DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 10/07/2025 in which claims 1-3, 11-14, 16-17, 21, 27-28, 34-38 and 40-43 are pending. Claims 4-10, 15, 18-20, 22-26, 29-33, and 39 were canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed on 10/07/2025 with respect to amended independent claim 1 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are addressed below. The claims have not overcome the claim rejections as shown below.
Claims 1-3, 11-14, 16-17, 21, 27-28, 34-38 and 40-43 are pending.
Claims 4-10, 15, 18-20, 22-26, 29-33, and 39 were cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Applicant argues that Heyn fails to show “the control information including parameters for parameterizing a non-linear function” and does not describe ephemeris data at all, thus cannot show the distinctive feature “wherein the user equipment is configured to time synchronize communications with the base station using the parameterized non-linear function with the assistance of satellite ephemeris data”.
Based on the amendments, further consideration of the prior arts of record was performed and the prior art of Amorim was found to disclose this amended features.
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Applicant further argues that Amorim fails to disclose the feature “the control information including parameters for parameterizing a non-linear function” because in Amorim a dictionary is used and a corresponding index C_idx is signaled. Applicant further argues that Amorim does not describe ephemeris data at all, thus cannot show the distinctive feature “wherein the user equipment is configured to time synchronize communications with the base station using the parameterized non-linear function with the assistance of satellite ephemeris data”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Amorim discloses in Fig. 3, steps 303-309, and [0142]-[0145] that a client device receives from a network node an indication of the selected timing advance compensation function curve. The indication includes the index 320 (C_idx) of the selected timing advance compensation function curve, a starting point 321 (U_idx) on the selected timing advance compensation function, or an indication of a start time instant for applying the selected timing advance compensation function curve, and a timing advance step size 322 to use for the selected timing advance compensation function, or an indication of a time period for updating one timing advance step. Amorim discloses in Fig. 4 and [0150] that the index C_idx is used by the client device to deduce the parameters 323. The TA variation compensation function curves are defined as a set of third degree polynomial functions and are based on the parameters C_idx and U_idx (Amorim, [0158]). Therefore, the parameters C_idx, U_idx and step size are parameters received by the client device and used for the curve which is a third degree polynomial function. Amorim further discloses in [0103], [0118], [0121], [0158] that the compensation function curves are TA drift functions to compensate for the delay. Thus, Amorim discloses the amended feature “the control information including parameters for parameterizing a non-linear function” by the indication including the parameters C_idx, U_idx, and step size for the third degree polynomial function (timing advance compensation function curve).
Amorim further discloses in Fig. 3, step 305, and 311, [0122] and [0158], that the client device uses the satellite ephemeris to determine the starting point U_idx in the drift or variation compensation function. As discussed above, the parameter U_idx among with the C_idx are used for the timing advance compensation function curve. Thus, Amorim discloses “wherein the user equipment is configured to time synchronize communications with the base station using the parameterized non-linear function with the assistance of satellite ephemeris data”
Therefore, based on the response to arguments presented above, the amended independent claim 1 is rendered unpatentable. Independent claims 27 and 40-43 recite similar distinguishing features as claim 1 discussed above, thus are rendered unpatentable for the reasons discussed above. As a result the features of the claims are shown by the cited references as set forth below.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 16-17 and 35-37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11-12, 14, 21, 27-28, 34, 38 and 40-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heyn et al. (EP 3447936) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Heyn” in view of Amorim et al. (US 2022/0167289), hereinafter “Amorim”.
As to claim 1, Heyn teaches a user equipment apparatus of a wireless communication system (Heyn, Fig. 2, [0111]-[0112], a user-side-device 2 in a wireless communication system 1), the user equipment apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (Heyn, [0154]-[0155], the user device is implemented in an apparatus including a memory storing signals executed by a processor to perform the method of the device);
a memory coupled to the processor (Heyn, [0154]-[0155], the user device is implemented in an apparatus including a memory storing signals executed by a processor to perform the method of the device); and
a communication module connected to the processor (Heyn, [0026], the user-equipment is a transceiver device, [0154]-[0155], the user device is implemented in an apparatus including a memory storing signals executed by a processor to perform the method of the device),
wherein the processor is configured to communicate with a base station of the wireless communication system via a satellite of the wireless communication system (Heyn, Fig. 2, [0111]-[0112], the user-side-device 2 and the base station 3 communicate with each other via satellite 4),
wherein the processor is configured to receive, from the base station via the satellite or from another user equipment apparatus of the wireless communication system via a sidelink, a control information (Heyn, [0116], the base station transmits to the user-side-device a satellite-connecting-signal indicating the user-side-device 2 the allowance to predict and/or adjust the timing-advance-value either for a specified time or for an unlimited time. [0118], “historical timing-advance-values provided by the base-station 3 in order to deduce a drift of the timing-advance-value and to extrapolate the data…data - e.g. in the form of a table - concerning drift-value and/or drift-characteristics are stored within the data-storage 25 and the base-station 3 provides the user-equipment 20 - e.g. as a part of the satellite-connecting-signal - with an index indicating which drift-value and/or drift-characteristic the user-equipment 20 has to use for the prediction and/or adjustment of the timing-advance-value”. [0121], “the user-equipment 20 or generally the user-side-device 2 handling the TA value prediction and/or adjustment receives via a downlink TA values or data concerning a drift of the TA value”. The UE 20 receives a signal from the base station including values for timing-advance-value calculation. See also Figs. 3, 6 and 7 for the device as a relay to other UEs), the control information including parameters for describing a course of a round trip time or delay time (Heyn, Figs. 1a-1d, [0105]-[0110], as shown in Fig. 1a, the delay has a non-linear function, [0118], [0121], the UE 20 receives a signal from the base station including values for timing-advance-value calculation) between
the satellite and one out of the base station or satellite gateway of the wireless communication system (Heyn, [0002], “The delay over satellite links (earth hub station containing a base-station - satellite - user-equipment) has a strongly variable delay in case of non-geostationary satellites”, [0005], “when satellite links are included in the transmission chain. In this case, the strong delay variation caused by the moving satellite (e.g. in GEO, LEO, MEO orbits) is generating a fast change in the overall distance of the propagation from user-equipment over satellite to base-station”, [0022], “based on the satellite-connecting-signal provided by a base-station, a user-side-device performs an prediction and/or adjustment with regard to a behavior and/or a rule over time and/or a frequency for a pre-compensation of at least one synchronization offset of an uplink connection towards a satellite”, Fig. 2, [0036], “the at least one user-side-device and the base-station are configured to communicate with each other via the satellite applying a timing-advance-value for synchronizing an uplink of the user-equipment towards the satellite of the communication”. The timing advance (TA) value is used to compensate the delay in the transmission between the satellite and the base station. Figs. 1a-1d, [0105]-[0110], the delay based on connection between the base-station and satellite), or
the satellite and a geographical reference point of the wireless communication system (Heyn, [0002], “The delay over satellite links (earth hub station containing a base-station - satellite - user-equipment) has a strongly variable delay in case of non-geostationary satellites”, [0004], “all base-stations are normally static”, [0005], “when satellite links are included in the transmission chain. In this case, the strong delay variation caused by the moving satellite (e.g. in GEO, LEO, MEO orbits) is generating a fast change in the overall distance of the propagation from user-equipment over satellite to base-station”, [0022], “based on the satellite-connecting-signal provided by a base-station, a user-side-device performs an prediction and/or adjustment with regard to a behavior and/or a rule over time and/or a frequency for a pre-compensation of at least one synchronization offset of an uplink connection towards a satellite”, Fig. 2, [0036], “the at least one user-side-device and the base-station are configured to communicate with each other via the satellite applying a timing-advance-value for synchronizing an uplink of the user-equipment towards the satellite of the communication”. The timing advance (TA) value is used to compensate the delay in the transmission between the satellite and the base station, which is static (reference point). Figs. 1a-1d, [0105]-[0110], the delay based on connection between the base-station and satellite), or
a first reference point and a second reference point, the first reference point having a fixed relation to the satellite and the second reference point having a fixed relation to one out of the base station, satellite gateway or user equipment apparatus (Heyn, Figs. 2-3, Fig. 7, [0002], “The delay over satellite links (earth hub station containing a base-station - satellite - user-equipment) has a strongly variable delay in case of non-geostationary satellites”, [0004], “all base-stations are normally static”, [0005], “when satellite links are included in the transmission chain. In this case, the strong delay variation caused by the moving satellite (e.g. in GEO, LEO, MEO orbits) is generating a fast change in the overall distance of the propagation from user-equipment over satellite to base-station”, [0022], [0036], the timing advance (TA) value is used to compensate the delay in the transmission between the base-station - satellite - user-equipment, where the base station is static (reference point to the satellite) and the user equipment is another reference point. Figs. 1a-1d, [0152]-[0157], the delay based on connection between the base-station and satellite, and the satellite and the user-equipment),
in dependence on a location of the satellite (Heyn, Figs. 1a-1d, [0105]-[0110], as shown in Figs. 1a-1d, the delay varies based on the satellite’s elevation and distances),
wherein the processor is configured to time synchronize communications with the base station (Heyn, [0119], “The predicted and/or adjusted value is used for synchronizing an uplink and a downlink of the communication implying that the user-equipment 20 sends its signals towards the satellite taking the predicted and/or adjusted value into account”).
Heyn teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Heyn does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 1, the control information including parameters for parameterizing a non-linear function, the parameterized non-linear function describing a course of a round trip time or delay time,
wherein the control information signaling the parameters is transmitted via a system information block,
time synchronize communications with the base station using the parameterized non-linear function with the assistance of satellite ephemeris data.
However, Amorim teaches the control information including parameters for parameterizing a non-linear function, the parameterized non-linear function describing a course of a round trip time or delay time (Amorim, Fig. 3, steps 303-309, [0142]-[0145], the client device receives from the network node an indication of the selected timing advance compensation function curve, where the indication includes the index 320 (C_idx) of the selected timing advance compensation function curve, a starting point (U_idx) on the selected timing advance compensation function, or an indication of a start time instant for applying the selected timing advance compensation function curve, and a timing advance step size to use for the selected timing advance compensation function, or an indication of a time period for updating one timing advance step. Fig. 4, [0150], the index C_idx is used by the client device to deduce the parameters 323. [0158], the TA variation compensation function curves are defined as a set of third degree polynomial functions and are based on the parameters C_idx and U_idx. Therefore, the parameters C_idx, U_idx and step size are parameters used for the curve which is a third degree polynomial function. [0103], [0118], [0121], [0158], the compensation function curves are TA drift functions to compensate for the delay),
wherein the control information including the parameters is transmitted via a system information block (Amorim, [0125], [0137], the information/indication with the parameters is provided via a broadcast channel),
time synchronize communications with the base station using the parameterized non-linear function with the assistance of satellite ephemeris information (Amorim, Fig. 3, steps 303-309 and 311, [0142]-[0145], [0147], Fig. 4, [0150], [0158], [0167], the client device determines the timing advance variation based on the timing advance compensation function curve and received polynomial coefficients. Fig. 3, step 305, and 311, [0122], [0158], the client device uses its own position together with the satellite ephemeris to determine the starting point U_idx in the drift or variation compensation function. As shown in [0158], the compensation function is based on the parameters C_idx and U_idx).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Heyn to have the features, as taught by Amorim in order to reduce the number of bits required to contain the dictionary and thus the number of bits to transfer from the network node device to a client device (Amorim, [0137]).
Heyn teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Heyn does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to determine a round trip time or delay time for a certain time using the parameterized non-linear function,
wherein the processor is configured to time synchronize communications with the base station at the certain time based on the determined round trip time or delay time.
As to claim 2, Amorim teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine a round trip time or delay time for a certain time using the parameterized non-linear function (Amorim, Fig. 3, steps 303-309 and 311, [0142]-[0145], [0147], Fig. 4, [0150], [0158], [0167], the client device determines the timing advance variation based on the timing advance compensation function curve and received polynomial coefficients. The timing advance is determined by the client device at a given instant in time. [0122], the U_idx also indicates a starting point for the function. [0123], “an indication of a start time instant for applying the selected timing advance compensation function curve”),
wherein the processor is configured to time synchronize communications with the base station at the certain time based on the determined round trip time or delay time (Amorim, Fig. 3, steps 303-309 and 311, [0142]-[0145], [0147], Fig. 4, [0150], [0158], [0167], the client device determines the timing advance variation based on the timing advance compensation function curve and received polynomial coefficients. The timing advance is determined by the client device at a given instant in time. [0122], the U_idx also indicates a starting point for the function. [0123], “an indication of a start time instant for applying the selected timing advance compensation function curve”).
As to claim 3, Heyn teaches wherein the non non-linear function describes the course of the round trip time or delay time between the satellite and one out of the base station or satellite gateway, wherein the round trip time or delay time is a feeder link round trip time or feeder link delay time (Heyn, [0002], “The delay over satellite links (earth hub station containing a base-station - satellite - user-equipment) has a strongly variable delay in case of non-geostationary satellites”, [0005], “when satellite links are included in the transmission chain. In this case, the strong delay variation caused by the moving satellite (e.g. in GEO, LEO, MEO orbits) is generating a fast change in the overall distance of the propagation from user-equipment over satellite to base-station”, [0022], “based on the satellite-connecting-signal provided by a base-station, a user-side-device performs an prediction and/or adjustment with regard to a behavior and/or a rule over time and/or a frequency for a pre-compensation of at least one synchronization offset of an uplink connection towards a satellite”, Fig. 2, [0036], “the at least one user-side-device and the base-station are configured to communicate with each other via the satellite applying a timing-advance-value for synchronizing an uplink of the user-equipment towards the satellite of the communication”. The timing advance (TA) value is used to compensate the delay in the transmission between the satellite and the base station. Figs. 1a-1d, [0105]-[0110], as shown in Fig. 1a, the delay has a non-linear function),
or wherein the non non-linear function describes the course of the round trip time or delay time between the satellite and the geographical reference point, wherein the round trip time or delay time is a common round trip time or common delay time (Heyn, [0002], “The delay over satellite links (earth hub station containing a base-station - satellite - user-equipment) has a strongly variable delay in case of non-geostationary satellites”, [0004], “all base-stations are normally static”, [0005], “when satellite links are included in the transmission chain. In this case, the strong delay variation caused by the moving satellite (e.g. in GEO, LEO, MEO orbits) is generating a fast change in the overall distance of the propagation from user-equipment over satellite to base-station”, [0022], “based on the satellite-connecting-signal provided by a base-station, a user-side-device performs an prediction and/or adjustment with regard to a behavior and/or a rule over time and/or a frequency for a pre-compensation of at least one synchronization offset of an uplink connection towards a satellite”, Fig. 2, [0036], “the at least one user-side-device and the base-station are configured to communicate with each other via the satellite applying a timing-advance-value for synchronizing an uplink of the user-equipment towards the satellite of the communication”. The timing advance (TA) value is used to compensate the delay in the transmission between the satellite and the base station, which is static (reference point). Figs. 1a-1d, [0105]-[0110], as shown in Fig. 1a, the delay has a non-linear function),
or wherein the parameterized non-linear function describes the course of the round trip time or delay time between the first reference point and the second reference point (Heyn, Figs. 2-3, Fig. 7, [0002], “The delay over satellite links (earth hub station containing a base-station - satellite - user-equipment) has a strongly variable delay in case of non-geostationary satellites”, [0004], “all base-stations are normally static”, [0005], “when satellite links are included in the transmission chain. In this case, the strong delay variation caused by the moving satellite (e.g. in GEO, LEO, MEO orbits) is generating a fast change in the overall distance of the propagation from user-equipment over satellite to base-station”, [0022], [0036], the timing advance (TA) value is used to compensate the delay in the transmission between the base-station - satellite - user-equipment, where the base station is static (reference point to the satellite) and the user equipment is another reference point. Figs. 1a-1d, [0105]-[0110], the delay based on connection between the base-station and satellite, and the satellite and the user-equipment. The delay has a non-linear function).
Heyn teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Heyn does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 3, wherein the control information further describes a portion of the round trip time or delay time between the base station and the satellite that is not described by the parameterized non-linear function.
However, Amorim teaches wherein the control information further describes a portion of the round trip time or delay time between the base station and the satellite that is not described by the parameterized non-linear function (Amorim, Fig. 3, steps 303-309, [0142]-[0145], the client device receives from the network node device a set of TA drift functions and an indication of the selected timing advance compensation function, such as an index, starting point and step size. The control information further describes a starting point and step size used for the timing advance curve. The client device determines the timing advance variation based information received. [0002], “The TA is used to compensate for the propagation delay”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Heyn to have the features, as taught by Amorim in order to reduce the number of bits required to contain the dictionary and thus the number of bits to transfer from the network node device to a client device (Amorim, [0137]).
Heyn teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Heyn does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 11, wherein the processor is configured to time synchronize communications with the base station further using the portion of the round trip time or delay time that is not described by the parameterized non-linear function.
As to claim 11, Amorim teaches wherein the processor is configured to time synchronize communications with the base station further using the portion of the round trip time or delay time that is not described by the parameterized non-linear function (Amorim, Fig. 3, steps 303-309, [0142]-[0145], the client device receives from the network node device a set of TA drift functions and an indication of the selected timing advance compensation function, such as an index, starting point and step size. The control information further describes a starting point and step size used for the timing advance curve. The client device determines the timing advance variation based information received. [0002], “The TA is used to compensate for the propagation delay”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Heyn to have the features, as taught by Amorim in order to reduce the number of bits required to contain the dictionary and thus the number of bits to transfer from the network node device to a client device (Amorim, [0137]).
Heyn teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Heyn does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 12, wherein the non-linear function is a power function or an exponential function or a polynomial function.
As to claim 12, Amorim teaches wherein the non-linear function is a power function or an exponential function or a polynomial function (Amorim, [0158], the TA variation compensation function is defined as a third degree polynomial with and power and exponents).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Heyn to have the features, as taught by Amorim in order to reduce the number of bits required to contain the dictionary and thus the number of bits to transfer from the network node device to a client device (Amorim, [0137]).
Heyn teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Heyn does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 14, wherein the processor is configured to determine a timing advance for a certain time based on the parameterized non-linear function.
As to claim 14, Amorim teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine a timing advance for a certain time based on the parameterized non-linear function (Amorim, Fig. 3, steps 303-309, [0142]-[0145], the client device receives from the network node device a set of TA drift functions and an indication of the selected timing advance compensation function, such as an index, starting point and step size. The control information further describes a starting point and step size used for the timing advance curve. The client device determines the timing advance variation based information received. [0144], “the indication may further comprise an indication 321 of a starting point on the selected timing advance compensation function, or an indication of a start time instant for applying the selected timing advance compensation function curve”. This indicate a certain time to apply the timing advance compensation function).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Heyn to have the features, as taught by Amorim in order to reduce the number of bits required to contain the dictionary and thus the number of bits to transfer from the network node device to a client device (Amorim, [0137]).
As to claim 21, Heyn teaches wherein the processor is configured, in case of a handover to another satellite or a switch to another feeder link, to receive a further signaling information prior to the handover to the other satellite or switch to the other feeder link, the further signaling information describing at least one further parameter for parameterizing the non-linear function, the further parameterized non-linear function describing a course of a round trip time or delay after the handover to the other satellite or the switch to the other feeder link,
or wherein the processor is configured to relay or re-transmit the signaling information signaling the at least one parameter to at least one other processor of the wireless communication system via the sidelink (Heyn, Fig. 3, [0126]-[0127], [0129], the user-side device 2 acts as a relay and provides individual predicted and/or adjusted TA values for a synchronization of the individual uplinks to the user-equipments 20 (direct connection or sidelink). Fig. 6, [0140]-[0142], the intermediary devices are relays to the user equipments 20 for the timing-advance values. The communication is via sidelink. See also Fig. 7),
or wherein the processor is configured to communicate with at least two satellites, wherein the processor is configured to receive, for each of the at least two satellites, a control information having a corresponding at least one parameter for parametrizing the non-linear function,
or wherein processor is configured to communicate with the base station via the satellite using carrier aggregation (Heyn, [0047], the UE communicates in the uplink using carrier aggregation. Fig. 2, [0159], the user-side-device 2 communicates with the base-station 3 via uplink (solid lines)),
or wherein processor is configured to communicate with the base station via the satellite as supplementary uplink.
As to claim 27, Heyn teaches a base station apparatus of a wireless communication system (Heyn, Fig. 2, [0111]-[0112], a base-station 3 in a wireless communication system 1), the base station apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (Heyn, [0154]-[0155], the base station is implemented in an apparatus including a memory storing signals executed by a processor to perform the method of the device);
a memory coupled to the processor (Heyn, [0154]-[0155], the base station is implemented in an apparatus including a memory storing signals executed by a processor to perform the method of the device); and
a communication module connected to the processor (Heyn, Fig. 2, [0116], the base-station transmits signals to the user-side-device 2, [0154]-[0155], the base station is implemented in an apparatus including a memory storing signals executed by a processor to perform the method of the device),
wherein the processor is configured to communicate with an user equipment of the wireless communication system via a satellite of the wireless communication system (Heyn, Fig. 2, [0111]-[0112], the user-side-device 2 and the base station 3 communicate with each other via satellite 4),
wherein the processor is configured to transmit to the user equipment via the satellite a control information (Heyn, [0116], the base station transmits to the user-side-device a satellite-connecting-signal indicating the user-side-device 2 the allowance to predict and/or adjust the timing-advance-value either for a specified time or for an unlimited time. [0118], “historical timing-advance-values provided by the base-station 3 in order to deduce a drift of the timing-advance-value and to extrapolate the data…data - e.g. in the form of a table - concerning drift-value and/or drift-characteristics are stored within the data-storage 25 and the base-station 3 provides the user-equipment 20 - e.g. as a part of the satellite-connecting-signal - with an index indicating which drift-value and/or drift-characteristic the user-equipment 20 has to use for the prediction and/or adjustment of the timing-advance-value”. [0121], “the user-equipment 20 or generally the user-side-device 2 handling the TA value prediction and/or adjustment receives via a downlink TA values or data concerning a drift of the TA value”. The UE 20 receives a signal from the base station including values for timing-advance-value calculation), the control information including parameters for describing a course of a round trip time or delay time (Heyn, Figs. 1a-1d, [0105]-[0110], as shown in Fig. 1a, the delay has a non-linear function, [0118], [0121], the UE 20 receives a signal from the base station including values for timing-advance-value calculation) between
the satellite and one out of the base station apparatus or satellite gateway of the wireless communication system (Heyn, [0002], “The delay over satellite links (earth hub station containing a base-station - satellite - user-equipment) has a strongly variable delay in case of non-geostationary satellites”, [0005], “when satellite links are included in the transmission chain. In this case, the strong delay variation caused by the moving satellite (e.g. in GEO, LEO, MEO orbits) is generating a fast change in the overall distance of the propagation from user-equipment over satellite to base-station”, [0022], “based on the satellite-connecting-signal provided by a base-station, a user-side-device performs an prediction and/or adjustment with regard to a behavior and/or a rule over time and/or a frequency for a pre-compensation of at least one synchronization offset of an uplink connection towards a satellite”, Fig. 2, [0036], “the at least one user-side-device and the base-station are configured to communicate with each other via the satellite applying a timing-advance-value for synchronizing an uplink of the user-equipment towards the satellite of the communication”. The timing advance (TA) value is used to compensate the delay in the transmission between the satellite and the base station. Figs. 1a-1d, [0105]-[0110], the delay based on connection between the base-station and satellite), or
the satellite and a geographical reference point of the wireless communication system (Heyn, [0002], “The delay over satellite links (earth hub station containing a base-station - satellite - user-equipment) has a strongly variable delay in case of non-geostationary satellites”, [0004], “all base-stations are normally static”, [0005], “when satellite links are included in the transmission chain. In this case, the strong delay variation caused by the moving satellite (e.g. in GEO, LEO, MEO orbits) is generating a fast change in the overall distance of the propagation from user-equipment over satellite to base-station”, [0022], “based on the satellite-connecting-signal provided by a base-station, a user-side-device performs an prediction and/or adjustment with regard to a behavior and/or a rule over time and/or a frequency for a pre-compensation of at least one synchronization offset of an uplink connection towards a satellite”, Fig. 2, [0036], “the at least one user-side-device and the base-station are configured to communicate with each other via the satellite applying a timing-advance-value for synchronizing an uplink of the user-equipment towards the satellite of the communication”. The timing advance (TA) value is used to compensate the delay in the transmission between the satellite and the base station, which is static (reference point). Figs. 1a-1d, [0105]-[0110], the delay based on connection between the base-station and satellite), or
a first reference point and a second reference point, the first reference point having a fixed relation to the satellite and the second reference point having a fixed relation to one out of the base station apparatus, satellite gateway or user equipment (Heyn, Figs. 2-3, Fig. 7, [0002], “The delay over satellite links (earth hub station containing a base-station - satellite - user-equipment) has a strongly variable delay in case of non-geostationary satellites”, [0004], “all base-stations are normally static”, [0005], “when satellite links are included in the transmission chain. In this case, the strong delay variation caused by the moving satellite (e.g. in GEO, LEO, MEO orbits) is generating a fast change in the overall distance of the propagation from user-equipment over satellite to base-station”, [0022], [0036], the timing advance (TA) value is used to compensate the delay in the transmission between the base-station - satellite - user-equipment, where the base station is static (reference point to the satellite) and the user equipment is another reference point. Figs. 1a-1d, [0152]-[0157], the delay based on connection between the base-station and satellite, and the satellite and the user-equipment),
in dependence on a location of the satellite (Heyn, Figs. 1a-1d, [0105]-[0110], as shown in Figs. 1a-1d, the delay varies based on the satellite’s elevation and distances),
wherein allows the user equipment to time synchronize communications with the base station (Heyn, [0119], “The predicted and/or adjusted value is used for synchronizing an uplink and a downlink of the communication implying that the user-equipment 20 sends its signals towards the satellite taking the predicted and/or adjusted value into account”).
Heyn teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Heyn does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 27, the control information including parameters for parameterizing a non-linear function, the parameterized non-linear function describing a course of a round trip time or delay time,
wherein the control information including the parameters is transmitted via a system information block,
wherein the parameterized non-linear function allows the user equipment to time synchronize communications with the base station using the parameterized non-linear function with the assistance of satellite ephemeris data.
However, Amorim teaches the control information including parameters for parameterizing a non-linear function, the parameterized non-linear function describing a course of a round trip time or delay time (Amorim, Fig. 3, steps 303-309, [0142]-[0145], the client device receives from the network node an indication of the selected timing advance compensation function curve, where the indication includes the index 320 (C_idx) of the selected timing advance compensation function curve, a starting point (U_idx) on the selected timing advance compensation function, or an indication of a start time instant for applying the selected timing advance compensation function curve, and a timing advance step size to use for the selected timing advance compensation function, or an indication of a time period for updating one timing advance step. Fig. 4, [0150], the index C_idx is used by the client device to deduce the parameters 323. [0158], the TA variation compensation function curves are defined as a set of third degree polynomial functions and are based on the parameters C_idx and U_idx. Therefore, the parameters C_idx, U_idx and step size are parameters used for the curve which is a third degree polynomial function. [0103], [0118], [0121], [0158], the compensation function curves are TA drift functions to compensate for the delay),
wherein the control information including the parameters is transmitted via a system information block (Amorim, [0125], [0137], the information/indication with the parameters is provided via a broadcast channel),
wherein the parameterized non-linear function allows the user equipment to time synchronize communications with the base station using the parameterized non-linear function with the assistance of satellite ephemeris data (Amorim, Fig. 3, steps 303-309 and 311, [0142]-[0145], [0147], Fig. 4, [0150], [0158], [0167], the client device determines the timing advance variation based on the timing advance compensation function curve and received polynomial coefficients. Fig. 3, step 305, and 311, [0122], [0158], the client device uses its own position together with the satellite ephemeris to determine the starting point U_idx in the drift or variation compensation function. As shown in [0158], the compensation function is based on the parameters C_idx and U_idx).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Heyn to have the features, as taught by Amorim in order to reduce the number of bits required to contain the dictionary and thus the number of bits to transfer from the network node device to a client device (Amorim, [0137]).
As to claim 28, Heyn teaches wherein the non non-linear function describes the course of the round trip time or delay time between the satellite and one out of the base station apparatus or satellite gateway, wherein the round trip time or delay time is a feeder link round trip time or feeder link delay time (Heyn, [0002], “The delay over satellite links (earth hub station containing a base-station - satellite - user-equipment) has a strongly variable delay in case of non-geostationary satellites”, [0005], “when satellite links are included in the transmission chain. In this case, the strong delay variation caused by the moving satellite (e.g. in GEO, LEO, MEO orbits) is generating a fast change in the overall distance of the propagation from user-equipment over satellite to base-station”, [0022], “based on the satellite-connecting-signal provided by a base-station, a user-side-device performs an prediction and/or adjustment with regard to a behavior and/or a rule over time and/or a frequency for a pre-compensation of at least one synchronization offset of an uplink connection towards a satellite”, Fig. 2, [0036], “the at least one user-side-device and the base-station are configured to communicate with each other via the satellite applying a timing-advance-value for synchronizing an uplink of the user-equipment towards the satellite of the communication”. The timing advance (TA) value is used to compensate the delay in the transmission between the satellite and the base station. Figs. 1a-1d, [0105]-[0110], as shown in Fig. 1a, the delay has a non-linear function),
or wherein the non non-linear function describes the course of the round trip time or delay time between the satellite and the geographical reference point, wherein the round trip time or delay time is a common round trip time or common delay time (Heyn, [0002], “The delay over satellite links (earth hub station containing a base-station - satellite - user-equipment) has a strongly variable delay in case of non-geostationary satellites”, [0004], “all base-stations are normally static”, [0005], “when satellite links are included in the transmission chain. In this case, the strong delay variation caused by the moving satellite (e.g. in GEO, LEO, MEO orbits) is generating a fast change in the overall distance of the propagation from user-equipment over satellite to base-station”, [0022], “based on the satellite-connecting-signal provided by a base-station, a user-side-device performs an prediction and/or adjustment with regard to a behavior and/or a rule over time and/or a frequency for a pre-compensation of at least one synchronization offset of an uplink connection towards a satellite”, Fig. 2, [0036], “the at least one user-side-device and the base-station are configured to communicate with each other via the satellite applying a timing-advance-value for synchronizing an uplink of the user-equipment towards the satellite of the communication”. The timing advance (TA) value is used to compensate the delay in the transmission between the satellite and the base station, which is static (reference point). Figs. 1a-1d, [0105]-[0110], as shown in Fig. 1a, the delay has a non-linear function),
or wherein the parameterized non-linear function describes the course of the round trip time or delay time between the first reference point and the second reference point (Heyn, Figs. 2-3, Fig. 7, [0002], “The delay over satellite links (earth hub station containing a base-station - satellite - user-equipment) has a strongly variable delay in case of non-geostationary satellites”, [0004], “all base-stations are normally static”, [0005], “when satellite links are included in the transmission chain. In this case, the strong delay variation caused by the moving satellite (e.g. in GEO, LEO, MEO orbits) is generating a fast change in the overall distance of the propagation from user-equipment over satellite to base-station”, [0022], [0036], the timing advance (TA) value is used to compensate the delay in the transmission between the base-station - satellite - user-equipment, where the base station is static (reference point to the satellite) and the user equipment is another reference point. Figs. 1a-1d, [0105]-[0110], the delay based on connection between the base-station and satellite, and the satellite and the user-equipment. The delay has a non-linear function).
Heyn teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Heyn does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 28, wherein the control information further describes a portion of the round trip time or delay time between the base station apparatus and the satellite that is not described by the parameterized non-linear function.
However, Amorim teaches wherein the control information further describes a portion of the round trip time or delay time between the base station apparatus and the satellite that is not described by the parameterized non-linear function (Amorim, Fig. 3, steps 303-309, [0142]-[0145], the client device receives from the network node device a set of TA drift functions and an indication of the selected timing advance compensation function, such as an index, starting point and step size. The control information further describes a starting point and step size used for the timing advance curve. The client device determines the timing advance variation based information received. [0002], “The TA is used to compensate for the propagation delay”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Heyn to have the features, as taught by Amorim in order to reduce the number of bits required to contain the dictionary and thus the number of bits to transfer from the network node device to a client device (Amorim, [0137]).
Heyn teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Heyn does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 34, wherein the non-linear function is a power function or an exponential function or a polynomial function.
As to claim 34, Amorim teaches wherein the non-linear function is a power function or an exponential function or a polynomial function (Amorim, [0158], the TA variation compensation function is defined as a third degree polynomial with and power and exponents).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Heyn to have the features, as taught by Amorim in order to reduce the number of bits required to contain the dictionary and thus the number of bits to transfer from the network node device to a client device (Amorim, [0137]).
Heyn teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Heyn does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 38, wherein control information signals absolute parameters for parametrizing the non-linear function,
or wherein the control information signals an index of an entry of a table in which the corresponding parameters are stored,
or wherein the control information signaling the at least one parameter is transmitted via a system information block.
As to claim 38, Amorim teaches wherein control information signals absolute parameters for parametrizing the non-linear function,
or wherein the control information signals an index of an entry of a table in which the corresponding parameters are stored (Amorim, Fig. 1A, Fig. 3, [0121], [0144], Fig. 4, [0150], the client device receives the C_idx which is an index of an entry in the dictionary 400 that stores the function parameters for the timing advance compensation function curves associated with the device 210 (satellite). [0099], [0102]-[0103], [0178], different satellites are used to provide coverage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Heyn to have the features, as taught by Amorim in order to reduce the number of bits required to contain the dictionary and thus the number of bits to transfer from the network node device to a client device (Amorim, [0137]).
As to claim 40, Heyn teaches a method for operating a user equipment of a wireless communication system (Heyn, Fig. 2, [0111]-[0112], a communications method performed by a user-side-device 2 in a wireless communication system 1), the method