reference WO 2019240535A1) in view of Han et al. (WO 2019117692 A1) and Niakan et al. (US 11329361 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Ham et al. discloses an electronic device (Electronic device 220 of figure 2c of Ham et al.) comprising:
a housing (Electronic device may have a housing comprised by multiple components as seen in figure 2c of Ham et al.):
a printed circuit board disposed comprising a wireless communication circuit (On face of the support member 2211 may be coupled to the PCB 224 and wireless communication circuit may be disposed on the PCB and FR4 substrate 410 serves as a PCB with conductive patches 421 that may be patterned on and a wireless communication circuit 490 disposed on one side; Paragraph 9, 68, and 89-110 as well as figure 2c and 4-5 of Ham et al.);
at least one electronic component disposed on the printed circuit board (Electrical component in the form of the wireless communication circuit 490 is disposed on a side of the PCB 410 which in turn can be disposed on PCB 361; Paragraph 89-110 and figure 4-5 of Ham et al.);
a shield can disposed on the printed circuit board and configured to partially enclose the at least one electronic component(Shield can 490 can be disposed on a side of the PCB 410 wherein the shield can is designed to surround the wireless communication 490 and the other side of the shield can be placed on PCB 520; Paragraph 89-110 and figure 4-5 of Ham et al.);
an antenna structure (Antenna structure includes antenna elements 421 which is disposed on PCB 410 which is in turn disposed on the shield can 470; Paragraph 67 and 89-110 as well as figure 2c and 4 of Ham et al.); and a processor operatively connected to the printed circuit board and the antenna structure (PCB can be connected to a processor which can also be connected to an antenna and processor 340 can be connected to communication devices 321-324 which may devices like 400 comprising the antenna structure; Paragraph 68 and 73-110 as well as figures 2-3b and 4-5 of Ham et al.) and wherein the processor is configured to receive a wireless signal of a specified band by feeding the plurality of conductive patches using the wireless communication circuit (Wireless communication circuit 490 feeds the plurality of conductive patches 421 while processors 34- may include baseband processors that handles the RF processing and may be used to receive and transmit data; Paragraph 73-110 and figure 4-5 of Ham et al.).
Ham et al. fails to explicitly disclose an antenna structure disposed on a shield can and wherein antenna structure comprises: a dielectric disposed on the shield can; and a plurality of conductive patches disposed on the dielectric, wherein each of the plurality of conductive patches is electrically connected to a plurality of transmission lines and is configured to be spaced apart from each other.
Although Han et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of conductive patches are grounded by the shield can, Han et al. does suggest wherein the plurality of conductive patches are grounded by the shield can (Shield can includes conductive shielding film 372 that can be grounded to ground pad 12 wherein the shielding film 372 connects to the ground 2222 of the substrate 220 such that the patches would be grounded through 372 and thus through the shield can; Paragraph 137-153 and 445-463 as well as figure 30-31 of Han et al.).
However, Han et al. does disclose an antenna structure disposed on a shield can and wherein the antenna structure comprises: a dielectric disposed on the shield can; and a plurality of conductive patches disposed on the dielectric, wherein each of the plurality of conductive patches is electrically connected to a plurality of transmission lines and is configured to be spaced apart from each other (Antenna module includes a shield can 370 formed by shielding film 372 and insulating 371 with the can surrounding an electrical component in the form of RFIC chop 21 and an antenna structure is disposed upon this can 370 wherein the antenna structure comprises a dielectric antenna substrate 220 disposed on the shield can, a plurality of patches 221 disposed upon the dielectric 220 and each of the patches is spaced apart from each other with, and as seen in figure 31, a plurality of transmission lines are connected to the patches form RFIC chip 21; Paragraph 81-116 and 445-463 as well as figure 30-31 of Han et al.).
Niakan et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of conductive patches are grounded by the shield can (Patch antenna element 616, which may be a plurality, is placed such that it is enclosed by shield can 610 wherein said element is grounded by a grounding ring 618 or a ground plane wherein said ground structure is directly electrically connected with the shield can 610 such that the patches would be also be grounded by the shield can; Paragraph 53-66 and figure 6-7 of Niakan et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Ham et al. to have an antenna structure disposed on a shield wherein an antenna structure comprises: a dielectric disposed on the shield can; and a plurality of conductive patches disposed on the dielectric, wherein each of the plurality of conductive patches is electrically connected to a plurality of transmission lines and is configured to be spaced apart from each other as taught by Han et al. to dispose an antenna on a shield can structure such that the shield can protect internal components used by the antenna and the antenna can still radiate (Paragraph 144-153 of Han et al.).
Therefore, it would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Ham et al. and Han et al. to have wherein the plurality of conductive patches are grounded by the shield can as taught by Niakan et al. so that the patch antennas can be grounded an leakage of radiation can be prevented while maintain the desired radiation (Paragraph 53-63 Niakan et al.).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding Claim 3, Ham et al. fails to disclose wherein the plurality of conductive patches form a conductive pattern on a first surface, oriented in a first direction, of the dielectric.
However, Han et al. does disclose wherein the plurality of conductive patches form a conductive pattern on a first surface, oriented in a first direction, of the dielectric (Patches 221 are disposed on the substrate 220 in a first direction which would be a z+ direction; Paragraph 81-116 and 445-463 as well as figure 30-31 of Han et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by
Ham et al. to have the plurality of conductive patches form a conductive pattern on a first surface, oriented in a first direction, of the dielectric as taught by Han et al. to dispose an antenna on a shield can structure such that the shield can protect internal components used by the antenna and the antenna can still radiate (Paragraph 144-153 of Han et al.) and since the position of the patches would affect the radiating pattern.
Regarding Claim 4, Ham et al. fails to disclose wherein the shield can is disposed on a second surface, oriented in a second direction, of the dielectric disposed.
However, Han et al. does disclose wherein the shield can is disposed on a second surface, oriented in a second direction, of the dielectric disposed (Shield 370 comprises insulation 371 disposed under the substrate in second direction of the z- wherein and outside cover 372 also extends along in that direction; Paragraph 81-116 and 445-463 as well as figure 30-31 of Han et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Ham et al. to have the shield can be disposed on a second surface, oriented in a second direction, of the dielectric disposed as taught by Han et al. to dispose an antenna on a shield can structure such that the shield can protect internal components used by the antenna and the antenna can still radiate (Paragraph 144-153 of Han et al.) and since the position of the shield would affect which components get shielded.
Regarding Claim 7, Ham et al. fails to disclose wherein the shield can is configured to be physically attached to the printed circuit board.
However, Han et al. does disclose wherein the shield can is configured to be physically attached to the printed circuit board (Shield can includes conductive shielding film 372 that can be grounded to ground pad 12 wherein the shielding film 372 connects to the ground 2222 of the substrate 220 such that the patches would be grounded through 372 and thus through the shield can; Paragraph 137-153 and 445-463 as well as figure 30-31 of Han et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by
Ham et al. to have the shield can be configured to be physically attached to the printed circuit board as taught by Han et al. so that antenna unit in the form of patches may be grounded by the shield can (Paragraph 137-153 and 445-463 of Han et al.).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Claim(s) 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ham et al. (IDS Reference WO 2019240535A1) in view of Han et al. (WO 2019117692 A1), and Niakan et al. (US 11329361 B2) and Park et al. (IDS Reference KR 102220020B1).
Regarding Claim 5, Ham et al., Han et al., and Niakan et al. fails to disclose the plurality of conductive patches have a square shape or a rectangular shape.
However, Park et al. does disclose the plurality of conductive patches have a square shape or a rectangular shape (The first, second, and third patch comprise a square or rectangle shape as seen in figure 1 of Park et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Ham et al., Han et al., and Niakan et al. to have the plurality of conductive patches have a square shape or a rectangular shape as taught by Park et al. to since the shape of a radiating element determines the performance characteristics of an antenna.
Regarding Claim 8, Ham et al., Han et al., and Niakan et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of conductive patches includes a first conductive patch, a second conductive patch, and a third conductive patch, wherein the second conductive patch is configured to be spaced a first separation distance apart from the first conductive patch in a third direction, and wherein the third conductive patch is configured to be spaced a second separation distance apart from the first conductive patch in a fourth direction perpendicular to the third direction.
However, Park et al. does disclose wherein the plurality of conductive patches includes a first conductive patch, a second conductive patch, and a third conductive patch, wherein the second conductive patch is configured to be spaced a first separation distance apart from the first conductive patch in a third direction, and wherein the third conductive patch is configured to be spaced a second separation distance apart from the first conductive patch in a fourth direction perpendicular to the third direction (First Patch now labeled 100-1 is spaced apart from the second patch labeled 100-2 in a third direction and the third patch now labeled 100-3 is spaced apart from the first patch in a fourth direction perpendicular to the third direction as seen in annotated figure 1 of Park et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Ham et al., Han et al., and Niakan et al. to have the plurality of conductive patches includes a first conductive patch, a second conductive patch, and a third conductive patch, wherein the second conductive patch be configured to be spaced a first separation distance apart from the first conductive patch in a third direction, and wherein the third conductive patch be configured to be spaced a second separation distance apart from the first conductive patch in a fourth direction perpendicular to the third direction as taught by Park et al. to space apart the antennas to improve their transmission and reception performance (Paragraph 48 of Park et al.).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ham et al. (IDS Reference WO 2019240535A1) in view of Han et al. (WO 2019117692 A1), Niakan et al. (US 11329361 B2) and Kim et al. (IDS Reference US 20190327834A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Ham et al., Han et al., and Niakan et al. fail to explicitly disclose the antenna structure further comprises a connection part electrically connected to the printed circuit board and the plurality of transmission lines, and wherein the processor is configured to feed the connection part using the wireless communication circuit.
However, Kim et al. does disclose the antenna structure further comprises a connection part electrically connected to the printed circuit board and the plurality of transmission lines, and wherein the processor is configured to feed the connection part using the wireless communication circuit (Antenna Unit comprised of antenna patterns 411a-c on a rigid board 410 comprise a flexible portion 420 serving as a connection portion to a main board 441 that comprises multiple electronics including a processor to feed the antenna units wherein the board 410 comprises multiple wirings 471b serving as transmission paths that connect with wiring on 473b on the connection part 420; Paragraph 90 and 104-108 as well as figure 4a-4d of Kim et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Ham et al., Han et al., and Niakan et al. to have the antenna structure further comprises a connection part electrically connected to the printed circuit board and the plurality of transmission lines, and wherein the processor is configured to feed the connection part using the wireless communication circuit to connect the antenna units to a main board with key electronics for an antenna system (Paragraph 46 and 90 of Kim et al.).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding Claim 10, Ham et al., Han et al., and Niakan et al. fail to explicitly disclose the connection part is configured to protrude from one side of the antenna structure.
However, Kim et al. does disclose the connection part is configured to protrude from one side of the antenna structure (Connection portion 420 is designed to be a flexible portion that protrude from a side of the antenna structure as seen in the first direction as shown in figure 4b of Kim et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Ham et al., Han et al., and Niakan et al. to have the connection part is configured to protrude from one side of the antenna structure as taught by Kim et al. so it can be used to connect the antenna units to a main board with key electronics for an antenna system (Paragraph 46 and 90 of Kim et al.).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (WO 2019117692 A1) in view of Kim et al. (IDS Reference US 20190327834A1) and Niakan et al. (US 11329361 B2).
Regarding Claim 11, Han et al. discloses an antenna structure (Antenna Module of figure 1 of Park et al.) comprising:
a dielectric (Dielectric antenna substrate 220; Paragraph 81-116 and 445-463 as well as figure 30-31 of Han et al.) ;
a plurality of conductive patches disposed on the dielectric (Conductive patches 221 disposed on the dielectric; Paragraph 81-116 and 445-463 as well as figure 30-31 of Han et al); and
wherein each of the plurality of conductive patches is electrically connected to the plurality of transmission lines and is configured to be spaced apart from each other, wherein the antenna structure is disposed on a shield can configured to partially enclose at least one electronic component (Antenna module includes a shield can 370 formed by shielding film 372 and insulating 371 with the can enclosing an electrical component in the form of RFIC chop 21 and an antenna structure is disposed upon this can 370 wherein the antenna structure comprises a dielectric antenna substrate 220 disposed on the shield can, a plurality of patches 221 disposed upon the dielectric 220 and each of the patches is spaced apart from each other with, and as seen in figure 31, a plurality of transmission lines are connected to the patches form RFIC chip 21; Paragraph 81-116 and 445-463 as well as figure 30-31 of Han et al.).
Although Han et al. fails to explicitly disclose a connection part electrically connected to a plurality of transmission lines and wherein the plurality of conductive patches are grounded by the shield can, Han et al. does suggest wherein the plurality of conductive patches are grounded by the shield can (Shield can includes conductive shielding film 372 that can be grounded to ground pad 12 wherein the shielding film 372 connects to the ground 2222 of the substrate 220 such that the patches would be grounded through 372 and thus through the shield can; Paragraph 137-153 and 445-463 as well as figure 30-31 of Han et al.).
However, Kim et al. does disclose a connection part electrically connected to a plurality of transmission lines (Antenna Unit comprised of antenna patterns 411a-c on a rigid board 410 comprise a flexible portion 420 serving as a connection portion to a main board 441 that comprises multiple electronics including a processor to feed the antenna units wherein the board 410 comprises multiple wirings 471b serving as transmission paths that connect with wiring on 473b on the connection part 420; Paragraph 90 and 104-108 as well as figure 4a-4d of Kim et al.).
Niakan et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of conductive patches are grounded by the shield can (Patch antenna element 616, which may be a plurality, is placed such that it is enclosed by shield can 610 wherein said element is grounded by a grounding ring 618 or a ground plane wherein said ground structure is directly electrically connected with the shield can 610 such that the patches would be also be grounded by the shield can; Paragraph 53-66 and figure 6-7 of Niakan et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Han et al. to have a connection part electrically connected to a plurality of transmission lines as taught by Kim et al. to connect the antenna units as to a main board with key electronics for an antenna system (Paragraph 46 and 90 of Kim et al.).
Therefore, it would also have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Han et al. and Kim et al. to have wherein the plurality of conductive patches are grounded by the shield can as taught by Niakan et al. so that the patch antennas can be grounded an leakage of radiation can be prevented while maintain the desired radiation (Paragraph 53-63 Niakan et al.).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Claim(s) 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (WO 2019117692 A1) in view of Kim et al. (IDS Reference US 20190327834A1), Niakan et al. (US 11329361 B2) and Park et al. (IDS Reference KR 102220020B1).
Regarding Claim 12, Han et al., Kim et al, Niakan et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of conductive patches have a square shape or a rectangular shape.
Park et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of conductive patches have a square shape or a rectangular shape (The first, second, and third patch comprise a square or rectangle shape as seen in figure 1 of Park et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Han et al., Niakan et al., Kim et al. to have the plurality of conductive patches have a square shape or a rectangular shape as taught by Park et al. since the shape of a radiating element determines the performance characteristics of an antenna.
Regarding Claim 15, Han et al., Kim et al. Niakan et al, fail to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of conductive patches includes a first conductive patch, a second conductive patch, and a third conductive patch, wherein the second conductive patch is configured to be spaced a first separation distance apart from the first conductive patch in a third direction, and wherein the third conductive patch is configured to be spaced a second separation distance apart from the first conductive patch in a fourth direction perpendicular to the third direction.
However, Park et al. does disclose wherein the plurality of conductive patches includes a first conductive patch, a second conductive patch, and a third conductive patch, wherein the second conductive patch is configured to be spaced a first separation distance apart from the first conductive patch in a third direction, and wherein the third conductive patch is configured to be spaced a second separation distance apart from the first conductive patch in a fourth direction perpendicular to the third direction (First Patch now labeled 100-1 is spaced apart from the second patch labeled 100-2 in a third direction and the third patch now labeled 100-3 is spaced apart from the first patch in a fourth direction perpendicular to the third direction as seen in annotated figure 1 of Park et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Han et al., Niakan et al., Kim et al. to have the plurality of conductive patches includes a first conductive patch, a second conductive patch, and a third conductive patch, wherein the second conductive patch be configured to be spaced a first separation distance apart from the first conductive patch in a third direction, and wherein the third conductive patch be configured to be spaced a second separation distance apart from the first conductive patch in a fourth direction perpendicular to the third direction as taught by Park et al. to space apart the antennas to improve their transmission and reception performance (Paragraph 48 of Park et al.).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
US 20190387649 A1 (HONG; Eunseok) discloses an antenna structure disposed on a shield can wherein the shield can protects electrical components under it.
US 12444857 B2 (Komura; Ryo et al.) discloses an antenna structure comprising three patch antennas connected to three transmission lines wherein said transmission lines are connected to an elastic connecting portion.
WO 2019139321 A1 (LEE, Soogyu et al.) discloses a configuration of a mobile phone with 2 plates, a support member, a PCB, and an antenna unit on the PCB.
CN 110718740 A (COOPER, A J et al.) discloses a configuration of a mobile phone which comprises an antenna structure with 3 patch antenna and 3 transmission lines.
KR 20220128277 A (MYOUNGHO JANG et al.) discloses a configuration of an antenna module comprising 3 patch antennas with respective transmission lines.
JP 2002353842 A(SUGINO SATOSHI et al.) disclose a patch antenna grounded by a shield can.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845