DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 12-19 in the reply filed on 17 Dec. 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 15 recites “delivers it to the evaporator” where it is unclear what the antecedent of “it” is.
Claim 15 recites “delivers it to the outlet” where it is unclear what the antecedent of “it” is.
Double Patenting
Claims 12-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-10 of copending Application No. 18/374714 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 12 of copending Application No. 18/374714 has all the limitations of the pending application claim 12 and the dependent claims are similarly patentably indistinct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LePoudre US 2020/0063995 (hereafter Lepoudre).
Regarding claim 12, Lepoudre teaches apparatus for rejecting moisture from a desiccant solution and regenerating the desiccant solution for re-use (Fig 2), the apparatus comprising:
a desiccant recirculation system comprising an inlet (conduit from 182 to 153) for receiving a stream of desiccant solution containing moisture to be rejected, and an outlet (conduit from 155 to 183) for delivering a stream of regenerated desiccant solution (¶76-78);
an evaporator (108); and
a desiccant concentration control system (system comprising 152) which is connected to the recirculation system intermediate the inlet and outlet of the recirculation system (as shown in Fig 2 where the inlet of the desiccant recirculation system enters the control system and the outlet of the desiccant recirculation system exits the control system) and comprises a desiccant diluter part (part of electro-dialysis ¶59 producing water stream at 174) that is configured and arranged to receive at least a portion of the stream of desiccant solution containing moisture to be rejected and to dilute the same and supply a diluted stream (174) of desiccant to the evaporator, and a desiccant concentrator part (part of electro-dialysis ¶59 producing concentrated desiccant at C3 of ¶78) that is configured and arranged to increase the concentration of the desiccant solution in the recirculation system intermediate the desiccant concentration control system and the outlet, thereby to regenerate the desiccant solution that is supplied to the outlet,
wherein the evaporator is arranged to receive the diluted stream and to evaporate moisture therefrom (¶79).
Regarding claim 18, Lepoudre teaches a dehumidifier system (¶6) comprising a desiccant dehumidifier (106) which utilizes a desiccant solution (¶52, liquid desiccant) and the apparatus of claim 12 (where Lepoudre teaches all the limitations of claim 12 as detailed above) for rejecting moisture from the desiccant solution and regenerating the desiccant solution for re-use (¶67).
Regarding claim 19, Lepoudre teaches an air conditioning system (Fig 2) comprising the dehumidifier system of 18 (where Lepoudre teaches all the limitations of claim 18 as detailed above) and an air cooling device (108) which is configured and arranged to receive air exiting the dehumidifier system (¶72).
Claims 12-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woods et al. US 2020/0393145 (hereafter Woods).
Regarding claim 12, Woods teaches apparatus for rejecting moisture from a desiccant solution and regenerating the desiccant solution for re-use (Fig 2), the apparatus comprising:
a desiccant recirculation system (210, 224) comprising an inlet (216, 218) for receiving a stream of desiccant solution containing moisture to be rejected, and an outlet (220, 222) for delivering a stream of regenerated desiccant solution;
an evaporator (evaporator comprising 278); and
a desiccant concentration control system (202) which is connected to the recirculation system intermediate the inlet and outlet of the recirculation system (as shown in Fig 2 where the inlet of the desiccant recirculation system enters the control system and the outlet of the desiccant recirculation system exits the control system) and comprises a desiccant diluter part (part between membranes 254 and 256; part between membranes 258 and 260) that is configured and arranged to receive at least a portion (216, 218 portions) of the stream of desiccant solution containing moisture to be rejected and to dilute the same and supply a diluted stream (224) of desiccant to the evaporator, and a desiccant concentrator part (part between membranes 252 and 254; part between membranes 256 and 258; part between membranes 260 and 262) that is configured and arranged to increase the concentration of the desiccant solution in the recirculation system intermediate the desiccant concentration control system and the outlet, thereby to regenerate the desiccant solution that is supplied to the outlet,
wherein the evaporator is arranged to receive the diluted stream and to evaporate moisture therefrom (¶83).
Regarding claim 13, Woods teaches all the limitations of claim 12. Woods further teaches wherein the desiccant concentration control system integrates the desiccant diluter part and the desiccant concentrator part, comprising a combined diluter-concentrator device (202) having a first diluter portion (portion between membranes 254 and 256), which is arranged to receive and dilute the at least a portion of the stream of desiccant solution containing moisture to be rejected, and a first concentrator portion (portion between membranes 256 and 258), which is arranged to receive and concentrate at least a portion of the diluted desiccant stream from the evaporator, thereby to regenerate the desiccant solution; wherein the combined diluter-concentrator device is adapted to transport water and/or desiccant ions between the diluter and concentrator portions (¶98).
Regarding claim 14, Woods teaches all the limitations of claim 13. Woods further teaches wherein the combined diluter-concentrator device comprises at least one reverse osmosis device (¶80-98).
Regarding claim 15, Woods teaches all the limitations of claim 13. Woods further teaches wherein the combined diluter-concentrator device is connected with the recirculation system such that first diluter portion (portion between membranes 254 and 256) receives the stream of desiccant solution containing moisture to be rejected from the inlet (via 216) and delivers it to the evaporator (via 220), and the first concentrator portion (portion between membranes 256 and 258) receives the diluted desiccant stream from the evaporator (via 232) and delivers it to the outlet (via 238).
Regarding claim 16, Woods teaches all the limitations of claim 13. Woods further teaches wherein the desiccant concentration control system comprises a further recirculation system (system comprising 224) for circulating dilute desiccant solution from the first diluter portion (portion between membranes 254 and 256) to the first concentrator portion (portion between membranes 256 and 258) via the evaporator (evaporator comprising 278); wherein the first diluter portion is arranged to receive a portion of the stream of desiccant solution containing moisture to be rejected from the recirculation system (via 216) and to deliver dilute desiccant solution to the further recirculation system (via 220); and the first concentrator portion (portion between membranes 256 and 258) is arranged to receive dilute desiccant solution (via 232) from the evaporator (via 224) and deliver concentrated desiccant to the recirculation system (via 238).
Regarding claim 18, Woods teaches a dehumidifier system (¶6) comprising a desiccant dehumidifier (dehumidifier comprising membrane 274) which utilizes a desiccant solution (¶6 liquid desiccant) and the apparatus of claim 12 (where Woods teaches all the limitations of claim 12 as detailed above) for rejecting moisture from the desiccant solution and regenerating the desiccant solution for re-use (¶75).
Claims 12-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chretien FR 2703441 published 7 Oct. 1994 as translated by EPO (hereafter Chretien).
Regarding claim 12, Chretien teaches apparatus for rejecting moisture from a desiccant solution and regenerating the desiccant solution for re-use (Fig 1), the apparatus comprising:
a desiccant recirculation system (8, 4) comprising an inlet (right branch of 8 into regenerator 9) for receiving a stream of desiccant solution containing moisture to be rejected, and an outlet (4) for delivering a stream of regenerated desiccant solution;
an evaporator (11); and
a desiccant concentration control system (9) which is connected to the recirculation system intermediate the inlet and outlet of the recirculation system (as shown in Fig 1 where the inlet of the desiccant recirculation system enters the control system and the outlet of the desiccant recirculation system exits the control system) and comprises a desiccant diluter part (left part of electro-dialysis 9 producing water stream at 10) that is configured and arranged to receive at least a portion of the stream of desiccant solution containing moisture to be rejected and to dilute the same and supply a diluted stream (10) of desiccant to the evaporator, and a desiccant concentrator part (left part of electro-dialysis 9 producing concentrated desiccant 4) that is configured and arranged to increase the concentration of the desiccant solution in the recirculation system intermediate the desiccant concentration control system and the outlet, thereby to regenerate the desiccant solution that is supplied to the outlet,
wherein the evaporator is arranged to receive the diluted stream and to evaporate moisture therefrom (¶6 on page 3).
Regarding claim 13, Chretien teaches all the limitations of claim 12. Chretien further teaches wherein the desiccant concentration control system integrates the desiccant diluter part and the desiccant concentrator part, comprising a combined diluter-concentrator device (9) having a first diluter portion (left portion of device 9), which is arranged to receive and dilute the at least a portion of the stream of desiccant solution containing moisture to be rejected, and a first concentrator portion (right portion of device 9), which is arranged to receive and concentrate at least a portion of the diluted desiccant stream from the evaporator, thereby to regenerate the desiccant solution; wherein the combined diluter-concentrator device is adapted to transport water and/or desiccant ions between the diluter and concentrator portions (¶6 on page 3).
Regarding claim 14, Chretien teaches all the limitations of claim 13. Chretien further teaches wherein the combined diluter-concentrator device comprises at least one reverse osmosis device (¶6).
Regarding claim 15, Chretien teaches all the limitations of claim 13. Chretien further teaches wherein the combined diluter-concentrator device is connected with the recirculation system such that first diluter portion (left portion of device 9) receives the stream of desiccant solution containing moisture to be rejected from the inlet (via 8) and delivers it to the evaporator (via 10), and the first concentrator portion (right portion of device 9) receives the diluted desiccant stream from the evaporator (via 7) and delivers it to the outlet (4).
Regarding claim 18, Chretien teaches a dehumidifier system (¶4) comprising a desiccant dehumidifier (3) which utilizes a desiccant solution (solution 4) and the apparatus of claim 12 (where Chretien teaches all the limitations of claim 12 as detailed above) for rejecting moisture from the desiccant solution and regenerating the desiccant solution for re-use (¶4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woods et al. US 2020/0393145 (hereafter Woods) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of LePoudre US 2020/0063995 (hereafter Lepoudre).
Regarding claim 19, Woods teaches an air conditioning system (¶6) comprising the dehumidifier system of 18 (where Woods teaches all the limitations of claim 18 as detailed above).
Woods does not teach where and an air cooling device which is configured and arranged to receive air exiting the dehumidifier system.
Lepoudre teaches an air conditioning system (Fig 2) comprising the dehumidifier system of 18 (where Lepoudre teaches all the limitations of claim 18 as detailed above) and an air cooling device (108) which is configured and arranged to receive air exiting the dehumidifier system (¶72) in order to provide dehumidified cooled air (¶15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system (¶6) of Woods by incorporating the air cooling device (108) of Lepoudre in order to provide dehumidified cooled air (¶15).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chretien FR 2703441 published 7 Oct. 1994 as translated by EPO (hereafter Chretien) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of LePoudre US 2020/0063995 (hereafter Lepoudre).
Regarding claim 19, Chretien teaches an air conditioning system (¶4) comprising the dehumidifier system of 18 (where Chretien teaches all the limitations of claim 18 as detailed above).
Chretien does not teach where and an air cooling device which is configured and arranged to receive air exiting the dehumidifier system.
Lepoudre teaches an air conditioning system (Fig 2) comprising the dehumidifier system of 18 (where Lepoudre teaches all the limitations of claim 18 as detailed above) and an air cooling device (108) which is configured and arranged to receive air exiting the dehumidifier system (¶72) in order to provide dehumidified cooled air (¶15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system (¶4) of Chretien by incorporating the air cooling device (108) of Lepoudre in order to provide dehumidified cooled air (¶15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 17, the closest prior art is LePoudre US 2020/0063995, Woods US 2020/0393145, and Chretien FR 2703441.
Lepoudre teaches an apparatus for rejecting moisture from a desiccant solution (Fig 2) comprising a desiccant recirculation system comprising an inlet (conduit from 182 to 153), an evaporator (108), and a desiccant concentration control system (system comprising 152).
Woods teaches apparatus for rejecting moisture from a desiccant solution (Fig 2) comprising a desiccant recirculation system (210, 224), an evaporator (evaporator comprising 278), and a desiccant concentration control system (202).
Chretien teaches apparatus for rejecting moisture from a desiccant solution (Fig 1) comprising a desiccant recirculation system (8, 4), an evaporator (11), and a desiccant concentration control system (9).
The prior art does not teach the second diluter portion, second concentrator portion, and auxiliary fluid circulation system as claimed.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN HOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1776