Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III and species directed to a solar cell in the reply filed on November 07, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 07, 2025. Claims 13-15 and 24-33 are deemed to be directed to the elected invention.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph [0044] lists examples of branched vinyl ester monomers. However, the second monomer (see below) is not a branched monomer. Clarification/correction is requested.
Also, in paragraph [0093] the term “comonomer” is misspelled.
Claim Objections
Claims 13, 15, 16, and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 13, line 4, the term “wt%” should be inserted after the term “40” to be consistent the claim terminology used in claim 26. This suggestion is also applicable to claim 15 (line 4) and claim 16 (line 4).
In claim 24, the terms “optionally, at least one” in line 10 is redundant with the terms “one or more” in lines 1 and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation of “the polymer has a total comonomer content ranging from 10 wt% to 60 wt%” is indefinite in that it is unclear which monomers that form the copolymer/terpolymer are included in this claimed range. Specifically, claim 26 depends upon claim 13, which requires that the polymer include an ethylene monomer present in an amount of 40-99.9 wt%, at least one branched vinyl ester monomer(s), and, optionally, a vinyl acetate monomer. It is unclear if the weight percentage in claim 26 excludes the polyethylene monomer, which appears to be the intention based on the specification disclosure in paragraph [0093], but is contrary to the literal claim language.
Double Patenting
Claims 13, 15, and 24-33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No 18/374,926. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims overlap or only slightly vary in scope of the claims of US ‘926.
Claim 13 is directed to an article comprising a substrate and a film formed from a polymer composition comprising a polymer produced from ethylene and at least one branched vinyl ester, wherein the ethylene content is from 40-99.9 wt% and the polymer has a melt index from 0.1-100 g/10min. US ‘926 claims the film formed from the claimed polymer composition (claim 1) and further claims that the film is provided on a substrate (claim 11).
Claim 15 is directed to a solar cell encapsulant comprising a film formed from a polymer composition comprising a polymer produced from ethylene and at least one branched vinyl ester, wherein the ethylene content is from 40-99.9 wt% and the polymer has a melt index from 0.1-100 g/10min. The term “solar cell encapsulant” does not require a solar cell but rather only requires a film that is capable of functioning as an encapsulant film for a solar cell. US ‘926 claims that the film has high clarity (claim 20); thus, the film would be capable of functioning as an encapsulant film for a solar cell.
The dependent claims are claimed in US ‘926. For example, the additives of claim 24 is claimed in US ‘926 (claim 2) and the specific branched vinyl ester monomer having general structure (II) of claim 25 is claimed in US ‘926 (claim 3).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 14 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/374,926 in view of KR 101699183.
US ‘926 does not claim the film being used with a solar cell. KR ‘183 discloses a similar film, i.e., ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer, that is used as an encapsulant film for a solar cell [0010]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the film of US ‘926 with a solar cell substrate, as taught in KR ‘183, motivated by the desire to obtain a solar cell having an encapsulant film that exhibits high clarity.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13, 15, 24, 25, 27, 28, 30, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hanlon et al. (U.S. Pub. 2021/0102014).
Regarding claim 13, Hanlon discloses an article comprising a substrate [0071] and a film [0070] comprising a polymer produced from ethylene, one or more branched vinyl ester monomers, and, optionally, vinyl acetate (claim 1), wherein the ethylene content can be in the range of from 30-99.9 wt% [0020]. The polymer has a melt flow rate (MFR) can be 0.5-50 g/10 min [0042]. It is noted that the claimed melt index (I2) is synonymous with the MFR disclosed in US ‘014. That is, the melt index of the present claims and the MFR is measured according to the same ASTM test, i.e., ASTM D 1238 at 190ᵒC and load of 2.16 kg.
Regarding claim 15, the term “solar cell encapsulant” does not require a solar cell but rather only requires a film that is capable of functioning as an encapsulant film for a solar cell. Hanlon discloses an embodiment that has enhanced optical clarity and impact/stress crack resistance; thus, the film would be capable of functioning as an encapsulant film for a solar cell.
Regarding claim 24, Hanlon discloses the claimed additives in the claimed amounts ([0026]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 25, Hanlon discloses the claimed branched vinyl ester monomer having the general structure (II) [0017].
Regarding claim 27, Hanlon discloses the claimed density [0052].
Regarding claim 28, Hanlon discloses the claimed melt index [0042].
Regarding claim 30, Hanlon discloses that the film has a Shore A hardness of less than 90 [0049].
Regarding claim 31, Hanlon discloses that the film is crosslinked ([0026].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 29, 32, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hanlon et al. (U.S. Pub. 2021/0102014).
Hanlon does not specifically disclose the properties of claims 29, 32, and 33. However, as set forth above, the film of Hanlon is prepared using the same monomers in the same amounts using a process that can be the same, i.e., extrusion. Further, the film of Hanlon is disclosed as having has enhanced optical clarity and impact/stress crack resistance (Example 1), which are analogous properties to the presently claimed properties of optical transmittance, haze, stress at break, and gloss. Thus, it is reasonable to conclude that the film of Hanlon would inherently exhibit these claimed properties. With respect to the alternative rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, MPEP 2112 states “[w]here applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanlon et al. (U.S. Pub. 2021/0102014).
Hanlon does not specifically disclose the claimed comonomer content being the in the range of 10-60 wt%. However, Hanlon discloses that the branched vinyl ester can be present in an amount of 0.01-89.9 wt% (claim 6) and the vinyl acetate monomer can be present in an amount of 0.01-89.99 wt% (claim 7). Hanlon further discloses that the selection of specific amounts of these monomers predictably alters the properties of the film (Example 1). Specifically, Hanlon states that an increase in vinyl acetate predictably results in a decrease in crystallinity, Tg, melting temperature, and chemical resistance, while increasing the optical clarity and impact and stress crack resistance. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the comonomer content to be within the presently claimed range, motivated by the desire to obtain a film having desired properties associated with this range. See MPEP 2144.05.II.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanlon et al. (U.S. Pub. 2021/0102014) in view of KR 101699183.
Hanlon does not claim the film being used with a solar cell. Example 1 of Hanlon discloses an embodiment that has enhanced optical clarity and impact/stress crack resistance. KR ‘183 discloses a similar film, i.e., ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer, that is used as an encapsulant film for a solar cell [0010]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the film of Hanlon with a solar cell substrate, as taught in KR ‘183, motivated by the desire to obtain a solar cell having an encapsulant film that exhibits enhanced optical clarity and impact/stress resistance.
/BLAINE COPENHEAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781