DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Yoshizuka et al. (US 20130164108 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yoshizuka discloses:
A method, comprising:
obtaining an object (1) with a tool (5) that is coupled with a kinematic mount (8), the kinematic mount comprising a first sub-component and a second sub-component, the first sub-component being coupled to an end of arm tooling, and the tool comprising a flange (1000) disposed between the end of arm tooling and a robotic manipulator (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8) [0033], wherein obtaining the object comprises:
applying a force to a bottom surface of a first plate (81) of the first sub- component, the force being greater than a preloading force that couples a second plate (82) of the second sub-component with a floating structure (40a & 40b & 40c & 40d & 41) of the first sub-component, wherein the applied force decouples the floating structure and the second plate and causes the tool to be positioned within a threshold distance of a first location of the object [0008 & 0033 & 0035 & 0042];
wherein the decoupling of the floating structure with the second plate allows the first sub-component to rotate relative to the second sub-component and allows the first plate and the end of arm tooling to move independently of the flange (Fig. 13) [0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0038 & 0040 & 0042]; and
engaging the object with the tool while the tool is positioned within the threshold distance (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8 & Fig. 13) [0008 & 0033 & 0035 & 0042];
wherein engaging the object with the tool causes the floating structure and the second plate to re-couple so that the second plate and the first sub-component are not configured to move independently of each other (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8) [0040 & 0042]; and
moving the object from the first location to a second location after obtaining the object [0029].
Regarding Claim 2, Yoshizuka discloses:
engaging the object with the tool removes the force from the bottom surface of the first plate [0040 & 0042].
Regarding Claim 3, Yoshizuka discloses:
the floating structure and the second plate are relatively further away when decoupled and are relatively closer when re-coupled [0008 & 0033 & 0035 & 0042].
Regarding Claim 4, Yoshizuka discloses:
applying a second force to the bottom surface of the first plate to cause the floating structure to decouple from the second plate and to position the tool within a threshold distance of the second location, the second force being greater than the preloading force [0008 & 0033 & 0035 & 0042]; and
releasing the object from the tool based at least in part on the tool being positioned within the threshold distance of the second location [0040 & 0042].
Regarding Claim 11, Yoshizuka discloses:
a kinematic mount (8), comprising:
a first sub-component that comprises a first plate (81) and a floating structure (40a & 40b & 40c & 40d & 41);
a second sub-component that at least partially surrounds the floating structure (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8) and that comprises a second plate (82), the second plate being concentric with the first plate (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8); and
one or more coupling components (4a & 4b) configured to move the floating structure and the second plate from a first position to a second position [0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0038 & 0040 & 0042],
the floating structure and the second plate being relatively closer in the first position and being relatively further in the second position (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8 & Fig. 13),
the first sub-component being configured to rotate relative to the second sub-component in the second position but not in the first position [0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0038 & 0040 & 0042], and
the one or more coupling components providing a preloading force on the floating structure and the second plate in the first position [0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0038 & 0040 & 0042],
wherein the floating structure and the second plate are configured to decouple when a force greater than the preloading force is applied to the first plate (Fig. 13) [0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0038 & 0040 & 0042].
Regarding Claim 12, Yoshizuka discloses:
the first sub-component is configured to move independent of the second sub-component with a plurality of degrees of freedom when the floating structure and the second plate are in the second position [0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0038 & 0040 & 0042].
Regarding Claim 13, Yoshizuka discloses:
the first sub-component is configured to rotate with respect to the second sub-component when the floating structure and the second plate are in the second position [0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0038 & 0040 & 0042].
Regarding Claim 14, Yoshizuka discloses:
a surface of the floating structure comprises one or more spherical structures (40a & 40b & 40c & 40d) that are each aligned with respective channels of a top surface of the second plate when the floating structure and the second plate are in the second position, the one or more spherical structures being configured to disengage from the respective channels when the force greater than the preloading force is applied to the first plate (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8 & Fig. 13) [0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0038 & 0040 & 0042].
Regarding Claim 15, Yoshizuka discloses:
the one or more coupling components comprise one or more springs, one or more magnets [0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0038 & 0040 & 0042], or any combination thereof.
Regarding Claim 16, Yoshizuka discloses:
the preloading force is greater than or equal to a weight of the first sub-component (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8 & Fig. 13) [0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0038 & 0040 & 0042].
Regarding Claim 17, Yoshizuka discloses:
a central hole (41a) disposed within the first plate and the floating structure (Fig. 6 & Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 9, 10, 18, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizuka et al. (US 20130164108 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Yoshizuka does not teach:
the threshold distance of the second location is less than or equal to one micrometer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a threshold distance of the second location that is less than or equal to one micrometer in order to increase the accuracy in the system in order to prevent error due to misalignment, since it has been held that changing the size or proportions of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)).
Regarding Claim 6, Yoshizuka does not teach:
the threshold distance of the first location is less than or equal to one micrometer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a threshold distance of the second location that is less than or equal to one micrometer in order to increase the accuracy in the system in order to prevent error due to misalignment, since it has been held that changing the size or proportions of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)).
Regarding Claim 9, Yoshizuka teaches:
the bottom surface of the first plate comprises one or more kinematic coupling elements (4a & 4b & 40a & 40b & 40c & 40d) and the tool is coupled with the bottom surface of the first plate (Fig. 3).
Yoshizuka does not teach:
the tool is coupled with the bottom surface of the first plate via a mechanical mounting.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a mechanical mounting for mounting the tool to the bottom surface of the first plate in order to provide a means of removably connecting the tool to the kinematic mount in order to increase the utility of the robotic manipulator by allowing different tools to be temporarily connected thereto since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that mechanical mounting means for attaching tools to manipulators were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 10, Yoshizuka teaches:
the one or more kinematic coupling elements comprise a set of spherical coupling elements (4a & 4b & 4c), a set of grooved coupling elements, a set of toothed coupling elements, or any combination thereof (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 18, Yoshizuka teaches:
A system, comprising:
a robotic manipulator (3);
a flange (1000) connected to the robotic manipulator (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8);
a kinematic mount (8) coupled to the flange (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8) and comprising a first sub-component and a second sub-component (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8 & Fig. 13), the first sub-component coupled to an end of the arm tooling (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8) and being configured to move relative to the second sub-component from a first position to a second position (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8 & Fig. 13) [0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0038 & 0040 & 0042],
the first sub-component configured to move to the second position when a force is applied to a surface of a first plate of the first sub-component (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8 & Fig. 13) [0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0038 & 0040 & 0042], the force being greater than a preloading force that couples a surface of a second plate of the second sub-component with a surface of a floating structure of the first sub-component (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8 & Fig. 13) [0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0038 & 0040 & 0042],
wherein, when in the second position, the first sub-component is configured to rotate relative to the second sub-component and the first plate and the end of arm tooling are configured to move independently of the flange [0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0038 & 0040 & 0042];
a tool (5) coupled with the kinematic mount, wherein the tool is configured to:
be positioned, by the robotic manipulator, within a threshold distance from an object based at least in part on the first sub-component moving relative to the second sub-component (Fig. 2a & Fig. 2b & Fig. 2c & Fig. 3 & Fig. 8 & Fig. 13) [0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0033], and
obtain the object based at least in part on the position of the tool (Fig. 2a & Fig. 2b & Fig. 2c & Fig. 3) [0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0033],
the first sub-component configured to move to the first position when the object is obtained (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8) [0042],
wherein, when in the first position, the second plate and the first sub- component are not configured to move independently of each other (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8) [0040 & 0042].
Yoshizuka does not teach:
a tool coupled with the kinematic mount via a mechanical mounting.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a mechanical mounting for mounting the tool to the kinematic mount in order to provide a means of removably connecting the tool to the kinematic mount in order to increase the utility of the robotic manipulator by allowing different tools to be temporarily connected thereto since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that mechanical mounting means for attaching tools to manipulators were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 19, Yoshizuka teaches:
the robotic manipulator is configured to move the object from a first location to a second location after the object is obtained by the tool, wherein the tool is positioned by the robotic manipulator within a threshold distance of the second location based at least in part on the first sub-component moving relative to the second sub-component when a second force that is greater than the preloading force is applied to the surface of the first plate (Fig. 2a & Fig. 2b & Fig. 2c & Fig. 3 & Fig. 8 & Fig. 13) [0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0038 & 0040 & 0042].
Regarding Claim 20, Yoshizuka teaches:
the second plate of the second sub-component corresponds to a fixed frame of reference for the robotic manipulator when the preloading force couples the surface of the floating structure of the first sub-component with the surface of the second plate of the second sub-component (Fig. 2a & Fig. 2b & Fig. 2c & Fig. 3 & Fig. 8 & Fig. 13) [0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0038 & 0040 & 0042].
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizuka et al. (US 20130164108 A1) in view of Hsieh et al. (US 20110176900 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Yoshizuka teaches:
the object is positioned on a plate (2a), the plate comprising an extension (7).
Yoshizuka does not teach:
the method further comprising providing a mating attachment between the extension and a recess on the first plate to apply the force to the bottom surface of the first plate.
Hsieh teaches:
A method, comprising:
obtaining an object (140 & 240) with a tool (136 & 236) that is coupled with a kinematic mount (132b & 134b & 150), the kinematic mount comprising a first sub-component and a second sub-component, wherein obtaining the object comprises:
applying a force to a bottom surface of a first plate (134b) of the first sub- component, the force being greater than a preloading force that couples a second plate (132b) of the second sub-component with a floating structure (150) of the first sub-component, wherein the applied force decouples the floating structure and the second plate and causes the tool to be positioned within a threshold distance of a first location of the object (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3D) [0038 & 0039 & 0044]; and
engaging the object with the tool while the tool is positioned within the threshold distance [0038 & 0039 & 0044]; and
moving the object from the first location to a second location after obtaining the object [abstract & 0026 & 0032 & 0033 & 0034];
the object is positioned on a plate (110 & 210), the plate comprising an extension (282), the method further comprising providing a mating attachment (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3D) [0038 & 0039 & 0044] between the extension and a recess (272) (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3D) [0038 & 0039 & 0044] on the first plate to apply the force to the bottom surface of the first plate (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3D) [0038 & 0039 & 0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transfer apparatus having a kinematic mount for allowing minor adjustment a transfer tool carried by the transfer apparatus due to external forces on the transfer tool taught by Yoshizuka with the transfer apparatus having a kinematic mount for allowing minor adjustment a transfer tool carried by the transfer apparatus due to external forces on the transfer tool utilizing an extension on an article support inserted into a recess on the first plate to apply a force to the first plate effecting alignment between the tool and the article to be engaged taught by Hsieh in order to provide a means of physically aligning the tool with the article prior to engagement in order to ensure appropriate alignment thereby preventing error in the system due to misalignment.
Regarding Claim 8, Yoshizuka does not teach:
providing the mating attachment comprises the extension being disposed within the recess such that the extension and recess and are directly connected.
Hsieh teaches:
providing the mating attachment comprises the extension being disposed within the recess such that the extension and recess and are directly connected (Fig. 2) [0038 & 0039 & 0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transfer apparatus having a kinematic mount for allowing minor adjustment a transfer tool carried by the transfer apparatus due to external forces on the transfer tool taught by Yoshizuka with the transfer apparatus having a kinematic mount for allowing minor adjustment a transfer tool carried by the transfer apparatus due to external forces on the transfer tool utilizing an extension on an article support inserted into a recess on the first plate to apply a force to the first plate effecting alignment between the tool and the article to be engaged, where providing the mating attachment comprises the extension being disposed within the recess such that the extension and recess and are directly connected taught by Hsieh in order to provide a means of physically aligning the tool with the article prior to engagement in order to ensure appropriate alignment thereby preventing error in the system due to misalignment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2026/03/03 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 1, especially as it relates to the limitation of “the tool comprising a flange disposed between the end of arm tooling and a robotic manipulator”:
Applicants assertion that Yashuzika fails to teach a the tool comprising a flange disposed between the end of arm tooling and a robotic manipulator is not persuasive as Yashuzika teaches that the kinematic mount (8) is connectable through robotic manipulator side of the second plate (82) [0033] and therefore teaches the Merriam-Webster definition for flange of: “a rib or rim for strength, for guiding, or for attachment to another object”, and therefore teaches a flange (1000) disposed between the end of arm tooling and a robotic manipulator (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8) [0033]
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 1, especially as it relates to the limitation of “the decoupling of the floating structure with the second plate allows the first sub-component to rotate relative to the second sub-component and allows the first plate and the end of arm tooling to move independently of the flange”:
Applicants assertion that Yashuzika fails to teach the first sub-component rotating relative to the second sub-component and the first plate and the end of arm tooling moving independently of the flange is not persuasive as Yoshizika teaches: a flange (1000) disposed between the end of arm tooling and a robotic manipulator (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8) [0033] and the decoupling of the floating structure with the second plate allows the first sub-component to rotate relative to the second sub-component and allows the first plate and the end of arm tooling to move independently of the flange (Fig. 13) [0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0038 & 0040 & 0042].
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 1, especially as it relates to the limitation of “engaging the object with the tool causes the floating structure and the second plate to re-couple so that the second plate and the first sub-component are not configured to move independently of each other”:
Applicants assertion that Yashuzika fails to teach that engagement of the object with the tool causes the floating structure and the second plate to re-couple so that the second plate and the first sub-component are not configured to move independently of each other is not persuasive as Yashuzika teaches: engaging the object with the tool causes the floating structure and the second plate to re-couple so that the second plate and the first sub-component are not configured to move independently of each other (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8) [0040 & 0042].
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 11, especially as it relates to the limitation of “the first sub-component being configured to rotate relative to the second sub-component in the second position but not in the first position”:
Applicants assertion that Yashuzika fails to teach the first sub-component being configured to rotate relative to the second sub-component in the second position but not in the first position is not persuasive as Yoshizika teaches: the first sub-component being configured to rotate relative to the second sub-component in the second position but not in the first position [0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0038 & 0040 & 0042].
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 18, especially as it relates to the limitation of “the tool comprising a flange disposed between the end of arm tooling and a robotic manipulator”:
Applicants assertion that Yashuzika fails to teach a the tool comprising a flange disposed between the end of arm tooling and a robotic manipulator is not persuasive as Yashuzika teaches that the kinematic mount (8) is connectable through robotic manipulator side of the second plate (82) [0033] and therefore teaches the Merriam-Webster definition for flange of: “a rib or rim for strength, for guiding, or for attachment to another object”, and therefore teaches a flange (1000) disposed between the end of arm tooling and a robotic manipulator (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8) [0033]
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 18, especially as it relates to the limitation of “the decoupling of the floating structure with the second plate allows the first sub-component to rotate relative to the second sub-component and allows the first plate and the end of arm tooling to move independently of the flange”:
Applicants assertion that Yashuzika fails to teach the first sub-component rotating relative to the second sub-component and the first plate and the end of arm tooling moving independently of the flange is not persuasive as Yoshizika teaches: a flange (1000) disposed between the end of arm tooling and a robotic manipulator (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8) [0033] and the decoupling of the floating structure with the second plate allows the first sub-component to rotate relative to the second sub-component and allows the first plate and the end of arm tooling to move independently of the flange (Fig. 13) [0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0038 & 0040 & 0042].
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 18, especially as it relates to the limitation of “engaging the object with the tool causes the floating structure and the second plate to re-couple so that the second plate and the first sub-component are not configured to move independently of each other”:
Applicants assertion that Yashuzika fails to teach that engagement of the object with the tool causes the floating structure and the second plate to re-couple so that the second plate and the first sub-component are not configured to move independently of each other is not persuasive as Yashuzika teaches: engaging the object with the tool causes the floating structure and the second plate to re-couple so that the second plate and the first sub-component are not configured to move independently of each other (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8) [0040 & 0042].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/GREGORY W ADAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652