DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (US 2017/0118592) in view of Gurin (US 2025/0284256).
Regarding claim 1, Patel teaches a computing system (fig. 2, [0049]) comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories having stored therein instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors (fig. 2, [0049], [0008], [0078]), cause the computing system to perform computing operations comprising: receiving a plurality of location indications that indicate locations of an object at a plurality of times (i.e., the location-aware clients 202 publish their location data to the location management server 204 continuously, e.g., after each new location data point is collected [0049]); generating, based on the plurality of location indications, a plurality of geofence indications that indicate that the object is within a geofence ([0049]); providing, to an account, based on the plurality of the plurality of geofence indications, a plurality of notifications of a plurality of geofence events corresponding to the object, wherein the plurality of geofence events comprise a geofence entering event corresponding to the object making a geofence entrance and a geofence exiting event corresponding to the object making a geofence exit (i.e., Parameters for the geofence are stored at the location management server 204, and the location service tracks the changing location data from the location-aware clients 202, and applies business logic and spatial views to the location data to determine whether the location-aware clients 202 are inside or outside of (or have entered or exited) the geofence. The location service notifies the user and/or group supervisors that a location-aware client 202 has entered/exited the geofence; the notification may be in-band or out-of-band. If a group contains more than one supervisor/geofence, the location data may be evaluated against the plurality of geofences in the group. In some embodiments, the location service may use historic data from the location-aware clients 202 stored in the DB cluster 206 to produce breadcrumb views [0049]-[0050]).
Patel further teaches detecting events such motion detection and direction ([0046]). Patel fails to teach detecting that there is an out-of-order location indication within the plurality of location indications, wherein the out-of-order location indication is sampled prior to one or more other location indications that are received prior to the out-of-order location indication; determining, based on the out-of-order location indication, a retroactive geofence event regarding which the account has not yet been notified; and providing, to the account, an additional notification of the retroactive geofence event.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communication. Gurin teaches One instance in which precise location knowledge is desired, even though the mobile resource is no longer at that location, is in establishing likelihood of cross contamination retroactively after an infection has been obtained, transaction fraud prior to the shipment of an ecommerce order, and projections of future location when resources travel relatively repetitive routes (such as employees within a hospital). It is a feature and an object of the invention to maintain historic location data as obtained in real-time for each location (preferably on a continuous vector mapping) with a set of non-real-time adjusted location data such that the combination of the real-time location and the non-real-time location adjustment provides a more precise predicted real-time location... Retroactive improvements of location data occur by analytical inclusion of subsequent data records through knowledge of then future performance of primary tasks or secondary tasks at known locations ([0008], [0054]), the occurrence of the known scheduled next task ‘geofence’ actual time in combination with the occurrence of the known prior task geofence enables future (as well as retroactive) calibration of location vector despite the otherwise significant error in location. Once the more precise location is determined (whether for future or retroactively) a more precise location vector is created [0074]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Gurin within the system of Patel in order to improve the accuracy of the location beyond the best available wireless methods (including triangulation) as known in the art through the aforementioned leverage of historic calibration, and to improve not only location precision but also pathways in which the mobile resource 690 travels using the pathway engine 3202.
Regarding claim 5, Patel teaches a computer-implemented comprising: receiving a plurality of location indications that indicate locations of an object at a plurality of times (i.e., the location-aware clients 202 publish their location data to the location management server 204 continuously, e.g., after each new location data point is collected [0049]); generating, based on the plurality of location indications, a plurality of geofence indications that indicate that the object is within a geofence ([0049]); providing, to an account, based on the plurality of the plurality of geofence indications, a plurality of notifications of a plurality of geofence events corresponding to the object (i.e., Parameters for the geofence are stored at the location management server 204, and the location service tracks the changing location data from the location-aware clients 202, and applies business logic and spatial views to the location data to determine whether the location-aware clients 202 are inside or outside of (or have entered or exited) the geofence. The location service notifies the user and/or group supervisors that a location-aware client 202 has entered/exited the geofence; the notification may be in-band or out-of-band. If a group contains more than one supervisor/geofence, the location data may be evaluated against the plurality of geofences in the group. In some embodiments, the location service may use historic data from the location-aware clients 202 stored in the DB cluster 206 to produce breadcrumb views [0049]-[0050]).
Patel further teaches detecting events such motion detection and direction ([0046]). Patel fails to teach detecting that there is an out-of-order location indication within the plurality of location indications; determining, based on the out-of-order location indication, a retroactive geofence event regarding which the account has not yet been notified; and providing, to the account, an additional notification of the retroactive geofence event.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communication. Gurin teaches One instance in which precise location knowledge is desired, even though the mobile resource is no longer at that location, is in establishing likelihood of cross contamination retroactively after an infection has been obtained, transaction fraud prior to the shipment of an ecommerce order, and projections of future location when resources travel relatively repetitive routes (such as employees within a hospital). It is a feature and an object of the invention to maintain historic location data as obtained in real-time for each location (preferably on a continuous vector mapping) with a set of non-real-time adjusted location data such that the combination of the real-time location and the non-real-time location adjustment provides a more precise predicted real-time location... Retroactive improvements of location data occur by analytical inclusion of subsequent data records through knowledge of then future performance of primary tasks or secondary tasks at known locations ([0008], [0054]), the occurrence of the known scheduled next task ‘geofence’ actual time in combination with the occurrence of the known prior task geofence enables future (as well as retroactive) calibration of location vector despite the otherwise significant error in location. Once the more precise location is determined (whether for future or retroactively) a more precise location vector is created [0074]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Gurin within the system of Patel in order to improve the accuracy of the location beyond the best available wireless methods (including triangulation) as known in the art through the aforementioned leverage of historic calibration, and to improve not only location precision but also pathways in which the mobile resource 690 travels using the pathway engine 3202.
Regarding claim 6, Patel in view of Gurin teaches all the limitations above. Patel further teaches the plurality of geofence events comprise a geofence entering event corresponding to the object making a geofence entrance and a geofence exiting event corresponding to the object making a geofence exit (i.e., the location-aware clients publish their location data to the location management server 204 continuously, e.g., after each new location data point is collected. Parameters for the geofence are stored at the location management server 204, and the location service tracks the changing location data from the location-aware clients 202, and applies business logic and spatial views to the location data to determine whether the location-aware clients 202 are inside or outside of (or have entered or exited) the geofence) ([0049]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 7, Patel in view of Gurin teaches all the limitations above. “the out-of-order location indication is sampled prior to one or more other location indications that are received prior to the out-of-order location indication” could have been derived by one of ordinary skill in the art from Gurin’s reference which discloses the references to private geofence, as compared to public geofence, in the context of hazard inhibition is already a clear case of private geofence being where a mobile resource is operating under a different set of rules and/or constraints. Primary tasks in which a mobile resource is performing has a larger set of operations that will be performed as compared to secondary tasks, and therefore the mobile resource will need to operate with less constraints than when only performing secondary tasks and/or traveling between a first location and a second location ([0071], [0079]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, could have easily conceived the invention in claim 7 from a combination of Patel in view of Gurin.
Regarding claim 8, Patel in view of Gurin teaches all the limitations above. “the determining of the retroactive geofence event comprises: determining a branch point location indication that is a last sampled location indication prior to the out-of-order location indication” could have been derived by one of ordinary skill in the art from Gurin’s reference which discloses the occurrence of the known scheduled next task ‘geofence’ actual time in combination with the occurrence of the known prior task geofence enables future (as well as retroactive) calibration of location vector despite the otherwise significant error in location. Once the more precise location is determined (whether for future or retroactively) a more precise location vector is created ([0054], [0074]. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, could have easily conceived the invention in claim 8 from a combination of Patel in view of Gurin.
Regarding claim 13, Patel in view of Gurin teaches all the limitations above. “receiving, from the account, an indication of at least one of a selected type of geofence event or a selected geofence for which the account chooses to receive retroactive geofence event notifications” could have been derived by one of ordinary skill in the art from Gurin’s reference which discloses the occurrence of the known scheduled next task ‘geofence’ actual time in combination with the occurrence of the known prior task geofence enables future (as well as retroactive) calibration of location vector despite the otherwise significant error in location. Once the more precise location is determined (whether for future or retroactively) a more precise location vector is created ([0054], [0074]. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, could have easily conceived the invention in claim 8 from a combination of Patel in view of Gurin.
Regarding claim 14, Patel teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media having stored thereon computing instructions that, upon execution by one or more computing devices, cause the one or more computing devices to perform computing operations comprising: receiving a plurality of location indications that indicate locations of an object at a plurality of times (i.e., the location-aware clients publish their location data to the location management server 204 continuously, e.g., after each new location data point is collected [0049]); generating, based on the plurality of location indications, a plurality of geofence indications that indicate that the object is within a geofence ([0049]); providing, to an account, based on the plurality of the plurality of geofence indications, a plurality of notifications of a plurality of geofence events corresponding to the object (i.e., Parameters for the geofence are stored at the location management server 204, and the location service tracks the changing location data from the location-aware clients 202, and applies business logic and spatial views to the location data to determine whether the location-aware clients 202 are inside or outside of (or have entered or exited) the geofence. The location service notifies the user and/or group supervisors that a location-aware client 202 has entered/exited the geofence; the notification may be in-band or out-of-band. If a group contains more than one supervisor/geofence, the location data may be evaluated against the plurality of geofences in the group. In some embodiments, the location service may use historic data from the location-aware clients 202 stored in the DB cluster 206 to produce breadcrumb views [0049]-[0050]).
Patel further teaches detecting events such motion detection and direction ([0046]). Patel fails to teach detecting that there is an out-of-order location indication within the plurality of location indications; determining, based on the out-of-order location indication, a retroactive geofence event regarding which the account has not yet been notified; and providing, to the account, an additional notification of the retroactive geofence event.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communication. Gurin teaches One instance in which precise location knowledge is desired, even though the mobile resource is no longer at that location, is in establishing likelihood of cross contamination retroactively after an infection has been obtained, transaction fraud prior to the shipment of an ecommerce order, and projections of future location when resources travel relatively repetitive routes (such as employees within a hospital). It is a feature and an object of the invention to maintain historic location data as obtained in real-time for each location (preferably on a continuous vector mapping) with a set of non-real-time adjusted location data such that the combination of the real-time location and the non-real-time location adjustment provides a more precise predicted real-time location... Retroactive improvements of location data occur by analytical inclusion of subsequent data records through knowledge of then future performance of primary tasks or secondary tasks at known locations ([0008], [0054]), the occurrence of the known scheduled next task ‘geofence’ actual time in combination with the occurrence of the known prior task geofence enables future (as well as retroactive) calibration of location vector despite the otherwise significant error in location. Once the more precise location is determined (whether for future or retroactively) a more precise location vector is created [0074]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Gurin within the system of Patel in order to improve the accuracy of the location beyond the best available wireless methods (including triangulation) as known in the art through the aforementioned leverage of historic calibration, and to improve not only location precision but also pathways in which the mobile resource 690 travels using the pathway engine 3202.
Regarding claim 15, Patel in view of Gurin teaches all the limitations above. Patel further teaches wherein the plurality of geofence events comprise a geofence entering event corresponding to the object making a geofence entrance and a geofence exiting event corresponding to the object making a geofence exit (i.e., the location-aware clients publish their location data to the location management server 204 continuously, e.g., after each new location data point is collected. Parameters for the geofence are stored at the location management server 204, and the location service tracks the changing location data from the location-aware clients 202, and applies business logic and spatial views to the location data to determine whether the location-aware clients 202 are inside or outside of (or have entered or exited) the geofence) ([0049]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 16, Patel in view of Gurin teaches all the limitations above. “the out-of-order location indication is sampled prior to one or more other location indications that are received prior to the out-of-order location indication” could have been derived by one of ordinary skill in the art from Gurin’s reference which discloses the references to private geofence, as compared to public geofence, in the context of hazard inhibition is already a clear case of private geofence being where a mobile resource is operating under a different set of rules and/or constraints. Primary tasks in which a mobile resource is performing has a larger set of operations that will be performed as compared to secondary tasks, and therefore the mobile resource will need to operate with less constraints than when only performing secondary tasks and/or traveling between a first location and a second location ([0071], [0079]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, could have easily conceived the invention in claim 7 from a combination of Patel in view of Gurin.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 9-12, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643