DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s)1-3, 10-13, 18 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes et al. (US4149389) in view of Sonnekalb (DE102008047753B4).
Regarding Claim 1, Hayes teaches a refrigeration cycle apparatus fig 1] comprising:
a first refrigerant circuit [at least the refrigerant circuit utilizing compressor 1] using a first refrigerant [col 8, line 60 – col 9, line 15] and
a second refrigerant circuit [at least the refrigerant circuit utilizing compressor 5] using a second refrigerant [col 8, line 60 – col 9, line 15],
a cascade heat exchanger [the assembly of heat exchanger 4b and heat exchange means 6] that exchanges heat between the first refrigerant and the second refrigerant during the dual cycle operation [col 4, lines 22-31];
wherein the refrigeration cycle apparatus enables, in a switchable manner,
a dual cycle operation in which the first refrigerant circuit and the second refrigerant circuit are simultaneously operated to exchange heat between the first refrigerant and the second refrigerant [col 5, lines 17-60], and
a single cycle operation in which the first refrigerant circuit is operated without operating the second refrigerant circuit to perform a cooling operation or heating operation [col 4, line 52-col 5, line 16];
the cascade heat exchanger includes a first cascade channel through which the first refrigerant flows, and a second cascade channel which is independent of the first cascade channel and through which the second refrigerant flows,
the first refrigerant circuit includes a first compressor [1], a first heat exchanger [2], a first expansion valve [3c], and the first cascade channel [at 4b; col 3, line 39-col 4, line 49],
the second refrigerant circuit includes a second compressor [5], the second cascade channel [at 6], a second expansion valve [7a], and a second heat exchanger [8; col 3, line 39-col 4, line 49],
during the dual cycle operation, the first cascade channel functions as an evaporator of the first refrigerant, the first heat exchanger functions as a radiator of the first refrigerant, the second cascade channel functions as a radiator of the second refrigerant, and the second heat exchanger functions as an evaporator of the second refrigerant [col 5, lines 17-60];
the first refrigerant circuit further includes a third heat exchanger [4a], the cooling operation is enabled in which the third heat exchanger functions as a radiator of the first refrigerant and the first heat exchanger functions as an evaporator of the first refrigerant [col 5, line 61-col 6, line 17],
the heating operation is enabled, in which the third heat exchanger functions as an evaporator of the first refrigerant and the first heat exchanger functions as a radiator of the first refrigerant [col 4, line 55-col 5, line 12].
Hayes does not teach where the first refrigerant has a pressure of 1.2 MPa or less at 30°C; and where the second refrigerant has a pressure of 1.5 MPa or more at 30°C and the first refrigerant is R290 and the second refrigerant is carbon dioxide.
However, Sonnekalb teaches a refrigeration system having a first refrigerant circuit and a second refrigerant circuit [0001] having where a first refrigerant has a pressure of 1.2 MPa or less at 30°C; and where a second refrigerant has a pressure of 1.5 MPa or more at 30°C and the first refrigerant is R290 and the second refrigerant is carbon dioxide [0045] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a system that has increased efficiency [0005].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Hayes to have where the first refrigerant has a pressure of 1.2 MPa or less at 30°C; and where the second refrigerant has a pressure of 1.5 MPa or more at 30°C and the first refrigerant is R290 and the second refrigerant is carbon dioxide in view of the teachings of Sonnekalb where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a system that has increased efficiency.
Regarding Claim 2, Hayes, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Hayes teaches wherein, during the dual cycle operation, the second refrigerant flowing through the second refrigerant circuit heats the first refrigerant flowing through the first refrigerant circuit to perform the heating operation [col 5, lines 17-60].
Regarding Claim 3, Hayes, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Hayes teaches wherein the single cycle operation is performed when a predetermined low-load condition is satisfied [col 4, line 52-col 5, line 16].
Regarding Claim 10, Hayes, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Hayes teaches wherein the first refrigerant circuit further includes a switching unit [9] that switches a channel of the first refrigerant, and the switching unit is switched to enable the cooling operation in which the third heat exchanger functions as a radiator of the first refrigerant and the first heat exchanger functions as an evaporator of the first refrigerant and the heating operation in which the third heat exchanger functions as an evaporator of the first refrigerant and the first heat exchanger functions as a radiator of the first refrigerant [col 4, line 52-col 5, line 16; col 5, line 61-col 6, line 17].
Regarding Claim 11, Hayes, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Hayes teaches wherein the second heat exchanger [8] exchanges heat between air flowing outside and the second refrigerant flowing inside, the third heat exchanger [4a] exchanges heat between air flowing outside and the first refrigerant flowing inside, and the refrigeration cycle apparatus further comprises a first blowing unit [19] that forms an air flow passing through the second heat exchanger and an air flow passing through the third heat exchanger [col 4, line 52-col 5, line 16; col 5, line 61-col 6, line 17; fig 1].
Regarding Claim 12, Hayes, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 11 above and Hayes teaches wherein the second heat exchanger [8] is located at a position other than leeward of the third heat exchanger [4a] in the air flow [by inspection at fig 1].
Regarding Claim 13, Hayes, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 11 above and Hayes teaches wherein the second heat exchanger [8] and the third heat exchanger [4a] are located away from each other in a direction of the air flow [by inspection at fig 1].
Regarding Claim 18, Hayes, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 2 above and Hayes teaches wherein the single cycle operation is performed when a predetermined low-load condition is satisfied [col 4, line 52-col 5, line 16].
Regarding Claim 21, Hayes, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Hayes teaches an outdoor fan [19; col 3, line 61-col 4, line7], wherein the carbon dioxide refrigerant flowing through the second heat exchanger evaporates by exchanging heat with an airflow generated by the outdoor fan during the dual-cycle operation [col 5, lines 17-60; where Sonnekalb teaches carbon dioxide flowing through second heat exchanger].
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes et al. (US4149389) and Sonnekalb (DE102008047753B4) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sestito et al. (US2012/0240610).
Regarding Claim 14, Hayes, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not teach wherein the second refrigerant circuit further includes a fourth heat exchanger provided between a discharge side of the second compressor and the second cascade channel.
However, Sestito teaches a cooling device having at least two cascade cooling stages [0002] wherein a second refrigerant circuit [at least the circuit having compressor 1.1] includes a [fourth] heat exchanger [3] provided between a discharge side of a second compressor [1.1] and a second cascade channel [at least cascade channel of heat exchanger 6; 0020-0026] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a structure that exchanges heat between two refrigerant circuits and thereby improve the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Hayes to have wherein the second refrigerant circuit further includes a fourth heat exchanger provided between a discharge side of the second compressor and the second cascade channel in view of the teachings of Sestito where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a structure that exchanges heat between two refrigerant circuits and thereby improve the system.
Regarding Claim 15, Hayes, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 14 above and Sestito teaches wherein a first heat exchanger [4] exchanges heat between air flowing outside and the first refrigerant flowing inside, the [fourth] heat exchanger [3] exchanges heat between air flowing outside and the second refrigerant flowing inside, and the refrigeration cycle apparatus further comprises a [second] blowing unit [5] that forms an air flow passing through both the first heat exchanger and the fourth heat exchanger [0020-0026; fig 1].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/LARRY L FURDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763