Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 11 and 16-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7, 9-11, 16 and 17 of copending Application No. 18/374,910. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because current claims 13 and 30 corresponds to claim 13 of ‘910 where a film comprising a polymer composition comprising a polymer produced from ethylene, one or more branched vinyl ester monomers, and optionally, vinyl acetate, with an ethylene content of 40-99.9 wt%, and having a melt index of 0.1-100 g/10min. Current claim 2 corresponds to claim 24 of ’910 where the polymer composition further comprises a primary antioxidant, a secondary antioxidant, a light stabilizer, an UV absorber, an adhesive promoter, thermal stabilizers, plasticizers, rubbers, elastomers, and fillers. Current claim 3 corresponds to claim 25 of ’910 where the branched vinyl ester monomers having a general structure as recited in claim 3. Current claim 4 corresponds to claim 26 of ’910 where the polymer has a total comonomer content ranging from 10-60 wt%. Current claim 6 corresponds to claim 27 of ’910 where the polymer has a density of 0.8-1.3 g/cm3. Current claim 7 corresponds to combination of claims 29, 30, 32 and 33 of ’910 where the film has the following properties: a melting temperature, a haze, a water vapor transmission coefficient, a glass transition temperature a gloss at 45˚, and a gloss at 60˚. Current claim 11 corresponds to claims 16 and 17 of ’910 where an article comprising the film is provided between two substrates. Current claims 16 and 17 corresponds to claim 29 of ‘910 where the film has a water vapor transmission coefficient of less than 22000 µm.g/m².day and less than 20000 µm.g/m².day. Current claim 18 corresponds to claim 30 of ‘910 where the film has a glass transition temperature measured via loss modulus of less than -31 °C. Current claim 19 corresponds to claim 13 of ‘910 where the polymer composition comprises a polymer produced from ethylene, one or more branched vinyl ester monomers, and vinyl acetate. Current claim 20 corresponds to claim 29 of ‘910 where the film has a clarity of at least 91.8%.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanlon et al. (US 2021/0102015 A1) in view of Kornacki et al. (US 2022/0243048 A1).
Claims 1, 8, 18 and 19: Hanlon teaches a film [0078] comprising a polymer produced from ethylene and one or more branched vinyl ester [0021]. Hanlon does not teach the melt index value and the glass transition value of the of the polymer. However, Kornacki teaches a thermoplastic polymer in a film [0144], wherein the thermoplastic polymer is an ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer {instant claim 19} having a melt index of less than 20 g/10 min {instant claims 8 and 18} (Table 1) and a glass transition temperature measured via loss modulus of below 0̊ C [0043]. Hanlon and Kornacki are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is the thermoplastic polymer containing layer/film art. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer of Kornacki with the invention of Hanlon, and the motivation for combining would be to, as Kornacki suggested, to enable easy processing of the material into a shaped article [0040].
Claim 2: Hanlon teaches the polymer further comprises a light stabilizer, a processing aid, a plasticizer, an antistatic agent and an adhesion promoting agent [0048] in an amount of 0.01 wt% - 70-wt% [0050].
Claim 3: Hanlon teaches the one or more branched vinyl ester has the following general structure:
, wherein R16 and R17 have a combined carbon number of 6 or 7 [0026].
Claim 4: Hanlon teaches the polymer has a total comonomer content ranging from 0.01 wt% to 90 wt% [0034].
Claim 5: Hanlon teaches the polymer has a vinyl carbonyl monomer, (i.e., vinyl ester monomer) content ranging from 0.01 wt% to 90 wt% [0034].
Claim 6: Hanlon teaches the polymer has a density ranging from 0.75 g/cm3 to 1.3 g/cm3 [0064].
Claim 7: Hanlon teaches the polymer has a melting temperature value ranging from 20˚C to 150˚ [0057].
Claims 16 and 17: With respect to the claimed water vapor transmission coefficient value, the experimental modification of this prior art in order to ascertain optimum operating conditions fails to render applicants’ claims patentable in the absence of unexpected results. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the water vapor transmission coefficient of the film, and the motivation would be to control breathability of the film. A prima facie case of obviousness may be rebutted, however, where the results of the optimizing variable, which is known to be result-effective, are unexpectedly good. In re Boesch and Slaney, 205 USPQ 215.
Claim 20: With respect to the claimed clarity value, the experimental modification of this prior art in order to ascertain optimum operating conditions fails to render applicants’ claims patentable in the absence of unexpected results. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the clarity of the film, and the motivation would be to control breathability of the film. A prima facie case of obviousness may be rebutted, however, where the results of the optimizing variable, which is known to be result-effective, are unexpectedly good. In re Boesch and Slaney, 205 USPQ 215.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanlon et al. (US 2021/0102015 A1) and Kornacki et al. (US 2022/0243048 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shi et al. (US 2010/0272940 A1).
Hanlon and Kornacki teach the claimed invention as set forth above.
Claims 9 and 10: Hanlon does not teach the thickness of the film and how the film is made. However, Shi teaches a film fabricated from a polyethylene containing composition [0037], wherein the film has a thickness of 5-200 µm {instant claim 9} [0065] and can be formed by an extrusion method or injection method {instant claim 10} [0065]. Hanlon and Shi are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is the polyethylene film art. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teaching, (i.e., thickness and method) of Shi with the invention Hanlon, and the motivation for combining would be as Shi suggested to provide packaging films and containers [0065].
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanlon et al. (US 2021/0102015 A1) and Kornacki et al. (US 2022/0243048 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lane et al. (US 2007/0231571 A1).
Hanlon and Kornacki teach the claimed invention as set forth above.
Claims 11-15: Lane teaches an adhesive base layer (B) is provided between an outer filmic layer (A) and a tackifier layer (C) forming a laminate {instant claims 11, 14 and 15} (Figs. 1 and 9), wherein the layers are coextruded {instant claim 12} ([0078] and [0079]) and the laminate is used as a food and beverage packaging {instant claim 13} [0113]. The outer filmic layer (A) and tackifier layer (C) meet the claimed two substrates. Hanlon and Lane are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is the thermoplastic polymer containing layer/film art. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teaching of Lane with the invention of Hanlon, and the motivation would be to provide an article useful as a packaging and/or a container.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The reference of Kornacki teaches the claimed thermoplastic polymer of ethylene vinyl acetate copolymer having a melt index of less than 20 g/10 min (Table 1) and a glass transition temperature measured via loss modulus of below 0̊ C [0043].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
BS
February 20, 2026
/BETELHEM SHEWAREGED/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1785