DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the correspondence submitted on 09/28/2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/03/2023 (x3) & 08/26/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 states an apparatus and its component parts subsequently without stating a transitional phrase connecting the body of the claim and the preamble. As such, the claim is indefinite and is rejected by 112(b). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiubin et al (WO2020029175A1) (2020) in view of Li et al (WO2012131654A1) (2011), in further view of Xu et al (US20210029597A1).
Regarding claim 20 (and method claim 1), Xiubin teaches an apparatus,
one or more processors (Fig 10 containing processors); and
memory storing instructions that (claim 19 language – memory in processor), when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to perform a process, comprising:
performing, with a second base station, by a wireless device while not in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state, a small data transmission (SDT) procedure using a radio resource (pg. 1 Summary paragraph 1-3, pg. 4-5 steps (a)-(f), Fig 2 step 1; defines UE transmission of small data while RRC-IDLE (not in a connected state); specifies the radio resources (configured PUSCH or RA resources) used for the idle-mode SDT; figure illustrates transition to idle mode and use of pre-configured UL resource for small-data transmission); and
But Xiubin fails to teach transmitting, by the wireless device, a report indicating: that the wireless device performed the SDT procedure;
and the radio resource used during the SDT procedure, wherein the transmitting the report is to the second base station via a third base station.
However, Li teaches transmitting, by the wireless device, a report indicating: that the wireless device performed the SDT procedure (pg. 8 paragraph 4, pg. 9 paragraph 1, pg. 12 paragraph 1, describes that the UE/MTC device transmits an indication in the RACH preamble or in the UL/SCH/CCCH indicating that the UE is perform a SDT; SDT = small data transmission in inactive/idle mode, the MTC device indicates to the network that it is performing (and has performed a small data transmission, the indication is part of an UL message transmitted during the procedure));
the report indicating: and the radio resource used during the SDT procedure (pg. 10 paragraph 3, pg. 11 paragraph 3,pg. 11, paragraph 3, pg. 12 paragraph 1, the UE reports which preamble/signature sequence/resource selection it used, that constitutes a report of the radio resource used, UE also has partook in SDT which the report reflects the specific preamble or signature sequence used identifying UL resources, the size of data which the network uses to schedule UL resource and the resource blocks to be used for data transmission),
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine Xiubin with Li to arrive at the recited subject matter as a whole. Xiubin teaches SDT for idle/inactive UEs using preconfigured or dedicated UL resources (e.g. dedicated RACH/PRACH, configured grant, and RRC-inactive SDT procedures). Li teaches modified RACH-based MTC small data procedures where the UE transmits an indication of its small data operation and resource usage as part of the RACH signaling (including indication of type/size/priority and identification of the preamble/resource used for the small data transmission). A skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine Xiubin and Li to incorporate the reporting/indication mechanisms of Li into the SDT framework of Xiubin so that the UE’s SDT activity and resource usage can be efficiently conveyed to the network using the same RACH-based signaling.
But Li fails to teach the report, and wherein the transmitting the report is to the second base station via a third base station
However, Xu teaches wherein the transmitting the report is to the second base station via a third base station ([0084]-[0085], [0090]-[0092], [0098], [0103], UE status information corresponds to the UE’s activity (e.g completion of SDT) and includes parameters related to the used resource; the source gNB acts as the third base station that sends the report; the AMF functions as the core relay forming the “via a third base station” path UE[Wingdings font/0xE0]source gNB[Wingdings font/0xE0]AMF[Wingdings font/0xE0]target gNB); the second base station receives the message that includes the UE report data; SDT performed + resource used = report content).
Xu remedies the gap of the use of the report transmitted by the wireless device ([0084]-[0085], [0090]-[0092], [0098], [0103], UE status information corresponds to the UE’s activity (e.g completion of SDT) and includes parameters related to the used resource; the source gNB acts as the third base station that sends the report)
A POSITA, before the EFD of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine Xiubin with Li to arrive at the recited subject matter as a whole. Xiubin teaches SDT for idle/inactive UEs using preconfigured or dedicated UL resources (e.g. dedicated RACH/PRACH, configured grant, and RRC-inactive SDT procedures). Li teaches modified RACH-based MTC small data procedures where the UE transmits an indication of its small data operation and resource usage as part of the RACH signaling (including indication of type/size/priority and identification of the preamble/resource used for the small data transmission). Furthermore, Xu teaches forwarding UE-generated reports or measurements through an intermediate (third) based station toward a target (second) base station or network node, thereby enabling inter-node delivery of SDT-related information. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine Xiubin, Li, and Xu to incorporate the reporting/indication mechanisms of Li into the SDT framework of Xiubin so that the UE’s SDT activity and resource usage can be efficiently conveyed to the network using the same RACH-based signaling.
Regarding claim 2, Xiubin teaches the method wherein the radio resource comprises at least one of: at least one first radio resource configured for the SDT procedure (Abstract, pg. 5 step 1 and (e), pg. 8 step 5, pg. 9, defines both pre-configured dedicated UL resources (PUSCH, CFRA) and selection among those for idle-mode SDT [Wingdings font/0xE0] covers “first and second radio resource; ‘dedicated PUSCH resource contention-free RA resource…”);
and/or at least one second radio resource selected, for the SDT procedure, from among the at least one first radio resource (Abstract, pg. 5 step 1 and (e), pg. 8 step 5, pg. 9, defines both pre-configured dedicated UL resources (PUSCH, CFRA) and selection among those for idle-mode SDT [Wingdings font/0xE0] covers “first and second radio resource; ‘dedicated PUSCH resource contention-free RA resource…”).
Regarding claim 3, Xiubin teaches the method further comprising receiving, by a wireless device, a message indicating the at least one first radio resource configured for a small data transmission (SDT) procedure (Abstract, pg. 5 step 1 and (e), Abstract, pg. 5 step 1 and (e), pg. 8 step 5, pg. 9, explicitly states RRC Release Msg and SIB carry pre-configured UL resources parameters for IDLE SDT).
Regarding claim 4, Xiubin teaches the method wherein the message is: an RRC release message received from a first base station; or a system information block (SIB) message received from the second base station ((Abstract, pg. 5 step 1 and (e), Abstract, pg. 5 step 1 and (e), pg. 8 step 5, pg. 9, named both “RRC Connection Release message” and “SIB” as carriers of the SDT config).
Regarding claim 5, Xiubin teaches the method wherein the first base station is the second base station (Fig 1 pg. 4-5 parag 4-7-parag 1-6, till Fig 2.; steps (a)-(f), same BS configures and receives IDLE-MODE transmissions [Wingdings font/0xE0] explicit “self-configuring” case).
Claim 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiubin et al (WO2020029175A1) in view of Xu et al (US20210029597A1).
Regarding claim 13, Xiubin teaches a method comprising:
a report indicating: that the wireless device performed a small data transmission (SDT) procedure (pg. 1 Summary paragraph 1-3, pg. 4-5 steps (a)-(f), Fig 2 step 1; defines UE transmission of small data while RRC-IDLE (not in a connected state); specifies the radio resources (configured PUSCH or RA resources) used for the idle-mode SDT; figure illustrates transition to idle mode and use of pre-configured UL resource for small-data transmission),
wherein the SDT procedure is associated with the wireless device and a second base station; and a radio resource used during the SDT procedure (pg. 1 Summary paragraph 1-3, pg. 4-5 steps (a)-(f), Fig 2 step 1; defines UE transmission of small data while RRC-IDLE (not in a connected state); specifies the radio resources (configured PUSCH or RA resources) used for the idle-mode SDT; figure illustrates transition to idle mode and use of pre-configured UL resource for small-data transmission);
But Xiubin fails to teach—
receiving, by a third base station from a wireless device,
sending, by the third base station to the second base station, an N2 message comprising the report.
However, Xu teaches—
receiving, by a third base station from a wireless device ([0084]-[0085], [0090]-[0092], [0098], [0103], UE status information corresponds to the UE’s activity (e.g completion of SDT) and includes parameters related to the used resource; the source gNB acts as the third base station that sends the report; the AMF functions as the core relay forming the “via a third base station” path UE[Wingdings font/0xE0]source gNB[Wingdings font/0xE0]AMF[Wingdings font/0xE0]target gNB); the second base station receives the message that includes the UE report data; SDT performed + resource used = report content)),
teaches sending, by the third base station to the second base station, an N2 message comprising the report ([0084]-[0085], [0090]-[0092], [0098], [0103], UE status information corresponds to the UE’s activity (e.g completion of SDT) and includes parameters related to the used resource; the source gNB acts as the third base station that sends the report; the AMF functions as the core relay forming the “via a third base station” path UE[Wingdings font/0xE0]source gNB[Wingdings font/0xE0]AMF[Wingdings font/0xE0]target gNB); the second base station receives the message that includes the UE report data; SDT performed + resource used = report content)).
A POSITA looking before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of Xiubin and Xu to arrive at the claimed invention as whole. Xiubin already teaches enabling UL small-data transmission while the UE is in RRC IDLE using pre-configured dedicated resources (e.g. dedicated PUSCH or CFRA) and precise timing/monitoring parameters, thereby reducing signaling overhead and UE power consumption for small data exchanges. Furthermore, Xu complements this by discloses mechanisms for reporting UE activity and SDT-related events to other network nodes, including forwarding UE information or status through and intermediate or third base station to another base station, enabling cross-node awareness of SDT activity and resource usage. A skilled artisan would have recognized the problem of improving efficiency, responsiveness, and flexibility of small data transfers for IDLE/INACTIVE UEs in 5G systems and further recognized to apply the the preconfigured IDLE mode resource scheme of Xiubin with the inter-node reporting and forwarding mechanisms of Xu. Doing so would efficiently allow SDT traffic to be transmitted using predefined UL resources, handled while the UE remains inactive, and reported to the appropriate serving base station via an intermediary node—each reference supplying a known and complementary aspect of NR mobility, SDT handling, and inter-gNB information transfer. This combination uses each reference for its intended purpose, yields no unexpected results.
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiubin et al (WO2020029175A1) in view of Xu et al (US20210029597A1) in further view of Edge et al (US20190053010A1).
Regarding claim 14, Xiubin fails to teach the method wherein the report comprises at least one of: an identity of the wireless device; location information of the wireless device; a phase of communicating; a selected bandwidth part (BWP) of the SDT procedure; a selected carrier frequency of the SDT procedure; an identity of a cell of the SDT procedure; measurement results of a carrier frequency of the cell; measurement results of the cell; measurement results of neighbor cells of the cell; and/or measurement results of a carrier frequency of the cell.
However, Edge teaches the method wherein the report comprises at least one of:
an identity of the wireless device ([0122], [0125], [0265], [0271], UE identity (SUPI or TMSI) and context data included in positioning messages; location and measurement information (“positioning measurements, signal strengths, timing”);
location information of the wireless device ([0122], [0125], [0265], [0271], UE identity (SUPI or TMSI) and context data included in positioning messages; location and measurement information (“positioning measurements, signal strengths, timing”);
a phase of communicating ([0122], [0125], [0265], [0271], UE identity (SUPI or TMSI) and context data included in positioning messages; location and measurement information (“positioning measurements, signal strengths, timing”);
a selected bandwidth part (BWP) of the SDT procedure ([0122], [0125], [0265], [0271], UE identity (SUPI or TMSI) and context data included in positioning messages; location and measurement information (“positioning measurements, signal strengths, timing”);
a selected carrier frequency of the SDT procedure ([0122], [0125], [0265], [0271], UE identity (SUPI or TMSI) and context data included in positioning messages; location and measurement information (“positioning measurements, signal strengths, timing”);
an identity of a cell of the SDT procedure ([0122], [0125], [0265], [0271], UE identity (SUPI or TMSI) and context data included in positioning messages; location and measurement information (“positioning measurements, signal strengths, timing”);
measurement results of a carrier frequency of the cell ([0122], [0125], [0265], [0271], UE identity (SUPI or TMSI) and context data included in positioning messages; location and measurement information (“positioning measurements, signal strengths, timing”);
measurement results of the cell ([0122], [0125], [0265], [0271], UE identity (SUPI or TMSI) and context data included in positioning messages; location and measurement information (“positioning measurements, signal strengths, timing”);
measurement results of neighbor cells of the cell ([0122], [0125], [0265], [0271], UE identity (SUPI or TMSI) and context data included in positioning messages; location and measurement information (“positioning measurements, signal strengths, timing”); and/or
measurement results of a carrier frequency of the cell ([0122], [0125], [0265], [0271], UE identity (SUPI or TMSI) and context data included in positioning messages; location and measurement information (“positioning measurements, signal strengths, timing”).
A POSITA looking before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of Xiubin and Xu to arrive at the claimed invention as whole. Xiubin already teaches enabling UL small-data transmission while the UE is in RRC IDLE using pre-configured dedicated resources (e.g. dedicated PUSCH or CFRA) and precise timing/monitoring parameters, thereby reducing signaling overhead and UE power consumption for small data exchanges. Xu complements this by discloses mechanisms for reporting UE activity and SDT-related events to other network nodes, including forwarding UE information or status through and intermediate or third base station to another base station, enabling cross-node awareness of SDT activity and resource usage. Lastly, Edge describes the standardized N2 interface path for reporting UE activity. A skilled artisan would have recognized the problem of improving efficiency, responsiveness, and flexibility of small data transfers for IDLE/INACTIVE UEs in 5G systems and further recognized to apply the preconfigured IDLE mode resource scheme of Xiubin with the inter-node reporting and forwarding mechanisms of Xu in further combination for the share SDT reports (e.g. resource usage, completion statis) between base stations, thereby improving mobility support scheduling coordination, and resource management in 5G/NR systems. Doing so would efficiently allow SDT traffic to be transmitted using predefined UL resources, handled while the UE remains inactive, and reported to the appropriate serving base station via an intermediary node—each reference supplying a known and complementary aspect of NR mobility, SDT handling, and inter-gNB information transfer. This combination uses each reference for its intended purpose, yields no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 15, Xiubin fails to teach the method further comprising determining, by the third base station, an identity of the second base station, based on the identity of the cell of the SDT procedure.
However, Edge teaches the method further comprising determining, by the third base station, an identity of the second base station, based on the identity of the cell of the SDT procedure ([0266], [0268], [0272], AMF identifies the target BS for N2InfoNotify delivery; describes selection of target RAN node based on UE cell identity and tracking area; describes mapping cell identity to RAN node address before sending the report).
A POSITA looking before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of Xiubin and Xu to arrive at the claimed invention as whole. Xiubin already teaches enabling UL small-data transmission while the UE is in RRC IDLE using pre-configured dedicated resources (e.g. dedicated PUSCH or CFRA) and precise timing/monitoring parameters, thereby reducing signaling overhead and UE power consumption for small data exchanges. Xu complements this by discloses mechanisms for reporting UE activity and SDT-related events to other network nodes, including forwarding UE information or status through and intermediate or third base station to another base station, enabling cross-node awareness of SDT activity and resource usage. Lastly, Edge describes the standardized N2 interface path for reporting UE activity. A skilled artisan would have recognized the problem of improving efficiency, responsiveness, and flexibility of small data transfers for IDLE/INACTIVE UEs in 5G systems and further recognized to apply the preconfigured IDLE mode resource scheme of Xiubin with the inter-node reporting and forwarding mechanisms of Xu in further combination for the share SDT reports (e.g. resource usage, completion statis) between base stations, thereby improving mobility support scheduling coordination, and resource management in 5G/NR systems. Doing so would efficiently allow SDT traffic to be transmitted using predefined UL resources, handled while the UE remains inactive, and reported to the appropriate serving base station via an intermediary node—each reference supplying a known and complementary aspect of NR mobility, SDT handling, and inter-gNB information transfer. This combination uses each reference for its intended purpose, yields no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 16, Xiubin fails to teach the method wherein the SDT procedure is based on configuration parameters received by the wireless device from a first base station (pg. 1 Summary paragraph 1-3, pg. 4-5 steps (a)-(f), Fig 2 step 1, RRCConnectionRelease includes “pre-configured dedicated resource configuration information; IDLE-mode operation depends on configured parameters (e.g timers and resource sets); UE starts SDT based on “configured parameters for UL transmission in IDLE mode”).
Regarding claim 17, Xiubin fails to teach the method wherein the report comprises a failure report for a radio failure during the SDT procedure.
However, Edge teaches the method wherein the report comprises a failure report for a radio failure during the SDT procedure ([0154], [0156], [0265], defines “event-type reports” (e.g. failures or errors detected by UE or RAN); UE reports radio link failures and related measurements via N2 Transport Message; such reports sent to AMF/LMF for further processing).
A POSITA looking before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of Xiubin and Xu to arrive at the claimed invention as whole. Xiubin already teaches enabling UL small-data transmission while the UE is in RRC IDLE using pre-configured dedicated resources (e.g. dedicated PUSCH or CFRA) and precise timing/monitoring parameters, thereby reducing signaling overhead and UE power consumption for small data exchanges. Xu complements this by discloses mechanisms for reporting UE activity and SDT-related events to other network nodes, including forwarding UE information or status through and intermediate or third base station to another base station, enabling cross-node awareness of SDT activity and resource usage. Lastly, Edge describes the standardized N2 interface path for reporting UE activity. A skilled artisan would have recognized the problem of improving efficiency, responsiveness, and flexibility of small data transfers for IDLE/INACTIVE UEs in 5G systems and further recognized to apply the preconfigured IDLE mode resource scheme of Xiubin with the inter-node reporting and forwarding mechanisms of Xu in further combination for the share SDT reports (e.g. resource usage, completion statis) between base stations, thereby improving mobility support scheduling coordination, and resource management in 5G/NR systems. Doing so would efficiently allow SDT traffic to be transmitted using predefined UL resources, handled while the UE remains inactive, and reported to the appropriate serving base station via an intermediary node—each reference supplying a known and complementary aspect of NR mobility, SDT handling, and inter-gNB information transfer. This combination uses each reference for its intended purpose, yields no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 18, Xiubin teaches the method wherein the report comprises a configured grant report for a configured grant configured for the SDT procedure (Fig 1 pg. 4-5 parag 4-7-parag 1-6, till Fig 2.; steps (a)-(f), defines dedicated PUSCH resource used as configured grant for SDT).
Claims 6-12, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiubin et al (WO2020029175A1) in view of Li, in further view of Xu, in further view of Fangli et al (EP3697167A1).
Regarding claim 6, Xiubin, Li, and Xu fail to teach the method wherein the radio resource comprises at least one of: a configured grant resource; and a random access resource.
However, Fangli teaches the method wherein the radio resource comprises at least one of:a configured grant resource; and a random access resource ([0092], MsgA resource selection, 2-step RA (MsgA = PRACH + PUSCH data) embodies both random-access and configured-grant concepts in one procedure).
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Xiubin, Edge, and Fangli to achieve predictable integration of known 5G features. Xiubin teaches configuring pre-assigned UL resources for SDT in RRC-IDLE/INACTIVE mode via RRC Release or SIB messages. Edge describes the standardized N2 interface path for reporting UE activity or resource usage between base stations through the AMF, a predictable extension consistent with 3GPP NG-RAN architecture. Lastly, Fangli details how the UE can use a two-step RA (MsgA/MsgB) or configured grant process to initiate small-data transmissions efficiently without a full RRC resume. Combining these references enables the UE to employ pre-configured IDLE-mode resources using the lower latency MsgA/MsgB procedure, yielding reduced signaling and power consumption. Edge’s then adds the standardized N2 interface path for reporting UE activity or resource usage between base stations through the AMF, a predictable extension consistent with 3GPP NG-RAN architecture. A POSITA would combine these teachings to enable a wireless device to perform SDT in IDLE state (using pre-configured and RA/configured-grant resources) and subsequently report SDT results to another node via standard N2 messaging.
Regarding claim 7, Xiubin, Li, and Xu fail to teach the method wherein the performing the SDT procedure comprises: initiating the SDT procedure while not in the RRC connected state; communicating with the second base station while not in the RRC connected state; successfully completing the SDT procedure; and/or unsuccessfully completing the SDT procedure.
However, Fangli teaches the method wherein the performing the SDT procedure comprises: initiating the SDT procedure while not in the RRC connected state ([0103]-[0105], provides detailed success (via MsgB ACK) and failure (fallback to 4-step RA) flows [Wingdings font/0xE0] more explicit completion outcomes);
communicating with the second base station while not in the RRC connected state; successfully completing the SDT procedure; and/or unsuccessfully completing the SDT procedure ([0103]-[0105], provides detailed success (via MsgB ACK) and failure (fallback to 4-step RA) flows [Wingdings font/0xE0] more explicit completion outcomes).
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Xiubin, Edge, and Fangli to achieve predictable integration of known 5G features. Xiubin teaches configuring pre-assigned UL resources for SDT in RRC-IDLE/INACTIVE mode via RRC Release or SIB messages. Edge describes the standardized N2 interface path for reporting UE activity or resource usage between base stations through the AMF, a predictable extension consistent with 3GPP NG-RAN architecture. Lastly, Fangli details how the UE can use a two-step RA (MsgA/MsgB) or configured grant process to initiate small-data transmissions efficiently without a full RRC resume. Combining these references enables the UE to employ pre-configured IDLE-mode resources using the lower latency MsgA/MsgB procedure, yielding reduced signaling and power consumption. Edge’s then adds the standardized N2 interface path for reporting UE activity or resource usage between base stations through the AMF, a predictable extension consistent with 3GPP NG-RAN architecture. A POSITA would combine these teachings to enable a wireless device to perform SDT in IDLE state (using pre-configured and RA/configured-grant resources) and subsequently report SDT results to another node via standard N2 messaging.
Regarding claim 8, Xiubin teaches the method wherein the initiating the SDT procedure is based on configuration parameters for the SDT procedure (pg 4-5 starting at “in some embodiments…” steps (a)-(f) and subsequently step 1; pg. 10 line 24-30, - pg. 11, lines 1-4; , Uses RRC-configured timers and UL resource parameters to govern IDLE-mode start of SDT).
Regarding claim 9, Xiubin teaches the method wherein the initiating the SDT procedure is based on at least one of: a paging message indicating the SDT procedure being received ((pg. 6 paragraphs 8 starting at “by configuring a PDCCH monitoring cycle…”, pg. 13 step 2-1 starting at “The uplink information includes…”, Describes PDCCH monitoring (USS_IDLE) and paging/data trigger activation for IDLE-MODE UL transmission);
a packet associated with a radio bearer configured for the SDT procedure being available ((pg. 6 paragraphs 8 starting at “by configuring a PDCCH monitoring cycle…”, pg. 13 step 2-1 starting at “The uplink information includes…”, Describes PDCCH monitoring (USS_IDLE) and paging/data trigger activation for IDLE-MODE UL transmission);
and/or a packet associated with the SDT procedure being available ((pg. 6 paragraphs 8 starting at “by configuring a PDCCH monitoring cycle…”, pg. 13 step 2-1 starting at “The uplink information includes…”, Describes PDCCH monitoring (USS_IDLE) and paging/data trigger activation for IDLE-MODE UL transmission).
Regarding claim 10, Xiubin, Li, and Xu fail to teach the method wherein the initiating the SDT procedure comprises at least one of:
transmitting a random access preamble requesting a resource for the SDT procedure;
receiving a random access response indicating the resource for the SDT procedure;
and/or transmitting an initial message for the initiating the SDT procedure.
However, Fangli teaches the method wherein the initiating the SDT procedure comprises at least one of:
transmitting a random access preamble requesting a resource for the SDT procedure ([0093], two-step RA procedure shows MsgA (preamble + UL data) and MsgB (RAR/response) [Wingdings font/0xE0] direct mapping);
receiving a random access response indicating the resource for the SDT procedure ([0093], two-step RA procedure shows MsgA (preamble + UL data) and MsgB (RAR/response) [Wingdings font/0xE0] direct mapping);
and/or transmitting an initial message for the initiating the SDT procedure ([0093], two-step RA procedure shows MsgA (preamble + UL data) and MsgB (RAR/response) [Wingdings font/0xE0] direct mapping).
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Xiubin, Edge, and Fangli to achieve predictable integration of known 5G features. Xiubin teaches configuring pre-assigned UL resources for SDT in RRC-IDLE/INACTIVE mode via RRC Release or SIB messages. Edge describes the standardized N2 interface path for reporting UE activity or resource usage between base stations through the AMF, a predictable extension consistent with 3GPP NG-RAN architecture. Lastly, Fangli details how the UE can use a two-step RA (MsgA/MsgB) or configured grant process to initiate small-data transmissions efficiently without a full RRC resume. Combining these references enables the UE to employ pre-configured IDLE-mode resources using the lower latency MsgA/MsgB procedure, yielding reduced signaling and power consumption. Edge’s then adds the standardized N2 interface path for reporting UE activity or resource usage between base stations through the AMF, a predictable extension consistent with 3GPP NG-RAN architecture. A POSITA would combine these teachings to enable a wireless device to perform SDT in IDLE state (using pre-configured and RA/configured-grant resources) and subsequently report SDT results to another node via standard N2 messaging.
Regarding claim 11, Xiubin, Li, and Xu fail to teach the method wherein the initial message comprises at least one of: an RRC request message; first uplink data of the SDT procedure; and/or a request for a resource of a subsequent communication of the SDT procedure.
However, Fangli teaches the method wherein the initial message comprises at least one of: an RRC request message ([0093], [0103]-[0105], MsgA explicitly carries RRC Resume/Setup Request or UL data payload on PUSCH);
first uplink data of the SDT procedure ([0093], [0103]-[0105], MsgA explicitly carries RRC Resume/Setup Request or UL data payload on PUSCH); and/or
a request for a resource of a subsequent communication of the SDT procedure ([0093], [0103]-[0105], MsgA explicitly carries RRC Resume/Setup Request or UL data payload on PUSCH).
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Xiubin, Edge, and Fangli to achieve predictable integration of known 5G features. Xiubin teaches configuring pre-assigned UL resources for SDT in RRC-IDLE/INACTIVE mode via RRC Release or SIB messages. Edge describes the standardized N2 interface path for reporting UE activity or resource usage between base stations through the AMF, a predictable extension consistent with 3GPP NG-RAN architecture. Lastly, Fangli details how the UE can use a two-step RA (MsgA/MsgB) or configured grant process to initiate small-data transmissions efficiently without a full RRC resume. Combining these references enables the UE to employ pre-configured IDLE-mode resources using the lower latency MsgA/MsgB procedure, yielding reduced signaling and power consumption. Edge’s then adds the standardized N2 interface path for reporting UE activity or resource usage between base stations through the AMF, a predictable extension consistent with 3GPP NG-RAN architecture. A POSITA would combine these teachings to enable a wireless device to perform SDT in IDLE state (using pre-configured and RA/configured-grant resources) and subsequently report SDT results to another node via standard N2 messaging.
Regarding claim 12, Xiubin teaches the method wherein the initial message is a Msg3 or a MsgA (pg. 3 Detailed Description lines 11-23, , defines MsgA (2-step RA) and equates it to traditional Msg3 of 4-step RA [Wingdings font/0xE0] best fit for both terms).
Regarding claim 19, Xiubin, Li, and Xu fail to teach the method of wherein the report comprises a random access failure report for a random access problem on reception of a random access response to a random access preamble during the SDT procedure.
However, Fangli teaches the method of wherein the report comprises a random access failure report for a random access problem on reception of a random access response to a random access preamble during the SDT procedure ([0103]-[0105], details fallback and failure cases when MsgA/MsgB exchange fails (2-step RA failure equivalent to RAR failure).
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine Xiubin, Edge, and Fangli to achieve predictable integration of known 5G features. Xiubin teaches configuring pre-assigned UL resources for SDT in RRC-IDLE/INACTIVE mode via RRC Release or SIB messages. Edge describes the standardized N2 interface path for reporting UE activity or resource usage between base stations through the AMF, a predictable extension consistent with 3GPP NG-RAN architecture. Lastly, Fangli details how the UE can use a two-step RA (MsgA/MsgB) or configured grant process to initiate small-data transmissions efficiently without a full RRC resume. Combining these references enables the UE to employ pre-configured IDLE-mode resources using the lower latency MsgA/MsgB procedure, yielding reduced signaling and power consumption. Edge’s then adds the standardized N2 interface path for reporting UE activity or resource usage between base stations through the AMF, a predictable extension consistent with 3GPP NG-RAN architecture. A POSITA would combine these teachings to enable a wireless device to perform SDT in IDLE state (using pre-configured and RA/configured-grant resources) and subsequently report SDT results to another node via standard N2 messaging.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al (US20220256618A1) discloses mobile-originated data over dedicated preconfigured UL resource while in an idle mode or an inactive mode
Sha et al (US20210168894A1) discloses state transitions for idle mode transmissions using pre-configured dedicated resources
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409