Response to arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all pending claims have been fully considered, but moot because of the new ground of rejection. Applicant argued that cited references failed to disclose wherein the contextual information is embedded as inline tags within respective URL lines of the manifest.
However, Graves et al disclose a system being capable of embedding contextual data with information tags associated with URL as disclosed in para.0043. This action is made final.
Claims rejections-35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 1-4; 6-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson(US.Pub.No.20180199080) in view of Selfors(US.Pub.No.20210266641) and Jing(US.Pub.No.20100188577) and Graves(US.pub.No.20160277999).
Regarding claim 1, Jackson et al disclose a method for generating a manifest(see fig.1 for providing manifest files to the client device or terminal 106; 0037) for adaptive bitrate media(see fig.1 with encoder 103 for encoding media contents in multiple or various bitrates; 0030);
the method comprising: receiving, from a user device via transceiver circuitry, a request for media content delivery(request for video contents can be sent from user terminals;0034-0035);
determining, using control circuitry, a plurality of media content segments associated with the requested media content(the system is able to identify multiple clips or segments or portions associated with requested video content; 0008;0102; 0030-0031);
determining, using control circuitry, contextual information of the media content segments (see fig.1 with contextual generator to provide contextual data related to the video content; abstract; 0008-0011);and
generating a manifest(manifest data files; 0037); the manifest comprising: a plurality of uniform resource locators(URLs)(URL, 0042), indicating the location of the media content segments(location associated with media content can be provided;0037); and indications of contextual information associated with each media content segment(visual indicator or prompt can be displayed;0077;0059;0053);
transmitting the manifest to the user device(see fig.1 for providing manifest data files to the client terminal 106; 0037;0078).
But did not explicitly disclose wherein the contextual information is associated with a visual effect to augment each media content segment during a pause event of the media content and the visual effect applied manipulates the appearance of the media content segment; wherein the contextual information is embedded as inline tags within respective URL lines of the manifest.
However, Selfors et al disclose wherein the contextual information is associated with a visual effect to augment each media content segment during a pause event of the media content (the system can display contextual data during pause function was selected and overlay as visual effect can be displayed during the pause of the video; abstract; 0079;0082).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Selfors to modify Jackson by providing options to display other contents while pausing the video contents for the purpose of improving viewing experiences accordingly.
And Jing et al disclose the visual effect applied manipulates the appearance of the media content segment (the system is able to modify the appearance of medias content segment by reducing or changing the resolution or pixel of frames/segments of video during the pause of the video content;0046;0029).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Jing to modify Jackson and Selfors by providing options to modify the resolution or pixel of segments of video content for the purpose of increasing the capability of the network accordingly.
And Graves et al disclose wherein the contextual information( the contextual information,0043) is embedded as inline tags(embedded information tags,0043) within respective URL lines of the manifest(the URL-embedded information tags,0043).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Graves to modify Jackson and Selfors and Jing by providing options to embed contextual information with information tag associated with URL for the purpose of improving the capability of the network the capability of the network accordingly.
Regarding claim 2, Jackson et al disclose wherein the manifest further comprises instructions on how to modify each media content segment based on the visual effect(see fig.2 and fig.3 for displaying overlay or visual prompt at specific location of the screen according to instructions embedded in the manifest; 0033;0051-0054;0058;0078).
Regarding claim 3, Jackson and Jing and Graves et al did not explicitly disclose further comprising: during the pause event, receiving a request for further media content delivery.
However, Selfors et al disclose further comprising: during the pause event, receiving a request for further media content delivery(the system allows user to request additional content or data when the video stream is paused; 0022; 0079).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Selfors to modify Jackson and Jing and Graves by providing options to display other contents while pausing the video contents for the purpose of improving viewing experiences accordingly.
Regarding claim 4, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Jackson et al disclose wherein generating the manifest further comprises tagging the URLs(URL, 0042) with the contextual information(the system is able to assign tags to contents; 0084;0095).
Regarding claim 7; Jackson et al disclose wherein the request for content delivery comprises an indication to retrieve consecutive segments of the content(clips associated with video contents can be retrieved; 0095;0035;0042-0044).
Regarding claim 8, Jackson et al disclose further comprising instructions for caching the consecutive segments of the content in response to the request for content delivery comprising an indication to retrieve consecutive segments of the content(the system allows users to record video contents based on request; 0074;0032;0027;0004).
Regarding claim 9, Jackson et al disclose further comprising: receiving a request for a user profile, the user profile is indicative of a user-preferred visual effect; and sending the user profile or an indication of the user-preferred visual effect to the user device(the system can monitor preferences associated with user profiles; 0069;0087-0088;0090).
Regarding claim 10, Jackson et al disclose wherein the visual effect comprises a teaser frame(the system is able to provide prompt message or trigger message as teaser frame; 0050-0051; 0058) of the media content, and wherein the teaser frame is selected from at least one of: the plurality of media content segments, a media content item associated with the requested media content, or the requested media content(0081-0082;0046;0042).
Regarding claim 11, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Jackson et al disclose wherein the further media content is visual effects associated with the media content segments referenced in the manifest(see fig.2 and fig.3 for displaying overlay or visual prompt at specific location of the screen according to instructions embedded in the manifest; 0033;0051-0054;0058;0078).
Regarding claim 16, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 8.
Regarding claim 19, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 10.
Claim(s) 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson(US.Pub.No.20180199080) in view of Selfors(US.Pub.No.20210266641) and Jing(US.Pub.No.20100188577) and Graves(US.pub.No.20160277999) and Hooven(US.Pub.20130290847).
Regarding claim 51, Jackson and Selfors and Jing and Graves et al did not explicitly disclose wherein the visual effect is an animated enhancement to augment a visual appeal of the media content segment during the pause event.
However, Hooven et al disclose wherein the visual effect is an animated enhancement to augment a visual appeal of the media content segment during the pause event(see fig.1 to fig.5 for displaying interactive overlay related to the main video content; 0035-0038).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hooven to modify Jackson and Selfors and Jing and Graves by providing options to display interactive overlay while pausing the video contents for the purpose of increasing the satisfaction of the users accordingly.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEAN D SAINT CYR/Examiner, Art Unit 2425
/Brian T Pendleton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2425