CTNF 18/374,830 CTNF 83747 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-3, 6, 10-12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MENG et al. (US 2017/0366035 A1, hereinafter MENG) in view of YANG et al. (CN105322622, hereinafter YANG) . Regarding claims 1 and 10 (claim 1 is considered representative for limitations matching purposes), MENG discloses an electronic device comprising: a wireless charging circuit (See Fig.9, Item#902, discloses a coil controlling unit and Par.87, discloses the coil controlling unit turns on the wireless receiving coil to generate charging current for charging the wearable electronic device); at least one sensor (See Fig.9, Par.91, discloses a thermistor for measuring the battery temperature); and at least one processor operatively connected to the wireless charging circuit and the at least one sensor (See Fig.9, Items#903+904+905 are interpreted as the processor and are connected to the wireless charging circuit comprising the coil controlling unit and the at least one sensor comprising the thermistor [Par.91]), wherein the at least one processor is configured to: perform charging using the wireless charging circuit (See Fig.9, Item#905, discloses a current controlling unit for controlling the charging current); sense a temperature of the electronic device via the at least one sensor (See Fig.9, Item#903 and Par.91, disclose “the temperature monitoring unit 903 is specifically for collecting in real time a voltage value of a thermistor that is electrically connected to a battery of the wearable electronic device”); control, based on the temperature of the electronic device, heat generation during the charging (See Fig.9, Item#905 and Fig.4, Step#S403-S404 and Pars.47-48, disclose detecting the battery temperature and determining if the temperature is higher than the upper limit value of the temperature range. If the temperature is higher than the temperature range, the charging current is reduced. The reduced charging current is to reduce the temperature rise). However, MENG does not disclose change a charging condition based on a charging duration time based on the control of the heat generation. YANG discloses a system and method for changing a charging condition based on a measured temperature, comprising changing a charging condition based on a charging duration time base don the control of the heat generation (See Par.15-17, discloses the charging current is controlled based the detected temperature such that a first charging current is set for a first temperature range and a second charging current is set for a second and third temperature range. If the battery is charged at the second current 1000mA when the temperature is in the second and third range, then the battery temperature rises above the first temperature to be in the first range, the charging current is reduced to 400 mA. If the temperature falls below the first temperature (second and third range), the charging current is switched again to 1000 mA. However, if the time difference between changing current setting is less than a certain value, charging is switched to a second charging mode. In the second charging mode, when the temperature rises above the first temperature (first range) the current is switched to the first current, however the current is does not return to the second current until the temperature falls below the second temperature (third range). The charging condition [current value] is changed based on charging duration time [duration between current setting changes] based on the control of the heat generation [the switching of the current which is done previously based on the measured temperatures]). MENG and YANG are analogous art since they both deal with charging condition control based on temperature. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MENG with the teachings of YANG by changing a charging condition based on a charging duration time based on the control of the heat generation for the benefit of avoiding frequent setting of the charging current (See YANG, Par.40, disclose avoiding frequent setting of the charging current, thereby reducing the average value of the set charging current, reducing the power consumption of the mobile terminal). Regarding claims 2 and 11 (claim 2 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), MENG and YANG disclose the electronic device of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to change the charging condition based on the charging duration time being less than a threshold time (See YANG, Par.15 as applied to claim 1 above discloses “When the time difference between two consecutive charging current settings is less than the first time threshold and the current working mode is the first working mode, set the working mode to the second working mode.”) Regarding claims 3 and 12 (claim 3 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), MENG and YANG disclose the electronic device of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the charging condition comprises a condition associated with at a charging current (See MENG, Fig.4, Steps#S403 and S404, disclose reducing the charging current based on temperature). Regarding claims 6 and 15 (claim 6 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), MENG and YANG disclose the electronic device of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to control the heat generation by using a charging current (See MENG, Fig.4, steps#S403-S404) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MENG in view of YANG and in further view of FENG et al. (US 11,431,185 B1, hereinafter FENG) . Regarding claims 4 and 13 (claim 4 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), MENG and YANG disclose the electronic device of claim 1 as discussed above, However, MENG and YANG do not disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to change the charging condition by changing a charging path from a charging path comprising the wireless charging circuit to a normal charging path comprising a second wireless charging circuit. FENG discloses an electronic device wherein the at least one processor is further configured to change the charging condition by changing a charging path from a charging path comprising the wireless charging circuit to a normal charging path comprising a second wireless charging circuit (See Col.7, lines 35-57 and Fig.2A and Col.13. lines 25-32, disclose during fast charging, the normal charging path through the linear charger 122 and 124 is disabled and switching path comprising switches 204 is enabled). MENG, YANG and FENG are analogous art since they all deal with charging electronic devices with different charging rates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MENG and YANG with the teachings of FENG by forming a normal charging path and a fast-charging path for the benefit of increasing reliability and efficiency by providing redundancy (no single point of failure) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5, 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MENG in view of YANG and in further view of CONG et al. (US 2017/0194810 A1, hereinafter CONG) . Regarding claims 5 and 14 (claim 5 is considered representative for limitations matching purposes), MENG and YANG disclose the electronic device of claim 1 as discussed above, However, MENG and YANG do not disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to change the charging condition by decreasing a charging power based on a state in which a charging path comprising the wireless charging circuit is maintained. CONG discloses an electronic device charging system wherein the charging power is decreased based on a state in which a charging path comprising the wireless charging circuit is maintained (See Par.51, discloses decreasing the charging power to limit undesirable temperature. IMD device has one path). MENG, YANG and CONG are analogous art since they all deal with charging electronic devices with different charging rates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MENG and YANG with the teachings of CONG by reducing charging power when the temperature exceeds a certain level for the benefit of improving the temperature reduction of the electronic device. Regarding claim 7, MENG and YANG disclose the electronic device of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein, during the control of the heat generation, based on the temperature of the electronic device being greater than or equal to a threshold temperature, low-current charging is performed by using the wireless charging circuit (See MENG, Fig.4, Steps#S403 and S404), and based on the temperature of the electronic device being less than the threshold temperature, high-current charging is performed by using the wireless charging circuit (See Fig.4, Steps#S403 and S401 and S409 and S401, disclose charging using the charging current ICC when the temperature is less than a threshold temperature). However, MENG and YANG do not disclose changing the charging power based on the temperature. CONG discloses an electronic device charging system wherein the charging power is decreased based on a state in which a charging path comprising the wireless charging circuit is maintained (See Par.51, discloses decreasing the charging power to limit undesirable temperature. IMD device has one path). MENG, YANG and CONG are analogous art since they all deal with charging electronic devices with different charging rates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MENG and YANG with the teachings of CONG by reducing charging power when the temperature exceeds a certain level for the benefit of improving the temperature reduction of the electronic device . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MENG in view of YANG and in further view of ZHANG et al. (US 2021/0126474 A1, hereinafter ZHANG) . Regarding claims 8-9, MENG and YANG disclose the electronic device of claim 1 as discussed above, However, MENG and YANG do not disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to change the charging condition further based on at least one of a charging level and an elapsed charge time. ZHANG discloses a charging control system and method wherein the at least one processor is further configured to change the charging condition further based an elapsed charge time (See Fig.3, Step#S13-S14a, disclose that after changing the charging current from the first current to the second current based on temperature, returning to the first charging current after a charging duration using the second charging current expires). MENG, YANG and ZHANG are analogous art since they all deal with charging electronic devices with different charging rates. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AHMED H OMAR whose telephone number is (571)270-7165. The examiner can normally be reached 10:00 am -7:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AHMED H OMAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/374,830 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/374,830 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/374,830 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/374,830 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/374,830 Page 6 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/374,830 Page 7 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/374,830 Page 8 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/374,830 Page 10 Art Unit: 2859