2. This communication is in response to the Application No. 18/374,936 filed on 9/29/23. Claims 1 – 20 has been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1 – 4, 7 – 13, 16 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xia et al. (US 2020/0233949, Xia hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, Xia teaches A method implemented at a mobile device (mobile device, Fig. 2A-B; also, 4A-H), the method comprising:
obtaining a location of the mobile device (mobile device, 110 of Figs. 1, 2A -B and other corresponding figures, proximity between two devices can be detected; ¶ 5; proximity of device 110 is detected; ¶ 71, 73);
receiving, from a remote electronic device (server, 130 of Fig. 1, 2A-B and other corresponding figures), data including a user interface of a cloud computing device (credential data, Fig. 2A-B and other corresponding figures; The server 130 has access to credential data indicating the status of credentials and credential conditions indicating limitations and policies associated with credentials. The server 130 can provide the devices 110, 120 information about the limitations on using a particular user's credential, and can provide data indicating whether a particular credential is still valid, ¶ 93);
transmitting the data received from the remote electronic device to an external content presentation device (resource 120 such as personal computer or other device, Fig. 1, 2A-B and other corresponding figures) that is connected to the mobile device (As shown in Figs. 1, 2A-B, and as shown further in Fig. 3A-B; the data or specifically the security code for verification, 308 of Fig. 3A; and provide indication of credential, 322 of Fig. 3A; sent from the 110 to 120 via 130; Fig. 3A-B; ¶ 140 and other corresponding paragraphs of Fig. 3A and B); and
locking (locking, Fig. 4A-H), in response to detecting that the mobile device has moved at least a threshold amount away from the location, the cloud computing device (the user may set a distance for locking the computer when the user moves the phone away. In this instance, the computer is set to lock itself automatically when it detects that the phone is has moved at least 15 feet away. During this process, the user may be instructed to move the phone to a distance corresponding to the desired lock or unlock position, and the computer can measure the signal strength at those locations, ¶ 161; This information can be used to set or verify the signal strength thresholds corresponding to the desired distances for future use. The interface of the phone shows a status of the access application, including badges or credentials issued to the user, enrolled devices for the user account, and so on. In some implementations, the user may be able to access, modify, or remove pairing of the phone with other devices from this interface also; ¶ 161; please see Figs. 4A – H; also refer to ¶ 85; The resource 120, the device 110, and/or the server 130 can apply security policies, usage restrictions, reporting functions, and logging functions associated with the credential in addition to determining whether appropriate proximity is detected. These policies can include conditions that specify different behavior of the proximity-based access function based on various contextual factors, such as time, location, usage history, user identity, identity of other devices nearby, and so on; also ¶ 145).
Regarding claim 2, The method of claim 1, wherein the locking comprises stopping, while the mobile device is connected to the external content presentation device, streaming data to the external content presentation device (as mentioned above, the locking means the server is not communicating with the computer meaning no data of any kind is being transmitted or streamed; so, the data G or 230 such as credentials and other data as shown in Fig. 2B is not transmitted based on the proximity; also, refer to other corresponding figs and ¶ 85, 124,146, 174).
Regarding claim 3, The method of claim 1, wherein the locking comprises ignoring or deleting inputs received from an external input device associated with the external content presentation device (as mentioned above, the locking means the server is not communicating with the computer meaning no data of any kind is being transmitted or streamed; so, the data G or 230 such as credentials and other data as shown in Fig. 2B is not transmitted or deleted or ignored based on the proximity; also, refer to other corresponding figs and ¶ 85, 124,146, 174).
Regarding claim 4, The method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the location of the mobile device comprises using a Wi-Fi round-trip time (RTT) to measure a distance to each of multiple wireless devices (Thus, in many instances, the round trip time from the resource 120 sending the message 210 to receiving the authentication data 230 may be less than the amount of time needed to detect the presence of the device 110 over the wireless communication channel 105 and receive enough transmissions to evaluate the signal strength, ¶117; can be Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. ¶ 7, 108, 117).
Regarding claim 7, The method of claim 1, further comprising, subsequent to locking the cloud computing device and in response to detecting that the mobile device has moved within the threshold amount of the location, unlocking the cloud computing device (As described above; the user may set a distance for locking the computer when the user moves the phone away. In this instance, the computer is set to lock itself automatically when it detects that the phone is has moved at least 15 feet away. During this process, the user may be instructed to move the phone to a distance corresponding to the desired lock or unlock position, and the computer can measure the signal strength at those locations, ¶ 161; This information can be used to set or verify the signal strength thresholds corresponding to the desired distances for future use. The interface of the phone shows a status of the access application, including badges or credentials issued to the user, enrolled devices for the user account, and so on. In some implementations, the user may be able to access, modify, or remove pairing of the phone with other devices from this interface also; ¶ 161; please see Figs. 4A – H; also refer to ¶ 85; The resource 120, the device 110, and/or the server 130 can apply security policies, usage restrictions, reporting functions, and logging functions associated with the credential in addition to determining whether appropriate proximity is detected. These policies can include conditions that specify different behavior of the proximity-based access function based on various contextual factors, such as time, location, usage history, user identity, identity of other devices nearby, and so on; also ¶ 145).
Regarding claim 8, The method of claim 1, further comprising monitoring, in response to movement of the mobile device, whether the mobile device has moved within the threshold amount of the location (refer to Figs.4E-F; shows the specific distance such as 15 ft; ¶ 162).
Regarding claim 9, The method of claim 1, wherein the mobile device comprises a smartphone (smartphone, 110 of Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 10, the mobile device substantially has same limitation(s) as claim 1, thus the same rejection is applicable. (Inherent to have memory, and processor, ¶ 247).
Regarding claim 11, the mobile device substantially has same limitation(s) as claim 2, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 12, the mobile device substantially has same limitation(s) as claim 3, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 13, the mobile device substantially has same limitation(s) as claim 4, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 12, the mobile device substantially has same limitation(s) as claim 3, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 16, the mobile device substantially has same limitation(s) as claim 7, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 17, the mobile device substantially has same limitation(s) as claim 8, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 18, the mobile device substantially has same limitation(s) as claim 9, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 19, A mobile device, comprising:
a communication system (mobile device, 110 of Fig. 1,2A-B, and other corresponding figs.), implemented at least in part in hardware, to receive data from a remote electronic device, the data including a user interface of a cloud computing device (credential data, Fig. 2A-B and other corresponding figures; The server 130 has access to credential data indicating the status of credentials and credential conditions indicating limitations and policies associated with credentials. The server 130 can provide the devices 110, 120 information about the limitations on using a particular user's credential, and can provide data indicating whether a particular credential is still valid, ¶ 93); and
a content streaming system (resource 120 such as personal computer or other device, Fig. 1, 2A-B and other corresponding figures), implemented at least in part in hardware, to obtain a location of the mobile device, transmit the data received from the remote electronic device to an external content presentation device that is connected to the mobile device (As shown in Figs. 1, 2A-B, and as shown further in Fig. 3A-B; the data or specifically the security code for verification, 308 of Fig. 3A; and provide indication of credential, 322 of Fig. 3A; sent from the 110 to 120 via 130; Fig. 3A-B; ¶ 140 and other corresponding paragraphs of Fig. 3A and B),
and lock (locking, Fig. 4A-H), in response to detecting that the mobile device has moved at least a threshold amount away from the location, the cloud computing device (the user may set a distance for locking the computer when the user moves the phone away. In this instance, the computer is set to lock itself automatically when it detects that the phone is has moved at least 15 feet away. During this process, the user may be instructed to move the phone to a distance corresponding to the desired lock or unlock position, and the computer can measure the signal strength at those locations, ¶ 161; This information can be used to set or verify the signal strength thresholds corresponding to the desired distances for future use. The interface of the phone shows a status of the access application, including badges or credentials issued to the user, enrolled devices for the user account, and so on. In some implementations, the user may be able to access, modify, or remove pairing of the phone with other devices from this interface also; ¶ 161; please see Figs. 4A – H; also refer to ¶ 85; The resource 120, the device 110, and/or the server 130 can apply security policies, usage restrictions, reporting functions, and logging functions associated with the credential in addition to determining whether appropriate proximity is detected. These policies can include conditions that specify different behavior of the proximity-based access function based on various contextual factors, such as time, location, usage history, user identity, identity of other devices nearby, and so on; also ¶ 145).
Regarding claim 20, The mobile device of claim 19, wherein the content streaming system is to unlock, subsequent to locking the cloud computing device and in response to detecting that the mobile device has moved within the threshold amount of the location, the cloud computing device (As described above; the user may set a distance for locking the computer when the user moves the phone away. In this instance, the computer is set to lock itself automatically when it detects that the phone is has moved at least 15 feet away. During this process, the user may be instructed to move the phone to a distance corresponding to the desired lock or unlock position, and the computer can measure the signal strength at those locations, ¶ 161; This information can be used to set or verify the signal strength thresholds corresponding to the desired distances for future use. The interface of the phone shows a status of the access application, including badges or credentials issued to the user, enrolled devices for the user account, and so on. In some implementations, the user may be able to access, modify, or remove pairing of the phone with other devices from this interface also; ¶ 161; please see Figs. 4A – H; also refer to ¶ 85; The resource 120, the device 110, and/or the server 130 can apply security policies, usage restrictions, reporting functions, and logging functions associated with the credential in addition to determining whether appropriate proximity is detected. These policies can include conditions that specify different behavior of the proximity-based access function based on various contextual factors, such as time, location, usage history, user identity, identity of other devices nearby, and so on; also ¶ 145).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 5 – 6, 14 – 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia et al. (US 2020/0233949, Xia hereafter) in further view of Nguyen et al. (US 2022/0137204, Nguyen hereafter).
Regarding claim 5, Xia teaches claim 5, even though it discloses having other techniques for determining distance between devices, including GPS location tracking and WI-FI triangulation, can additionally or alternatively be used to determine proximity of one device to another; not specifically disclose using multilateration technique.
In the same field of endeavor; Nguyen teaches wherein obtaining the location of the mobile device comprises using, based on one or more signals received from the multiple wireless devices, a multilateration technique to determine a location of the mobile device relative to the multiple wireless devices (the electronic device 200 can determine location information using multilateration. For example, the electronic device 200 can includes multiple transceivers (such as the measuring transceiver 270 of FIG. 2). The electronic device 200 can generate the location information associated with an external electronic device by performing multilateration based on the transmitted and received signals from the multiple transceivers, ¶ 241).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Nguyen’s multilateration technique with the system of Xia. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because multilateration technique is more accurate and it is cost effective than other techniques.
Regarding claim 6, Xia teaches the method of claim 1, even though it discloses using techquies such as Wi-fi, Bluetooth, or other short-range communications but does not specifically disclose UWB.
In the same field of endeavor; Nguyen teaches wherein wherein obtaining the location of the mobile device comprises determining a distance of the mobile device from the external content presentation device using one or more ultra-wideband (UWB) signals (For example, if the electronic device (such as the television) and the other device (such as a wearable device) are both capable for wireless communication (such as using ultra-wide band (UWB) signals, BLUETOOTH, radar, WiFi, and the like), ¶ 36 – 37, 40).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Nguyen’s UWB communications with the system of Xia. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because UWB has high level of accuracy for location tracking, has less interference and uses less power which helps longer battery life.
Regarding claim 14, the mobile device substantially has same limitation(s) as claim 5, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 15, the mobile device substantially has same limitation(s) as claim 6, thus the same rejection is applicable.
Conclusion
TANMAY K. SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2632
/TANMAY K SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632