DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, corresponding to claims 1-14 in the reply filed on February 4th, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that:
Applicant argues that:
Method Claims 15 and 18 expressly depend from Apparatus Claim 13 and recite operational steps that are the direct functional implementation of the claimed structural elements (e.g., the docking unit, detection unit, and controller). Thus, the method claims merely define the intended use of the claimed apparatus.
Further, the claimed methods cannot be practiced without the specific modular docking structure defined in the apparatus claims, and the apparatus is specifically designed to perform the claimed operational logic. Accordingly, the two groups represent a single inventive concept rather than independent or distinct inventions.
Still further, the Examiner's references to unrelated uses such as vacuuming or painting do not establish distinctness. The claimed methods are not general robot movement processes but are narrowly directed to module replacement logic based on filter flow rate and disinfectant level detection, which is inherently tied to the claimed hardware configuration.
Finally, the Applicant notes that a search of the apparatus claims necessarily encompasses the same structural and functional features recited in the method claims. Therefore, no serious burden exists that would justify restriction.
The Examiner would respectfully respond that:
Method claims 15 & 18 are independent. Referencing back to claim 13 in said method claims 15 & 18 is merely a short hand way of writing independent method claims without having to physically recite all the limitations of apparatus claim 13 (and the limitations from which claim 13 depend). Further, as the Applicant is aware, apparatus claims and method claims are examined in a completely different manner; wherein The Manual of Patent Examining Procedures specifically states that, "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (See MPEP 2114 II). Applicant plainly stated that the method claims merely define the intended use of the apparatus claim. However, as noted above, that is not what imparts patentability on apparatus claims. As such, prior art that comprises all the necessary structural components of the apparatus claim will meet said claim while simultaneously NOT meeting the limitations of the method claims. Still further, as noted in the restriction requirement, the apparatus claims are separately classified in entirely different CPC Sections than the method claims (B25J 5/007 versus A61L 9/14); and as plainly stated in said restriction requirement, the inventions are distinct if the apparatus as claimed can be used in another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(e)), wherein the apparatus could be easily utilized in a method of vacuuming a floor, or spraying a paint or coating onto desired surfaces.
Because of all of this, said apparatus and method claims are distinctly different, wherein a prior art apparatus meeting the claimed apparatus may not meet the method claims; and a serious search burden would exist if the restriction were not required. However, and most importantly, the method claims will be rejoined with the apparatus claims if the apparatus claims are found allowable provided that said method claims incorporate the limitations of the allowable apparatus claims, which is the case as currently constituted.
Nonetheless, the requirement is still deemed proper and is made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2007/0050937).
Song discloses an air cleaning and disinfection robot (Figure 1) comprising:
A driving unit (40) configured to move autonomously in a target space (paragraphs 34-37, 46 and 47);
A plurality of air conditioning modules (11-14) configured to manage air quality in the target space (paragraphs 14, 41 & 54; as a vacuum cleaning module and/or a sterilizing module is capable of conditioning air as well as a surface) and detachably provided on the driving unit (paragraphs 54 & 59-62);
A station (20) on which the plurality of air conditioning modules (11-14) are mounted (Figure 1);
A docking unit (43/57) configured to couple and separate the driving unit (40) and each of the air conditioning modules (11-14) to and from each other (paragraph 35); and
A detection unit (49/50) configured to detect an operation environment of the target space (paragraphs 42, 46, 51-53, 57 and 58), as the detection unit detects the control modules (11-14) which are in the environment and perform operations therein;
Wherein the driving unit selectively couples to and moves with any one of the plurality of air conditioning modules based on information obtained by the detection unit (paragraphs 54 & 59-66).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2007/0050937) in view of Giarritta (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0142422).
Song is relied upon as set forth above. Song does not appear to disclose that the station includes the main frame, mounting spaces, mounting frame, and detachable spaces as set forth in claim 2. Giarritta discloses a cleaning and disinfection robot that includes a driving unit (2), cleaning modules (14/16/17) and a station on which the modules are mounted (Figure 3); wherein the driving unit selectively couples to and moves with said cleaning modules (paragraphs 65-87; Figures 1-15, 28 & 29). The reference continues to disclose that the station includes a main frame (5) forming a body (Figures 1-3), a plurality of mounting spaces (space holding cleaning modules 14/16/17; Figures 3 & 28) formed inside the main frame (5) to receive the plurality of air conditioning modules (Figure 3), a mounting frame (i.e., shelving) configured to support each of the air conditioning modules in each of the mounting spaces (Figure 3), and a plurality of detachable spaces (i.e., open backing of shelving holding cleaning modules and lower space portal [9] as well as space for head changing unit [15]) each formed at lower sides of the plurality of mounting spaces to allow the driving unit to enter as shown in Figures 1-5, 28 and 29 (paragraphs 11-48). Such a configuration allows said modules to be stored in a vertical orientation that decreases needed floor space while continuing to allow for the cleaning modules to be interchanged onto the driving unit (paragraphs 11-47; Figures 1-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the station configuration of Giarritta in the robot of Song in order to allow said modules to be stored in a vertical orientation that decreases needed floor space while continuing to allow for said cleaning modules to be interchanged onto the driving unit as exemplified by Giarritta.
Thus, claim 2 is not patentable over Song in view of Giarritta.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KEVIN JOYNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799