DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed October 02nd, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-7 remain pending in the application. The amendments to the claims have overcome each and every claim objection, double patenting rejection, and 112(b) rejection previously cited on the Non-Final rejection mailed July 30th, 2025. However, the amendment has raised other issues detailed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 7-9, filed October 02nd, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Kasztelan et al. (US Patent No. 11,641,779).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Pg. 7, paragraph 25: “thermos-electric system” should read “thermo-electric system”.
Pg. 7, paragraph 26: “thermos-electric system” should read “thermo-electric system”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 6-7: “an interior portion of the thermo-electric system comprising a chain of trapezoid elements comprising” should read “an interior portion of the thermo-electric system comprising the chain trapezoid elements comprising”
Claim 1, lines 13-14: “a plurality of N-trapezoid elements” should read “the plurality of N-trapezoid elements”
Claim 7, lines 6-7: “an interior portion of the thermo-electric system comprising a chain of trapezoid elements comprising” should read “an interior portion of the thermo-electric system comprising the chain trapezoid elements comprising”
Claim 7, lines 13-14: “a plurality of N-trapezoid elements” should read “the plurality of N-trapezoid elements”
Claim 2 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 1.
Claim 3 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 2.
Claim 4 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 3.
Claim 5 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 6.
Claim 6 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 5.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasztelan et al. (US Patent No. 11,641,779), hereinafter Kasztelan in view of Lorimer et al. (US 20150287901), hereinafter Lorimer.
Regarding claim 1, Kasztelan discloses a thermo-electric system comprising chain trapezoid elements with increased figure of merit (Fig. 1, thermoelectric device 100, first semiconductor mesa structures 110, second semiconductor mesa structures 120; Fig. 4d; Col. 9, lines 1-17, For example, the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 of the plurality of first semiconductor mesa structures 110 and/or the second semiconductor mesa structures 120 of the plurality of second semiconductor mesa structures 120 may comprise at least one of silicon (Si), germanium (Ge), silicon-germanium (SiGe), and bismuth telluride (Bi2Te3). For example, a semiconductor mesa structure having the first conductivity type may be an n-doped semiconductor mesa structure (e.g. caused by incorporating nitrogen ions, phosphor ions or arsenic ions) or a p-doped semiconductor mesa structure (e.g. caused by incorporating aluminum ions or boron ions). Consequently, the second conductivity type indicates an opposite p-doped semiconductor mesa structure or n-doped semiconductor mesa structure. In other words, the first conductivity type may indicate a p-doping and the second conductivity type may indicate an n-doping or vice versa; Col. 14, lines 53-58, the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 of the plurality of first semiconductor mesa structures 110 and the second semiconductor mesa structures 120 of the plurality of second semiconductor mesa structures 120 have a shape of a truncated pyramid) comprises:
a thermal spreader system (Fig. 1, metallization structures 140) comprising:
a top plate comprising aluminum (Fig. 1, metallization structures 140; Col. 5, lines 57-62, For example, the thermoelectric device 100 may further comprise a plurality of metallization structures 140 located at a first side of the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 of the plurality of first semiconductor mesa structures 110 and the second semiconductor mesa structures 120 of the plurality of second semiconductor mesa structures 120; Col. 6, lines 15-20, For example, the metallization structures 140 of the plurality of metallization structures 140 may comprise at least one of aluminum, copper, tungsten, molybdenum, titanium and/or titanium nitride and/or an alloy of aluminum, copper, tungsten, molybdenum and/or titanium, for example titanium-tungsten (TiW)), and
a bottom plate comprising aluminum (Fig. 1, metallization structures 140; Col. 5, lines 57-62, For example, the thermoelectric device 100 may further comprise a plurality of metallization structures 140 located at a first side of the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 of the plurality of first semiconductor mesa structures 110 and the second semiconductor mesa structures 120 of the plurality of second semiconductor mesa structures 120; Col. 6, lines 15-20, For example, the metallization structures 140 of the plurality of metallization structures 140 may comprise at least one of aluminum, copper, tungsten, molybdenum, titanium and/or titanium nitride and/or an alloy of aluminum, copper, tungsten, molybdenum and/or titanium, for example titanium-tungsten (TiW)); and
an interior portion of the thermo-electric system comprising a chain of trapezoid elements (Fig. 1, first semiconductor mesa structures 110, second semiconductor mesa structures 120; Col. 9, lines 1-17, For example, the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 of the plurality of first semiconductor mesa structures 110 and/or the second semiconductor mesa structures 120 of the plurality of second semiconductor mesa structures 120 may comprise at least one of silicon (Si), germanium (Ge), silicon-germanium (SiGe), and bismuth telluride (Bi2Te3). For example, a semiconductor mesa structure having the first conductivity type may be an n-doped semiconductor mesa structure (e.g. caused by incorporating nitrogen ions, phosphor ions or arsenic ions) or a p-doped semiconductor mesa structure (e.g. caused by incorporating aluminum ions or boron ions). Consequently, the second conductivity type indicates an opposite p-doped semiconductor mesa structure or n-doped semiconductor mesa structure. In other words, the first conductivity type may indicate a p-doping and the second conductivity type may indicate an n-doping or vice versa) comprising:
a plurality of P-trapezoid elements and a plurality of N-trapezoid elements (Fig. 1, first semiconductor mesa structures 110, second semiconductor mesa structures 120),
wherein each P-trapezoid element alternates with each N-trapezoid element (Fig. 1, first semiconductor mesa structures 110, second semiconductor mesa structures 120; Col. 9, lines 1-17, For example, the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 of the plurality of first semiconductor mesa structures 110 and/or the second semiconductor mesa structures 120 of the plurality of second semiconductor mesa structures 120 may comprise at least one of silicon (Si), germanium (Ge), silicon-germanium (SiGe), and bismuth telluride (Bi2Te3). For example, a semiconductor mesa structure having the first conductivity type may be an n-doped semiconductor mesa structure (e.g. caused by incorporating nitrogen ions, phosphor ions or arsenic ions) or a p-doped semiconductor mesa structure (e.g. caused by incorporating aluminum ions or boron ions). Consequently, the second conductivity type indicates an opposite p-doped semiconductor mesa structure or n-doped semiconductor mesa structure. In other words, the first conductivity type may indicate a p-doping and the second conductivity type may indicate an n-doping or vice versa),
wherein each basal surface of each P-trapezoid element and each N-trapezoid element are coupled with the bottom plate (See annotated Fig. 1 of Kasztelan below, basal surfaces A of the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 and second semiconductor mesa structures 120 are depicted to be coupled to the metallization structures 140),
wherein a first row of the plurality of P-trapezoid elements and a plurality of N-trapezoid elements comprises a first P-trapezoid element (See annotated Fig. 1 of Kasztelan, the first row of the plurality of P-trapezoid elements and the plurality of N-trapezoid elements comprises a first P-trapezoid element 110-A; Col. 14, lines 53-58, the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 of the plurality of first semiconductor mesa structures 110 and the second semiconductor mesa structures 120 of the plurality of second semiconductor mesa structures 120 have a shape of a truncated pyramid),
wherein each basal surface of each P-trapezoid element and each N-trapezoid element has a larger surface than each top surface of each P-trapezoid element and each N-trapezoid element (Col. 7, lines 41-56, For example, the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 of the plurality of first semiconductor mesa structures 110 may taper vertically. The second semiconductor mesa structures 120 of the plurality of second semiconductor mesa structures 120 may taper vertically, for example. For example, a width of the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 of the plurality of first semiconductor mesa structures 110 may be less than 90% (or less than 75%, less than 50% or less than 25%) of a length of the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 of the plurality of first semiconductor mesa structures 110. A width of the second semiconductor mesa structures 120 of the plurality of second semiconductor mesa structures 120 may be less than 90% (or less than 75%, less than 50% or less than 25%) of a length of the second semiconductor mesa structures 120 of the plurality of second semiconductor mesa structures 120; Col. 14, lines 53-58, the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 of the plurality of first semiconductor mesa structures 110 and the second semiconductor mesa structures 120 of the plurality of second semiconductor mesa structures 120 have a shape of a truncated pyramid), and
wherein each top surface of each P-trapezoid element and each N-trapezoid element is coupled with the top plate (See annotated Fig. 1 of Kasztelan below, top surfaces B of the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 and second semiconductor mesa structures 120 are depicted to be coupled to the metallization structures 140).
However, Kasztelan does not disclose the first p-trapezoid element to be coupled with a Positive Peltier wire via a first copper pad, and
wherein the thermal spreader system is coupled with a Negative Peltier wire.
Lorimer teaches the first p-trapezoid element to be coupled with a Positive Peltier wire via a first copper pad (Pg. 10, paragraph 86, The circuit board can be used to connect multiple MLPs together using more than wires alone. The positive and negative leads (411) from an MLP can connect to copper pads on the circuit board), and
wherein the thermal spreader system is coupled with a Negative Peltier wire (Fig. 4A-4C, positive and negative leads 411; Pg. 10, paragraph 86, The circuit board can be used to connect multiple MLPs together using more than wires alone. The positive and negative leads (411) from an MLP can connect to copper pads on the circuit board).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal spreader system of Kasztelan of claim 1 to be coupled with negative and positive Peltier wires and wherein the first row of the plurality of P-trapezoid elements and the plurality of N-trapezoid elements comprises the first P-trapezoid element coupled with the Positive Peltier wire via a first copper pad as taught by Lorimer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to all for current to be supplied to and from the thermal spreader system to produce a Peltier effect.
Annotated Fig. 1 of Kasztelan
Regarding claim 2, Kasztelan as modified disclose the thermo-electric system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the thermal spreader system is coupled with a Negative Peltier wire (Lorimer, Fig. 4A-4C, positive and negative leads 411; Pg. 10, paragraph 86, The circuit board can be used to connect multiple MLPs together using more than wires alone. The positive and negative leads (411) from an MLP can connect to copper pads on the circuit board). Further, the limitations of claim 2 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Kasztelan as modified disclose the thermo-electric system of claim 2 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above), wherein the thermal spreader system is coupled with the Positive Peltier wire (Lorimer, Fig. 4A-4C, positive and negative leads 411; Pg. 10, paragraph 86, The circuit board can be used to connect multiple MLPs together using more than wires alone. The positive and negative leads (411) from an MLP can connect to copper pads on the circuit board). Further, the limitations of claim 3 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 4, Kasztelan as modified disclose the thermo-electric system of claim 3 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 3 above), wherein the interior portion of the thermal spreader system comprises the first copper pad (Lorimer, Pg. 10, paragraph 86, The circuit board can be used to connect multiple MLPs together using more than wires alone. The positive and negative leads (411) from an MLP can connect to copper pads on the circuit board). Further, the limitations of claim 4 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 7, Kasztelan discloses a thermo-electric system comprising chain trapezoid elements with increased figure of merit (Fig. 1, thermoelectric device 100, first semiconductor mesa structures 110, second semiconductor mesa structures 120; Fig. 4d; Col. 9, lines 1-17, For example, the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 of the plurality of first semiconductor mesa structures 110 and/or the second semiconductor mesa structures 120 of the plurality of second semiconductor mesa structures 120 may comprise at least one of silicon (Si), germanium (Ge), silicon-germanium (SiGe), and bismuth telluride (Bi2Te3). For example, a semiconductor mesa structure having the first conductivity type may be an n-doped semiconductor mesa structure (e.g. caused by incorporating nitrogen ions, phosphor ions or arsenic ions) or a p-doped semiconductor mesa structure (e.g. caused by incorporating aluminum ions or boron ions). Consequently, the second conductivity type indicates an opposite p-doped semiconductor mesa structure or n-doped semiconductor mesa structure. In other words, the first conductivity type may indicate a p-doping and the second conductivity type may indicate an n-doping or vice versa; Col. 14, lines 53-58, the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 of the plurality of first semiconductor mesa structures 110 and the second semiconductor mesa structures 120 of the plurality of second semiconductor mesa structures 120 have a shape of a truncated pyramid) comprises:
a thermal spreader system (Fig. 1, metallization structures 140) comprising:
a top plate comprising a heat spreader material (Fig. 1, metallization structures 140; Col. 5, lines 57-62, For example, the thermoelectric device 100 may further comprise a plurality of metallization structures 140 located at a first side of the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 of the plurality of first semiconductor mesa structures 110 and the second semiconductor mesa structures 120 of the plurality of second semiconductor mesa structures 120; Col. 6, lines 15-20, For example, the metallization structures 140 of the plurality of metallization structures 140 may comprise at least one of aluminum, copper, tungsten, molybdenum, titanium and/or titanium nitride and/or an alloy of aluminum, copper, tungsten, molybdenum and/or titanium, for example titanium-tungsten (TiW)), and
a bottom plate comprising a heat spreader material (Fig. 1, metallization structures 140; Col. 5, lines 57-62, For example, the thermoelectric device 100 may further comprise a plurality of metallization structures 140 located at a first side of the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 of the plurality of first semiconductor mesa structures 110 and the second semiconductor mesa structures 120 of the plurality of second semiconductor mesa structures 120; Col. 6, lines 15-20, For example, the metallization structures 140 of the plurality of metallization structures 140 may comprise at least one of aluminum, copper, tungsten, molybdenum, titanium and/or titanium nitride and/or an alloy of aluminum, copper, tungsten, molybdenum and/or titanium, for example titanium-tungsten (TiW)); and
an interior portion of the thermo-electric system comprising a chain of trapezoid elements (Fig. 1, first semiconductor mesa structures 110, second semiconductor mesa structures 120; Col. 9, lines 1-17, For example, the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 of the plurality of first semiconductor mesa structures 110 and/or the second semiconductor mesa structures 120 of the plurality of second semiconductor mesa structures 120 may comprise at least one of silicon (Si), germanium (Ge), silicon-germanium (SiGe), and bismuth telluride (Bi2Te3). For example, a semiconductor mesa structure having the first conductivity type may be an n-doped semiconductor mesa structure (e.g. caused by incorporating nitrogen ions, phosphor ions or arsenic ions) or a p-doped semiconductor mesa structure (e.g. caused by incorporating aluminum ions or boron ions). Consequently, the second conductivity type indicates an opposite p-doped semiconductor mesa structure or n-doped semiconductor mesa structure. In other words, the first conductivity type may indicate a p-doping and the second conductivity type may indicate an n-doping or vice versa) comprising:
a plurality of P-trapezoid elements and a plurality of N-trapezoid elements (Fig. 1, first semiconductor mesa structures 110, second semiconductor mesa structures 120),
wherein each P-trapezoid element alternates with each N-trapezoid element (Fig. 1, first semiconductor mesa structures 110, second semiconductor mesa structures 120; Col. 9, lines 1-17, For example, the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 of the plurality of first semiconductor mesa structures 110 and/or the second semiconductor mesa structures 120 of the plurality of second semiconductor mesa structures 120 may comprise at least one of silicon (Si), germanium (Ge), silicon-germanium (SiGe), and bismuth telluride (Bi2Te3). For example, a semiconductor mesa structure having the first conductivity type may be an n-doped semiconductor mesa structure (e.g. caused by incorporating nitrogen ions, phosphor ions or arsenic ions) or a p-doped semiconductor mesa structure (e.g. caused by incorporating aluminum ions or boron ions). Consequently, the second conductivity type indicates an opposite p-doped semiconductor mesa structure or n-doped semiconductor mesa structure. In other words, the first conductivity type may indicate a p-doping and the second conductivity type may indicate an n-doping or vice versa),
wherein each basal surface of each P-trapezoid element and each N-trapezoid element are coupled with the bottom plate (See annotated Fig. 1 of Kasztelan below, basal surfaces A of the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 and second semiconductor mesa structures 120 are depicted to be coupled to the metallization structures 140),
wherein a first row of the plurality of P-trapezoid elements and a plurality of N-trapezoid elements comprises a first P-trapezoid element (See annotated Fig. 1 of Kasztelan, the first row of the plurality of P-trapezoid elements and the plurality of N-trapezoid elements comprises a first P-trapezoid element 110-A),
wherein each basal surface of each P-trapezoid element and each N-trapezoid element has a larger surface than each top surface of each P-trapezoid element and each N-trapezoid element (Col. 7, lines 41-56, For example, the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 of the plurality of first semiconductor mesa structures 110 may taper vertically. The second semiconductor mesa structures 120 of the plurality of second semiconductor mesa structures 120 may taper vertically, for example. For example, a width of the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 of the plurality of first semiconductor mesa structures 110 may be less than 90% (or less than 75%, less than 50% or less than 25%) of a length of the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 of the plurality of first semiconductor mesa structures 110. A width of the second semiconductor mesa structures 120 of the plurality of second semiconductor mesa structures 120 may be less than 90% (or less than 75%, less than 50% or less than 25%) of a length of the second semiconductor mesa structures 120 of the plurality of second semiconductor mesa structures 120; Col. 14, lines 53-58, the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 of the plurality of first semiconductor mesa structures 110 and the second semiconductor mesa structures 120 of the plurality of second semiconductor mesa structures 120 have a shape of a truncated pyramid), and
wherein each top surface of each P-trapezoid element and each N-trapezoid element is coupled with the top plate (See annotated Fig. 1 of Kasztelan below, top surfaces B of the first semiconductor mesa structures 110 and second semiconductor mesa structures 120 are depicted to be coupled to the metallization structures 140).
However, Kasztelan does not disclose the first p-trapezoid element to be coupled with a Positive Peltier wire via a first copper pad, and
wherein the thermal spreader system is coupled with a Negative Peltier wire.
Lorimer teaches the first p-trapezoid element to be coupled with a Positive Peltier wire via a first copper pad (Pg. 10, paragraph 86, The circuit board can be used to connect multiple MLPs together using more than wires alone. The positive and negative leads (411) from an MLP can connect to copper pads on the circuit board), and
wherein the thermal spreader system is coupled with a Negative Peltier wire (Fig. 4A-4C, positive and negative leads 411; Pg. 10, paragraph 86, The circuit board can be used to connect multiple MLPs together using more than wires alone. The positive and negative leads (411) from an MLP can connect to copper pads on the circuit board).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal spreader system of Kasztelan of claim 7 to be coupled with negative and positive Peltier wires and wherein the first row of the plurality of P-trapezoid elements and the plurality of N-trapezoid elements comprises the first P-trapezoid element coupled with the Positive Peltier wire via a first copper pad as taught by Lorimer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to all for current to be supplied to and from the thermal spreader system to produce a Peltier effect.
Annotated Fig. 1 of Kasztelan
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasztelan as modified by Lorimer as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Zimmer et al. (US Patent No. 11,821,660), hereinafter Zimmer.
Regarding claim 5, Kasztelan as modified disclose the thermo-electric system of claim 4 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 4 above).
However, Kasztelan as modified does not disclose wherein the thermal spreader system transfers energy as heat from a payload of a portable refrigeration system to a colder heat sink or heat exchanger.
Zimmer teaches the thermal spreader system transfers energy as heat from a payload of a portable refrigeration system to a colder heat sink or heat exchanger (Fig. 1, container 100, insulated body 102, heat sink 106, cooling element 108; Col. 7, lines 9-18, The lid 104 further comprises a heatsink 106. The heatsink 106 extends through the lid 104, from the interior of the sealed container 100 to the exterior of the sealed container 100. The heatsink 106 promotes the conduction of heat from the inside of the container 100 to the outside of the container 100, and to the environment, or vice versa depending on the temperature gradient present between the inside and outside of the container 100. The heatsink 106 may be made using aluminum, copper, or any other materials that have a high heat conductivity; Col. 8, lines 22-27, The cooling element 108 is coupled to the heatsink 106, such that the cooling element 108 is in thermally conductive contact with the heatsink 106. When the cooling element 108 is in operation, heat is transferred from one end of heatsink 106 to the other end of heatsink 106, depending on the direction of operation of cooling element 108).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermos-electric system of Kasztelan as modified wherein the thermal spreader system transfers energy as heat from a payload of a portable refrigeration system to a colder heat sink or heat exchanger as taught by Zimmer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a refrigerated container for transporting pharmaceutical compounds (Zimmer, Col. 1, lines 17-18).
Regarding claim 6, Kasztelan as modified disclose the thermo-electric system of claim 5 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 5 above), wherein the payload box comprises a compound mixture of aluminum and a cross-linked polymer (Zimmer, Fig. 1, insulated body 102; Col. 6, lines 25-28, In other examples, the insulated body 102 may be comprised of other materials including, but not limited to, aluminum, steel, glass, wood and polymer materials, for example). Further, the limitations of claim 6 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 October 13th, 2025
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763