DETAILED ACTION
This FINAL action is in response to Application No. 18/374,657 filed 9/28/2023 which claims priority from Provisional Application No. 63/465,220 filed 5/9/2023. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The amendment presented on 6/17/2026 which provides amendments to claims 1, 2, 11, 12, 17, 19, and 20, and new claims 23 and 24, is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1-5, 7-15, and 17-24 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections – Withdrawn
The previous 35 U.S.C §112(b) rejection of claims 2, 12, and 17 are withdrawn as necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the 112(a) rejections, Applicant contends “[t]he specification provides substantial direction on generating metadata and using it to display fillable forms and auto-fill fields, along with explicit working examples.” Applicant cites locations in the specification that describe the generation and content of the metadata.
However, the 112(a) rejection is not concerned with the generation and content of the metadata. Specifically, the content of the metadata being field names, input types, locations, fonts, and other attributes, is not at issue. The Examiner submits that merely embedding the metadata into a file does not convert it to an electronically interactive fillable form. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand there must be an entity that interprets the metadata and renders the fields as interactive controls. The specification implies that simply embedding metadata defining fillable fields into any file (e.g., PDFs, JPEGs, images) will convert it to an electronic fillable form. Applicant quotes the specification at [0057] while stating “this metadata is used to display the electronic form.” The specification provides no discussion of what “uses” (reads) the embedded metadata and renders the interactive fillable fields. The Examiner maintains that undue experimentation would be required to determine how to use the embedded metadata to render and display the interactive fillable fields (such as via an interpreter/engine/algorithm/compiler), therefore, the 112(a) rejection is maintained.
With respect to the 103 rejections, the amendments to the claims are pertaining to metadata including at least a name of the one or more fields based at least in part on the determined one or more text attributes.
As shown in the rejections below, the fillable form is generated with fillable region data which comprises metadata that defines the type of fillable region, such as text as well as fine-grained classification as a more specific type of text (i.e., “phone number”, “address”, “name”, or other “fine-grained labels/classification”) construed as a name of the one or more fields (Mehra, [0020], [0033], [0036], [0084], [0101]). Fine-grained classification is performed using text fields (text tokens) near candidate fields (region tokens) (Mehra, [0031], [0071]-[0078], [0084]-[0086], Figure 5).
Therefore, Mehra is maintained as disclosing metadata including at least a name of the one or more fields based at least in part on the determined one or more text attributes. See the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-15, and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly in claims 11 and 20), at least “displaying the structured form data as an electronically fillable form based on the metadata, with an indication of the identified one or more fields, and wherein at least one of the identified one or more fields is auto filled with the information relevant to the user based at least in part on the name of the one or more fields” does not appear enabled by the specification.
Specifically, the claims, and specification, appear to be making too great a leap from (1), generating metadata defining fields of a form to (2), displaying a structured form as electronically fillable. The specification indicates the existence of an application that can perform the process of Figure 5 “by calling APIs provided by the operating system and/or another application on the electronic device 102” or “without making any API calls to the operating system of the electronic device (Specification at [0043]).”
However, going from metadata to editable form fields would require undo experimentation, to create said applications or APIs, from one of ordinary skill in the art. The specification at [0058] goes on to state “[t]he metadata may be embedded into a file in association with the form data (e.g., the image of the form) to provide the form with structure thereby allowing the form to be filled or otherwise manipulated in a digital environment, such as across different applications and/or across different electronic devices.” This portion seems to imply that simply including metadata with an image of the form allows any application across any device to display an electronically fillable form, which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand is not the case.
The specification also makes reference to portable document format (PDF), but describes it as “lack[ing] digital structure and therefore may not include editable fields that can be filled electronically (specification at [0012])”. The specification then asserts “structured form data may include a fillable PDF in which a user may input data into defined, fillable fields of form data (specification at [0025])”.
However, again, explanation of how the metadata is used to create the fillable PDF is missing from the specification. Attached is a publication from Adobe describing metadata of PDF files as recent as September 23, 2025 (https://helpx.adobe.com/acrobat/desktop/edit-documents/edit-pdf-properties/pdf-properties.html). At most, Metadata of a PDF is described as including items such as creation date, modification date, basic information (title, author, subject, keywords), Security settings, Font information, Initial view settings, Custom properties, Description, and Initial View. Further described is “editing metadata doesn't alter the document's content.” Therefore, even according to Adobe, PDF metadata does not appear to be useable to create a fillable PDF.
In summary, the specification does not appear to disclose enough of an application or algorithm that is capable of interpreting/rendering the generated metadata and creating a structured form with interactive user interface fields without undo experimentation.
The Examiner submits the disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to make and use the invention including displaying the structured form data as an electronically fillable form based on the metadata, with an indication of the identified one or more fields, and wherein at least one of the identified one or more fields is auto filled with the information relevant to the user, without undo experimentation.
Dependent claims not mentioned inherit the deficiencies of their parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-15, 17-21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehra et al. (US 2023/0230404 A1, filed 01/18/2022, hereafter referred to as “Mehra”), and further in view of Vohra et al. (US 2015/0317296 A1, hereinafter “Vohra”).
Regarding claim 1, Mehra teaches a method comprising:
obtaining unstructured form data corresponding to a form, wherein the unstructured form data comprises one or more lines of text. More specifically, at block 902, a form is obtained (e.g., a digital form, construed as unstructured) (Mehra, [0105]). At block 904, when identifying a candidate fillable region, a visual machine learning model, or object detector, can analyze image features, such as a raw image (e.g., RGB image) and a linguistic image (e.g., image that represents text within a form) (Mehra, [0106]). At block 906, textual context indicating text from the form (“one or more lines of text of the form”) and spatial context indicating positions of the text within the form are obtained (Mehra, [0107]).
determining one or more text attributes of the one or more lines of text of the unstructured form data. More specifically, textual context (“text attributes”) generally refers to text in a form, and spatial context generally refers to positions or locations of text within the form (e.g., as identified via a bounding box or coordinates). Such textual context and spatial context can be identified or derived from the form (Mehra, [0107]).
identifying one or more fields of the unstructured form data based at least in part on the determined one or more text attributes. More specifically, at block 908, fillable region data associated with the candidate fillable region are generated, via a machine learning model, using the candidate fillable region, the textual context, and the spatial context. Advantageously, using the textual and spatial context in relation to the candidate fillable region provides a more accurate prediction of fillable region data (Mehra, [0108]).
transforming the unstructured form data into a structured form data representing the form by structuring the unstructured form data with the identified one or more fields, the structured form data enabling electronic interaction and computer-executed manipulation of the unstructured form data through the identified one or more fields, wherein the structured form data comprises metadata having information relevant to a user, wherein the metadata includes at least a name of the one or more fields based at least in part on the determined one or more text attributes; More specifically, Figures 8 and 9 depict the process starting with a form and generating a “fillable form” structured with “fillable region data”, construed as a structured data form (Mehra, [0104]-[0109]). Mehra explicitly states that the problem with prior art is that “there are many situations where there is no associated metadata that identifies a region as something to be filled in and/or that identifies the type of input data the region should accept” (Mehra, [0014]). The fillable form is generated with fillable region data which comprises metadata that defines the type of fillable region, such as text as well as fine-grained classification as a more specific type of text (i.e., “phone number”, “address”, “name”, or other “fine-grained labels/classification”) construed as a name of the one or more fields (Mehra, [0020], [0033], [0036], [0084], [0101]). Fine-grained classification is performed using text fields (text tokens) near candidate fields (region tokens) (Mehra, [0031], [0071]-[0078], [0084]-[0086], Figure 5).
displaying the structured form data as an electronically fillable form based on the metadata, with an indication of the identified one or more fields, …. More specifically, at block 910, a fillable form having one or more fillable regions for accepting input is automatically generated using the fillable region data which comprises metadata that identifies a region as something to be filled in and/or that identifies the type of input data the region should accept. In this regard, fillable regions can be created in a form for presenting to a user to input data into the fillable regions (Mehra, [0014], [0036], [0101], [0109]).
However, Mehra may not explicitly teach every aspect of
and wherein at least one of the identified one or more fields is auto filled with the information relevant to the user based at least in part of the name of the one or more fields.
Vohra discloses detecting, validating, and correlating form-fields in a scanned document. The method comprises displaying a plurality of interactive form-fields associated with a scanned document, wherein each interactive form-field in the plurality of form-fields is defined by a location in the document where one or more previous users entered information on the scanned document, and a data type for the entered information (Vohra, abstract). Metadata is stored with a document that includes at least a field table that defines at least coordinates for a bounding box of each entered field, a user profile characteristic, and data type of the data entered for each field (Vohra, [0027], [0039], Figure 1). When a document is requested for filling, this metadata is used with a current user’s account to auto-populate fields on the form (Vohra, [0033], [0052]-[0053]). Figure 10 depicts a field table with several form fields that have been identified from a scanned document, the user profile field names of the fields “First Name” and “Last Name” are used to auto-fill “Franklin” and “Smith”, respectively (Vohra, [0105]-[0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Mehra and Vohra that a method for transforming an unstructured form to a structured/fillable form using detected metadata about text and fields would include wherein at least one of the identified one or more fields is auto-filled with the information relevant to the user based on an identified field name. With Mehra and Vohra both disclosing presenting a fillable form using metadata with a scanned form, and with Vohra additionally disclosing using the metadata and user profile information to auto-populate fields of the fillable form based on an identified field name, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for transforming an unstructured form to a structured/fillable form using detected metadata about text and fields would include wherein at least one of the identified one or more fields is auto-filled with the information relevant to the user based on an identified field name in order to make filling out the form as easy and quick as possible. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for transforming an unstructured form to a structured/fillable form.
Regarding claim 2, Mehra and Vohra teach the method of claim 1, wherein the unstructured form data is obtained from at least one of an image or a scanned portable document format. More specifically, for an electronic form or document, fillable regions and data associated therewith can be identified and/or generated in an accurate and efficient manner (Mehra, [0002])). In some cases, an initiator will start with a paper document, digitize (e.g., scan, apply optical character recognition (OCR)) the paper document (Mehra, [0014]). In some cases the form is a PDF (Mehra, [0044]-[0045])
Regarding claim 3, Mehra and Vohra teach the method of claim 1, wherein the indication comprises a respective bounding box displayed around each of the identified one or more fields. More specifically, the fillable region identifier (e.g., via language model, such as a layout language model) may identify or generate visual features (e.g., using the bounding boxes of the candidate region(s) and/or words) (Mehra, [0068]). (See also Vohra, [0110], Figures 11B-11C).
Regarding claim 4, Mehra and Vohra teach the method of claim 1, wherein identifying the one or more fields comprises: generating a set of training data, wherein a training instance of the set of training data comprises a training text, a training field, and a training label including training text attributes; training an object detection model using the set of training data; and identifying, by the object detection model, the one or more fields. More specifically, data stored in data store 230 includes training data 232. Training data generally refers to data used to train a machine learning model, or portion thereof. As such, training data 262 can include images, image features, candidate fillable regions, textual context, spatial context, candidate region features, type of candidate region, and/or the like (Mehra, [0041]).
Regarding claim 5, Mehra and Vohra teach the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more text attributes comprise semantic information, wherein the semantic information includes one or more of punctuation, symbols, capitalization, or subject matter. More specifically, textual context includes a specific type/subject such as a phone number, an address, or a name (Mehra, [0033], [0075], “Patient” and “diagnosis”). (See also Vohra, references to field or data “type”).
Regarding claim 7, Mehra and Vohra teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: providing the unstructured form data to an application or a system process. More specifically, certain form filling or e-signature applications allow users to create fillable forms or digital documents (e.g., contracts) to be signed and/or otherwise filled with information (Mehra, [0014]). (See also Vohra, “e-reader application”, [0060], [0070]).
Regarding claim 8, Mehra and Vohra teach the method of claim 1, wherein the metadata is associated with at least one of the identified one or more fields, wherein the metadata further comprises one or more of a location in the structured form data, a font, a name, or an input type. More specifically, metadata describes fields of a form (Mehra, [0014]) including input types, positions or placements (Mehra, [0036], [0101]). (See also Vohra, using location and type information, in field table of metadata, to present the fillable form fields, [0026]).
Regarding claim 9, Mehra and Vohra teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: obtaining input data based on the metadata being associated with at least one of the identified one or more fields; and filling the at least one of the identified one or more fields with the input data. More specifically, metadata describes fields of a form (Mehra, [0014]) including input types, positions or placements (Mehra, [0036], [0101]). If types of input include checkboxes, radio-button groups, signatures, numeric, date, and text (Mehra, [0001], [0015], [0030], [0053], [0057]), then input into the fields will be according to the metadata.
Regarding claim 10, Mehra and Vohra teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating the metadata corresponding to the identified one or more fields; and storing the metadata in association with the structured form data. More specifically, metadata describes fields of a form (Mehra, [0014]) including input types, positions or placements (Mehra, [0036], [0101]). The Object Detector stores the identified fields and their input type (Mehra, [0018], [0040]-[0041], [0055]). (See also Vohra, Metadata is stored with a document that includes at least a field table that defines at least coordinates for a bounding box of each entered field, a user profile characteristic, and data type of the data entered for each field (Vohra, [0027], [0039], Figure 1).
Regarding claims 11-15 and 17-19 these claims recite the electronic device that performs the steps of the method of claims 1-5 and 7-9, respectively, therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 20, this claim recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium with instructions for performing the steps of the method of claim 1, therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 21, Mehra and Vohra teach the method of claim 1, wherein the unstructured form data represents the form and lacks digitally defined and editable fields. More specifically, the original scanned document lacks digitally defined and editable fields (Mehra, [0014]; Vohra, [0022]).
Regarding claim 23, Mehra and Vohra teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating the metadata based at least in part on a correspondence between a field label of the one or more lines of text and a first field of the identified one or more fields, wherein the name of the first field is based on the field label. More specifically, the fillable form is generated with fillable region data which comprises metadata that defines the type of fillable region, such as text as well as fine-grained classification as a more specific type of text (i.e., “phone number”, “address”, “name”, or other “fine-grained labels/classification”) construed as a name of the one or more fields (Mehra, [0020], [0033], [0036], [0084], [0101]). Fine-grained classification is performed using text fields (text tokens) near candidate fields (region tokens) (Mehra, [0031], [0071]-[0078], [0084]-[0086], Figure 5).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehra and Vohra, and further in view of Yu et al. (US 7,840,891 B1, hereinafter “Yu”).
Regarding claim 22, Mehra and Vohra teach the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more text attributes comprise geometric information. More specifically, textual context (“text attributes”) generally refers to text in a form, and spatial context generally refers to positions or locations of text within the form (e.g., as identified via a bounding box or coordinates). Such textual context and spatial context can be identified or derived from the form (Mehra, [0107]). (see also Vohra, location information, [0027], [0028], [0032]).
However, Mehra and Vohra may not explicitly teach every aspect of
the geometric information indicating a spatial orientation between the one or more lines of text of the form and the one or more fields of the form, and wherein the geometric information includes one or more of a line starting location, a line height, a line length, or a line spacing.
Yu discloses a method for presenting content in a form including extracting, from an open format for rendering the form, a plurality of elements on the form, identifying a plurality of contextual relationships between the plurality of elements based on their attributes, generating a representation of the form, wherein the representation that includes information about the plurality of contextual relationships, and presenting the content in the form based on the representation (Yu, abstract). Embodiments of the invention identify the text and editable field that is contextually related to the text and relate them. Using the connected context, presentation tools that assist the user in inputting data into the form may be developed, differences between generations of the form may be accounted for, and the form may be automatically reformatted (construed as restructured) so as to be more user-friendly (Yu, col 2, line 64 – col 3, line 3). Rules in the rule base specify types of elements that are related (Yu, col 4, lines 66-67). Certain rules may be considered both inclusion and exclusion rules depending on how the rule is specified. For example, an inclusion rule may state that if the difference between the location of two elements (i.e., vertical distance, horizontal distance, or diagonal distance) is within a pre-defined threshold, then the elements may be identified as related. Information indicating elements are related if they are “within a threshold distance on the same line” (e.g., text is determined to be “vertically in line with corresponding fields”) implies that at least the text line starting location, a line height, a line length, or a line spacing is determined as part of spatial orientation (Yu, col 5, lines 24-30; lines 50-60; col 12, line 59 - col 13, line 10;). Therefore, Yu analyzes a form to identify which text and which fields are related according to spatial orientation which implies determining text line starting location, a line height, a line length, or a line spacing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Mehra and Vohra with Yu that a method for transforming/restructuring a form using geometric information of elements would include the geometric information indicating a spatial orientation between the one or more lines of text of the form and the one or more fields of the form, and wherein the geometric information includes one or more of a line starting location, a line height, a line length, or a line spacing. With Mehra and Vohra with Yu disclosing transforming/restructuring a form using geometric information of elements, and with Yu additionally disclosing the determination of which text and field elements are related based on spatial orientation including distance on the same line or being vertically in line, construable is indications of at least one of line starting location, a line height, a line length, or a line spacing, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for transforming/restructuring a form using geometric information of elements would include the geometric information indicating a spatial orientation between the one or more lines of text of the form and the one or more fields of the form, and wherein the geometric information includes one or more of a line starting location, a line height, a line length, or a line spacing in order to present to the user the most accurate instructions for entering data in the fields as possible. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for transforming/restructuring a form using geometric information of elements.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehra and Vohra, and further in view of Garimella et al. (US 11,880,648 B2, hereinafter “Garimella”).
Regarding claim 24, Mehra and Vohra teach the method of claim 1, including a validation step where input in form fields is validated by comparing previous responses (Vohra, [0033]). However, Mehra and Vohra may not explicitly teach every aspect of
wherein the metadata comprises, for a first field of the identified one or more fields, an input validation requirement that constrains a format or content of input to the first field, the input validation requirement being determined based at least in part on subject matter of a line of text of the one or more lines of text, the subject matter being indicated by the determined one or more text attributes and the line of text corresponding to the first field, and wherein input to the first field is validated according to the input validation requirement.
Garimella discloses an example paper form digitization workflow, where an author scans a paper form, object detection is applied to detect fields, fillable field widgets are created, semantic labels are extracted, and the extracted semantic labels are assigned to the fillable field widgets (e.g., as field metadata). In some embodiments in which a semantic label represents a field type, assigning the semantic label to its field widget configures the field widget to accept only valid inputs of a corresponding data type (e.g., text, numeric, date, signature) and reject invalid inputs of a different data type (Garimella, col 1, lines 45-63). The process of extracting the semantic labels includes processing the context surrounding the field including textual and layout information in a vicinity of the field (Garimella, col 3, line 43 – col 4, line 3). The semantic labels can be a subject such as name, address, personal information, or even more fine-grained such as first name, last name, city, street, email, etc., but according to a hierarchy, are all associated with a data type of data accepted by the field's widget (e.g., text, numeric, date, checkbox, signature) (Garimella, col 9, lines 29-42, Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Mehra and Vohra with Garimella that a method for transforming a form into a fillable form using metadata generated from the form would include the metadata comprising an input validation requirement that constrains a format or content of input for each field based on lines of text corresponding to the fields. With Mehra and Vohra with Pennington disclosing transforming an image of a form to a fillable form, and with Mehra and Pennington disclosing the processes include determining metadata for the image of the form defining names of fields, and with Pennington additionally disclosing the determination of the names of the fields is based on nearby textual labels for the fields, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for transforming a form into a fillable form using metadata generated from the form would include the metadata comprising an input validation requirement that constrains a format or content of input for each field based on lines of text corresponding to the fields in order to simplify the authoring experience for digital forms (Garimella, col 1, lines 45-63). One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for transforming a form into a fillable form.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
D’Oria (US 2022/0012406 A1) - converting a form and displaying fillable fields in a form.
Grohs (US 12,373,631 B2) - converting a form and displaying fillable fields in a form.
Pennington (US 2016/0253303) - a computerized method for the processing and completion of form documents. A form processing engine receives the form from the user. The form processing engine captures and stores an image of the form and extracts field metadata from the form, specifically each field on the form by name, type, and position. A form completion engine then renders the captured image of the form and generates a field overlay which allows a user to enter information (Pennington, abstract). The field extraction engine will determine a field name, a field type, and a field position for each field in Step 212. Each of these is a type of field metadata. The field name may be determined by the text immediately preceding it (Pennington, [0039]-[0040]).
Sarkar (US 2019/0294661 A1) – identifying and displaying fillable fields in a form.
Navon (US 2010/0128922 A1) – converting a form and displaying fillable fields in a form with auto-completion.
Shetty (US 2017/0075873 A1) – determining fields of a form as metadata and generating and displaying suggestions for fillable fields.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK F RIEGLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171