DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment filed 05/27/2026.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Response to Amendment
In the instant amendment, claims 8-10 and 17-19 have been amended.
The 35 USC §101 rejection over claims 8-19 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
The 35 USC §101 rejection over claims 20 is maintained in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claim 20, the claim calls for a processing device; however, there is no hardware element found within the claimed system. As recited in the body of the claim, the claimed processing device contains “a hardware scheduler”, a mapping data structure”, and “queue unit”. The specification does not explicitly define how “a hardware scheduler”, a mapping data structure”, and “queue unit” are implemented. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that “a hardware scheduler”, a mapping data structure”, and “queue unit” could be implemented in software, which is non-statutory subject matter. It is suggested that the claim be further amended to positively recite at least one hardware embodiment in the body of the claim to make the claim statutory under 35. U.S.C. 101.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 is allowed if rewritten to overcome the 101 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0191730 to Mccrary and in further view of US 2013/0060981 to Horn et al. (hereafter “Horn”)
As per claim 1, Mccrary teaches a method implemented at a processing device, the method comprising:
responsive to a queue doorbell (FIG. 3; paragraphs 0024-0025: monitoring aggregate doorbell and detecting aggregate doorbell has been written) being an unmapped queue doorbell (FIGs. 2; paragraphs 0019-0025: “The scheduling system 200 also includes an unmapped queue list 255 that indicates the queues 214-220 that are not mapped (e.g., on a one-to-one basis) to individual doorbells and are instead collectively associated with one of the aggregate doorbells 229, 230. In some embodiments, queues are added to or removed from the mapped queue list 250 and the unmapped queue list 255 by modifying an associated index that indicates either the mapped queue list 250 or the unmapped queue list 255. The scheduler 205 uses the mapped queue list 250 to determine which doorbells to monitor. Some embodiments of the scheduler 205 move queues from the mapped queue list 250 to the unmapped queue list 255 in response to the queues becoming empty, e.g., by modifying a value of an associated index.” And “At block 320, a scheduler detects the interrupt and, in response, polls the unmapped queues associated with the aggregated doorbell that was written. For example, if several unmapped queues are associated with the aggregated doorbell, the scheduler polls each of the several unmapped queues to determine which of the unmapped queues received the command buffer. Polling the unmapped queues includes clearing the aggregate doorbell, making a pass through the unmapped queues to identify the unmapped queue that receives the command buffer, popping the command buffer from the unmapped queue, and then making another pass through the unmapped queues to detect any unmapped queues that have been written since the aggregate doorbell was cleared.”[Wingdings font/0xE0] aggregate queue doorbell associating with unmapped queue [Wingdings font/0xE0] aggregate doorbell (unmapped doorbell as claimed), signaling a hardware scheduler of the processing device indicating (paragraphs 0024-0025: “At block 320, a scheduler detects the interrupt and, in response, polls the unmapped queues associated with the aggregated doorbell that was written. For example, if several unmapped queues are associated with the aggregated doorbell, the scheduler polls each of the several unmapped queues to determine which of the unmapped queues received the command buffer. Polling the unmapped queues includes clearing the aggregate doorbell, making a pass through the unmapped queues to identify the unmapped queue that receives the command buffer”) work has been placed into a command buffer (FIGs. 1-2; in view of paragraph 0028 of the specification [Wingdings font/0xE0] commands/works are in command buffers which are queues [Wingdings font/0xE0] Mccrary (paragraphs 0001, 0018, 0021 and 0025) [Wingdings font/0xE0] commands are placed in command buffers [Wingdings font/0xE0] to identify the unmapped queue that receives the command buffer) currently unmapped to a hardware queue of the processing device “(FIGs. 2; paragraphs 0019-0025: “Polling the unmapped queues includes clearing the aggregate doorbell, making a pass through the unmapped queues to identify the unmapped queue that receives the command buffer, popping the command buffer from the unmapped queue, and then making another pass through the unmapped queues to detect any unmapped queues that have been written since the aggregate doorbell was cleared. If an unmapped queue has been written, the aggregate doorbell is written and the method 300 is repeated for the newly written aggregate doorbell. At block 325, the scheduler schedules the command buffer from the non-empty queue or adds the command buffer to a pool of command buffers that are available for scheduling.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] the command buffers are added/mapped into empty queue which is not one-to-one queue/mapped queue [Wingdings font/0xE0] the command buffers are not mapped to the one-to-one/mapped queue).
Mccrary discloses work has been placed into a command buffer, however, Mccrary does not explicitly disclose the command buffer is a queue.
Horn further discloses the command buffer is a queue (paragraph 0047: “The admin queue 258 may be implemented in a fashion that is similar to the command queue, such as through full hardware automation or ring buffer.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Horn into Mccrary’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of the controller may also have several queues to enable the bridge to return information related to data commands (completion, error, etc.). In addition, the bridge can report other status, errors, and indicate non-critical information (i.e., info/health reports) related to the operation of the bridge and the NVM (Horn, paragraph 0056).
As per claim 2, Mccrary discloses responsive to the signaling, mapping, by the hardware scheduler (FIGs. 1-2; in view of paragraph 0028 of the specification [Wingdings font/0xE0] commands/works are in command buffers which are queues [Wingdings font/0xE0] Mccrary (paragraphs 0001, 0018, 0021 and 0025) [Wingdings font/0xE0] command buffers added in the empty queues are scheduled to be executed or add in the pool for a next scheduling [Wingdings font/0xE0] adding the command buffers to queues 210-213 which is mapped as one-to-one for execution), the command buffers/queue to a hardware queue of a plurality of hardware queues at the processing device (FIGs. 1-2; in view of paragraph 0028 of the specification [Wingdings font/0xE0] commands/works are in command buffers which are queues [Wingdings font/0xE0] Mccrary (paragraphs 0001, 0018, 0021 and 0025) [Wingdings font/0xE0] command buffers added in the empty queues are scheduled to be executed or add in the pool for a next scheduling [Wingdings font/0xE0] adding the command buffers to queues 210-213 which is mapped as one-to-one (pipeline) for execution).
Mccrary discloses work has been placed into a command buffer, however, Mccrary does not explicitly disclose the command buffer is a queue.
Horn further discloses the command buffer is a queue (paragraph 0047: “The admin queue 258 may be implemented in a fashion that is similar to the command queue, such as through full hardware automation or ring buffer.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Horn into Mccrary’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of the controller may also have several queues to enable the bridge to return information related to data commands (completion, error, etc.). In addition, the bridge can report other status, errors, and indicate non-critical information (i.e., info/health reports) related to the operation of the bridge and the NVM (Horn, paragraph 0056).
As per claim 8, Mccrary discloses a processing device comprising:
a hardware scheduler circuit (FIGs. 1-2: scheduler 155/205 in a GPU); and
an unmapped queue unit configured to:
responsive to a queue doorbell (FIG. 3; paragraphs 0024-0025: monitoring aggregate doorbell and detecting aggregate doorbell has been written) being an unmapped queue doorbell (FIGs. 2; paragraphs 0019-0025: “The scheduling system 200 also includes an unmapped queue list 255 that indicates the queues 214-220 that are not mapped (e.g., on a one-to-one basis) to individual doorbells and are instead collectively associated with one of the aggregate doorbells 229, 230. In some embodiments, queues are added to or removed from the mapped queue list 250 and the unmapped queue list 255 by modifying an associated index that indicates either the mapped queue list 250 or the unmapped queue list 255. The scheduler 205 uses the mapped queue list 250 to determine which doorbells to monitor. Some embodiments of the scheduler 205 move queues from the mapped queue list 250 to the unmapped queue list 255 in response to the queues becoming empty, e.g., by modifying a value of an associated index.” And “At block 320, a scheduler detects the interrupt and, in response, polls the unmapped queues associated with the aggregated doorbell that was written. For example, if several unmapped queues are associated with the aggregated doorbell, the scheduler polls each of the several unmapped queues to determine which of the unmapped queues received the command buffer. Polling the unmapped queues includes clearing the aggregate doorbell, making a pass through the unmapped queues to identify the unmapped queue that receives the command buffer, popping the command buffer from the unmapped queue, and then making another pass through the unmapped queues to detect any unmapped queues that have been written since the aggregate doorbell was cleared.”[Wingdings font/0xE0] aggregate queue doorbell associating with unmapped queue [Wingdings font/0xE0] aggregate doorbell (unmapped doorbell as claimed), transmit a signal to the hardware scheduler circuit indicating (paragraphs 0024-0025: “At block 320, a scheduler detects the interrupt and, in response, polls the unmapped queues associated with the aggregated doorbell that was written. For example, if several unmapped queues are associated with the aggregated doorbell, the scheduler polls each of the several unmapped queues to determine which of the unmapped queues received the command buffer. Polling the unmapped queues includes clearing the aggregate doorbell, making a pass through the unmapped queues to identify the unmapped queue that receives the command buffer”) work has been placed into a command buffer (FIGs. 1-2; in view of paragraph 0028 of the specification [Wingdings font/0xE0] commands/works are in command buffers which are queues [Wingdings font/0xE0] Mccrary (paragraphs 0001, 0018, 0021 and 0025) [Wingdings font/0xE0] commands are placed in command buffers [Wingdings font/0xE0] to identify the unmapped queue that receives the command buffer) currently unmapped to a hardware queue of the processing device (FIGs. 2; paragraphs 0019-0025: “Polling the unmapped queues includes clearing the aggregate doorbell, making a pass through the unmapped queues to identify the unmapped queue that receives the command buffer, popping the command buffer from the unmapped queue, and then making another pass through the unmapped queues to detect any unmapped queues that have been written since the aggregate doorbell was cleared. If an unmapped queue has been written, the aggregate doorbell is written and the method 300 is repeated for the newly written aggregate doorbell. At block 325, the scheduler schedules the command buffer from the non-empty queue or adds the command buffer to a pool of command buffers that are available for scheduling.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] the command buffers are added/mapped into empty queue which is not one-to-one queue/mapped queue [Wingdings font/0xE0] the command buffers are not mapped to the one-to-one/mapped queue).
Mccrary discloses work has been placed into a command buffer, however, Mccrary does not explicitly disclose the command buffer is a queue.
Horn further discloses the command buffer is a queue (paragraph 0047: “The admin queue 258 may be implemented in a fashion that is similar to the command queue, such as through full hardware automation or ring buffer.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Horn into Mccrary’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of the controller may also have several queues to enable the bridge to return information related to data commands (completion, error, etc.). In addition, the bridge can report other status, errors, and indicate non-critical information (i.e., info/health reports) related to the operation of the bridge and the NVM (Horn, paragraph 0056).
As per claim 9, it is processing device claim, which recite(s) the same limitations as those of claim 2. Accordingly, claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 2.
As per claim 10, Mccrary discloses a plurality of compute units (FIGs. 1-2); and
a command processor configured to, responsive to the hardware scheduler circuit mapping the command buffer to the hardware queue (FIGs. 1-2; paragraphs 0019-0021 and 0024-0026: command buffers are in queues 145-147), dispatch the work to one or more compute units of the plurality of compute units (FIGs. 1-2; paragraphs 0019-0021 and 0024-0026: sending command buffers to pipelines 141-143).
Mccrary discloses work has been placed into a command buffer, however, Mccrary does not explicitly disclose the command buffer is a queue.
Horn further discloses the command buffer is a queue (paragraph 0047: “The admin queue 258 may be implemented in a fashion that is similar to the command queue, such as through full hardware automation or ring buffer.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Horn into Mccrary’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of the controller may also have several queues to enable the bridge to return information related to data commands (completion, error, etc.). In addition, the bridge can report other status, errors, and indicate non-critical information (i.e., info/health reports) related to the operation of the bridge and the NVM (Horn, paragraph 0056).
As per claim 11, Mccrary discloses wherein the unmapped queue doorbell is generated (paragraphs 0001, 0009 and 0011: aggregated doorbells) in response to a device driver placing work in the command buffer (paragraph 0001).
Mccrary discloses work has been placed into a command buffer, however, Mccrary does not explicitly disclose the command buffer is a queue.
Horn further discloses the command buffer is a queue (paragraph 0047: “The admin queue 258 may be implemented in a fashion that is similar to the command queue, such as through full hardware automation or ring buffer.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Horn into Mccrary’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of the controller may also have several queues to enable the bridge to return information related to data commands (completion, error, etc.). In addition, the bridge can report other status, errors, and indicate non-critical information (i.e., info/health reports) related to the operation of the bridge and the NVM (Horn, paragraph 0056).
As per claim 12, Mccrary discloses wherein the unmapped queue doorbell is generated by writing to a doorbell register mapped to the command buffers (FIGs. 1-2; paragraphs 0019-0021 and 0024-0026: the command buffers added into the 214-220 associated with doorbells 240).
Mccrary discloses work has been placed into a command buffer, however, Mccrary does not explicitly disclose the command buffer is a queue.
Horn further discloses the command buffer is a queue (paragraph 0047: “The admin queue 258 may be implemented in a fashion that is similar to the command queue, such as through full hardware automation or ring buffer.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Horn into Mccrary’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of the controller may also have several queues to enable the bridge to return information related to data commands (completion, error, etc.). In addition, the bridge can report other status, errors, and indicate non-critical information (i.e., info/health reports) related to the operation of the bridge and the NVM (Horn, paragraph 0056).
As per claim 13, Mccrary discloses responsive to a hardware queue mapping list indicating the queue is an unmapped queue (FIGs. 2; paragraphs 0020-0022 and 0025-0027), determine the queue doorbell is an unmapped queue doorbell (FIGs. 2; paragraphs 0020-0022 and 0025-0027).
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mccrary in view of Horn, as applied to claims 1 and 8, and further in view of US 2006/0143363 to Steffan.
As per claim 3, Mccrary discloses responsive to a hardware queue mapping list indicating the command buffer is an unmapped queue (FIGs. 1-2; paragraphs 0020-0021 and 0024-0026: the command buffer is added to empty queue associated with a list 240 (aggregate doobells) [Wingdings font/0xE0] unmapped command buffers), determining the queue doorbell is an unmapped queue doorbell (FIGs. 1-2; paragraphs 0020-0021 and 0024-0026: the command buffer is added to empty queue associated with a list 240 (aggregate doorbells) [Wingdings font/0xE0] aggregate doorbell which is not one to one doorbell 235 to the pipeline for execution [Wingdings font/0xE0] unmapped doorbells); and
responsive to the queue doorbell being a mapped queue doorbell, passing the queue doorbell to a command processor of the processing device (FIGs. 1-2; paragraphs 0020-0021 and 0024-0026: list doorbell 235 [Wingdings font/0xE0] mapped to the pipelines for execution);
responsive to the queue doorbell being a mapped queue doorbell, passing the command buffer to a command processor of the processing device (FIGs 1-2), and the doorbell is a queue doorbell (FIGs. 1-2)
Mccrary discloses work has been placed into a command buffer, however, Mccrary does not explicitly disclose the command buffer is a queue.
Horn further discloses the command buffer is a queue (paragraph 0047: “The admin queue 258 may be implemented in a fashion that is similar to the command queue, such as through full hardware automation or ring buffer.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Horn into Mccrary’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of the controller may also have several queues to enable the bridge to return information related to data commands (completion, error, etc.). In addition, the bridge can report other status, errors, and indicate non-critical information (i.e., info/health reports) related to the operation of the bridge and the NVM (Horn, paragraph 0056).
Steffan further discloses responsive to the doorbell being a mapped doorbell (paragraph 0015: “The CPU can access status registers 18 via peripheral bus 28. Status registers 18 are memory mapped to allow the CPU to read the information contained therein directly without passing by CAN message handler 14. This allows an effective polling of CAN module status flags.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] the status register (doorbell as claimed) is memory mapped), passing the doorbell to a command processor of the processing device (paragraph 0015: “The CPU can access status registers 18 via peripheral bus 28. Status registers 18 are memory mapped to allow the CPU to read the information contained therein directly without passing by CAN message handler 14. This allows an effective polling of CAN module status flags.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] in respond to the status register (doorbell as claimed) is memory mapped [Wingdings font/0xE0] the CPU reads the information contained in the memory by accessing to the register).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Steffan into Mccrary’s teaching and Horn’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of The CPU can access status registers 18 via peripheral bus 28. Status registers 18 are memory mapped to allow the CPU to read the information contained therein directly without passing by CAN message handler 14. This allows an effective polling of CAN module status flags (Steffan, paragraph 0056).
As per claim 14, Mccrary discloses responsive to the queue doorbell being a mapped queue doorbell, passing the command buffer to a command processor of the processing device (FIGs 1-2), and the doorbell is a queue doorbell (FIGs. 1-2)
Mccrary discloses work has been placed into a command buffer, however, Mccrary does not explicitly disclose the command buffer is a queue.
Horn further discloses the command buffer is a queue (paragraph 0047: “The admin queue 258 may be implemented in a fashion that is similar to the command queue, such as through full hardware automation or ring buffer.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Horn into Mccrary’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of the controller may also have several queues to enable the bridge to return information related to data commands (completion, error, etc.). In addition, the bridge can report other status, errors, and indicate non-critical information (i.e., info/health reports) related to the operation of the bridge and the NVM (Horn, paragraph 0056).
Steffan further discloses responsive to the doorbell being a mapped doorbell (paragraph 0015: “The CPU can access status registers 18 via peripheral bus 28. Status registers 18 are memory mapped to allow the CPU to read the information contained therein directly without passing by CAN message handler 14. This allows an effective polling of CAN module status flags.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] the status register (doorbell as claimed) is memory mapped), passing the doorbell to a command processor of the processing device (paragraph 0015: “The CPU can access status registers 18 via peripheral bus 28. Status registers 18 are memory mapped to allow the CPU to read the information contained therein directly without passing by CAN message handler 14. This allows an effective polling of CAN module status flags.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] in respond to the status register (doorbell as claimed) is memory mapped [Wingdings font/0xE0] the CPU reads the information contained in the memory by accessing to the register).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Steffan into Mccrary’s teaching and Horn’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of The CPU can access status registers 18 via peripheral bus 28. Status registers 18 are memory mapped to allow the CPU to read the information contained therein directly without passing by CAN message handler 14. This allows an effective polling of CAN module status flags (Steffan, paragraph 0056).
Claims 4-5 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mccrary in view of Horn, as applied to claims 1 and 8, and further in view of US 2008/0198671 to Wang et al. (hereafter Wang)
As per claim 4, Mccrary discloses responsive to the unmapped queue doorbell (FIGs. 2; paragraphs 0019-0025: “The scheduling system 200 also includes an unmapped queue list 255 that indicates the queues 214-220 that are not mapped (e.g., on a one-to-one basis) to individual doorbells and are instead collectively associated with one of the aggregate doorbells 229, 230. In some embodiments, queues are added to or removed from the mapped queue list 250 and the unmapped queue list 255 by modifying an associated index that indicates either the mapped queue list 250 or the unmapped queue list 255. The scheduler 205 uses the mapped queue list 250 to determine which doorbells to monitor. Some embodiments of the scheduler 205 move queues from the mapped queue list 250 to the unmapped queue list 255 in response to the queues becoming empty, e.g., by modifying a value of an associated index.” And “At block 320, a scheduler detects the interrupt and, in response, polls the unmapped queues associated with the aggregated doorbell that was written. For example, if several unmapped queues are associated with the aggregated doorbell, the scheduler polls each of the several unmapped queues to determine which of the unmapped queues received the command buffer. Polling the unmapped queues includes clearing the aggregate doorbell, making a pass through the unmapped queues to identify the unmapped queue that receives the command buffer, popping the command buffer from the unmapped queue, and then making another pass through the unmapped queues to detect any unmapped queues that have been written since the aggregate doorbell was cleared.”[Wingdings font/0xE0] aggregate queue doorbell associating with unmapped queue [Wingdings font/0xE0] aggregate doorbell (unmapped doorbell as claimed), the mapping data structure mapping each command buffer of a plurality of command buffers to a doorbell register of a plurality of doorbell registers at the processing device (FIGs. 1-2; in view of paragraph 0028 of the specification [Wingdings font/0xE0] commands/works are in command buffers which are queues [Wingdings font/0xE0] Mccrary (paragraphs 0001, 0018, 0021 and 0024-0026) [Wingdings font/0xE0] command buffers added in the empty queues are scheduled to be executed or add in the pool for a next scheduling [Wingdings font/0xE0] adding the command buffers to queues 210-213 which is mapped as one-to-one (pipeline) for execution).
Mccrary discloses work has been placed into a command buffer, however, Mccrary does not explicitly disclose the command buffer is a queue.
Horn further discloses the command buffer is a queue (paragraph 0047: “The admin queue 258 may be implemented in a fashion that is similar to the command queue, such as through full hardware automation or ring buffer.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Horn into Mccrary’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of the controller may also have several queues to enable the bridge to return information related to data commands (completion, error, etc.). In addition, the bridge can report other status, errors, and indicate non-critical information (i.e., info/health reports) related to the operation of the bridge and the NVM (Horn, paragraph 0056).
Wang further discloses updating a mapping data structure (paragraphs 0023-0024: “ The write control logic 14 may select the write pointer corresponding to the command type (and potentially port) to provide to the command queue 10, and may update the selected pointer (e.g. increment). Alternatively, the write control logic 14 may provide all of the write pointers to the command queue 10, which may write the command into the correct location. The write control logic 14 may receive the command type and port number for the command, and may update the corresponding pointer) to indicate the queue has work (paragraphs 0023-0024: : “The enqueue event FIFO 16 passes a write event, indicating that a command has been enqueued in the command buffer 10, over the clock boundary to inform the read control logic 12 of the event so that it may update the corresponding write pointer.”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Wang into Mccrary’s teaching and Horn’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of The queue is configured to store a plurality of data items, wherein each data item has a type which is one of a plurality of types of data items that can be stored in the queue (Wang, paragraph 0009).
As per claim 5, Mccrary discloses wherein updating the mapping data structure comprises changing a value of at least one bit in the mapping data structure mapped to a doorbell register of the plurality of doorbell registers associated with the unmapped queue doorbell (FIG. 4; paragraphs 0027-0030: “For example, the scheduler can change the value of the index from “0” to “1” to indicate that the queue is to be removed from the mapped queue list and added to the unmapped queue list so that the queue is associated with the aggregate doorbell”).
As per claim 15, it is a processing device claim, which recite(s) the same limitations as those of claim 4. Accordingly, claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 4.
As per claim 16, it is a processing device claim, which recite(s) the same limitations as those of claim 5. Accordingly, claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 5.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicants argue “Thus, the claim requires that the queue doorbell corresponds to a particular queue and that the signaling indicates that work has been placed into that queue. The Office’s position requires interpreting the claimed “queue doorbell” as a signal that does not correspond to a particular queue and does not indicate that work has been placed into a particular queue, but instead merely indicates that one of multiple queues may have received work” (Remarks, pages 8-9)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
The plain language of claim 1 “responsive to a queue doorbell being an unmapped queue doorbell, signaling a hardware scheduler of the processing device indicating work has been placed into a queue currently unmapped to a hardware queue of the processing device.” does not require “the queue doorbell corresponds to a particular queue and that the signaling indicates that work has been placed into that queue” as the applicants argued. The claim language requires “a queue doorbell being an unmapped queue doorbell” and “a queue currently unmapped to a hardware queue of the processing device.” The terms “a queue” and “a hardware queue” can be any queues. They do not have to be queues that the queue doorbell corresponds to.
It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the queue doorbell corresponds to a particular queue and that the signaling indicates that work has been placed into that queue” – see Remarks, pages 8-9) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The prior art Mccrary FIG. 2 paragraphs 0022-0025 state:
[0022] Some embodiments of the scheduling system 200 include a mapped queue list 250 that indicates the queues 210-213 that are mapped to the doorbells 225-228. The scheduling system 200 also includes an unmapped queue list 255 that indicates the queues 214-220 that are not mapped (e.g., on a one-to-one basis) to individual doorbells and are instead collectively associated with one of the aggregate doorbells 229, 230. In some embodiments, queues are added to or removed from the mapped queue list 250 and the unmapped queue list 255 by modifying an associated index that indicates either the mapped queue list 250 or the unmapped queue list 255. The scheduler 205 uses the mapped queue list 250 to determine which doorbells to monitor. Some embodiments of the scheduler 205 move queues from the mapped queue list 250 to the unmapped queue list 255 in response to the queues becoming empty, e.g., by modifying a value of an associated index. Moving the queues includes disabling fetching by the doorbells that are mapped to the queues prior to the queues becoming empty and changing the index to indicate the unmapped queue list 255. In response to receiving an acknowledgment response (e.g., a packet or an interrupt) indicating that the host CPU has changed the doorbell, the scheduler 205 verifies that the queue is still empty by comparing the read and write pointers for the queue prior to moving the queue to the unmapped queue list 255. The scheduler 205 then moves the queue to the unmapped queue list in response to verifying that the queue is empty, e.g., the read pointer and write pointer indicate the same location in the queue, which avoids race conditions that occur if a command buffer is written to a queue while the scheduler 205 is in the process of unmapping the queue.
[0024] At block 305, a hardware doorbell monitor monitors one or more aggregated doorbells that are mapped to subsets of empty queues in a one-to-many relationship. At block 310, the hardware doorbell monitor detects that one of the aggregated doorbells has been written to indicate that a queue in the subset of empty queues associated with the aggregated doorbell has received a command buffer and is no longer empty. At block 315, the hardware doorbell monitor generates an interrupt in response to detecting that the aggregated doorbell has been written.
[0025] At block 320, a scheduler detects the interrupt and, in response, polls the unmapped queues associated with the aggregated doorbell that was written. For example, if several unmapped queues are associated with the aggregated doorbell, the scheduler polls each of the several unmapped queues to determine which of the unmapped queues received the command buffer. Polling the unmapped queues includes clearing the aggregate doorbell, making a pass through the unmapped queues to identify the unmapped queue that receives the command buffer, popping the command buffer from the unmapped queue, and then making another pass through the unmapped queues to detect any unmapped queues that have been written since the aggregate doorbell was cleared. If an unmapped queue has been written, the aggregate doorbell is written and the method 300 is repeated for the newly written aggregate doorbell. At block 325, the scheduler schedules the command buffer from the non-empty queue or adds the command buffer to a pool of command buffers that are available for scheduling.
Accordingly, Mccrary teaches a list of aggregated queue doorbells (one-to-many relationship) as claimed unmapped queue doorbells. Furthermore, Mccrary teaches a monitor monitors one or more aggregated doorbells, and to detect that one of the aggregated doorbells has been written to indicate that a queue in the subset of empty queues associated with the aggregated doorbell has received a command buffer.
Therefore, Mccrary teaches responsive to a queue doorbell being an unmapped queue doorbell (FIGs. 2; paragraphs 0019-0025: “The scheduling system 200 also includes an unmapped queue list 255 that indicates the queues 214-220 that are not mapped (e.g., on a one-to-one basis) to individual doorbells and are instead collectively associated with one of the aggregate doorbells 229, 230. In some embodiments, queues are added to or removed from the mapped queue list 250 and the unmapped queue list 255 by modifying an associated index that indicates either the mapped queue list 250 or the unmapped queue list 255. The scheduler 205 uses the mapped queue list 250 to determine which doorbells to monitor. Some embodiments of the scheduler 205 move queues from the mapped queue list 250 to the unmapped queue list 255 in response to the queues becoming empty, e.g., by modifying a value of an associated index.” And “At block 320, a scheduler detects the interrupt and, in response, polls the unmapped queues associated with the aggregated doorbell that was written. For example, if several unmapped queues are associated with the aggregated doorbell, the scheduler polls each of the several unmapped queues to determine which of the unmapped queues received the command buffer. Polling the unmapped queues includes clearing the aggregate doorbell, making a pass through the unmapped queues to identify the unmapped queue that receives the command buffer, popping the command buffer from the unmapped queue, and then making another pass through the unmapped queues to detect any unmapped queues that have been written since the aggregate doorbell was cleared.”[Wingdings font/0xE0] aggregate queue doorbell associating with unmapped queue [Wingdings font/0xE0] aggregate doorbell (unmapped doorbell as claimed).
Since the plain language of claim 1 only recites “a queue” and “a hardware queue”, Mccrary teaches command buffers “a queue” as claimed written in unmapped queues (list 240 in FIG. 2) and a list of mapped queues (queues 235 in FIG. 2) as claimed “hardware queue of the processing device”. Mccrary teaches command buffer in unmapped queue 215-220 mapped to aggregate doorbells 240, while mapped queues 210-214 mapped to mapped doorbells 235, therefore, Mccrary teaches command buffers are unmapped to queues 210-214.
Therefore, Mccrary teaches A method implemented at a processing device, the method comprising:
responsive to a queue doorbell (FIG. 3; paragraphs 0024-0025: monitoring aggregate doorbell and detecting aggregate doorbell has been written) being an unmapped queue doorbell (FIGs. 2; paragraphs 0019-0025: “The scheduling system 200 also includes an unmapped queue list 255 that indicates the queues 214-220 that are not mapped (e.g., on a one-to-one basis) to individual doorbells and are instead collectively associated with one of the aggregate doorbells 229, 230. In some embodiments, queues are added to or removed from the mapped queue list 250 and the unmapped queue list 255 by modifying an associated index that indicates either the mapped queue list 250 or the unmapped queue list 255. The scheduler 205 uses the mapped queue list 250 to determine which doorbells to monitor. Some embodiments of the scheduler 205 move queues from the mapped queue list 250 to the unmapped queue list 255 in response to the queues becoming empty, e.g., by modifying a value of an associated index.” And “At block 320, a scheduler detects the interrupt and, in response, polls the unmapped queues associated with the aggregated doorbell that was written. For example, if several unmapped queues are associated with the aggregated doorbell, the scheduler polls each of the several unmapped queues to determine which of the unmapped queues received the command buffer. Polling the unmapped queues includes clearing the aggregate doorbell, making a pass through the unmapped queues to identify the unmapped queue that receives the command buffer, popping the command buffer from the unmapped queue, and then making another pass through the unmapped queues to detect any unmapped queues that have been written since the aggregate doorbell was cleared.”[Wingdings font/0xE0] aggregate queue doorbell associating with unmapped queue [Wingdings font/0xE0] aggregate doorbell (unmapped doorbell as claimed), signaling a hardware scheduler of the processing device indicating (pargraphs 0024-0025: “At block 320, a scheduler detects the interrupt and, in response, polls the unmapped queues associated with the aggregated doorbell that was written. For example, if several unmapped queues are associated with the aggregated doorbell, the scheduler polls each of the several unmapped queues to determine which of the unmapped queues received the command buffer. Polling the unmapped queues includes clearing the aggregate doorbell, making a pass through the unmapped queues to identify the unmapped queue that receives the command buffer”) work has been placed into a command buffer (FIGs. 1-2; in view of paragraph 0028 of the specification [Wingdings font/0xE0] commands/works are in command buffers which are queues [Wingdings font/0xE0] Mccrary (paragraphs 0001, 0018, 0021 and 0025) [Wingdings font/0xE0] commands are placed in command buffers [Wingdings font/0xE0] to identify the unmapped queue that receives the command buffer) currently unmapped to a hardware queue of the processing device “(FIGs. 2; paragraphs 0019-0025: “Polling the unmapped queues includes clearing the aggregate doorbell, making a pass through the unmapped queues to identify the unmapped queue that receives the command buffer, popping the command buffer from the unmapped queue, and then making another pass through the unmapped queues to detect any unmapped queues that have been written since the aggregate doorbell was cleared. If an unmapped queue has been written, the aggregate doorbell is written and the method 300 is repeated for the newly written aggregate doorbell. At block 325, the scheduler schedules the command buffer from the non-empty queue or adds the command buffer to a pool of command buffers that are available for scheduling.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] the command buffers are added/mapped into empty queue which is not one-to-one queue/mapped queue [Wingdings font/0xE0] the command buffers are not mapped to the one-to-one/mapped queue).
Mccrary discloses work has been placed into a command buffer, however, Mccrary does not explicitly disclose the command buffer is a queue.
Horn further discloses the command buffer is a queue (paragraph 0047: “The admin queue 258 may be implemented in a fashion that is similar to the command queue, such as through full hardware automation or ring buffer.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Horn into Mccrary’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of the controller may also have several queues to enable the bridge to return information related to data commands (completion, error, etc.). In addition, the bridge can report other status, errors, and indicate non-critical information (i.e., info/health reports) related to the operation of the bridge and the NVM (Horn, paragraph 0056).
b) Per claim 20, it is allowed if rewritten to overcome the 101 rejection.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273 8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature of relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the TC 2100 Group receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272 2100.
/TUAN C DAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2198