DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I comprising claims 1 – 6, 12 and 13 in the reply filed on 5/13/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 7 – 11 and 14 have been rejoined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 7 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed recitation of a use, without setting forth any steps involved in the process, results in an improper definition of a process, i.e., results in a claim which is not a proper process claim under 35 U.S.C. 101. See for example Ex parte Dunki, 153 USPQ 678 (Bd.App. 1967) and Clinical Products, Ltd. v. Brenner, 255 F. Supp. 131, 149 USPQ 475 (D.D.C. 1966).
Claim 7 provides for the use of the indole carboxylic acid in an analytical method, but, since the claim does not set forth any steps involved in the method/process, it is unclear what method/process applicant is intending to encompass. Claim 7 merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 provides for the use of the indole carboxylic acid in an analytical method, but, since the claim does not set forth any steps involved in the method/process, it is unclear what method/process applicant is intending to encompass. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced.
Note Regarding Prior Art
Examiner cites particular sections, columns, line numbers, paragraphs and figures, in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 – 7 and 12 – 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huijser et al. (Cite No. 2 in IDS (page 2) filed 6/27/2024 submitted by Applicant; hereinafter “Huijser”).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4 – 7 and 12 – 14, Huijser teaches in figure 1 molecule B, which is perdeuterated indole carboxylic acid (page 2424). Huijser further teaches the compound 4,7-dideutero-indole carboxylic acid (DHICA-d2) from 2,5,6-d3-L-DOPA (Experimental Section; page 2429).
Claim(s) 1 – 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sato et al. al. (Cite No. 1 in IDS (page 1: Foreign Patent Documents section) filed 6/27/2024 submitted by Applicant; hereinafter “Sato”).
Regarding claims 1 – 5, Sato teaches in paragraph 21 the compounds DHICA (5, 6-dihydroxy-indole-2-carboxylic acid), 6H5MICA(6-hydroxy-5-methoxy-indole-2-carboxylic acid) and 5H6MICA (5-hydroxy-6-methoxy-indole-2-carboxylic acid).
Claim(s) 1 – 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brochez et al. (Cite No. 3 in IDS (page 2) filed 6/27/2024 submitted by Applicant; hereinafter “Brochez”).
Regarding claims 1 – 7, Brochez teaches the compound 6-hydroxy-5-methoxy-indole-2-carboxylic acid as a serological marker for melanoma (See Abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 – 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, the cited prior art neither teaches nor fairly suggests the analytical method according to claim 7, further comprising carrying out mass spectrometry.
Conclusion
BRIAN J. SINES
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1796
/BRIAN J. SINES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796