DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant has amended independent claim 1, and canceled claims 3, 4, 12, 13. The pending claims are claims 1, 2, 5-11, 14-18.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-11, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stanton et al., US 2020/0052257, in view of Wang et al., CN 213028013 .
Regarding claim 1, Stanton et al., teaches a waterproof battery pack (“battery pack housing to prevent water”) (abstract; 0006), comprising a housing (abstract; 0005), an electronic component (0005-0006), and a connection assembly (0083), wherein an interior of the housing (0093) is hollow to form a mounting cavity (0093; 0102); the electronic component is mounted in the mounting cavity (0107); and the connection assembly is slidably connected to the housing (0084; 0092; 0094), the connection assembly comprises a first button (0075) and a connector (0075), and the first button is configured to be pressed toward a side of the electronic component to drive the connector to be disconnected from a power tool (pressure release; 0042); wherein the waterproof battery pack (0091) further comprises: a waterproof partition (0005; 0079) located between the connection assembly (0005; 0079) and the electronic component (0079; 0081), wherein the waterproof partition is connected to the housing (0005; 0079) to divide the mounting cavity into a first mounting space (0005) and a second mounting space (0005) that are independent of each other; wherein the connection assembly is mounted in the first mounting space (0107), and the electronic component is mounted in the second mounting space (0107); a waterproof battery pack further comprises a display module (0121), wherein the display module (0107) comprises a display unit (0121) , wherein the display unit comprises: an LED lamp (0083), wherein the LED lamp (0083) is mounted on the electronic component (0083); mounted on the waterproof partition (seal) (0005; 0079), wherein a sealing member is disposed at a junction between the and the waterproof partition (seal) (0079; 0084); wherein the LED lamp (0083; 0099); comprises a control unit (button) (0075; 0083; 0099), wherein the control unit comprises: a switch button (button) (0075), wherein an end of the switch button (latch) (0075; 0090) is connected to the electronic component (0075; 0083; 0099); a rubber pad (0100) mounted on the waterproof partition (0100), wherein a sealing member is disposed at a junction between the rubber pad (0100) and the waterproof partition (0100); and a second button (activation button) (0083) slidably connected to the housing and placed in the first mounting space (0092); wherein the switch button (0075), the rubber pad (0100), and the second button (activation button) (0083) are arranged in sequence along the first direction; and the control unit (0098) is used for controlling the LED lamp to be turned on or off (0083).
Stanton does not teach a transparent lens and a display screen.
Wang et al., teaches a transparent lens (LCD lens) (n0010), and a display screen (n0010; n0013; n0025).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to insert the teachings of Wang into the teachings of Stanton because the incorporation of a lens can be mounted on the display screen (n0010), and the assembly and disassembly will have decreased labor intensity by incorporating Wang into Stanton (abstract; n0018-n0019).
Regarding claim 2, Stanton et al., teaches wherein a sealing member (0079) is disposed at a junction between the waterproof partition (sealant) and the housing (0005;
0075).
Regarding claim 5, Stanton et al., teaches wherein the electronic component comprises a circuit board (0082-0083), the waterproof battery pack (“battery pack housing to prevent water”) (abstract; 0006), further comprises a connection terminal (0076), the connection terminal comprises a metal connector and a bracket (0083-0087), the bracket (0095; bridge) is fixedly connected to the circuit board (0082-0083), the metal connector (0083) is mounted on the bracket (bridge) (0095), the metal connector (0083) comprises a plurality of first connection points (0083) and a second connection point (0083) the plurality of first connection points penetrate the bracket (bridge) (0095) and are connected to the circuit board (0082-0083), and the second connection point is used for connecting the power tool (0075-0076).
Regarding claim 6, Stanton et al., teaches wherein a junction between the metal connector (0083-0084) and the bracket (bridge; 0095) is sealed with glue (adhesive) (0099; 0122).
Regarding claim 7, Stanton et al., teaches a glue injection groove (0099; 0122) which is opened on a side of the bracket (bridge; 0095) facing the circuit board (0082-0083), the glue injection groove (0079; 0081; 0092) is connected to each of the plurality of first connection points, a glue injection hole is opened on the circuit board (0082-0083; 0107) at an end of the glue injection groove, and an observation hole is opened at another end of the glue injection groove (“sealing material positioned in the groove”) (claim 1 of Stanton et al.).
Stanton does not teach an S-shaped glue injection groove.
However, although the shape is not described, the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 8, Stanton et al., teaches wherein the bracket (bridge) (0095) is provided with a support portion (bridge) (0095), the housing abuts against a periphery of the support portion (0095), and a sealing member (0095) is disposed at an abutting position between the support portion and the housing 0095).
Regarding claim 9, Stanton et al., teaches wherein an elastic member (0098) is disposed in the first mounting space (0098) so that the first button (latch; 0107) has a tendency to move toward a side facing away from the electronic component (electrical and electronic components) (0107).
Regarding claim 10, Stanton et al., teaches wherein the housing (abstract) comprises an upper housing (0005) and a lower housing (0005), and a sealing member (0005; 0079) is disposed at a junction between the upper housing and the lower housing (0075).
Regarding claim 11, Stanton et al., teaches wherein the housing (abstract) comprises an upper housing (0005) and a lower housing (0005), and a sealing member (0005; 0079) is disposed at a junction between the upper housing and the lower housing (0075).
Regarding claim 14, Stanton et al., teaches wherein the housing (abstract) comprises an upper housing (0005) and a lower housing (0005), and a sealing member (0005; 0079) is disposed at a junction between the upper housing and the lower housing (0075).
Regarding claim 15, Stanton et al., teaches wherein the housing (abstract) comprises an upper housing (0005) and a lower housing (0005), and a sealing member (0005; 0079) is disposed at a junction between the upper housing and the lower housing (0075).
Regarding claim 16, Stanton et al., teaches wherein the housing (abstract) comprises an upper housing (0005) and a lower housing (0005), and a sealing member (0005; 0079) is disposed at a junction between the upper housing and the lower housing (0075).
Regarding claim 17, Stanton et al., teaches wherein the housing (abstract) comprises an upper housing (0005) and a lower housing (0005), and a sealing member (0005; 0079) is disposed at a junction between the upper housing and the lower housing (0075).
Regarding claim 18, Stanton et al., teaches wherein the housing (abstract) comprises an upper housing (0005) and a lower housing (0005), and a sealing member (0005; 0079) is disposed at a junction between the upper housing and the lower housing (0075).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that “the location where the activation button 156 is mounted on the battery pack 100 in Stanton differs from the location where the switch button 50 is mounted on the waterproof battery pack in this application.”
However, Stanton teaches an activation button (156; 0099), in a different location than in the Applicaion. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Stanton fails to disclose the rubber pad 51 of this application, fails to simultaneously disclose the switch button 50 and the second button 52 of this application, and fails to disclose the positional relationship between the switch button 50, the rubber pad 51, and the second button 52 in this application. However, In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Stanton fails to disclose the features "the rubber pad (“pressure release element 230 may be a spherical component….made of a soft rubber or plastic.” (0100); and a sealing member (0005; 0084; 0090) is disposed at the junction between the rubber pad and the waterproof partition; the rubber pad is mounted on the waterproof partition; the switch button, the rubber pad and the second button are arranged in sequence along a first direction" in the amended claim 1 of this application. However, Stanton teaches a rubber pad (0100) mounted on waterproof partition (0100; 0090) and a sealing member (0079; 0084-0088; 0100; 0105).
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727