DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/5/2026
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-13 in the reply filed 1/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The restriction is made final.
INTRODUCTION AND/OR CLAIM INTERPRETATION
The following introduction/claim interpretation is expressly incorporated into each and every rejection below as though fully set forth therein.
[0043]
: The appellate court held that "about" should instead be given its plain and ordinary meaning of "approximately."). MPEP 2111
See MPEP 2144.05(I): "In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)"
While the exact ranges are not expressly taught by the cited prior art, the prior art is directed to photocatalytic building material such as cement/mortar/concrete as are the instantly claimed invention; one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention would recognize the claimed ranges as obvious. Further: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
The prior art as below cited teaches ranges overlapping and/or encompassing the instantly claimed ranges. The prior art teaches points in various examples from which one of skill in the art would recognize those points as further establishing a ranges. The instant claims reciting ranges as “around” indicates a variation may be present. The prior art renders obvious the claimed ranges in the absence of evidence of criticality of ranges.
The prior art teaching the claimed composition with overlapping ranges and expressly recognizing the photocatalytic properties thereof will necessarily result in at least some product having the claimed UNI 11259 requirements. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir.1990) “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modification of CO2 capture and pore structure of hardened cement paste made with nano-TiO2 addition: Influence of water-to-cement ratio and CO2 exposure age Carlos Moro Vito Francioso Mirian Velay Lizancos publixhed March 2021 Construction and Building Materials Vol 275 15 Mach 2021 122131
(effective filing date of instant application is 9/30/22 as such this article is published more than one year prior)
Further in view of
Influence of Titanium Dioxide Nanoparticles on the Sulfate Attack upon Ordinary Portland Cement and Slag-Blended Mortars by Atta-ur-Rehman Abdul Qudoos Hong Gi Ki and Jae-Suk Ryou Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Hanyang University, 222, Wangsimni-ro, Seongdong-gu, Seoul 04763, Korea Materials 2018, 11(3), 356; https://doi.org/10.3390/ma11030356
Submission received: 30 January 2018 / Revised: 24 February 2018 / Accepted: 27 February 2018 / Published: 28 February 2018 (This article belongs to the Special Issue Application of Photoactive Nanomaterials in Degradation of Pollutants)
Regarding Claims 1-13:
Moro et al Modification teaches:
Carbon dioxide sequestration of cement comprising nano-TiO.sub.2 and water to cement ratio and pore structure measured with different percentages of nano-TiO.sub.2, 0, 0.5, 1, and 2 % and three w/c ratios, 0.45, 0.5, and 0.55. curing with the carbon dioxide environment (Abstract)
The reference teaches nano TiO.sub.2 in cement hardened/cured with CO.sub.2 Four different percentages of nano-TiO2 (0%, 0.5%, 1%, 2%) (meeting the limitation for nano-TiO.sub.2 and photocatalytic material of claim 1 and claim 6-7)(rendering obvious a range of 0-2 % TiO.sub.2) and three w/c (0.45, 0.50, 0.55) (Abstract) (and meeting claims 8-9 for “around” 1 % and claim 9 for “around” 1.3 percent)
The cement includes Portland cement (see section 2.1) below meeting claim 8 for 1.3 % TiO.sub.2 and showing an example with 31% water 1.3 % TiO.sub.2 and 67.5 % cement
Water is added (meeting claim 2)
Many researchers have examined the potential applicability of curing fresh cement composites with CO2. The chemistry beyond that process is the carbonation of the dicalcium silicate (C2S) and tricalcium silicate (C3S) . This mechanism would promote CO2 sequestration of cementitious materials, for both OPC concrete and concrete with supplementary cementitious materials . Besides, it may increase concrete durability without steel reinforcement and the compressive strength compared to specimens with standard curing . Rostami et al. showed an increase in either the sulfate and freeze-thaw resistance or the electrical resistivity after the early carbonation. They suggest that this result could be related to the modification of the microstructure of cement pastes. Another study found that the chloride penetration was reduced after the carbonation curing . Therefore, this would help to prevent issues in cementitious composites exposed to marine environments. See Fig 1 for a curing process including carbonation / CO.sub.2 exposure and (Introduction) rendering obvious CO.sub.2 curing.
While Moro Modification teaches supplementary cement materials are known to be used, Moro Modification does not teach the composition comprising a supplementary material of cement slag
(“Influence”) teaches a composition similar to that of Moro Modification.
Influence teaches titanium dioxide nanoparticles improve resistance of Ordinary Portland Cement and slag blended mortars having OPC:slag blend such as 50:50 made with water to binder ratio of 0.4 and binder to sand ratio of 1:3 having nano TiO2 added at 0, 3, 6, 9 and 12% of the binder weight (meeting the limitation for nano-TiO.sub.2 and Portland cement and slag)
The composition is a photo catalytic concrete (Section 1.2)
Meeting the range of cement at 50% and range of slag at 50% of claim 1
750 cement 750 slag and 45 TiO.sub.2 for the binder 48.5 % cement, 48.5 % slag and 2.9 % TiO.sub.2
Rendering obvious the range of cement of claim 4
With 0.4 w/c makes 618 grams water or 29%
Meeting the limitation 0.1- 5% photocatalytic material of claim 1
Meeting the limitation for photocatalytic material to be TIO.sub.2 and nanostructured of claims 6-7
Meeting the range of claim 8 for around 1 % to around 3%
Rendering obvious around 1.3 % of claim 9 by showing a range of 0-12% TiO.sub.2
Influence teaches a blend of Portland cement and slag with nano titanium dioxide prevents deteriorate sue to sulfate attack on the mortar used in concrete structures, possess lower expansion and reduced cracking with the slab blend (Conclusion)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to add cement slag to the composition of “Moro Modification” in ranges taught therein and additional ranges in order to impart improved resistance to deterioration and cracking to the composition and products of Moro Modification.
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kevern et al (WO 2019/0797371) further in view of Kawanaka Yotaro (JP 2001181065A)
Regarding claims 1-13:
WO 2019/079371 discloses a composition comprising:
The photocatalytic TiO.sub.2 is a small species and will encompass nano-TiO.sub.2
The composition may be cured P10 L10-15 See reference Page 17 11 and 13 (Lines 15-25)
The reference does not expressly disclose the curing by carbon dioxide.
JP 2001181065 discloses a water purifying block produced from cement including Portland cement and cured with carbon dioxide and may comprise slag to harden the aggregate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to cure the product of WO by carbon dioxide curing as it is a suitable means of ensuring hardness of the product for a filter agglomerate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892 accompanying this office action for relevant prior art teaching various combinations of cement, slag, nano-TiO.sub.2 and also teaching curing with CO.sub.2. For example:
CN102503211A discloses a
Cement composition having photocatalytic activity, good stability, resistance to oxidation, is strong suitable for concrete, high waterproof requirements [0006]
The composition comprises 1-5% nano-ti.sub.2, 10-20 % granulated blast furnace slag and 20-44 % aluminate clinkers 45-55 % anhydrite [0008]
CN 105601204A discloses a self-cleaning material for walls P3 L48-57
Comprising 23-45 % cement the cement is Portland cement (P5 L89)
Admixture 5-15 % The admixture comprises slag (P5 L94)
Packing 8-20 %
Fiber 0.1 to 3 %
Fine aggregate 35-50%
Water reducing agent 0.1 to 0.5 %
Photocatalytic nano material 1 to 5 % is nano tiO2 (p6 l106)
Rubber powder 0.3 to 8 %
P4-5 L73-88
[AltContent: rect]
Materials Science and Engineering: A
Volume 528, Issues 4–5, 25 February 2011, Pages 2085-2092
The effects of TiO2 nanoparticles on physical, thermal and mechanical properties of concrete using ground granulated blast furnace slag as binder
Author links open overlay panelAli Nazari, Shadi Riahi
https://doi.org/10.1016/j.msea.2010.11.070Get rights and content
Full text access
Nazari discloses concrete comprising ground granulated blast furnace slag and TiO2 nanoparticles as a binder where Portland cement is replaced in different amounts by ground granulated blast furnace slag (Abstract)
The aim of this study is investigating the effects of TiO2 nanoparticles on concrete containing “ground granulated blast furnace slag” as binder. Using ground granulated blast furnace slag in concrete specimens as binder has been addressed in several works as mentioned above, but incorporating nanoparticles in the specimens containing ground granulated blast furnace slag to achieve high strength concrete has not been addressed in any work. Although management of waste materials is essential, achieving high strength component by using these materials seems necessary. Thus, combining the management of waste and hazardous materials and nanotechnology can lead to accessing both performance of structural components and reduction of the harmfulness of hazardous materials.
Totally, two series of mixtures were prepared in the laboratory trials. C0-GGBFS series mixtures were prepared by cement, fine and ultra-fine crushed limestone aggregates with 19.2% by weight of ultra-fine ones and 0%, 15%, 30%, 45% and 60% by weight of GGBFS replaced by Portland cement. N-GGBFS series were prepared with different contents of TiO2 nanoparticles with average particle size of 15 nm. The mixtures were prepared with the cement replacement by TiO2 nanoparticles from 1 to 4 wt.%.
The specimens were cured
The pore size distribution of concretes is shown in Table 6. It is seen that by increasing GGBFS content, the amounts of pores decrease, which shows that the density of concretes is increased and the pore structure is improved.
Consequently, the pore structure of concrete is improved evidently such as the concrete containing nano-TiO2 in the amount of 1% by weight of binder
The increased the GGBFS content up to 45 wt.% results in the increased the flexural strength. It has been argued that utilizing GGBFS content more than 45 wt.% reduces the amount of CaO which is required for Ca(OH)2 and subsequent C–S–H gel. In addition, the pore structure of concrete specimens is found to improve with adding up to 45 wt.% GGBFS. GGBFS up to 45 wt.% could accelerate the appearance of the first peak in conduction calorimetry test which is related to the quickening of formation of hydrated cement products. Thermogravimetric analysis shows that GGBFS could increase the weight loss of the specimens when added to cement paste up to 45 wt.%.
As the content of TiO2 nanoparticles is increased up to 3 wt.%, the flexural strength of the specimens is increased. This is due to more formation of hydrated products in presence of TiO2 nanoparticles. TiO2 nanoparticles up to 3 wt.% could accelerate the appearance of the first peak in conduction calorimetry test which is related to the acceleration in formation of hydrated cement products. Thermogravimetric analysis shows that TiO2 nanoparticles could increase the weight loss of the specimens when partially added to cement paste up to 3 wt.%. More rapid formation of hydrated products could in presence of TiO2 nanoparticles which was confirmed by XRD results could be the reason of more weight loss. The pore structure of self-compacting concrete containing TiO2 nanoparticles is improved and the content of all mesopores and macropores is increased.
JP 2006273660A discloses a photocatalytic building material with an inorganic pigment [0001] comprising the inorganic pigment in an amount of 0.1 to 10 mass % [0011] inorganic pigments are commercially available [0013] The pigment includes TiO.sub.2 powder average particle size 0.18 microns [0034] (i.e. 180 nano meters meeting nano TiO.sub.2) The composition includes cement and slag [0010] [0018] including Ordinary Portland Cement [0034]
[0034] (Raw material) Cement: Ordinary Portland cement silica sand (silica powder): SiO2 content 97.8% by mass (Blain specific surface area 5000 cm2 / g) Fiber reinforcement: Fiber made of softwood bleached kraft pulp (NKBP) and polypropylene fiber (Blend ratio 1: 1) Methyl cellulose: Water-soluble methyl cellulose (as a thickener) Perlite: Pearlite JIS S0.15-0.6 Inorganic pigment 1: Titanium oxide (TiO2 anatase type) (powder, average particle size 0. 18 μm) Inorganic pigment 2: Iron oxide (Fe 2 O 3) (powder, average particle size 0.5 μm)
.[0003] Further, as a method of curing calcium silicate, a carbonation reaction in which it is reacted with carbon dioxide gas to cure it is known. This carbonation reaction can fix carbon dioxide (CO 2) gas such as exhaust heat, and thus carbon dioxide. It also serves to suppress global warming due to carbon (CO2) emissions.
The composition is cured using carbon dioxide [0054][0052]
Influence of water-to-binder ratio on the optimum percentage of nano-TiO2 addition in terms of compressive strength of mortars: A laboratory and virtual experimental study based on ANN model Author links open overlay panel Carlos Moro, Hala El Fil, Vito Francioso, Mirian Velay-Lizanco Construction and Building Materials Volume 267 published 18 January 2021, 120960
This research aims to study the effect of water-to-binder ratio (w/b) as a potential key factor that changes the optimum percentage of nano-TiO2 addition in terms of compressive strength of mortars. (Abstract)
TiO.sub.2 is photocatalytic The use of nano-TiO2 produces a decrease in both the initial and final setting time due to their high specific surface. I (See par 1 1.Introduction)
They used a 1030-point set of data to train the model and they reached an accuracy of 98%. A recent research [34] predicted the compressive strength of ultra-high-performance concrete containing supplementary cementitious materials. They concluded that the developed ANN model has high accuracy and can be used to predict the compressive strength of Ultra-High Performance Concrete (UHPC) with the inclusion of supplementary cementitious materials
Does not teach slag/CO2curing
Journal of Cleaner Production
Volume 263, 1 August 2020, 121581
Nano-TiO2 effects on high temperature resistance of recycled mortars
Author links open overlay panelCarlos Moro, Vito Francioso, Mirian Velay-Lizancos
International Research Journal of Engineering and Technology (IRJET) e-ISSN: 2395-0056 Volume: 05 Issue: 02 | Feb-2018 www.irjet.net p-ISSN: 2395-0072 EXPERIMENTAL INVESTIGATION ON THE EFFECT OF TiO2 PARTICLES ON MORTARS A.DIVYA1, S.SHAAKIRAH2, M.SANKARA NARAYANAN3, S.SHANKAR4 1Assistant Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, Sona College of Technology, Tamil Nadu, India 2,3,4Student, Department of Civil Engineering, Sona College of Technology, Tamil Nadu, India
Geopolymer Coating Paste on Concrete for Photocatalytic Performance Liyana Jamaludin1,2,a), Rafiza Abd Razak1,2, Mohd Mustafa Al Bakri Abdullah2, Andri Kusbiantoro3, Zarina Yahya1,2, Alida Abdullah1,2 and Andrei Victor Sandu4 1Faculty of Engineering Technology, Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP), Kangar, Perlis, Malaysia. 2Center of Excellence Geopolymer and Green Technology (CEGeoGTech), Universiti Malaysia Perlis, 01000 Kangar, Perlis, Malaysia. 3Faculty Engineering Technology, Civil Engineering Technology Department, University Tun Hussien Onn (UTHM), 86400 Batu Pahat, Johor, Malaysia. 4Faculty of Materials Science and Engineering, Gheorghe Asachi Technical University, Iasi, 700050, Romania. Corresponding author: a)liyanajamaludin@unimap.edu.my
PHOTOCATALYST REACTION AND MECHANISM
TiO2, SiO2, WO3 and Fe2O3 are nanoparticles used as photocatalyst materials in order to improve the performance of cementious materials [16].
Influence of Nano-Tio2Addition on the Environmental Performance of Cementitious Composites: A Holistic Approach
Moro, Carlos Purdue University ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, 2021. 30505417. December 2021 available online 11/30/2021 within one year of the instant effective filing date having the same inventor
Modification of self-cleaning activity on cement pastes containing nano-TiO2 due to CO2 curing Carlos Moro, Vito Franciosoa, Marina Lopez-Ariasa, Mirian Velay-Lizancosa,* Construction and Building Materials 330 (2022) 127185 (published 3/22/22) (instant effective filing date 9/30/22)
Moro discloses a composition comprising Portland cement, slag cement grade 100 and nano titanium dioxide (P2 2.1.1) and water (P2 2.1.2)
2.1.2
A total of 8 different cement pastes, with water-to-binder ratio of 0.55, were prepared with four different percentages of nano-TiO2 (0%, 0.5%, 1%, 2%) (meeting the range of claims 8and overlapping the range of claim 9) and two slag cement content; 0% (i.e., 100% OPC), and 30% (i.e., with a substitution of 30% OPC by slag). Both percentages of nano-TiO2 and % of slag are calculated based on the total weight of binder.
Table 2 lists the mix proportions of each cement paste.
% of TiO.sub.2, slag and OPC in the binder:
0.5 TiO.sub.2; 30% slag 69.5% OPC
1.0 % Ti.O.sub.2, 30% slag 69% OPC
2% TiO.sub.2, 30% slag, 68% OPC
The binder is with water (i.e. water to binder ratio w/b) at a ratio w/b 0.55
the mixtures were CO2 cured (P3 C2 last par. And P 4 C1 L 1-20)
The mixture with 2% nano-TiO2, slag cement, and CO2 curing met the requirements stated in the standard UNI 11259 to be considered a photocatalytic material i.e. the composition is photocatalytic meeting UNI 11259 requirements (See section 4.2)
A total of 8 different cement pastes, with water-to-binder ratio of 0.55, were prepared with four different percentages of nano-TiO2 (0%, 0.5%, 1%, 2%) (overlapping the range of claim 9) and
slag cement content; 0% (i.e., 100% OPC), and 30% (overlapping the claimed range of slag of claim 11)
(i.e., with a substitution of OPC with slag – the ratio of Slag:OPC is 0:100 to 30:100 OPC)(overlapping the range of claims 10 and 11 for slag and overlapping the range of claim 5 for OPC).
Both percentages of nano-TiO2 and % of slag are calculated based on the total weight of binder.
Materials Science and Engineering: A
Volume 528, Issues 4–5, 25 February 2011, Pages 2085-2092
The effects of TiO2 nanoparticles on physical, thermal and mechanical properties of concrete using ground granulated blast furnace slag as binder
Author links open overlay panelAli Nazari, Shadi Riahi
https://doi.org/10.1016/j.msea.2010.11.070Get rights and content
Full text access
Nazari discloses concrete comprising ground granulated blast furnace slag and TiO2 nanoparticles as a binder where Portland cement is replaced in different amounts by ground granulated blast furnace slag (Abstract)
The aim of this study is investigating the effects of TiO2 nanoparticles on concrete containing “ground granulated blast furnace slag” as binder. Using ground granulated blast furnace slag in concrete specimens as binder has been addressed in several works as mentioned above, but incorporating nanoparticles in the specimens containing ground granulated blast furnace slag to achieve high strength concrete has not been addressed in any work. Although management of waste materials is essential, achieving high strength component by using these materials seems necessary. Thus, combining the management of waste and hazardous materials and nanotechnology can lead to accessing both performance of structural components and reduction of the harmfulness of hazardous materials.
Totally, two series of mixtures were prepared in the laboratory trials. C0-GGBFS series mixtures were prepared by cement, fine and ultra-fine crushed limestone aggregates with 19.2% by weight of ultra-fine ones and 0%, 15%, 30%, 45% and 60% by weight of GGBFS replaced by Portland cement. N-GGBFS series were prepared with different contents of TiO2 nanoparticles with average particle size of 15 nm. The mixtures were prepared with the cement replacement by TiO2 nanoparticles from 1 to 4 wt.%.
The specimens were cured
The pore size distribution of concretes is shown in Table 6. It is seen that by increasing GGBFS content, the amounts of pores decrease, which shows that the density of concretes is increased and the pore structure is improved.
Consequently, the pore structure of concrete is improved evidently such as the concrete containing nano-TiO2 in the amount of 1% by weight of binder
The increased the GGBFS content up to 45 wt.% results in the increased the flexural strength. It has been argued that utilizing GGBFS content more than 45 wt.% reduces the amount of CaO which is required for Ca(OH)2 and subsequent C–S–H gel. In addition, the pore structure of concrete specimens is found to improve with adding up to 45 wt.% GGBFS. GGBFS up to 45 wt.% could accelerate the appearance of the first peak in conduction calorimetry test which is related to the quickening of formation of hydrated cement products. Thermogravimetric analysis shows that GGBFS could increase the weight loss of the specimens when added to cement paste up to 45 wt.%.
As the content of TiO2 nanoparticles is increased up to 3 wt.%, the flexural strength of the specimens is increased. This is due to more formation of hydrated products in presence of TiO2 nanoparticles. TiO2 nanoparticles up to 3 wt.% could accelerate the appearance of the first peak in conduction calorimetry test which is related to the acceleration in formation of hydrated cement products. Thermogravimetric analysis shows that TiO2 nanoparticles could increase the weight loss of the specimens when partially added to cement paste up to 3 wt.%. More rapid formation of hydrated products could in presence of TiO2 nanoparticles which was confirmed by XRD results could be the reason of more weight loss. The pore structure of self-compacting concrete containing TiO2 nanoparticles is improved and the content of all mesopores and macropores is increased.
/PAMELA H WEISS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1732