DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment of March 26, 2026 is considered herein.
Claims 2, 16 and 17 have been amended.
Claims 2-21 are pending, with claims 9-21 being withdrawn to non-elected groups.
Claims 2-8 are considered on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by STEARNS et al (US PG PUB 2015/0288320A1).
Regarding claim 2, STEARNS et al teaches solar panel mounting assembly (figures 40 and 41) comprising:
a base (1017) to couple to a surface (1018/12, roof or the surface below);
a first bracket (1046, top bracket including 1098, figure including:
a first arm (left side 1098), and
a second arm (right side 1098);
a second bracket (1044, lower bracket including 1070) including:
a first wing (1070a),
a second wing (1070b), and
a body adjoining the first wing and the second wing (horizontal and vertical middle portions including 1074/1072/182 among other unlabeled pieces between the wings seen in figure 40);
a fastener (1154) to couple the first bracket and the second bracket together to secure a first solar panel between the first arm and the first wing (see figures 10 and 40), and a second solar panel between the second arm and the second wing (see figures 10 and 40 for how attachment is capable of occurring); and
a stanchion (1030/1102/1137/1108a/b) to couple to the base (1017) , the stanchion including;
a first arm (right side vertical arm coupling to the base 1017),
a second arm spaced apart from the first arm (left side vertical arm coupling to the base 1017, spaced apart via horizontal portion), and
a helical drive (1102 and/or 1108a/b, adjustment nut, wherein helical threading engages the components either to each other or to other components) disposed at least partially between the first arm of the stanchion and the second arm of the stanchion (1102 shown to be present between the arms of 1030 in figures 40 and 41), the helical drive to adjust a height of the first solar panel and the second solar panel relative to the surface (movement of the helical drive 1108a/b adjusts the height of the panels (paragraph [0122])), the stanchion (selected components 1108a/b and 1102) being at least partially disposed through an aperture of the body (1082) (see figures 40 and 41, paragraph [0120]).
Regarding claim 3, STEARNS et al teaches
the base (1017) includes:
a first ledge (bottom of the component on the right, also where the 1017 indicator is pointing in figure 40), and
a second ledge (bottom of the component on the left); and
the stanchion (1030/1102/1137/1108a/b) includes:
a first leg (right side leg featuring the lower case ‘n’ shape) to engage the first ledge (right side of slide/base 1017), and
a second leg (left side leg featuring the lower case ‘n’ shape) to engage the second ledge (left side of slide/base 1017).
Regarding claim 4, STEARNS teaches further comprising a second fastener (looped interior, top corner portions of stanchion 1030) to couple the stanchion (interior corners) to the base (top ledges of base 1017).
Regarding claim 5, STEARNS et al teaches rotation of the helical drive in a first rotational direction causes the first solar panel and the second solar panel to be raised in a first direction away from the surface; and rotation of the helical drive in a second rotational direction causes the first solar panel and the second solar panel to be lowered in a second direction towards the surface (paragraph [0122]).
Regarding claim 6, STEARNS et al teaches wherein the first bracket (1046) includes:
a second aperture (694 right, see figures 24 and 26, wherein paragraph [0116] teaches the bracket (1046) is analogous to the bracket 616)) through which at least a portion of the fastener is disposed (see figure 26); and
a third aperture (694 left, see figures 24 and 26) that provides access to at least a portion of the helical drive (see figure 26, paragraph [0106]).
Regarding claim 7, STEARNS et al teaches the first bracket (1046) includes a vertical body (central rectangularly vertical portion) disposed between the first arm and the second arm (left and right 1098), the vertical body extending transverse to the first arm and the second arm (see figure 40).
Regarding claim 8, STEARNS et al teaches, in a portion of annotated figure 41 below, wherein:
a first distance (top dashed arrow) extends between a first edge (left, top arrow) of the first arm (left side 1098) and a second edge (right side, top arrow) of the second arm (right side 1098); and
a second distance (lower dashed arrow) extends between a third edge (left, bottom arrow) of the first wing (1070a) and a fourth edge (right, bottom arrow) of the second wing (1070b), the second distance being greater than the first distance (see lower dashed arrow greater in distance than top dashed arrow).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2 and its dependents have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KOURTNEY R S CARLSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 6/12/2026