DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Issues raised by the Applicant:
It is respectfully submitted that the cited references do not disclose, teach or suggest the features of claim 1.
In Alcoe, the pressurizing structure 58 is specifically described as a spring that is assembled to side surfaces of the base 23 of the heatsink 22. See Alcoe at FIG. 3 and col. 8:64 - col. 9:14 (reproduced below).
However, this does not account for the additional feature of "extending continuously between the thermal module and the electrical component." The spring 58 of Alcoe is a specific mechanism that terminates at side surfaces of the heat sink 22 and thus modifying this to extend continuously between the heat sink 22 and a component underneath is not a reasonable modification.
Furthermore, component 393 of Yoon is not between the TIM 392 and the electronic component 341. 391 is a shielding sheet and does not function as a pressurizing component.
Ji fails to cure the deficiencies of Alcoe and Yoon, as Ji is silent as to any corresponding pressurizing structure.
Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1 is patentable because the cited references, either alone or in any combination thereof, do not teach or suggest all of the features of claim 1.
Amended independent claim 16 recites features similar to the above-noted features of claim 1 and is therefore also patentable for similar reasons.
The Examiner’s position:
The Examiner respectfully disagree with the Applicant. From below figure 6 of YOON et al., component 393 does function as a pressurizing component. Clearly, component 393 is held down and pressed down against component 392 by screw 394.
From figures 1-3 of Alcoe et al., it is clear that spring 58 is also used to hold down components 18, 22 and 23 by fasteners 60. Therefore, entirely replacing the springs 58 with pressuring component 393 of YOON et al. such that the pressuring component would extend continuously between the thermal module (22 + 23) and the electronic component (18) of Alcoe et al. would not seem to be unreasonable.
Therefore, the Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alcoe et al. U.S. Patent 5,786,635 in view of YOON et al. U.S. Pub. 2021/0029855 and in further view of Ji et al. U.S. Patent 9,939,596.
Regarding claim 1, Alcoe et al. teaches a printed circuit board (PCB) assembly comprising:
a first circuit board (12; figure 3);
an electronic component (18; figure 3) provided on the first circuit board;
a thermal module (22 + 23; figure 3) configured to absorb heat from the electronic component (18); and
a pressurizing structure (58 + 68; figure 3) configured to apply a pre-load (by 58 + 68; see paragraph bridging columns 8-9) to the thermal module (22 + 23) in a direction (downward direction) toward the electronic component (18), wherein the pressurizing structure (58 + 68) is supported by the first circuit board (12; figure 1A) or an external structure by at least one securing member (62; figure 3).
However, Alcoe et al. does not specifically teach wherein the pressurizing structure extends continuously across the first circuit board and between the thermal module and the electronic component.
YOON et al. teaches a similar structure (see figure 6), comprising a pressurizing structure (393; figure 3) extends continuously across a circuit board (340; figure 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the entire pressurizing structure (58 + 68; figure 3) of Alcoe et al. with the pressuring structure (393; figure 6) of YOON et al. such that the pressurizing structure would extend continuously across the first circuit board and extends continuously between the thermal module and the electronic component, for the ease of part assembly and to stably pressure the thermal module and the electronic component downward.
However, Alcoe et al. does not teach a second circuit board connected to the first circuit board;
wherein the pressurizing structure is separated from the second circuit board.
Ji et al. teaches a PCB assembly (1000; figure 1), which suggests a second circuit board (502; figure 1) connected to the first circuit board, at an end of a first circuit board (102; figure 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further provide a second circuit board connected to an end of the first circuit board of Alcoe et al./YOON et al., as suggested by Ji et al., for data transmission to an external device; such that the pressurizing structure would be separated from the second circuit board.
Regarding claim 2, Alcoe et al. in view of YOON et al. and Ji et al. teaches the PCB assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one securing member (62; figure 3 of Alcoe et al.) penetrates the first circuit board (12).
Regarding claim 3, Alcoe et al. in view of YOON et al. and Ji et al. teaches the PCB assembly of claim 1, wherein the pressurizing structure (58 + 68; figure 3 of Alcoe et al.) comprises a plate-shaped elastic body (see paragraph bridging columns 8-9 of Alcoe et al.), wherein a first surface (upper surface of 68; figure 3 of Alcoe et al.) of the pressurizing structure is connected to the thermal module (22 + 23 of Alcoe et al.), and wherein a second surface (lower surface of 68 of Alcoe et al.) of the pressurizing structure that is opposite (see figure 3 of Alcoe et al.) to the first surface is connected (indirectly connected) to the electronic component (18 of Alcoe et al.).
Regarding claim 5, Alcoe et al. in view of YOON et al. and Ji et al. also teaches the PCB assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
a first securing member (see above annotated figure 3) supported by the external structure (the Examiner interprets “the external structure” to be whichever surface the assembly 10’ is positioned on. Note: “the external structure” limitation in claim 1 is an alternate);
a second securing member (62; figure 3 of Alcoe et al.) provided on the first circuit board (12 Alcoe et al.) and configured to secure the first circuit board (12 Alcoe et al.) to the first securing member;
a third securing member (see above annotated figure 3 of Alcoe et al.) supported by the external structure and penetrating (see figure 3) the first circuit board; and
a fourth securing member (60; figure 3 of Alcoe et al.) provided on the pressurizing structure (58 + 68; figure 3 of Alcoe et al.) and securing the pressurizing structure to the third securing member (see above annotated figure 3 of Alcoe et al.).
Regarding claim 16, Alcoe et al. teaches a printed circuit board (PCB) assembly comprising:
a first circuit board (12; figure 3);
an electronic component (18; figure 3) provided on the first circuit board (12);
a thermal module (22 + 23; figure 3) configured to absorb heat from the electronic component (18); and
a pressurizing structure (58 + 68; figure 3) provided between the thermal module (22 + 23) and the electronic component (18) and configured to apply a pre-load (by 58 + 68; see paragraph bridging columns 8-9) to the thermal module in a direction (downward direction) toward the electronic component;
wherein the pressurizing structure (58 + 68) is supported by the first circuit board (12; figure 1A) or an external structure by at least one securing member (62; figure 3)
However, Alcoe et al. does not specifically teach wherein the pressurizing structure extends continuously across the first circuit board and between the thermal module and the electronic component.
YOON et al. teaches a similar structure (see figure 6), comprising a pressurizing structure (393; figure 3) extends continuously across a circuit board (340; figure 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the entire pressurizing structure (58 + 68; figure 3) of Alcoe et al. with the pressuring structure (393; figure 6) of YOON et al. such that the pressurizing structure would extend continuously across the first circuit board and extend continuously between the thermal module and the electronic component, for the ease of part assembly and to stably pressure the thermal module and the electronic component downward.
However, Alcoe et al. does not teach a second circuit board connected to the first circuit board;
wherein the pressurizing structure (58 + 68) is separated from the second circuit board.
Ji et al. teaches a PCB assembly (1000; figure 1), which suggests a second circuit board (502; figure 1) connected to the first circuit board, at an end of a first circuit board (102; figure 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further provide a second circuit board connected to an end of the first circuit board of Alcoe et al., as suggested by Ji et al., for data transmission to an external device; such that the pressurizing structure (58 + 68) would be separated from the second circuit board and would be supported by an external structure (the Examiner interprets “the external structure” to be whichever surface the assembly 10’ is positioned on) by penetrating (see figure 3 of Alcoe et al.) the first circuit board.
Regarding claim 17, Alcoe et al. in view of YOON et al. and Ji et al. teaches the PCB assembly of claim 16, further comprising:
a first securing member (see above annotated figure 3 of Alcoe et al.) supported by the external structure;
a second securing member (62; figure 3 of Alcoe et al.) provided on the first circuit board and securing the first circuit board to the first securing member; and
a third securing member(see above annotated figure 3) penetrating the pressurizing structure (58 + 68; figure 3 of Alcoe et al.) and the second securing member, the third securing member securing the pressurizing structure to the first securing member.
Regarding claim 18, Alcoe et al. in view of YOON et al. and Ji et al. teaches the PCB assembly of claim 16, further comprising:
a first securing member (see above annotated figure 3) supported by the external structure (the Examiner interprets “the external structure” to be whichever surface the assembly 10’ is positioned on);
a second securing member (62; figure 3 of Alcoe et al.) provided on the first circuit board and securing the first circuit board (12 of Alcoe et al.) to the first securing member (see above annotated figure 3);
a third securing member (see above annotated figure 3) provided on the first circuit board (12) and supported by the first circuit board; and
a fourth securing member (60; figure 3 of Alcoe et al.) provided on the pressurizing structure (58 + 68; figure 3 of Alcoe et al.) and securing the pressurizing structure to the third securing member (see above annotated figure 3).
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841