DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claim 1 and 2 in the reply filed on 05/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 3 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method of sensing nitric oxide, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/05/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over non-patent literature "Fluorescence Turn-On Detection of Gaseous Nitric Oxide Using Ferric Dithiocarbamate Complex Functionalized Quantum Dots" by Sun et al. cited in the IDS received on 09/29/2023 and further in view of Welch et al. (WO 2012170727 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Sun teaches a sensor for nitric oxide (pg 5630, right column) comprising:
a CdSe/ZnS core/shell quantum dot (QD) (pg 5629, left column) ; and
a ferric ion-dithiocarbamate complex (Fe(DTC)3) (pg 5629, left column) bound to the QD via carboxylate coordination to a ZnS surface thereof (pg 5629, left column), wherein the QD and Fe(DTC)3 are configured as donor and acceptor (pg 5631, Scheme 1), respectively, in fluorescence resonance energy transfer (pg 5629, left column).
Sun does not teach the quantum dots are coated with dihydrolipoic acid (DHLA).
However, Welch teaches fluorogenic semiconductor nanocrystals with different compositions and coating materials that can add certain physical/chemical characteristics to the nanocrystals (para 0081). Welch teaches a coating material, dihydrolipoic acid (DHLA), (para 0084) for nanocrystals for the benefit of allowing the nanocrystals to bind to biomolecules such as nitric oxide (para 0081). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the quantum dot structure taught by Sun with a coating of dihydrolipoic acid (DHLA), as taught by Welch, for the benefit of allowing the nanocrystals to bind to biomolecules such as nitric oxide (para 0081).
Regarding Claim 2, Sun teaches a method of preparing a sensor for nitric oxide (pg 5630, right column), the method comprising:
providing a CdSe/ZnS core/shell quantum dot (QD) (pg 5629, left column); and
contacting the QD with ferric dithiocarbamate (pg 5629, left column) so that it binds thereto via carboxylate coordination to a ZnS surface thereof, thereby obtaining a QD-Fe(DTC)3 pair (pg 5629, right column), where the QD and Fe(DTC)3 are configured as donor and acceptor (pg 5631, Scheme 1), respectively, in fluorescence resonance energy transfer (pg 5629, left column).
Sun does not teach the quantum dots are coated with dihydrolipoic acid (DHLA).
However, Welch teaches a coating material, dihydrolipoic acid (DHLA), (para 0084) for nanocrystals for the benefit of allowing the nanocrystals to bind to biomolecules such as nitric oxide (para 0081). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the quantum dot structure taught by Sun with a coating of dihydrolipoic acid (DHLA), as taught by Welch, for the benefit of allowing the nanocrystals to bind to biomolecules such as nitric oxide (para 0081).
Conclusion
/H.R.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798