Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 11 have been amended.
No claims have been cancelled.
No claims have been added.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: “WIFI” should be written as “WiFi” in the transmitting limitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With regards to claims 1, 11, the Examiner asserts that the following is new matter:
transmit, only after said successful credential verification and successful location verification, a state-change command to a display unit incorporated onto the unit of equipment to transition the display unit from a first one of the plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states to a second one of the plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states, the second one corresponding to the updated impairment status, wherein an electronic tag physically affixed to the unit of equipment, comprising at least one of a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag, a Blue-tooth enabled tag, a WIFI tag, or another Internet of Things (IoT) tag, is configured to provide a unique digital code associated with the unit of equipment to a user device.
The Examiner asserts that although ¶ 35 of the specification discloses:
“According to one embodiment of the present invention, the system may utilize a simple and easy to understand color code system to quickly identify any given unit status. The ADA compliant color code system starts with Green for Certified and Active, followed by Yellow for Minor impairments, Amber for Expired tags, Blue for Repaired, and Red, with white, for Major impairments.”
this is insufficient support that:
1) there is a transition from a “first one of the plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states to a second one of the plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states” and
2) that this occurs “only after said successful credential verification and successful location verification”
Although the specification discloses that a user is verified, there is no support of the specific order of operations that have been recited in the aforementioned limitation, i.e. “only after said successful credential verification and successful location verification” will “a state-change command to a display unit incorporated onto the unit of equipment to transition the display unit from a first one of the plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states to a second one of the plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states” occur.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite:
receive a request to initiate a service update on a unit of equipment, where said update of equipment has an impairment status;
identify said unit of equipment via an identifier, wherein said identifier is associated with said unit of equipment;
identify a service personnel to conduct the service update, wherein said service personnel possesses necessary credentials required for the specific type of service being performed, and wherein the necessary credentials evidence the service personnel is license and in good standing to perform the specific type of service;
receive service confirmation, generated during a service even conducted at the unit of equipment, from said service personnel;
verify that said service personnel possesses a credential required for the specific type of service being performed; and
verify that the service personnel was physically present with a configurable geo-fenced area associated with the unit of equipment having a configurable vicinity and radius during the service event and prior to updating the impairment status, the verification thereby providing inspection fraud control; and
update the impairment status of service associated with said unit of equipment, based at least in part on said credential of said service personnel and said service personnel being verified in the specified geo-fenced area associated with said unit of equipment, wherein the impairment status of the unit of equipment is updated only when both credential verification and location verification are successfully satisfied, and wherein the updated impairment status corresponds to a particular one of a plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states, the plurality of predefined color-coded states comprising at least Green for Certified and Active, Yellow for Minor Impairment, Amber for Expired tag, Blue for Repaired, and Red for Major impairment
transmit, only after said successful credential verification and successful location verification, a state-change command to a display unit incorporated onto the unit of equipment to transition the display unit from a first one of the plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states to a second one of the plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states, the second one corresponding to the updated impairment status, wherein an tag physically affixed to the unit of equipment is configured to provide a unique digital code associated with the unit of equipment to a user device; and
provide the updated impairment status to an authority having jurisdiction (AHJ) computing system, the AHJ being configured to present visual and spatial tools for assessing the equipment, in real time.
The invention is directed towards the abstract idea of maintenance scheduling and management, asset inspection and management, and/or inspection fraud control, which corresponds to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities” as it is directed towards steps that can be performed by humans, fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions), e.g., a first human contacting a second human, informing the second human that an asset requires servicing, the second human, via collection and comparison of information, verifying whether the first human is qualified or has the necessary credentials to perform the service, and the first human performing the service and updating the status of the asset. The invention is also directed towards the inspection of assets that are due for inspection by a qualified inspector and collecting and comparing location information to determine if the human is within the vicinity of the asset.
The limitations of:
receive a request to initiate a service update on a unit of equipment, where said update of equipment has an impairment status;
identify said unit of equipment via an identifier, wherein said identifier is associated with said unit of equipment;
identify a service personnel to conduct the service update, wherein said service personnel possesses necessary credentials required for the specific type of service being performed, and wherein the necessary credentials evidence the service personnel is license and in good standing to perform the specific type of service;
receive service confirmation, generated during a service even conducted at the unit of equipment, from said service personnel;
verify that said service personnel possesses a credential required for the specific type of service being performed; and
verify that the service personnel was physically present with a configurable geo-fenced area associated with the unit of equipment having a configurable vicinity and radius during the service event and prior to updating the impairment status, the verification thereby providing inspection fraud control; and
update the impairment status of service associated with said unit of equipment, based at least in part on said credential of said service personnel and said service personnel being verified in the specified geo-fenced area associated with said unit of equipment, wherein the impairment status of the unit of equipment is updated only when both credential verification and location verification are successfully satisfied, and wherein the updated impairment status corresponds to a particular one of a plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states, the plurality of predefined color-coded states comprising at least Green for Certified and Active, Yellow for Minor Impairment, Amber for Expired tag, Blue for Repaired, and Red for Major impairment
transmit, only after said successful credential verification and successful location verification, a state-change command to a display unit incorporated onto the unit of equipment to transition the display unit from a first one of the plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states to a second one of the plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states, the second one corresponding to the updated impairment status, wherein an tag physically affixed to the unit of equipment is configured to provide a unique digital code associated with the unit of equipment to a user device; and
provide the updated impairment status to an authority having jurisdiction (AHJ) computing system, the AHJ being configured to present visual and spatial tools for assessing the equipment, in real time
are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of a generic processor, modules, computing system, and generic electronic tags comprising at least one of a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag, a Bluetooth-enabled tag, a WiFi tag, or another Internet of Things (IoT) tag. That is, other than reciting a generic processor, modules, computing system, and generic electronic tags comprising at least one of a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag, a Bluetooth-enabled tag, a WiFi tag, or another Internet of Things (IoT) tag, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the generic processor, modules, computing system, and generic electronic tags comprising at least one of a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag, a Bluetooth-enabled tag, a WiFi tag, or another Internet of Things (IoT) tagin the context of this claim encompasses a user/inspector/technician (or the like) can observe/inspect the condition of an asset, have their credentials verified, e.g., comparing their name against a list of qualified inspectors, perform the inspection, and update the inspection records. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of a generic processor, modules, computing system, and generic electronic tags comprising at least one of a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag, a Bluetooth-enabled tag, a WiFi tag, or another Internet of Things (IoT) tag, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities” groupings of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements – a generic processor, modules, computing system, and generic electronic tags comprising at least one of a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag, a Bluetooth-enabled tag, a WiFi tag, or another Internet of Things (IoT) tag to receive and transmit information, as well as performing operations that a human can perform in their mind or using pen and paper, i.e. collecting and comparing information and, based on a rule, identify options, as well as writing down (updated/new) information. The generic processor, modules, computing system, and generic electronic tags comprising at least one of a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag, a Bluetooth-enabled tag, a WiFi tag, or another Internet of Things (IoT) tag in the steps are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor, modules, computing system, and generic electronic tags comprising at least one of a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag, a Bluetooth-enabled tag, a WiFi tag, or another Internet of Things (IoT) tag can perform the insignificant extra solution steps of receiving and transmitting information (See MPEP 2106.05(g) while also reciting that the a generic processor, modules, computing system, and generic electronic tags comprising at least one of a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag, a Bluetooth-enabled tag, a WiFi tag, or another Internet of Things (IoT) tag are merely being applied to perform the steps that can be performed in the human mind or using pen and paper (See MPEP 2106.05(f)) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic processor and modules.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a generic processor, modules, computing system, and generic electronic tags comprising at least one of a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag, a Bluetooth-enabled tag, a WiFi tag, or another Internet of Things (IoT) tag to perform the steps of:
receive a request to initiate a service update on a unit of equipment, where said update of equipment has an impairment status;
identify said unit of equipment via an identifier, wherein said identifier is associated with said unit of equipment;
identify a service personnel to conduct the service update, wherein said service personnel possesses necessary credentials required for the specific type of service being performed, and wherein the necessary credentials evidence the service personnel is license and in good standing to perform the specific type of service;
receive service confirmation, generated during a service even conducted at the unit of equipment, from said service personnel;
verify that said service personnel possesses a credential required for the specific type of service being performed; and
verify that the service personnel was physically present with a configurable geo-fenced area associated with the unit of equipment having a configurable vicinity and radius during the service event and prior to updating the impairment status, the verification thereby providing inspection fraud control; and
update the impairment status of service associated with said unit of equipment, based at least in part on said credential of said service personnel and said service personnel being verified in the specified geo-fenced area associated with said unit of equipment, wherein the impairment status of the unit of equipment is updated only when both credential verification and location verification are successfully satisfied, and wherein the updated impairment status corresponds to a particular one of a plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states, the plurality of predefined color-coded states comprising at least Green for Certified and Active, Yellow for Minor Impairment, Amber for Expired tag, Blue for Repaired, and Red for Major impairment
transmit, only after said successful credential verification and successful location verification, a state-change command to a display unit incorporated onto the unit of equipment to transition the display unit from a first one of the plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states to a second one of the plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states, the second one corresponding to the updated impairment status, wherein an tag physically affixed to the unit of equipment is configured to provide a unique digital code associated with the unit of equipment to a user device; and
provide the updated impairment status to an authority having jurisdiction (AHJ) computing system, the AHJ being configured to present visual and spatial tools for assessing the equipment, in real time
Additionally:
Claim 2 is directed towards the collecting and comparison of information and, based on a rule, identify options, in this case, to perform a verification process.
Claim 3 is directed to human activities, in this case, removing a part from inventory to service an asset.
Claim 4 is directed towards the collecting and comparison of information and, based on a rule, identify options, in this case, determine if the service was property performed.
Claim 5 is directed towards human activities and descriptive subject matter, in this case, a user providing information and describing the information as images.
Claim 6 is directed towards the reciting generic technology and applying it to the abstract idea. The machine learning module has already been trained and recited in a generic manner.
Although the claim recites “using a machine learning module trained on image data,” the claims and specification fail to provide sufficient disclosure regarding an improvement to how a machine learning algorithm can be trained, but simply recites a high-level generic recitation that a machine learning algorithm is being trained. There is insufficient evidence from the specification to indicate that the use of the machine learning algorithm involves anything other than the generic application of a known technique in its normal, routine, and ordinary capacity or that the claimed invention purports to improve the functioning of the computer itself or the machine learning algorithm. None of the limitations reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Even training and applying a machine learning model is simply application of a computer model, itself an abstract idea manifestation. Further, such training and applying of a model is no more than putting data into a black box machine learning operation. The nomination as being a machine learning model is a functional label, devoid of technological implementation and application details. The specification does not contend it invented any of these activities, or the creation and use of such machine learning models. In short, each step does no more than require a generic computer to perform generic computer functions. As to the data operated upon, "even if a process of collecting and analyzing information is 'limited to particular content' or a particular 'source,' that limitation does not make the collection and analysis other than abstract." SAP America, Inc. v. InvestPic LLC, 898 F.3d 1161, 1168 (Fed. Cir. 2018).
The Examiner asserts that the scope of the disclosed invention, as presented in the originally filed specification, is not directed towards the improvement of machine learning, but directed towards maintenance scheduling and management and/or asset inspection and management. The specification’s disclosure on machine learning is nothing more than a high general explanation of generic technology and applying it to the abstract idea. Referring to MPEP § 2106.05(f), the use of the machine learning module is merely being used to facilitate the tasks of the abstract idea, which provides nothing more than a results-oriented solution that lacks detail of the mechanism for accomplishing the result and is equivalent to the words “apply it,” per MPEP § 2106.05(f). The Examiner asserts that in light of the 2024 Guidance Update on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility, Including on Artificial Intelligence, the claimed invention is analogous to Example 47, Claim 2.
Further, the combination of these elements is nothing more than a generic computing system with machine learning model(s). Because the additional elements are merely instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer, as described in MPEP § 2106.05(f), they do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 7 is directed to extra solution activities, i.e. receiving data, and human activities, in this case, generating additional/new information based on the collection and comparison of information.
Claim 8 is directed to extra solution activities, i.e. receiving data.
Claim 9 is directed to extra solution activities, i.e. transmitting/providing data.
Claim 10 is directed to descriptive subject matter describing an intent.
The remaining claims are similar to what has already been discussed.
In summary, the dependent claims are simply directed towards providing additional descriptive factors that are considered for maintenance scheduling and management and/or asset inspection and management. Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minnier (US PGPub 2021/0374296 A1) in view of Thorley et al. (US PGPub 20190272362 A1) in further view of Pierson et al. (WO 2019/112844 A1).
In regards to claims 1, 11, Minnier discloses (Claim 1) a system for automated service status and impairment tracking, the system comprising; (Claim 11) a method for automated service status and impairment tracking, the method comprising:
one or more hardware processors configured by machine readable instructions to
(Fig. 1; 4; ¶ 44, 48 wherein a network, database, provider device, and service personnel device are disclosed; ¶ 44, 45 wherein the database stores equipment information);
receive (Claim 11: receiving, via one or more hardware processors,) a request to initiate a service update on a unit of equipment, where said unit of equipment has an impairment status (Fig. 3, 5; ¶ 29, 48, 49 wherein the provider device receives a request that service is needed for equipment because it is, for example, out of acceptable ranges or an error has been detected);
identify (Claim 11: identifying, via one or more hardware processors,) said unit of equipment via an identifier provided by an input device, including at least one of a capacitive touchscreen, keypad, scanner, or camera, wherein said identifier is associated with said unit of equipment (¶ 46 wherein the personnel device includes a camera to scan a visual identifier associated with the equipment);
identify (Claim 11: identifying, via one or more hardware processors,) a service personnel to conduct the service update, […], […] (¶ 44, 45, 50, 51 wherein the system provides access to a plurality of different user types, e.g., first responders, emergency personnel, and a plurality of different technicians, based on their login credentials and proximity to the building that contains the equipment that needs to be serviced by technicians, as well as to see notes provided by other technicians, and equipment that first responders and emergency personnel need to locate, e.g., shut off locations, disconnects, and the like, and wherein the system identifies a service personnel based on login information, which “provides security such that only authorized users are able to access specific assigned characteristics of a given property.” The Examiner asserts that the system must store some level of service personnel information as this is what allows the login process to take place and for the system to determine what service personnel have access to, as well as verifying that the service personnel has provided the necessary login credentials to access the system);
receive (Claim 11: receiving, via one or more hardware processors,) service confirmation, generated during a service event conducted at the unit of equipment, from said service personnel (¶ 46, 47, 48 wherein the system receives service confirmation from the service personnel by way of, at least, an image captured by the personnel while the personnel was at the location of the equipment that requires servicing);
verify (Claim 11: verifying, via one or more hardware processors,), prior to updating said impairment status, via the one or more hardware processors operating a credential confirmation module, the service personnel possesses [login credentials] for the specific type of service being performed (¶ 36, 51 wherein login information is stored to determine if provided login credentials are correct (i.e. match), which, in turn, determines that the user is authorized to access the system
The Examiner has provided Thorley to disclose an alternate interpretation of “credentials” wherein, in the instant interpretation, “login credentials” is equivalent to “credential” and, in the alternate interpretation, “credential” is expanded to include “qualifications” and the like);
In regards to:
verify (Claim 11: verifying, via one or more hardware processors and geo-fencing enabled hardware including at least one of a global positioning system (GPS) receiver, Bluetooth interface or Wifi interface,), via the one or more hardware processors and geo-fencing enabled hardware, including at least one of a global positioning system (GPS) receiver, Bluetooth interface or Wifi interface, that the service personnel was physically present within a configurable geo-fenced area associated with the unit of equipment having a configurable vicinity and radius during the service event and prior to updating the impairment status, the verification thereby providing inspection fraud control;
update (Claim 11: updating, via one or more hardware processors,) the impairment status of service associated with said unit of equipment, based at least in part on said [log-in credentials] of said service personnel and said service personnel being verified in the specified geo-fenced area associated with the unit of equipment, […], and [providing information conveying the state of the equipment]
(¶ 39, 44, 46, 47, 48, 56 wherein the system verifies that a particular personnel was at a particular location by determining that the personnel is in proximity of the property, utilizes the personnel’s location to guide them to the location of the equipment, and stores information of service dates, calibration records, pictures of equipment at the time of service, print updated service cards and/or visual identifiers, and any other updates (which can be performed in real-time), which are available for future personnel performing future servicing of the equipment, thereby providing the system with a confirmation that service was performed on the equipment and verifying the specific personnel who performed the servicing
With regards to “inspection fraud control”, the Examiner asserts that Minnier accomplishes this intended result because it performs the same verification process disclosed in the claimed invention. That is to say, the claimed invention has defined the fraud control procedure to be based on a verification that the “service personnel was physically present within a configurable geo-fenced area associated with the unit of equipment having a configurable vicinity and radius during the service event and prior to updating the impairment status”. As a result, because Minnier discloses verifying that the “service personnel was physically present within a configurable geo-fenced area associated with the unit of equipment having a configurable vicinity and radius during the service event and prior to updating the impairment status”, the Examiner asserts that Minnier discloses inspection fraud control.);
transmit, only after said successful credential verification and successful location verification, a state-change command […] to transition [information conveying the state of the equipment from one state to another], […] (¶ 29, 35, 44, 47, 56 wherein the system provides a user with a computing device to inspect, evaluate, diagnose, or the like equipment and provide their findings, notes, pictures, and the like on the state of the equipment to inform the system and/or other users on whether the equipment is in need of repair or maintenance. This further allows for the system to be updated with updated information regarding the state of the equipment, i.e. providing information that transitions equipment state information from one state to another, e.g., transitioning the record to indicate that the equipment is now in need of repair or maintenance, notations regarding future work required to maintain the equipment, and etc.
¶ 44, 45, 50, 51 wherein the system provides access to a plurality of different user types, e.g., first responders, emergency personnel, and a plurality of different technicians, based on their login credentials and proximity to the building that contains the equipment that needs to be serviced by technicians, as well as to see notes provided by other technicians, and equipment that first responders and emergency personnel need to locate, e.g., shut off locations, disconnects, and the like, and wherein the system identifies a service personnel based on login information, which “provides security such that only authorized users are able to access specific assigned characteristics of a given property.” The Examiner asserts that the system must store and utilize some level of service personnel information as this is what allows the login process to take place and only after the system has verified the service personnel’s credentials will the system determine what service personnel have access to, as well as verifying that the service personnel has provided the necessary login credentials to access the system
For the purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner has provided an alternate interpretation in view of Thorley with regards to “credential verification”, as was discussed above.); and
provide (Claim 11: receiving, via one or more hardware processors,) the updated impairment status to [a] computing system, the […] computing system being configured to present visual and spatial tools for assessing the equipment, […] (Fig. 1; ¶ 29, 48, 49 wherein the system receives equipment status information and transmits the information to a plurality of entities who can view and interact with the information via a dashboard, e.g., BMS (property owner) and central system that is monitoring and managing technicians to ensure that equipment is operating within range).
Minnier discloses a system and method of servicing equipment by providing a system that monitors the state of equipment, provides notifications/alerts when servicing is required, prioritizes alarms, maintains and tracks the location of equipment and technicians, and provides technicians with the necessary information to service the equipment and update its maintenance records (as well as include a variety of other information, as was discussed above). Despite Minnier providing all of the necessary information to facilitate the servicing of equipment, Minnier fails to explicitly disclose whether to verify the type of service to be performed, verify parts required to complete the service, verify that the parts are in possession of the personnel, and verify that the personnel is qualified.
To be more specific, Minnier fails to explicitly disclose:
identify (Claim 11: identifying, via one or more hardware processors,) a service personnel to conduct the service update, wherein said service personnel possesses necessary credentials required for the specific type of service being performed, and wherein the necessary credentials evidence the service personnel is license and in good standing to perform the specific type of service
verify (Claim 11: verifying, via one or more hardware processors,), prior to updating said impairment status, via the one or more hardware processors operating a credential confirmation module, the service personnel possesses a credential required for the specific type of service being performed
update (Claim 11: updating, via one or more hardware processors,) the impairment status of service associated with said unit of equipment, based at least in part on said credential of said service personnel and said service personnel being verified in the specified geo-fenced area associated with the unit of equipment, wherein the impairment status of the unit of equipment is updated only when both credential verification and location verification are successfully satisfied, and wherein the updated impairment status corresponds to a particular one of a plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states, the plurality of predefined color-coded states comprising at least Green for Certified and Active, Yellow for Minor Impairment, Amber for Expired tag, Blue for Repaired, and Red for Major impairment
transmit, only after said successful credential verification and successful location verification, a state-change command to a display unit incorporated onto the unit of equipment to transition the display unit from a first one of the plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states to a second one of the plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states, the second one corresponding to the updated impairment status, wherein an electronic tag physically affixed to the unit of equipment, comprising at least one of a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag, a Blue-tooth enabled tag, a WIFI tag, or another Internet of Things (IoT) tag, is configured to provide a unique digital code associated with the unit of equipment to a user device;
provide (Claim 11: receiving, via one or more hardware processors,) the updated impairment status to an authority having jurisdiction (AHJ) computing system, the AHJ computing system being configured to present visual and spatial tools for assessing the equipment, in real time
However, Thorley, which also discloses a system and method of managing assets and technicians at a location that includes the asset by tracking the location of an asset and technicians and having technicians take images of the asset, further teaches it would have been obvious to have the system verify, prior to performing servicing, whether the technician is qualified to perform the service.
Thorley teaches that the system manages a plurality of technicians and jobs and determines whether a particular technician is first qualified to perform the job prior to the technician actually performing the job, i.e. the system determines and verifies the credentials of the technician to determine that the technician is qualified to perform the job. Upon verifying that the technician is qualified to perform the job and is at the location of the job, the system will allow for the next steps to completing the job to take place, e.g., allowing for the servicing process to proceed.
Similar to Minnier, Thorley receives log-in information of a technician, but, unlike Minnier, performs the additional analysis of determining whether the technician is qualified to perform a particular service type. Thorley teaches that this, “…ensures that a certified technician works on the vehicle to comply with warranty requirements or safety regulations. If the technician is not authenticated/verified, then the vehicle service will not be allowed to proceed.” Thorley further teaches, “…should the service ecosystem 200 detect that the multi-point inspection will not be completed on time, it can assign another technician with the appropriate level of availability, certification and efficiency in order to load balance the service and to have it completed on time.”
(For support see: ¶ 14, 18, 29, 30, 37, 43)
Finally, the Examiner refers to MPEP § 2111.05 as who the receiving party is supposed to be, i.e. Authority Having Jurisdiction (AHJ), is directed towards descriptive subject matter that fails to further limit or alter the steps or functions of the claimed invention and its end result. That is to say, whether the entity is an Authority Having Jurisdiction (AHJ), the steps, functions, and end result of the claimed invention would be unaffected, i.e. the steps/functions of transmitting information is unaffected and serves to only describe a destination. The data identifying the entity as an “Authority Having Jurisdiction (AHJ)” is a label for the entity and adds little, if anything, to the claimed invention and, thus, does not serve to distinguish over the prior art. Any differences related merely to the meaning and information conveyed through labels (i.e., who the entity is supposed to be) which does not explicitly alter or impact the steps/functions of the claimed invention does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art, in terms of patentability.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate into the technician and equipment service management system and method of Minnier to determine and verify that a service personnel possesses the necessary credentials to perform a job prior to allowing for the job to be performed, as taught by Thorley, because this “…ensures that a certified technician works on the vehicle to comply with warranty requirements or safety regulations. If the technician is not authenticated/verified, then the vehicle service will not be allowed to proceed.” Additionally, this facilitates jobs being completed in a timely manner by ensuring that qualified personnel are performing the job because they would have the necessary experience to complete the job.
The combination of Minnier and Thorley discloses a system and method for tracking and managing service personnel and the state of assets the personnel are servicing, inspecting, or the like. Although Minnier discloses:
“Likewise, the camera 28 may be used to scan a visual identifier 34 affixed to the equipment for rapid identification thereof. Exemplary visual identifiers include, but are not limited to, hash codes, 2D barcodes, Quick Response (QR) codes or matrix barcodes, color codes, alphanumeric or other symbols. Such visual identifiers 34 may be stored as additional information in the document database 20 for rapid access to the above-discussed information about the equipment of a critical system.”
and Thorley teaches:
“In one embodiment, the wireless communication interface may also detect the RFID badge affixed to the technician or other service personnel. In another embodiment, the wireless communication interface may include GPS or location determination software to allow the technician to be located in the dealership by the service ecosystem 200.”
the combination of Minnier and Thorley fails to explicitly disclose whether it was known or obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the equipment to have an electronic tag affixed to it. Additionally, the combination of Minnier and Thorley fails to explicitly disclose a display unit incorporated onto the equipment to display its state/condition.
To be more specific, the combination of Minnier and Thorley fails to explicitly disclose:
transmit, only after said successful credential verification and successful location verification, a state-change command to a display unit incorporated onto the unit of equipment to transition the display unit from a first one of the plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states to a second one of the plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states, the second one corresponding to the updated impairment status, wherein an electronic tag physically affixed to the unit of equipment, comprising at least one of a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag, a Blue-tooth enabled tag, a WIFI tag, or another Internet of Things (IoT) tag, is configured to provide a unique digital code associated with the unit of equipment to a user device”
(emphasis added)
However, Pierson teaches:
“Determining the location of the mobile device 140 relative to the medical equipment 120 at the time the inspector enters inspection information via the software application may enable detection and/or prevention of falsified inspection information by an inspector. For example, if the medical equipment management software application determines that the distance between the mobile device 140 and the medical equipment 120 exceeds the predetermined inspection distance, then the software application may generate and/or store an indication of false inspection information. This indication may be available to a management account manager. In this way, the software application may enable a detection by an account manager of fraudulent use of the inspection system by an inspector. Further, the software application may limit and/or disable the input of inspection information to the medical equipment management software application for one or more items of medical equipment 120 if the distance between the medical equipment 120 and the mobile device 140 exceeds the predetermined inspection distance. For example, the software application may only enable entry of inspection information for medical equipment 120 for a geographic area around the mobile device 140 location having a dimension (e.g., radius, diameter, side length, etc.) that approximately corresponds to the predetermined inspection distance. As another example, the software application may reject entry of inspection information for a particular item of medical equipment 120 if the distance between the mobile device 140 and the registered location of the medical equipment 120 exceeds the predetermined inspection distance.”
(¶ 30)
“Alternatively, or additionally, the software application 225 may capture medical equipment information via the camera 1080, the asset tag reader 1090, and/or anther input device l030a of the computing device 140. For example, the medical equipment may include an asset tag (e.g., the barcode 235 and/or the radio frequency identification (RFID) tag 236) compatible with the asset tag reader 1090.”
(¶ 62)
“For example, the inspection of the medical equipment 120 may include a physical inspection. The physical inspection may include a determination, by the inspector, of at least a portion of the inspection information for the medical equipment 120 and an entry, by the inspector, of that inspection information to a medical equipment management software application installed on the computing device 140. … Since the inspector 110 and the computing device 140 may be co-located, this predetermined inspection distance may be a physical distance between the computing device 140 and the medical equipment 120. If the physical inspection requires the inspector to view, hear, and/or touch the medical equipment 120, then the predetermined inspection distance may be an inspection distance threshold beyond which the inspector would be unlikely to view, hear, and/or touch the medical equipment 120. As an example, referring again to FIG. 1, the medical equipment 120 may include an equipment status indicator 130 that indicates the operational status of the medical equipment 120. The status indicator 130 may provide a first status indicator that indicates that the medical equipment is in working order and a second status indicator that indicates that the medical equipment is in non-working order. The first and second status indicators may be one or more of a symbol, a color, a word, a picture, etc. In the example of FIG. 1, the first status indicator is a check mark graphic and the second status indicator is an“X” graphic. The status indicator 130 may be a visible indicator on a display (e.g., a graphic, a word, and/or a color), an audible sound from a speaker (e.g., a tone, a sequence of sounds, and/or spoken words), a tactile indicator (e.g., a raised set of bumps), etc. In order to accurately inspect the medical equipment 120, the requisite inspection distance between the inspector 110 and the medical equipment 120 may be a distance at which the inspector can, for example, see, feel, and/or hear the equipment status indicator 130. Thus, the predetermined inspection distance may be a threshold distance beyond which the inspection cannot be accurately performed. For example, if the inspector 110 is further from the medical equipment 120 than the predetermined inspection distance, then the inspector 110 may not be able to view the status indicator 130 with sufficient clarity to ascertain the operational status of the medical equipment 120. As another example, if an inspector is further from a fire extinguisher than the predetermined inspection distance for the fire extinguisher, then the inspector may not be able to manipulate a test button on the fire extinguisher. As a further example, an item of medical equipment may include a low battery alarm and predetermined inspection distance may be a distance within which the inspector can hear the alarm and identify the source of the alarm. In an implementation, the predetermined inspection distance may take into account location constraints for inspection (e.g., line of sight impediments or other viewing constraints).”
(¶ 64)
“At stage 840, the method 800 includes receiving the medical equipment information for the one or more items of medical equipment. The one or more selected items of medical equipment may be selected for inspection and for entry of inspection information and/or other medical equipment information to the software application 225 and/or the database 280. For example, the computing device 140 receives the medical equipment information from the medical equipment 120. In an implementation, the medical equipment information may include information provided as user-input to an inspection user interface provided at the computing device. Alternatively, or additionally, the medical equipment information may be information provided via signals transmitted from the medical equipment 120 to the computing device 140 and/or via information captured from the medical equipment (e.g., via a camera image, asset tag, RFID tag, etc.). The medical equipment information may also be obtained by the computing device 140 from the medical equipment 120 via a tap-to-connect or other near field communication technology and/or secure near field communication technology.”
(¶ 133)
One of ordinary skill in the art would looking upon the combination of Minnier and Thorley disclose a system and method where assets are affixed with identifier and that electronic tags, but would have realized that the sole difference between the combination of Minnier and Thorley and the claimed invention is whether it would have been obvious for the equipment to also be affixed with an electronic tag. One of ordinary skill in the art looking upon the teachings of Pierson would have, indeed, that it would not only have been obvious to utilize an electronic tag, such as a radio frequency identification device (RFID) to identify the object that it is affixed to, but that it would have also been obvious for various tag types to be substituted for one another while still achieving the same predictable result, i.e. identifying an object. One of ordinary skill in the art would have further found it obvious to utilize an electronic tag that has a limited reading range because this would only further enhance the goals and objectives of the combination of Minnier and Thorley because having an electronic tag that can only be scanned when a user is within range would ensure that the user was, indeed, as the location where servicing is needed and being performed.
Finally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide a display unit onto an asset so that the asset’s status can be visually provided because this provides the user with quick access to information regarding the status of the asset, as well as ensuring that the user is within the vicinity of the asset to be inspected, thereby preventing fraudulent activities from taking place.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself-that is in the substitution of an RFID affixed to an asset, as taught by Pierson, for any of the tags disclosed by the combination of Minnier and Thorley, especially since Minnier already discloses affixing tags to assets to identify the assets and Thorley teaches that RFID technology is a well-known type of technology for identifying an entity that it is affixed to.
Thus, the simply substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate into the location-based asset servicing and inspection system and method of the combination of Minnier and Thorley with ability to provide a display unit onto an asset to convey the status/condition of an asset, as taught by Pierson, because this would ensure that the service personnel was within the vicinity of the asset to properly determine its status/condition, which, in turn, would prevent falsification of servicing actions.
Finally, with regards to:
update (Claim 11: updating, via one or more hardware processors,) the impairment status of service associated with said unit of equipment, based at least in part on said credential of said service personnel and said service personnel being verified in the specified geo-fenced area associated with the unit of equipment, wherein the impairment status of the unit of equipment is updated only when both credential verification and location verification are successfully satisfied, and wherein the updated impairment status corresponds to a particular one of a plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states, the plurality of predefined color-coded states comprising at least Green for Certified and Active, Yellow for Minor Impairment, Amber for Expired tag, Blue for Repaired, and Red for Major impairment
transmit, only after said successful credential verification and successful location verification, a state-change command to a display unit incorporated onto the unit of equipment to transition the display unit from a first one of the plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states to a second one of the plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states, the second one corresponding to the updated impairment status, wherein an electronic tag physically affixed to the unit of equipment, comprising at least one of a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag, a Blue-tooth enabled tag, a WIFI tag, or another Internet of Things (IoT) tag, is configured to provide a unique digital code associated with the unit of equipment to a user device
(emphasis added)
the Examiner refers to MPEP § 2111.04, 2111.05, and 2144.04 because how the impairment state is represented or conveyed as is directed towards descriptive subject matter describing how information should be represented/conveyed as. The Examiner asserts that the data identifying the state as “Green for Certified and Active, Yellow for Minor Impairment, Amber for Expired tag, Blue for Repaired, and Red for Major impairment” and “ADA-compliant color-coded states” are labels for how the state information is represented/conveyed and adds little, if anything, to the claimed acts, steps, and functions of the claimed invention and, thus, does not serve to distinguish over the prior art. Any differences related merely to the meaning and information conveyed through labels (i.e., the manner in which the state information is represented or conveyed as), which does not explicitly alter or impact the acts, steps, and functions of the claimed invention, does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art, in terms of patentability.
With that said, the combination of Minnier, Thorley, and Pierson discloses a system and method wherein service personnel provide information regarding their findings on the state of assets in a manner that describes the current state of the asset, the type of work that needs to be performed to change the state of the asset, and the state of the asset after the work has been performed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious that the manner in which this information is conveyed or represented as is directed towards an aesthetic design choice of how a practitioner of the invention believes, in their opinion, is the best way to convey state information. One of ordinary skill in the art could provide the information using colors, pictographs, fault codes, short explanations, photographs, notes, checklist, or the like and substitute any of these methods for one another while still achieving the same predictable result, i.e. conveying the state of an asset.
(Minnier – ¶ 46, 47, 53; Thorley – ¶ 17, 21, 41 wherein the combination of Minnier and Thorley disclose that state information can be conveyed/represented as pictures, fault codes, checklists, notes, and etc.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself-that is in the substitution of colors to convey the state of an asset, as discussed above, for any of the number of examples disclosed by the combination of Minnier, Thorley, and Pierson.
Thus, the simply substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
In regards to claims 2, 12, the combination of Minnier, Thorley, and Pierson discloses
the system of claim 1 (the method of claim 11), wherein said one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine readable instructions to:
verify (Claim 12: , via said one or more processors,) a type of service to be performed on said unit of equipment;
verify (Claim 12: , via said one or more processors,) one or more parts required to complete the type of service to be performed on said unit of equipment; and
verify (Claim 12: , via said one or more processors,) that said one or more parts required to complete the type of service to be performed on said unit of equipment are in possession by the service personnel
Specifically, Minnier discloses a system and method of servicing equipment by providing a system that monitors the state of equipment, provides notifications/alerts when servicing is required, prioritizes alarms, maintains and tracks the location of equipment and technicians, and provides technicians with the necessary information to service the equipment and update its maintenance records (as well as include a variety of other information, as was discussed above). Despite Minnier providing all of the necessary information to facilitate the servicing of equipment, Minnier fails to explicitly disclose whether to verify the type of service to be performed, verify parts required to complete the service, and verify that the parts are in possession of the personnel.
However, Thorley, which also discloses a system and method of managing assets and technicians at a location that includes the asset by tracking the location of an asset and technicians, further teaches that it would have been beneficial to track the type of service, the parts required to perform the service, and whether the technician is in possession of the parts. Thorley teaches that the system identifies the availability of parts and resources, thereby providing a system and method that is tracking parts inventory, which, in turn, results in parts being removed since they are being used. Thorley teaches that this provides the benefit of more efficient servicing of an asset as this allows the system to identify what parts the technician will need and whether the parts are available and in the technician’s possession, thereby facilitating completion of the service. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include and track such information as this would allow the technician to perform the job that they have been assigned, preventing needless or inefficient dispatching of technicians by avoiding a scenario wasting time to arrive at a location and not have the necessary parts to perform their job, and prevent any unnecessary operations of the equipment/building, which coincides with the goals and objectives that Minnier sets out to resolve (Minnier – ¶ 3, 4, 5).
(For support, see: Thorley – ¶ 16, 38, 39, 40, 41, 43, 45, 46)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate into the equipment servicing system and method of Minnier with the ability to verify the type of service to be performed, verify parts required to complete the service, and verify that the parts are in possession of the personnel, as taught by Thorley, as this would result in preventing needless or inefficient dispatching of technicians by avoiding a scenario wasting time to arrive at a location and not have the necessary parts to perform their job, and prevent any unnecessary operations of the equipment/building.
In regards to claims 3, 13, the combination of Minnier, Thorley, and Pierson discloses the system of claim 2 (the method of claim 12), wherein said one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine readable instructions to: remove the said one or more parts required to complete the type of service to be performed on said unit of equipment from an inventory of parts associated with said service personnel (Thorley – ¶ 16, 26, 32, 40, 41, 43, 45, 46 wherein a part that needs to be serviced is identified, availability of the part is determined, and the part is replaced and recorded.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate into the equipment servicing system and method of Minnier with the ability to verify the type of service to be performed, verify parts required to complete the service, and verify that the parts are in possession of the personnel, as taught by Thorley, as this would result in preventing needless or inefficient dispatching of technicians by avoiding a scenario wasting time to arrive at a location and not have the necessary parts to perform their job, and prevent any unnecessary operations of the equipment/building.).
In regards to claims 4, 14, the combination of Minnier, Thorley, and Pierson discloses the system of claim 2 (the method of claim 12), wherein verifying that said one or more parts required to complete the service to be performed on said unit of equipment is completed via the one or more hardware processors analyzing data provided by the service personnel (Thorley – ¶ 45, 46 wherein the service, such as, but not limited to, part replacement, is determined to be completed and recorded
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate into the equipment servicing system and method of Minnier with the ability to verify the type of service to be performed, verify parts required to complete the service, and verify that the parts are in possession of the personnel, as taught by Thorley, as this would result in preventing needless or inefficient dispatching of technicians by avoiding a scenario wasting time to arrive at a location and not have the necessary parts to perform their job, and prevent any unnecessary operations of the equipment/building.).
In regards to claims 5, 15, the combination of Minnier, Thorley, and Pierson discloses the system of claim 4 (the method of claim 14), wherein the data provided by the service personnel is one or more images of said one or more parts required to complete the services to be performed on said unit of equipment (Thorley – ¶ 16, 40, 41, 43 wherein service personnel provide images of the parts required to be serviced
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate into the equipment servicing system and method of Minnier with the ability to verify the type of service to be performed, verify parts required to complete the service, and verify that the parts are in possession of the personnel, as taught by Thorley, as this would result in preventing needless or inefficient dispatching of technicians by avoiding a scenario wasting time to arrive at a location and not have the necessary parts to perform their job, and prevent any unnecessary operations of the equipment/building.).
In regards to claims 6, 16, the combination of Minnier, Thorley, and Pierson discloses the system of claim 5 (the method of claim 15), wherein analysis of the images of said one or more parts required to complete the services to be performed on said unit of equipment is performed via image analysis using a machine learning model trained on image data of said one or more parts (Thorley – ¶ 16, 17, 21, 27, 40, 41, 43 wherein image recognition software is used to identify a component that needs to be serviced and wherein diagnostic software is used and continuously updated using, at least, machine learning.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate into the equipment servicing system and method of Minnier with the ability to verify the type of service to be performed, verify parts required to complete the service, and verify that the parts are in possession of the personnel, as taught by Thorley, as this would result in preventing needless or inefficient dispatching of technicians by avoiding a scenario wasting time to arrive at a location and not have the necessary parts to perform their job, and prevent any unnecessary operations of the equipment/building.).
In regards to claims 7, 17, the combination of Minnier, Thorley, and Pierson discloses the system of claim 1 (the method of claim 11), wherein said one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine readable instructions to:
receive (Claim 17: , via said one or more processors,) data associated with said impairment status of said unit of equipment (¶ 29 wherein equipment is monitored to determine if they are in need of repair or maintenance; ¶ 44, 47, 53, 55 wherein maintenance/servicing records for equipment are updated for use by future personnel); and
With regards to:
generate (Claim 17: , via said one or more processors,) an additional service update on said unit of equipment, based at least in part on said data associated with said impairment status of said unit of equipment.
Minnier discloses a system and method of servicing equipment by providing a system that monitors the state of equipment, provides notifications/alerts when servicing is required, prioritizes alarms, maintains and tracks the location of equipment and technicians, and provides technicians with the necessary information to service the equipment and update its maintenance records (as well as include a variety of other information, as was discussed above). Despite Minnier providing all of the necessary information to facilitate the servicing of equipment, Minnier fails to explicitly disclose whether the technician can be provided with additional servicing information that the equipment is in need of.
However, Thorley, which also discloses a system and method of managing assets and technicians at a location that includes the asset by tracking the location of an asset and technicians, further teaches that it would have been beneficial to utilize the information provided for the service and during the servicing of the asset to determine if additional services are needed or should be performed. Thorley teaches that this provides the benefit of more efficient servicing of an asset as this allows the system to more effectively service the asset by identifying and performing any and all jobs needed for the asset, as well as providing a customer with the opportunity to decide whether to perform the service at that time or at a time that would not be a bother for the customer, i.e. the task may not be of high priority or critical. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include and track such information as this would allow the technician to perform the job that they have been assigned, preventing needless or inefficient dispatching of technicians by avoiding a scenario wasting time to arrive at a location and not have the necessary parts to perform their job, and prevent any unnecessary operations of the equipment/building, which coincides with the goals and objectives that Minnier sets out to resolve (Minnier – ¶ 3, 4, 5, 49).
(For support, see: Thorley – ¶ 16, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate into the equipment servicing system and method of Minnier with the identify and provide information regarding an additional service associated for the asset, as taught by Thorley, as this would result in preventing needless or inefficient dispatching of technicians by avoiding a scenario wasting time to arrive at a location and not have the necessary parts to perform their job, and prevent any unnecessary operations of the equipment/building, as well as providing a customer with the opportunity to decide whether to perform the service at that time or at a time that would not be a bother for the customer, i.e. the task may not be of high priority or critical.
In regards to claim 8, the combination of Minnier, Thorley, and Pierson discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine readable instructions to receive status information from said unit of equipment (Minnier – Fig. 1, 2; ¶ 29, 49 wherein the system receives and stores equipment status information, which can then be accessed by a technician to assist in servicing the equipment).
In regards to claims 9, 19, the combination of Minnier, Thorley, and Pierson discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine readable instructions to provide the status information from said unit of equipment to said service personnel (Claim 19: and AHJs and property owners.) (Minnier – Fig. 1; ¶ 29, 48, 49; Thorley – ¶ 14, 18, 29, 43 wherein the system receives equipment status information and transmits the information to a plurality of entities who can view and interact with the information via a dashboard, e.g., BMS (property owner) and central system that is facilitating communication with technicians (service personnel) and managers (AHJ) to provide equipment status information.).
Additionally, the Examiner refers to MPEP § 2111.05 as who the receiving party is supposed to be, i.e. Authority Having Jurisdiction (AHJ) and a property owner, is directed towards descriptive subject matter that fails to further limit or alter the steps or functions of the claimed invention and its end result. That is to say, whether the entity is an Authority Having Jurisdiction (AHJ) and a property owner, the steps, functions, and end result of the claimed invention would be unaffected, i.e. the steps/functions of transmitting information to two different locations is unaffected, and serves to only describe a destination. The data identifying the entity as an “Authority Having Jurisdiction (AHJ) and a property owner” is a label for the entity and adds little, if anything, to the claimed invention and, thus, does not serve to distinguish over the prior art. Any differences related merely to the meaning and information conveyed through labels (i.e., who the entity is supposed to be) which does not explicitly alter or impact the steps/functions of the claimed invention does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art, in terms of patentability.
In regards to claims 10, 20, the combination of Minnier, Thorley, and Pierson discloses the system of claim 9 (the method of claim 19), wherein the status information from said unit of equipment is related to the impairment status of said unit of equipment (Minnier – ¶ 29 wherein equipment is monitored to determine if they are in need of repair or maintenance; ¶ 44, 47, 53, 55 wherein maintenance/servicing records for equipment are updated for use by future personnel).
In regards to claim 18, the combination of Minnier, Thorley, and Pierson discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising receiving, via said one or more processors, status information from said unit of equipment (Minnier – Fig. 1, 2; ¶ 29, 49 wherein the system receives and stores equipment status information, which can then be accessed by a technician to assist in servicing the equipment).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Objection
The new claim objection has been provided due to amendments.
Rejection under 35 USC 112(a)
The new rejection under 35 USC 112(a) has been provided due to amendments.
Rejection under 35 USC 101
The rejection under 35 USC 101 has been maintained.
The Examiner asserts that the following limitation is insufficient to overcome the rejection:
“transmit, only after said successful credential verification and successful location verification, a state-change command to a display unit incorporated onto the unit of equipment to transition the display unit from a first one of the plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states to a second one of the plurality of predefined ADA-compliant color-coded states, the second one corresponding to the updated impairment status, wherein an electronic tag physically affixed to the unit of equipment, comprising at least one of a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag, a Blue-tooth enabled tag, a WIFI tag, or another Internet of Things (IoT) tag, is configured to provide a unique digital code associated with the unit of equipment to a user device”
Specifically, the Examiner asserts that the claimed invention and specification are not directed towards improving or resolving an issue that arose in the aforementioned electronic tags, nor is the disclosed invention concerned with transforming the electronic tags into a different state or thing. The Examiner asserts that the tags are noting more than generic electronic tags that are storing data and that the “transformation” is what the information is conveying to a user in as much the same way that a human, using pen and paper (or sticky label or the like), and write down the status of an equipment and placing the paper, sticky label, or the like onto an object. The Examiner asserts that the manner in which this information is conveyed as, i.e. color, is nothing more than an aesthetic design choice that a practitioner of the invention believes, in their mind and in their opinion, is the “best” way to inform an entity on the state of an asset.
Further still, although there are known deficiencies with stickers, the Examiner asserts that substituting any of the identified, generic electronic tags for a physical sticker is not an improvement to technology, resolving an issue that arose in technology, or deeply rooted in technology. The Examiner asserts that the specification is not directed to or concerned with improving upon, resolving an issue, or deeply rooted in electronic tag technology, but is, in fact, relying on generic electronic tag technology and utilizing them for their intended use, i.e. storing and transmitting information. The claimed invention does not rise to the same level as Example 42, Claim 1 because it is not concerned with providing remote access over a network, conversion of non-standardized information to a standardized format, automatically generating a message whenever updated information is stored, and transmitting the message to all users. Specifically, the claimed invention does not recite additional elements of a specific improvement over prior art systems by allowing remote users to share information in real time in a standardized format regardless of the format in which the information was inputted by a user. The Examiner asserts that the claimed invention is similar to Example 42, Claim 2.
Further, the claimed invention is not directed to a particular machine, but simply reciting generic technology at a high level of generality and applying them to the abstract idea for the benefits that the technology provides, i.e. more efficient, faster, less prone to human error, and the like.
The claimed invention is not similar to Bascom because, as stated above, it is not directed towards improving technology, resolving an issue that arose in technology, or deeply rooted in technology, but reciting generic technology at a high level of generality and applying them to the abstract idea for the benefits that the technology provides, i.e. more efficient, faster, less prone to human error, and the like, especially because the claimed invention is not directed to or concerned with improving filtering techniques to alleviate the computational load of a computing system.
Finally, Example 47, Claim 3 does not apply because claim 6 is directed towards the reciting generic technology and applying it to the abstract idea. The machine learning module has already been trained and recited in a generic manner.
Although the claim recites “using a machine learning module trained on image data,” the claims and specification fail to provide sufficient disclosure regarding an improvement to how a machine learning algorithm can be trained, but simply recites a high-level generic recitation that a machine learning algorithm is being trained. There is insufficient evidence from the specification to indicate that the use of the machine learning algorithm involves anything other than the generic application of a known technique in its normal, routine, and ordinary capacity or that the claimed invention purports to improve the functioning of the computer itself or the machine learning algorithm. None of the limitations reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Even training and applying a machine learning model is simply application of a computer model, itself an abstract idea manifestation. Further, such training and applying of a model is no more than putting data into a black box machine learning operation. The nomination as being a machine learning model is a functional label, devoid of technological implementation and application details. The specification does not contend it invented any of these activities, or the creation and use of such machine learning models. In short, each step does no more than require a generic computer to perform generic computer functions. As to the data operated upon, "even if a process of collecting and analyzing information is 'limited to particular content' or a particular 'source,' that limitation does not make the collection and analysis other than abstract." SAP America, Inc. v. InvestPic LLC, 898 F.3d 1161, 1168 (Fed. Cir. 2018).
The Examiner asserts that the scope of the disclosed invention, as presented in the originally filed specification, is not directed towards the improvement of machine learning, but directed towards maintenance scheduling and management and/or asset inspection and management. The specification’s disclosure on machine learning is nothing more than a high general explanation of generic technology and applying it to the abstract idea. Referring to MPEP § 2106.05(f), the use of the machine learning module is merely being used to facilitate the tasks of the abstract idea, which provides nothing more than a results-oriented solution that lacks detail of the mechanism for accomplishing the result and is equivalent to the words “apply it,” per MPEP § 2106.05(f). The Examiner asserts that in light of the 2024 Guidance Update on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility, Including on Artificial Intelligence, the claimed invention is analogous to Example 47, Claim 2.
Further, the combination of these elements is nothing more than a generic computing system with machine learning model(s). Because the additional elements are merely instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer, as described in MPEP § 2106.05(f), they do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Rejection under 35 USC 102/103
The Examiner asserts that the applicant’s arguments are directed towards newly amended limitations and are, therefore, considered moot. However, the Examiner has responded to the newly submitted amendments, which the arguments are directed to, in the rejection above, thereby addressing the applicant’s arguments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
Liese Henning et al. (EP 3967003 B1); Perez et al. (US Patent 12,661,853 B2); Durrant (US PGPub 2026/0220617 A1); Brutoco et al. (US Patent 12,710,137 B1); Williams et al. (NO 349761 B1); Jaggers et al. (US PGPub 2026/0195672 A1); Idan (US Patent 11,593,728 B2); Garber et al. (US PGPub 2020/0210965 A1) – which disclose systems and methods for managing the servicing of assets and service personnel, as well as maintaining and utilizing service personnel qualification information
GERARDO ARAQUE JR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3629
/GERARDO ARAQUE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629 9/12/2026