DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejections (Remarks pp. 6-10) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 (Remarks pp. 10-14) rejections are moot in view of the Examiner’s new ground of rejections based on added references to address applicant’s amendments.
Written Description
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With respect to Claims 1, 11, and 16’s “respective fixed slots of the elements of the dispatch queue,” Applicant stated that support for the amendments to the claims could be found in paragraphs 7 and 23 of the specification (Remarks p. 8). However, these paragraphs do not provide support for the amended limitation.
Within paragraphs 7 and 23, the closest disclosure that the Examiner could find is:
“dispatch circuitry includes a dispatch queue that outputs received elements based on insertion order in a fixed manner,” ¶ 0007,
“In response to identifying an element, arbitration circuit 202 requests the identified element from dispatch queue 206 via slot request 320 and sends a received element from slot response 322 as part of element response 222. In some implementations, the priorities of arbitration circuit 202 correspond to respective slots of dispatch queue 206,” ¶ 0023,
Note, although according to ¶ 0023, the priorities of arbitration circuit 202 correspond to respective slots of dispatch queue 206, it does not mean that the slots are “fixed slots”. In addition, the meaning of the term “fixed slots… of the dispatch queues” is also unclear. Clarification from Applicant is requested.
All the dependent claims are also rejected, because they inherit the identified deficiency.
The Examiner recommends Applicant clarify the interpretation of the key claim term “fixed slot” and provide support for the amendment.
All the independent claims recite a similar limitation and all the dependent claims inherit the deficiency. Therefore, all the claims are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-12, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartog (EP 2791795 B1) in view of Havlir (US 20230050061 A1) and Auslander (US 20050251806 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hartog teaches a system comprising:
a dispatch queue configured to store elements to be executed by shader circuitry (
Hartog discloses, “In one example, a subset of work-items in a workgroup that execute simultaneously together on a single SIMD engine can be referred to as a wavefront 136. The width of a wavefront is a characteristic of the hardware SIMD engine. As referred to herein, a workgroup is a collection of related work-items that execute on a single compute unit,” ¶ 0034, “To efficiently process data from multiple compute inputs, arbitration occurs between pipeline queues within compute pipelines CS P0 - CS P7, as illustrated in greater detail in FIG. 3. More specifically, arbitration policies in accordance with embodiments of the present invention allocate APD resources among the multiple pipeline inputs. A shader input block (SPI) 202 provides an arbitration scheme for submitting wavefronts between compute pipelines CS P0 - CS P7 and graphics pipeline 204. Wave dispatchers 206 are connected from two compute pipelines alternate to forward the wavefronts to shader core 208. Shader core 208 executes the wavefronts,” ¶ 0074.
The claimed “dispatch queue” is mapped to the disclosed “pipeline queue” that stores wavefronts (elements) that will be executed by a “shader core”.
The claimed “elements” is mapped to the disclosed “work-items” that comprise a wavefront. Said wavefronts are stored in the pipeline queue. This is illustrated by FIG. 2 of Hartog, which shows the compute pipelines CS P0 through CS P7 that store the wavefronts that consist of work-items before they are sent to the shader core 208.
The claimed “shader circuitry” is mapped to the disclosed “shader core”.);
and an arbitration circuit configured to store (
Hartog discloses, “To efficiently process data from multiple compute inputs, arbitration occurs between pipeline queues within compute pipelines CS P0 - CS P7, as illustrated in greater detail in FIG. 3. More specifically, arbitration policies in accordance with embodiments of the present invention allocate APD resources among the multiple pipeline inputs. A shader input block (SPI) 202 provides an arbitration scheme for submitting wavefronts between compute pipelines CS P0 - CS P7 and graphics pipeline 204,” ¶ 0074, and “For example, HWS 128 supports scheduling techniques applied to RLC 150, based upon priority level, or based on other arbitration scheduling criteria,” ¶ 0076.
The claimed “arbitration circuit” is mapped to the circuitry that contains the disclosed “pipeline queues” where arbitration occurs. Here, wavefronts (elements) are scheduled for execution by the shader core based on arbitration policies.).
Hartog does not teach an arbitration circuit configured to store a plurality of priority indicators arranged as a bit mask indicating priority levels corresponding to respective fixed slots of the elements of the dispatch queue, wherein the arbitration circuit is configured to schedule the elements of the dispatch queue for execution at the shader circuitry based on the plurality of priority indicators in the bit mask.
However, Havlir teaches an arbitration circuit configured to store a plurality of priority indicators elements of the dispatch queue, wherein the arbitration circuit is configured to schedule the elements of the dispatch queue for execution at the shader circuitry based on the plurality of priority indicators (
Havlir discloses, “Each sub-unit 220 may include multiple shaders that accept work from distributed slots in the sub-unit and use pipelines to execute the work. For example, each shader may include a queue for each distributed hardware slot and may select work from among the queues based on work priority,” ¶ 0049,
“The control circuitry may select the first and second distribution rules based on amounts of work in the first and second sets of graphics work. The control circuitry may determine the first distribution rule based on one or more software overrides signaled by a graphics program being executed. These may include any appropriate combination of the following types of example software overrides: mask information that indicates which sub-units are available to the first set of work, a specified distribution rule, group information that indicates a group of sub-units on which the first set of work should be deployed, and policy information that indicates a scheduling policy. … The control circuitry may allow a logical slot with a first priority level to reclaim a hardware slot that is assigned to a logical slot with a second, lower priority level, based on one or more of the respective hold values,” ¶ 0195.
Havlir also teaches an “arbitration circuit” in the form of disclosed “control circuitry” that manages fixed logical slots with different priority levels.
The claimed “priority indicators” is mapped to the disclosed “priority levels” associated with the logical slots. The priority levels can indicate which logical slots will be assigned to the hardware slots for work.
The disclosed “control circuitry” schedules the elements for execution based on the work priority indicated by the priority levels.).
Hartog and Havlir are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer task scheduling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog to incorporate the teachings of Havlir and provide an arbitration circuit configured to store a plurality of priority indicators corresponding to respective elements of the dispatch queue, wherein the arbitration circuit is configured to schedule the elements of the dispatch queue for execution at the shader circuitry based on the plurality of priority indicators. Doing so would help ensure that elements with a higher priority are selected first (Havlir discloses, “In some embodiments, low-priority logical slots are not allowed to reclaim hardware slots from high-priority logical slots unless there is no chance that a high-priority logical slot will use them,” ¶ 0134.).
Hartog in view of Havlir does not teach that the plurality of priority indicators are arranged as a bit mask indicating priority levels corresponding to respective fixed slots of the elements of the dispatch queue, and that the plurality of priority indicators are in the bit mask.
However, Auslander teaches that the plurality of priority indicators are arranged as a bit mask indicating priority levels corresponding to respective fixed slots of the elements of the dispatch queue, and that the plurality of priority indicators are in the bit mask (
Table of Auslander ¶ 0048.
Auslander discloses, “For process-context code (as opposed to interrupt handlers, which are discussed below), the policy manager 130 supplies the hypervisor 110 with a scheduling list, each element of which contains a process identifier and a bitmask indicating slots and a priority. The hypervisor 110 uses the information in the list when making scheduling decisions,” ¶ 0042, and “Note that the hypervisor 110 will preferably convert the foregoing list into one or more data structures that are more suitable for efficient internal use (e.g., by allowing the hypervisor to quickly implement the context switches required whenever the process run queues change according to the slot assignments),” ¶ 0045.
Here, a list of priority indicators are arranged in a bitmask indicating timeslots and priority levels. The list is then converted into a data structure by the hypervisor, where each slot position of the data structure is fixed with number label to be dispatched temporally in accordance (a fixed slot for each position).
After the combination of Hartog in view of Havlir, with Auslander, the control circuitry from Hartog in view of Havlir is now configured to have its priority indicators arranged inside a bit mask, wherein each position slot is fixed, as specified by Auslander.).
Hartog in view of Havlir, and Auslander are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer task scheduling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog in view of Havlir to incorporate the teachings of Auslander and provide that the plurality of priority indicators are arranged as a bit mask indicating priority levels corresponding to respective fixed slots of the elements of the dispatch queue, and that the plurality of priority indicators are in the bit mask. Doing so would help allow for faster and more efficient lookup of the priority indicators by accessing the bit mask data structure, compared with a more complex data structure such as an array list or hashmap (Auslander discloses, “Note that the hypervisor 110 will preferably convert the foregoing list into one or more data structures that are more suitable for efficient internal use…,” ¶ 0045.).
Regarding Claim 2, Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander teaches the system of claim 1, wherein scheduling the elements of the dispatch queue for execution comprises, in response to receiving a particular priority corresponding to a particular element, identifying a next element to be sent to the shader circuitry (
Hartog discloses, “At step 506, the queue arbiter at the top of the compute pipeline signals a respective CP ME 301 thread to stop on the next packet boundary when the arbiter determines a better queue is ready for processing. If it is determined that a better queue is not available, the processes continues at step 508,” ¶ 0084, and “As illustrated in FIG. 6, for each priority level, the compute pipeline maintains a last queue executed scoreboard. A return to that priority level will process the next ready queue. If only one queue is ready in a priority level, it will resume,” ¶ 0089.
The claimed “next element” is mapped to the element contained in the disclosed “next ready queue”.
Here, the next ready queue is identified for its element to be sent for execution, in response to a priority level, associated with the queue, being received.).
Regarding Claim 3, Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander teaches the system of claim 2, wherein identifying the next element to be sent to the shader circuitry is performed prior to receiving a corresponding request for the next element to be sent to the shader circuitry (
Hartog discloses, “At step 506, the queue arbiter at the top of the compute pipeline signals a respective CP ME 301 thread to stop on the next packet boundary when the arbiter determines a better queue is ready for processing. If it is determined that a better queue is not available, the processes continues at step 508,” ¶ 0084, “At step 514, the state of the previous queue is scheduled to be saved and prefetched data is scheduled to be discarded. The CP ME can release the fetcher to select the next queue for processing,” ¶ 0087, and “As illustrated in FIG. 6, for each priority level, the compute pipeline maintains a last queue executed scoreboard. A return to that priority level will process the next ready queue. If only one queue is ready in a priority level, it will resume,” ¶ 0089.
The claimed “next element” is the element contained in the disclosed “next ready queue”.
The claimed “corresponding request” is mapped to the disclosed “signal” made by the queue arbiter to a respective “CP ME 301 thread” to stop on the next packet boundary to request a better queue for processing if ready. This leads to the next ready queue being selected for processing.
Here, the next ready queue is identified for its element to be sent for execution, prior to the next ready queue being selected in order for its element to be sent for processing. This is illustrated in steps 506 through 514 in FIG. 5 of Hartog.).
Regarding Claim 5, Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander teaches the system of claim 1, wherein scheduling the elements stored within the fixed slots of the dispatch queue for execution comprises scheduling at least one element having a second priority in response to scheduling a threshold number of elements having a first priority, wherein the second priority is a lower priority than the first priority (
Havlir discloses, “As briefly discussed above, different logical slots may have different priority levels, e.g., as specified by software. In some embodiments, on a given mGPU, a subset of hardware slots are reserved for logical slots that meets a threshold priority (e.g., higher priority slots in a system with two priority levels),” ¶ 0131.
Here, for the set of logical slots, at least two priority levels exist, where one priority level is higher than the other, lower priority. If all the higher-level priority slots are taken, then an element will be scheduled on a slot with lower priority.
After the combination of Hartog in view of Havlir, with Auslander, these logical slots are fixed as specified by Auslander.).
Hartog and Havlir are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer task scheduling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog to incorporate the teachings of Havlir and provide wherein scheduling the elements stored within the slots of the dispatch queue for execution comprises scheduling at least one element having a second priority in response to scheduling a threshold number of elements having a first priority, wherein the second priority is a lower priority than the first priority. Doing so would help ensure that higher priority tasks will be selected first in order to improve the efficiency of scheduling (Havlir discloses, “In some embodiments, on a given mGPU, a subset of hardware slots are reserved for logical slots that meets a threshold priority (e.g., higher priority slots in a system with two priority levels),” ¶ 0131.).
Hartog in view of Havlir, and Auslander are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer task scheduling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog in view of Havlir to incorporate the teachings of Auslander and provide that the slots of the dispatch queue are fixed. Doing so would help ensure that the location of each slot of the dispatch queue is constant, therefore allowing for more efficient read and write options for the slots without the risk of the slot locations changing.
Regarding Claim 6, Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of priority indicators are identifiers of respective processes that correspond to the elements (
Havlir discloses, “FIG. 19B is a diagram illustrating example tracking and status data per tracking slot, according to some embodiments. In the illustrated embodiment, circuitry 1920 maintains the following information for each tracking slot: identifier, status, data identification, dependencies, run data, and configuration. Each of these example fields is discussed in detail below. In some embodiments, the status and run data fields are read-only by software and the other fields are software configurable,” ¶ 0171.
Here, each slot associated with a priority level also identifies a process (consisting of associated data such as data identification, dependencies, run data, and status) that corresponds to the slot.).
Hartog and Havlir are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer task scheduling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog to incorporate the teachings of Havlir and provide wherein the plurality of priority indicators are identifiers of respective processes that correspond to the elements. Doing so would help provide more information regarding the processes to the user, in order to make more informed decisions based on the information. (Havlir discloses, “In the illustrated embodiment, circuitry 1920 maintains the following information for each tracking slot: identifier, status, data identification, dependencies, run data, and configuration,” ¶ 0171.).
Regarding Claim 8, Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the arbitration circuit is further configured to store a second plurality of priority indicators, and wherein scheduling the elements of the dispatch queue for execution comprises selecting, based on a priority selection signal, between an element indicated by the plurality of priority indicators and an element indicated by the second plurality of priority indicators (
Havlir discloses, “At 1130, in the illustrated embodiment, DRA 620 first determines if the request is for a low or high priority logical slot and operates accordingly. Note that other granularities of priority may be supported in other embodiments. For a low-priority requestor, the DRA 620 generates a do_set of slots which are slots in allowed_set with a medium hold value that are owned by a low-priority logical slot,” ¶ 0119,
“For a high-priority requestor, the DRA 620 generates a do_set of slots which are slots in allowed_set with a medium hold value that are owned by a high-priority logical slot,” ¶ 0120,
“FIG. 13 is a block diagram illustrating a number of hardware slots of an mGPU. In some embodiments, one or more dSlots (shown in solid black in FIG. 13) are reserved for high priority logical slots and one or more dSlots (shown with horizontal shading in FIG. 13) are available to all logical slots (and are the only hardware slots available to low-priority logical slots),” ¶ 0132.
The claimed “priority selection signal” is mapped to the disclosed “request” for a logical slot, which can be a low or high-priority logical slot, given that the claimed “priority indicator” is mapped to “priority level” of the slots.
Here, there are two different types of dSlots, one type associated with high priority logical slots and one type associated with low priority logical slots.).
Hartog and Havlir are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer task scheduling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog to incorporate the teachings of Havlir and provide wherein the arbitration circuit is further configured to store a second plurality of priority indicators, and wherein scheduling the elements of the dispatch queue for execution comprises selecting, based on a priority selection signal, between an element indicated by the plurality of priority indicators and an element indicated by the second plurality of priority indicators. Doing so would help ensure that higher priority tasks will be selected first in order to improve the efficiency of scheduling (Havlir discloses, “In some embodiments, on a given mGPU, a subset of hardware slots are reserved for logical slots that meets a threshold priority (e.g., higher priority slots in a system with two priority levels),” ¶ 0131.).
Regarding Claim 9, Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the priority selection signal is indicative of availability of a hardware circuit (
Havlir discloses, “Sub-units 220, in some embodiments, are scaling units that may be replicated to increase the processing capabilities of a GPU. Each GPU sub-unit 220 may be capable of independently processing instructions of a graphics program. Sub-units 220, in the illustrated embodiment, include circuitry that implements respective distributed hardware slots 230. These hardware slots may also be referred to herein as ‘dSlots.’ Each sub-unit may include multiple hardware slots 230. Sub-units may also be referred to herein as “mGPUs.” In some embodiments, primary control circuitry 210 assigns work from a logical slot to at most one distributed hardware slot in each sub-unit 220. In some embodiments, each sub-unit includes fragment generator circuitry, shader core circuitry configured to execute shader programs, memory system circuitry (which may include one or more caches and a memory management unit), geometry processing circuitry, and distributed workload distribution circuitry (which may coordinate with primary control circuitry 210 to distribute work to shader pipelines)” ¶ 0048,
“At 1130, in the illustrated embodiment, DRA 620 first determines if the request is for a low or high priority logical slot and operates accordingly. Note that other granularities of priority may be supported in other embodiments,” ¶ 0119,
and “At 1140, in the illustrated embodiment, DRA 620 adds slots to the do_set that are in the allowed_set, have a high hold value, and belong to a logical slot with a lower priority and lower age. DRA 620 finds dSlots in both the flushing_set and updated do_set. If these dSlots are sufficient to service the request, DRA 620 reclaims those dSlots and begins the cache flush invalidate for those dSlots. If not, it may cancel reclaim and restart arbitration,” ¶ 0121.
The claimed “hardware circuit” is mapped to the overall circuitry that implements the sub-units, which includes “circuitry that implements respective distributed hardware slots 230”, which are also referred to as “dSlots”. Here, the request for a logical slot (claimed “priority selection signal”) indicates the availability of the “dSlots” that the logical slots can reclaim, because the request is made when the dSlots are sufficient to service the request, otherwise the reclaim request would have been canceled.).
Hartog and Havlir are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer task scheduling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog to incorporate the teachings of Havlir and provide wherein the priority selection signal is indicative of availability of a hardware circuit. Doing so would help allow using the improved efficiency and performance of a dedicated hardware circuit (Havlir discloses, “FIG. 13 is a block diagram illustrating a number of hardware slots of an mGPU. In some embodiments, one or more dSlots (shown in solid black in FIG. 13) are reserved for high priority logical slots…,” ¶ 0132.).
Regarding Claim 10, Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the hardware circuit is a memory circuit or the shader circuitry (
Havlir discloses, “Sub-units 220, in some embodiments, are scaling units that may be replicated to increase the processing capabilities of a GPU. Each GPU sub-unit 220 may be capable of independently processing instructions of a graphics program. Sub-units 220, in the illustrated embodiment, include circuitry that implements respective distributed hardware slots 230. These hardware slots may also be referred to herein as ‘dSlots.’ Each sub-unit may include multiple hardware slots 230. Sub-units may also be referred to herein as “mGPUs.” In some embodiments, primary control circuitry 210 assigns work from a logical slot to at most one distributed hardware slot in each sub-unit 220. In some embodiments, each sub-unit includes fragment generator circuitry, shader core circuitry configured to execute shader programs, memory system circuitry (which may include one or more caches and a memory management unit), geometry processing circuitry, and distributed workload distribution circuitry (which may coordinate with primary control circuitry 210 to distribute work to shader pipelines).” ¶ 0048.
This means that the circuitry implementing the dSlots are part of each sub-unit, and each sub-unit also includes memory system circuitry and shader core circuitry. This means that the overall circuitry of the sub-units is also a memory circuit or a shader circuit.).
Hartog and Havlir are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer task scheduling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog to incorporate the teachings of Havlir and provide wherein the hardware circuit is a memory circuit or the shader circuitry. Doing so would help allow using the improved efficiency and performance of a dedicated hardware memory circuit (Havlir discloses, “FIG. 13 is a block diagram illustrating a number of hardware slots of an mGPU. In some embodiments, one or more dSlots (shown in solid black in FIG. 13) are reserved for high priority logical slots…,” ¶ 0132.).
Regarding Claim 11, Hartog teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, at an arbitration circuit, (
Hartog discloses, “As discussed above, hardware scheduler HWS 128 is configured to select a scheduled process from RLC 150 for execution on the APD, For example, HWS 128 supports scheduling techniques applied to RLC 150, based upon priority level, or based on other arbitration scheduling criteria. Additionally, KMD 110, together with SWS 112, can perform scheduling of processes to be executed on the APD. The OS SWS 112, for example, can include logic to maintain a prioritized list of processes to be executed on APD 200 as a result of arbitration,” ¶ 0076.);
sorting priorities (
Hartog discloses, “The pipes can order the queues from zero to seven, and at reset the previous queue will be set to seven, resulting in Q0 .fwdarw. Q7 as the native ordering. If Q0, Q3, Q7 become ready with a queue priority 7 at a quantum enabled just after reset, the queues would process in the following order Q0, Q3, Q7, Q0 etc. If Q5 showed up with the same queue priority level (7), it would get executed after Q3 and before Q7 during the next cycle,” ¶ 0090.
Here, the queues are ordered by number, and then processed in an order based on queue priority level, which is essentially sorting the priorities such that the queues associated with the greater priorities are executed first.);
and in response to a request for an element, providing a next element indicated by the sorted priorities (
Hartog discloses, “At step 506, the queue arbiter at the top of the compute pipeline signals a respective CP ME 301 thread to stop on the next packet boundary when the arbiter determines a better queue is ready for processing. If it is determined that a better queue is not available, the processes continues at step 508,” ¶ 0084, and “As illustrated in FIG. 6, for each priority level, the compute pipeline maintains a last queue executed scoreboard. A return to that priority level will process the next ready queue. If only one queue is ready in a priority level, it will resume,” ¶ 0089.
The claimed “next element” is mapped to the element contained in the disclosed “next ready queue”.
Here, the next ready queue is identified for its element to be sent for execution, in response to a priority level, associated with the queue, being received. According to FIG. 5, specifically step 514, this is done in order of the sorted priorities from highest to lowest.).
Hartog does not teach receiving an indication of a priority of an element to be executed by shader circuitry, that the element is stored at a fixed slot of a plurality of fixed slots of a dispatch queue or that the priorities are arranged as a bit mask, wherein the priorities are in the bit mask.
However, Havlir teaches receiving an indication of a priority of an element to be executed by shader circuitry (
Havlir discloses, “each shader may include a queue for each distributed hardware slot and may select work from among the queues based on work priority,” ¶ 0049,
“The control circuitry may determine the first distribution rule based on one or more software overrides signaled by a graphics program being executed. These may include any appropriate combination of the following types of example software overrides: mask information that indicates which sub-units are available to the first set of work, a specified distribution rule, group information that indicates a group of sub-units on which the first set of work should be deployed, and policy information that indicates a scheduling policy,” ¶ 0195.).
Hartog and Havlir are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer task scheduling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog to incorporate the teachings of Havlir and provide receiving an indication of a priority of an element to be executed by shader circuitry. Doing so would help improve efficiency of the scheduling (Havlir discloses, “In various embodiments, the disclosed techniques may advantageously avoid non-deterministic flushing behavior, improve cache efficiency, or both,” ¶ 0141.).
Hartog in view of Havlir does not teach that the element is stored at a fixed slot of a plurality of fixed slots of a dispatch queue or that the priorities are arranged as a bit mask, wherein the priorities are in the bit mask.
However, Auslander teaches that the element is stored at a fixed slot of a plurality of fixed slots of a dispatch queue or that the priorities are arranged as a bit mask, wherein the priorities are in the bit mask (
Table of Auslander ¶ 0048.
Auslander discloses, “For process-context code (as opposed to interrupt handlers, which are discussed below), the policy manager 130 supplies the hypervisor 110 with a scheduling list, each element of which contains a process identifier and a bitmask indicating slots and a priority. The hypervisor 110 uses the information in the list when making scheduling decisions,” ¶ 0042, and “Note that the hypervisor 110 will preferably convert the foregoing list into one or more data structures that are more suitable for efficient internal use (e.g., by allowing the hypervisor to quickly implement the context switches required whenever the process run queues change according to the slot assignments),” ¶ 0045.
Here, a list of priority indicators are arranged in a bitmask indicating timeslots and priority levels. The list is then converted into a data structure by the hypervisor, where each position of the data structure is fixed (a fixed slot for each position).
After the combination of Hartog in view of Havlir, with Auslander, the control circuitry from Hartog in view of Havlir is now configured to have its priority indicators arranged inside a bit mask, wherein each position slot is fixed, as specified by Auslander.).
Hartog in view of Havlir, and Auslander are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer task scheduling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog in view of Havlir to incorporate the teachings of Auslander and provide that the plurality of priority indicators are arranged as a bit mask indicating priority levels corresponding to respective fixed slots of the elements of the dispatch queue, and that the plurality of priority indicators are in the bit mask. Doing so would help allow for faster and more efficient lookup of the priority indicators by accessing the bit mask data structure, compared with a more complex data structure such as an array list or hashmap (Auslander discloses, “Note that the hypervisor 110 will preferably convert the foregoing list into one or more data structures that are more suitable for efficient internal use…,” ¶ 0045.).
Regarding Claim 12, Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the priority indicates that the element has a first priority and wherein a second element currently stored at a second fixed slot of the plurality of fixed slots of the dispatch queue has a second priority (
Havlir discloses, “Each distributed hardware slot may include various circuitry configured to process an assigned kick or portion thereof, including configuration registers, a work queue, circuitry configured to iterate through work in the queue (e.g., batches of compute workitems), circuitry to sequence context loads/stores, and work distribution tracking circuitry. Each sub-unit 220 may include multiple shaders that accept work from distributed slots in the sub-unit and use pipelines to execute the work,” ¶ 0049, and “The control circuitry may allow a logical slot with a first priority level to reclaim a hardware slot that is assigned to a logical slot with a second, lower priority level, based on one or more of the respective hold values,” ¶ 0195.
Here, a first element associated with a logical slot can have a different priority level from a second element associated with another logical slot. One of these elements can be currently stored at the work queue (dispatch queue) in the hardware slot, and if the other element has a higher priority level, it can reclaim that hardware slot (and thus the work queue) from the element currently stored at the work queue in the hardware slot.
After the combination of Hartog in view of Havlir, with Auslander, the slots of the queue would be fixed as specified by Auslander, and that the second element would be stored at a second slot of these fixed slots.).
Hartog and Havlir are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer task scheduling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog to incorporate the teachings of Havlir and provide wherein the priority indicates that the element has a first priority and wherein a second element currently stored at the dispatch queue has a second priority. Doing so would help ensure that work that has a higher priority is selected first in order to improve the efficiency of scheduling (Havlir discloses, “Each sub-unit 220 may include multiple shaders that accept work from distributed slots in the sub-unit and use pipelines to execute the work. For example, each shader may include a queue for each distributed hardware slot and may select work from among the queues based on work priority,” ¶ 0049.).
Hartog in view of Havlir, and Auslander are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer task scheduling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog in view of Havlir to incorporate the teachings of Auslander and provide that the slots of the dispatch queue are fixed, wherein the second element is be stored at a second slot of the plurality of fixed slots of the dispatch queue. Doing so would help ensure that the location of each slot of the dispatch queue is constant, therefore allowing for more efficient read and write options for the slots without the risk of the slot locations changing.
Regarding Claim 14, Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the indication of the priority of the element is specified by a user (
Hartog discloses, “In an alternative embodiment, an arbitration event can be created for any write to queue priority register of the compute pipeline. This method can enable a user to control the amount of work issued prior to enabling other queues of the pipe to make progress. Additionally this alternative embodiment can enable a privileged queue per CP ME,” ¶ 0094.
Here, an element is written to a register in the queue. This is indicated by the user, who controls the amount of work issued to the queue. After the combination of Hartog with Havlir, the indication of the priority of the element (priority level) is also written to the queue.).
Regarding Claim 16, Hartog teaches a processing system, comprising:
a bus (
Hartog discloses, “In the example shown, communication infrastructure 109 interconnects the components of system 100 as needed. Communication infrastructure 109 can include (not shown)one or more of a peripheral component interconnect (PCI) bus, extended PCI (PCI-E) bus, advanced microcontroller bus architecture (AMBA) bus, accelerated graphics port (AGP), or such communication infrastructure,” ¶ 0055.
The claimed “bus” is mapped to the disclosed “one or more of a peripheral component interconnect (PCI) bus, extended PCI (PCI-E) bus, advanced microcontroller bus architecture (AMBA) bus” used in “communication infrastructure 109”.);
a first processing circuit configured to issue a plurality of commands via the bus; and a second processing circuit configured to receive the plurality of commands from the first processing circuit (
Hartog discloses, “In the example shown, communication infrastructure 109 interconnects the components of system 100 as needed,” ¶ 0055, “CP 124 can be configured to process the command lists that are provided as inputs from command buffers 125, shown in FIG. 1A. In the exemplary operation of FIG. 1B, CP input 0 (124a) is responsible for driving commands into a graphics pipeline 162. CP inputs 1 and 2 (124b and 124c) forward commands to a compute pipeline 160.Also provided is a controller mechanism 166 for controlling operation of HWS 128,” ¶ 0065, “To efficiently process data from multiple compute inputs, arbitration occurs between pipeline queues within compute pipelines CS P0 - CS P7, as illustrated in greater detail in FIG. 3. More specifically, arbitration policies in accordance with embodiments of the present invention allocate APD resources among the multiple pipeline inputs. A shader input block (SPI) 202 provides an arbitration scheme for submitting wavefronts between compute pipelines CS P0 - CS P7 and graphics pipeline 204. Wave dispatchers 206 are connected from two compute pipelines alternate to forward the wavefronts to shader core 208. Shader core 208 executes the wavefronts,” ¶ 0074.
The claimed “first processing circuit” is mapped to the circuitry containing the disclosed “two compute pipelines”. As seen in FIG. 1A and FIG. 1B of Hartog, it is connected to the bus used in communication infrastructure 109 in order to send work to the shader core.
The claimed “second processing circuit” is mapped to the circuitry containing the disclosed “shader core”.
The claimed “plurality of commands” is mapped to commands that include the disclosed “commands” that are forwarded to a compute pipeline.), and comprising:
a dispatch queue configured to store a plurality of elements from the plurality of commands (
Hartog discloses, “In one example, a subset of work-items in a workgroup that execute simultaneously together on a single SIMD engine can be referred to as a wavefront 136. The width of a wavefront is a characteristic of the hardware SIMD engine. As referred to herein, a workgroup is a collection of related work-items that execute on a single compute unit,” ¶ 0034, “CP 124 can be configured to process the command lists that are provided as inputs from command buffers 125, shown in FIG. 1A. In the exemplary operation of FIG. 1B, CP input 0 (124a) is responsible for driving commands into a graphics pipeline 162. CP inputs 1 and 2 (124b and 124c) forward commands to a compute pipeline 160.Also provided is a controller mechanism 166 for controlling operation of HWS 128,” ¶ 0065, and “To efficiently process data from multiple compute inputs, arbitration occurs between pipeline queues within compute pipelines CS P0 - CS P7, as illustrated in greater detail in FIG. 3. More specifically, arbitration policies in accordance with embodiments of the present invention allocate APD resources among the multiple pipeline inputs. A shader input block (SPI) 202 provides an arbitration scheme for submitting wavefronts between compute pipelines CS P0 - CS P7 and graphics pipeline 204. Wave dispatchers 206 are connected from two compute pipelines alternate to forward the wavefronts to shader core 208. Shader core 208 executes the wavefronts,” ¶ 0074.
The claimed “plurality of elements” is mapped to the disclosed “work-items” that comprise a wavefront. Said wavefronts are stored in the pipeline queue. This is illustrated by FIG. 2 of Hartog, which shows the compute pipelines CS P0 through CS P7 that store the wavefronts that consist of work-items before they are sent to the shader core 208. The pipeline queue stores the elements via the commands that are sent to it from CP inputs 1 and 2.
The claimed “dispatch queue” is mapped to the disclosed “pipeline queue” that stores wavefronts (elements) that will be executed by a “shader core”.);
shader circuitry configured to process the plurality of elements (
Hartog discloses, “A shader input block (SPI) 202 provides an arbitration scheme for submitting wavefronts between compute pipelines CS P0 - CS P7 and graphics pipeline 204. Wave dispatchers 206 are connected from two compute pipelines alternate to forward the wavefronts to shader core 208. Shader core 208 executes the wavefronts,” ¶ 0074.
The claimed “shader circuitry” is mapped to the disclosed “shader core”.);
and an arbitration circuit configured to store elements of the plurality of elements and to schedule the respective elements for processing by the shader circuitry (
Hartog discloses, “To efficiently process data from multiple compute inputs, arbitration occurs between pipeline queues within compute pipelines CS P0 - CS P7, as illustrated in greater detail in FIG. 3. More specifically, arbitration policies in accordance with embodiments of the present invention allocate APD resources among the multiple pipeline inputs. A shader input block (SPI) 202 provides an arbitration scheme for submitting wavefronts between compute pipelines CS P0 - CS P7 and graphics pipeline 204,” ¶ 0074.
The claimed “arbitration circuit” is mapped to the circuitry that contains the disclosed “pipeline queues” where arbitration occurs.).
Hartog does not teach that the dispatch queue is configured to store a plurality of elements from the plurality of commands in a plurality of fixed slots;
an arbitration circuit configured to store a plurality of priority indicators arranged as a bit mask indicating priority levels corresponding to respective slots of the plurality of fixed slots and to schedule the respective elements for processing by the shader circuitry based on the plurality of priority indicators in the bit mask.
However, Havlir teaches an arbitration circuit configured to store a plurality of priority indicators and to schedule the respective elements for processing by the shader circuitry based on the plurality of priority indicators (
Havlir discloses, “Each sub-unit 220 may include multiple shaders that accept work from distributed slots in the sub-unit and use pipelines to execute the work. For example, each shader may include a queue for each distributed hardware slot and may select work from among the queues based on work priority,” ¶ 0049,
“The control circuitry may select the first and second distribution rules based on amounts of work in the first and second sets of graphics work. The control circuitry may determine the first distribution rule based on one or more software overrides signaled by a graphics program being executed. These may include any appropriate combination of the following types of example software overrides: mask information that indicates which sub-units are available to the first set of work, a specified distribution rule, group information that indicates a group of sub-units on which the first set of work should be deployed, and policy information that indicates a scheduling policy. … The control circuitry may allow a logical slot with a first priority level to reclaim a hardware slot that is assigned to a logical slot with a second, lower priority level, based on one or more of the respective hold values,” ¶ 0195.
Havlir also teaches an “arbitration circuit” in the form of disclosed “control circuitry” that manages logical slots with different priority levels.
The claimed “priority indicators” is mapped to the disclosed “priority levels” associated with the logical slots. The priority levels can indicate which logical slots will be assigned to the hardware slots for work.
The disclosed “control circuitry” schedules the elements for execution based on the work priority indicated by the priority levels.).
Hartog and Havlir are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer task scheduling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog to incorporate the teachings of Havlir and provide an arbitration circuit configured to store a plurality of priority indicators indicating priority levels corresponding to respective slots of the plurality of slots and to schedule the respective elements for processing by the shader circuitry based on the plurality of priority indicators. Doing so would help ensure that elements with a higher priority are selected first (Havlir discloses, “In some embodiments, low-priority logical slots are not allowed to reclaim hardware slots from high-priority logical slots unless there is no chance that a high-priority logical slot will use them,” ¶ 0134.).
Hartog in view of Havlir does not teach that the dispatch queue is configured to store a plurality of elements from the plurality of commands in a plurality of fixed slots; that the plurality of priority indicators are arranged as a bit mask indicating priority levels corresponding to respective slots of the plurality of fixed slots and to schedule the respective elements for processing by the shader circuitry based on the plurality of priority indicators in the bit mask.
However, Auslander teaches that the dispatch queue is configured to store a plurality of elements from the plurality of commands in a plurality of fixed slots; that the plurality of priority indicators are arranged as a bit mask indicating priority levels corresponding to respective slots of the plurality of fixed slots and to schedule the respective elements for processing by the shader circuitry based on the plurality of priority indicators in the bit mask (
Table of Auslander ¶ 0048.
Auslander discloses, “For process-context code (as opposed to interrupt handlers, which are discussed below), the policy manager 130 supplies the hypervisor 110 with a scheduling list, each element of which contains a process identifier and a bitmask indicating slots and a priority. The hypervisor 110 uses the information in the list when making scheduling decisions,” ¶ 0042, and “Note that the hypervisor 110 will preferably convert the foregoing list into one or more data structures that are more suitable for efficient internal use (e.g., by allowing the hypervisor to quickly implement the context switches required whenever the process run queues change according to the slot assignments),” ¶ 0045.
Here, a list of priority indicators are arranged in a bitmask indicating timeslots and priority levels. The list is then converted into a data structure by the hypervisor, where each position of the data structure is fixed (a fixed slot for each position).
After the combination of Hartog in view of Havlir, with Auslander, the control circuitry from Hartog in view of Havlir is now configured to have its priority indicators arranged inside a bit mask, wherein each position slot is fixed, as specified by Auslander.).
Hartog in view of Havlir, and Auslander are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer task scheduling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog in view of Havlir to incorporate the teachings of Auslander and provide that the plurality of priority indicators are arranged as a bit mask indicating priority levels corresponding to respective fixed slots of the elements of the dispatch queue, and that the plurality of priority indicators are in the bit mask. Doing so would help allow for faster and more efficient lookup of the priority indicators by accessing the bit mask data structure, compared with a more complex data structure such as an array list or hashmap (Auslander discloses, “Note that the hypervisor 110 will preferably convert the foregoing list into one or more data structures that are more suitable for efficient internal use…,” ¶ 0045.).
Regarding Claim 17, Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander teaches the processing system of claim 16, wherein scheduling the elements of the dispatch queue for processing comprises, in response to receiving a request for an element, sending a previously identified element to the shader circuitry (
Hartog discloses, “In step 504, the queue with the highest queue priority that is determined to be ready for processing is selected. Once selected, for example, a queue remains selected until one of the following conditions occurs,” ¶ 0083, At step 506, the queue arbiter at the top of the compute pipeline signals a respective CP ME 301 thread to stop on the next packet boundary when the arbiter determines a better queue is ready for processing. If it is determined that a better queue is not available, the processes continues at step 508,” ¶ 0084, and “At step 510, CP ME 301 performs a context switching routine and signals the fetcher to stop fetching queue data and the DC to stop dispatching wavefronts for the current queue,” ¶ 0085.
The claimed “request for an element” is mapped to the disclosed “signal” made by the queue arbiter to a respective “CP ME 301 thread” to stop on the next packet boundary to request a better queue for processing if ready. This leads to the next ready queue being selected for processing.
Before step 510, the element contained in the current, highest priority queue, from step 504, is prefetched for transmission to the shader core.
The claimed “previously identified element” is mapped to the element contained in the disclosed “queue with the highest queue priority” from step 504. This is a previously identified element because this queue has its element prefetched before the next queue is selected after step 510.).
Regarding Claim 18, Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the arbitration circuit is further configured to prefetch the previously identified element (
Hartog discloses, “In step 504, the queue with the highest queue priority that is determined to be ready for processing is selected. Once selected, for example, a queue remains selected until one of the following conditions occurs,” ¶ 0083, and “At step 510, CP ME 301 performs a context switching routine and signals the fetcher to stop fetching queue data and the DC to stop dispatching wavefronts for the current queue,” ¶ 0085.
Before step 510, the element contained in the current, highest priority queue, from step 504, is prefetched for transmission to the shader core.).
Regarding Claim 19, Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander teaches the method of claim 16, wherein scheduling the elements of the dispatch queue for processing comprises, in response to receiving a request for an element, identifying a next element to send to the shader circuitry (
Hartog discloses, “At step 506, the queue arbiter at the top of the compute pipeline signals a respective CP ME 301 thread to stop on the next packet boundary when the arbiter determines a better queue is ready for processing. If it is determined that a better queue is not available, the processes continues at step 508,” ¶ 0084, “As illustrated in FIG. 6, for each priority level, the compute pipeline maintains a last queue executed scoreboard. A return to that priority level will process the next ready queue. If only one queue is ready in a priority level, it will resume,” ¶ 0089.
Here, the next ready queue is identified for its element to be sent for execution, prior to the ready queue actually sending its element.).
Regarding Claim 20, Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander teaches the method of claim 16, wherein scheduling the elements stored within the plurality of fixed slots of the dispatch queue for processing comprises scheduling at least one element having a second priority in response to scheduling a threshold number of elements having a first priority, wherein the second priority is a lower priority than the first priority (
Havlir discloses, “As briefly discussed above, different logical slots may have different priority levels, e.g., as specified by software. In some embodiments, on a given mGPU, a subset of hardware slots are reserved for logical slots that meets a threshold priority (e.g., higher priority slots in a system with two priority levels),” ¶ 0131.
The claimed “threshold number” is mapped to the number of logical slots that have been reserved for a priority level, e.g., a higher priority level. This is a threshold number because if all of the logical slots with the higher priority level are being used and thus unavailable, a lower priority logical slot will have to be selected.
Here, for Havlir’s logical slots, at least two priority levels exist, where one priority level is higher than the other, lower priority. If all the higher-level priority slots are taken, then an element will be scheduled on a slot with lower priority.
After the combination of Hartog in view of Havlir, with Auslander, these logical slots are fixed as specified by Auslander.).
Hartog and Havlir are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer task scheduling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog to incorporate the teachings of Havlir and provide wherein scheduling the elements stored within the plurality of fixed slots of the dispatch queue for processing comprises scheduling at least one element having a second priority in response to scheduling a threshold number of elements having a first priority, wherein the second priority is a lower priority than the first priority. Doing so would help ensure that higher priority tasks will be selected first in order to improve the efficiency of scheduling (Havlir discloses, “In some embodiments, on a given mGPU, a subset of hardware slots are reserved for logical slots that meets a threshold priority (e.g., higher priority slots in a system with two priority levels),” ¶ 0131.).
Hartog in view of Havlir, and Auslander are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer task scheduling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog in view of Havlir to incorporate the teachings of Auslander and provide that the slots of the dispatch queue are fixed. Doing so would help ensure that the location of each slot of the dispatch queue is constant, therefore allowing for more efficient read and write options for the slots without the risk of the slot locations changing.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartog (EP 2791795 B1) in view of Havlir (US 20230050061 A1), Auslander (US 20050251806 A1), and Tran (JP 2021197155 A).
Regarding Claim 4, Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander teaches the system of claim 1. Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander does not teach wherein the arbitration circuit is configured to identify an element in a particular fixed slot of the dispatch queue to bypass a first-in, first-out (FIFO) configuration of the dispatch queue.
However, Tran teaches wherein the arbitration circuit is configured to identify an element in a particular fixed slot of the dispatch queue to bypass a first-in, first-out (FIFO) configuration of the dispatch queue (
Tran discloses, “The command issuing unit 114 is connected to the functional unit 116 via the bidirectional bus. In the present embodiment, the instruction issuing unit 114 includes an execution queue 115 and a priority scheduler 118, and an instruction from the instruction decoding unit 113 is sent to the execution queue 115 when there is no data dependency or resource hazard. It is selected whether to bypass the execution queue 115 and send it directly to the priority scheduler 118, from which it is sent to the functional unit 116 in the next cycle,” Page 3, “The instruction decoding unit 113 is configured to execute instruction decoding to determine the type of operation (opcode), source register, and destination register. For example, the instruction sample is "add C, A, B", which contains the contents of source register A (source operand data in register A) and the contents of source register B (source operand data in register B). In addition to that, it means an integer addition operation in which the resulting data is then placed in the destination register C,” Page 3, and “In some embodiments, the execution queue 115 may be a first in, first out (FIFO) queue in which only the first instruction may be issued to the functional unit 116,” Page 4.
Here, the contents of a register in a queue are identified to bypass the first-in, first-out configuration of the queue.).
Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander, and Tran are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer task scheduling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander to incorporate the teachings of Tran and provide wherein the arbitration circuit is configured to identify an element in a particular fixed slot of the dispatch queue to bypass a first-in, first-out (FIFO) configuration of the dispatch queue. Doing so would help ensure that work that has a higher priority is selected first in order to improve the efficiency of scheduling.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartog (EP 2791795 B1) in view of Havlir (US 20230050061 A1), Auslander (US 20050251806 A1), and Kovacevic (WO 2020261180 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander teaches the system of claim 1. Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander does not teach wherein the plurality of priority indicators are identifiers of respective virtual machines that correspond to the elements.
However, Kovacevic teaches wherein the plurality of priority indicators are identifiers of respective virtual machines that correspond to the elements (
Kovacevic discloses, “A scheduler in the GPU schedules the guest VM to execute the virtual function at a scheduled time. In some embodiments, the guest VM is scheduled based on a priority associated with the guest VM and other priorities associated with other guest VMs that are ready to be scheduled,” Page 5.
After the combination of Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander, with Kovacevic, the priority levels from Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander, are used to represent the VM identifiers as specified by Kovacevic.).
Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander, and Kovacevic, are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer scheduling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander to incorporate the teachings of Kovacevic and provide wherein the plurality of priority indicators are identifiers of respective virtual machines that correspond to the elements. Doing so would help improve the performance the elements for processing (Kovacevic discloses, “FIGs 1 -13 disclose embodiments of techniques that improve the execution speed of multimedia applications, while reducing power consumption of the processing system, by allowing multiple virtual machines to share the hardware functionality provided by fixed function hardware blocks in a GPU instead of forcing all but one process to use hardware acceleration provided by software executing on a CPU,” Page 4).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartog (EP 2791795 B1) in view of Havlir (US 20230050061 A1), Auslander (US 20050251806 A1), and Gruner (US 20030009629 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander teaches the method of claim 11. Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander does not teach wherein receiving the indication of the priority comprises extracting the priority from a received opcode corresponding to the element.
However, Gruner teaches wherein receiving the indication of the priority comprises extracting the priority from a received opcode corresponding to the element (
Gruner discloses, “A user can elect to have cache 80 assign priority based on a request's Opcode field or the age of the request,” ¶ 0121.
Here, a priority value is determined (or extracted) based on an opcode field. After the combination of Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander, with Gruner, said opcode field corresponds to the element from Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander.).
Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander, and Gruner are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer scheduling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander to incorporate the teachings of Gruner and provide wherein receiving the indication of the priority comprises extracting the priority from a received opcode corresponding to the element. Doing so would help allow a convenient means of accessing the priority in order to make scheduling determinations (Gruner discloses, “A user can elect to have cache 80 assign priority based on a request's Opcode field or the age of the request. The scheduler employs the above-described descriptors to make these priority determinations,” ¶ 0121.).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartog (EP 2791795 B1) in view of Havlir (US 20230050061 A1), Auslander (US 20050251806 A1), and Kini (US 20140344821 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander teaches the method of claim 11. Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander does not teach wherein the indication of the priority of the element is specified by a driver based on a status of a user-visible process that is to use data generated using the element.
However, Kini teaches wherein the indication of the priority of the element is specified by a driver based on a status of a user-visible process that is to use data generated using the element (
Kini discloses, “The software application 125 may generate requests (i.e., calls) for processing by the CUDA software stack 150 to produce a desired set of results,” ¶ 0029,
“More specifically, the CUDA driver 220 may submit one or more streams (not shown) to the parallel processing subsystem 112 for execution within the parallel processing subsystem 112. Each stream may include any number and combination of work components. In particular, a CUDA stream may include one or more CPU-launched kernels 235. In general, a kernel is a function that has a defined entrance and exit and, typically, performs a computation on each element of an input list. Each CPU-launched kernel 235 is invoked by code that is executed by the CPU, such as the software application 112 [Examiner’s Note: “software application 112” should be “software application 125”, as the number 112 is already used by the “parallel processing subsystem 112”.],” ¶ 0033,
“The parallel processing subsystem 112 includes advanced prioritization functionality that enables prioritization of kernels and preemption of currently executing kernels. Thus, the parallel processing subsystem 112 may schedule kernels in priority-order. And the parallel processing subsystem 112 may preempt a lower-priority kernel executing on a parallel processing subsystem 112 resource in favor of one or more higher-priority kernels,” ¶ 0034,
“The CUDA driver 220 then splits the valid device priorities 222 between valid device priorities 222 for prioritizing streams and valid device priorities 222 for "child" GPU-launched kernels. For example, suppose that the max nesting depth 224 were N. The CUDA driver 220 would ensure that for each of the valid device priorities 222 allocated for prioritizing streams, the next (N-1) higher priority valid device priorities 222 were reserved for "child" GPU-launched kernels,” ¶ 0041,
“In particular, this flexible approach enables application developers to make trade-offs between prioritization and dynamic parallelism based on the needs of the software application 125. By assigning a low max nesting depth 224, the software application 125 may use more unique valid stream priorities 212 to strategically prioritize CPU-launched kernels 235,” ¶ 0043.
The claimed “driver” is mapped to the disclosed “CUDA driver”.
The claimed “user-visible process” is mapped to the disclosed “software application” that generates requests for processing by the CUDA software stack to produce a desired set of results.
Here, as specified by paragraph 41 of Kini, the indication of the priority of kernels is specified by the CUDA driver. Said indication is based on the status of a software application (user-visible process) that requests processing via a CPU-launched kernel, wherein said application requests a priority for the kernel.
Said software application uses the data generated using the CPU-launched kernel, in the form of the disclosed “desired set of results”.).
Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander, and Kini, are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hartog in view of Havlir and Auslander to incorporate the teachings of Kini and provide wherein the indication of the priority of the element is specified by a driver based on a status of a user-visible process that is to use data generated using the element. Doing so would help allow for increased flexibility and efficiency in processing each element in a determined schedule based on priority (Kini discloses, “Advantageously, if a stream is associated with a particular valid device priority 222, then the CUDA driver 220 is configured to submit all CPU-launched kernels 235 within the stream at the particular valid device priority 222. Thus, the CUDA driver 220 may submit CPU-launched kernels 235 that initiate dynamic parallelism (i.e., are configured to launch "child" GPU-launched kernels) at valid device priorities 222 other than the lowest valid device priority 222. In contrast, in prior-art approaches to prioritizing streams, CPU-launched kernels that initiate dynamic parallelism are submitted at the lowest priority included in the valid device priorities, thereby limiting the effectiveness of assigning priorities to streams,” ¶ 0046.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Guthrie et al. (US 20080140936 A1): Method For Priority Scheduling And Priority Dispatching Of Store Conditional Operations In A Store Queue
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW NMN SUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2195
/Aimee Li/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2195