DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 1A-D, 2A-C, and 6A-C are low resolution, dithered, and/or in grayscale/halftones, rendering them visually unclear. In accordance with 37 C.F.R. § 1.84(a)(1), black and white drawings are normally required; India ink, or its equivalent that secures solid black lines, must be used for drawings. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black, sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined, and the weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. 37 C.F.R. § 1.84(l). Moreover, the clarity of the drawings must be sufficient for clear reproduction to two-thirds size. 37 C.F.R. § 1.84(k).
For examples of acceptable drawing clarity and quality, see US 20220362902 A1, US 20220212385 A1, US 20230076152 A1, US 20240416372 A1, US 20230286103 A1, and US 20240009795 A1. Examiner suggests outputting and resubmitting the drawings as vector graphics instead of raster images (bitmap) and uploading them to USPTO Patent Center as “Drawings-other than black and white line drawings”, which should cause the filed image file to be stored in the SCORE database without any image conversion.
Double Patenting
Examiner is aware of Applicant’s copending application and issued patent: 18/449,086, titled “SYSTEMS AND METHODS OF FORMING A BRUSH TO CLEAN A SURFACE”; and US 11,694,910 B2, titled “BRUSH WITH NON-CONSTANT NODULE DENSITY”. The copending application has pending claims directed to similar subject matter, and the issued patent has claims directed to similar subject matter. Currently, the claims in this application are sufficiently delineated and patentably distinct from those of the copending application and the issued patent. Accordingly, a statutory double patenting rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 or a nonstatutory double patenting rejection is not appropriate at this time, but may be applied should the claims of this application and/or the copending application be amended such that the claims of this application are no longer patentably distinct from the claims of the copending application and/or the issued patent. MPEP § 804.
Applicant is advised of its duty of disclosure, candor, and good faith to identify its own copending applications and patents that disclose similar subject matter, as well as prior art and other information from the prosecution of its own copending applications and patents, that are material to the patentability (including double patenting) of this application. MPEP §§ 2001.04, 2001.05, 2001.06, 2001.06(a)-(e).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
Philipossian in view of McMullen, Vetter, and Song
Claims 1-5 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022115671 A1 (“Philipossian”) in view of US 20020100132 A1 (“McMullen”), US 20120084933 A1 (“Vetter”), and US 20180160873 A1 (“Song”).
Philipossian pertains to a system, including a brush, for cleaning semiconductor substrates (Abstr.; Figs. 1, 3A-G, 4A-C; p. 1, lines 9-12). McMullen pertains to a system, including a brush, for cleaning semiconductor substrates (Abstr.; Figs. 1-4). McMullen pertains to a brush for cleaning a surface (Abstr.; Figs. 2-4; ¶¶ 0001-0015). Song pertains to a brush for cleaning a surface (Abstr.; Figs. 1A-D, 2A-C, 4A-B, 5A-B; ¶ 0001). These references are in the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 1, Philipossian discloses a brush for cleaning of a substrate (Figs. 1, 3A-G, 4A-C, brush 300; p. 1, lines 9-12), the brush comprising:
a porous polymeric brush body having a plurality of nodules for cleaning the substrate (Figs. 3A-G, 4A-C; p. 11, lines 12-31, brush body 306 is made of a porous polymeric material (polyvinyl acetal (PVA)) and has nodules 308 that are capable of cleaning a substrate),
and a brush support configured to mechanically couple the brush body to an actuator (Figs. 1, 3A-G, 4A-C; p. 4, lines 15-32, p. 6, lines 1-15, mandrel 302 supports brush body 306 and is capable of coupling the brush body 306 to an actuator; Examiner notes that “an actuator” is not positively claimed and is not part of the recited “brush”).
Philipossian does not explicitly disclose:
the plurality of nodules comprising a first nodule having a first microtexture and a second nodule having a second microtexture that is different than the first microtexture.
However, the Philipossian/McMullen/Vetter/Song combination makes obvious this claim.
McMullen discloses:
a porous polymeric brush body having a plurality of nodules for cleaning the substrate (Figs. 1-4; ¶¶ 0020-0035, the porous polymeric brush body 200 and 300 have nodules 206 and 304 that are capable of cleaning a substrate),
the plurality of nodules comprising a first nodule having a first microtexture and a second nodule having a second microtexture… (Figs. 1-4; ¶¶ 0020-0035, the porous polymeric brush body 200 and 300 have a skin 204, 310, 400 (including a skin on nodules 206 and 304) that has a microtexture (e.g., as seen in Fig. 4 at reference 400a).
Vetter discloses:
the plurality of nodules comprising a first nodule having a first microtexture and a second nodule having a second microtexture that is different than the first microtexture (Figs. 2-3; ¶ 0052, nodules 24 have different protrusion configurations, including “equal or unequal height, pitch and/or shape”, which are referred to as “macrotexture”; ¶ 0049, the nodules include a microtexture, “The granular materials of the first stratum 30a may create a microtexture of asperities. These asperities may locally increase pressure on the target surface in response to compression applied by the user through the handle. The local increase in pressure may assist in scrubbing stains etc. from the toilet bowl. The granular materials may be in the shape of rods, sheets, spheres and/or combinations thereof and have a particle size from 1 to 13,000 or 100 to 5000 microns.”)
Song discloses:
the plurality of nodules comprising a first nodule having a first microtexture and a second nodule having a second microtexture that is different than the first microtexture (Figs. 1B-D; ¶¶ 0065-0072, nodules 16 (“macro protrusions”) have a microtexture 20 (“micro protrusions”), which could be different for each nodule 16 (Fig. 1D); ¶ 0065, “One or more contact surface protrusions (micro protrusions 20) on one or more protruding surfaces (macro protrusion surfaces 14) may form one or more, for example all of the contact surfaces (micro protrusion surfaces 18).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to combine the teachings of McMullen, Vetter, and Song with Philipossian by modifying the nodules of the Philipossian brush body 306 to have a microtexture, including a different microtexture for different nodules (i.e., the limitation “a first nodule having a first microtexture and a second nodule having a second microtexture that is different than the first microtexture”). This would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art because having a microtexture on the surface of the nodules could be useful to effectuate better cleaning: “A textured brush skin could also be used to influence friction factors and fluid dynamics on a microscopic level at the brush-substrate interface. Properties such as shear forces, mass transport, and surface chemistry could be influenced and controlled by the texture of the brush skin. The coarseness of a textured brush skin could be tailored to achieve optimum results in removing particle contamination from a given type of substrate. The texture of the resilient skin can vary in roughness, and can be random or patterned in nature. In one embodiment of the present invention, the location and character of the texturing could be determined by the presence of corresponding textured features on the surface of the mold.” (McMullen ¶¶ 0033-0035). Further, using a different texture for different nodules (whether a different microtexture per McMullen, Vetter, or Song, or a different macrotexture per Vetter) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955); MPEP § 2144.05(II). Here, the use of different microtextures on different nodules (e.g., some nodules have a more aggressive microtexture (e.g., more micro protrusions)) is a known result-effective variable because it achieves the result of improving cleaning (e.g., scrubbing effectiveness) compared to having the same microtexture (e.g., a less aggressive one) on all nodules (McMullen ¶¶ 0033-0035; see US 20080227055 A1 (“Seidman”) Figs. 1, 3-7; ¶ 0008-0009, 0019-0025, cleaning tool has different textured surfaces 26, 30, 32, 36, 38 for different cleaning operations). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the effect of this variable and found the claimed range through routine experimentation, including experimenting with using different types of microtextures (e.g., different numbers of Song’s micro protrusions 20) on different nodules and optimizing by choosing a specific arrangement for the desired cleaning effect on a target surface.
Regarding claim 2, the Philipossian/McMullen/Vetter/Song combination makes obvious the brush of claim 1 as applied above. Philipossian further discloses wherein the brush body is substantially cylindrical, and an exterior surface of the cylindrical brush body comprises the plurality of nodules (Figs. 3A-G, 4A-C, cylindrical brush body 306 with an exterior surface having nodules 308).
Regarding claim 3, the Philipossian/McMullen/Vetter/Song combination makes obvious the brush of claim 2 as applied above. Philipossian further discloses wherein the brush support comprises a mandrel configured to rotate the brush about an axis of the cylindrical brush body (Figs. 1, 3A-G, 4A-C; p. 4, lines 15-32, p. 6, lines 1-15, mandrel 302 supports brush body 306 and is capable of rotating the brush 300 about an axis of the brush body 306).
Regarding claim 4, the Philipossian/McMullen/Vetter/Song combination makes obvious the brush of claim 1 as applied above. Philipossian further discloses wherein the brush body is substantially cylindrical (Figs. 3A-G, 4A-C, cylindrical brush body 306).
Regarding claim 5, the Philipossian/McMullen/Vetter/Song combination makes obvious the brush of claim 4 as applied above. Philipossian further discloses wherein an axial dimension of the brush body is greater than a radial dimension (Figs. 3A-G, 4A-C, brush 300 has an axial dimension greater than its radial dimension as shown).
Regarding claim 9, the Philipossian/McMullen/Vetter/Song combination makes obvious the brush of claim 1 as applied above. McMullen further discloses wherein the first or second microtexture is structured to provide an enhanced lubrication between the first or second nodule and the substrate, compared with a lack of the first or second microtexture (¶¶ 0034-0035, the microtexture of skin 204/310/400 is capable of performing the recited function compared to a contact surface without the microtexture; Examiner notes this limitation is very broad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to further modify the Philipossian/McMullen/Vetter/Song combination with the teachings of McMullen by modifying the first and/or second microtexture to perform the recited function (to provide an enhanced lubrication) because this is simply a design choice that is contemplated by McMullen (¶¶ 0034-0035) that can result in a better cleaning effect. Further, this modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955); MPEP § 2144.05(II). Here, the construction of the microtexture is a known result-effective variable because it achieves the recognized result of changing the fluid dynamic, friction, and cleaning factors of the contact surface (McMullen ¶¶ 0034-0035, “A textured brush skin could also be used to influence friction factors and fluid dynamics on a microscopic level at the brush-substrate interface. Properties such as shear forces, mass transport, and surface chemistry could be influenced and controlled by the texture of the brush skin. The coarseness of a textured brush skin could be tailored to achieve optimum results in removing particle contamination from a given type of substrate.”). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the effect of this variable and found a proper microtexture for the desired characteristic through routine experimentation. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Examiner notes that Applicant has not disclosed any particular microtexture construction or geometry as being critical (Spec. ¶¶ 0054-0055). Accordingly, this particular microtexture construction is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 10, the Philipossian/McMullen/Vetter/Song combination makes obvious the brush of claim 1 as applied above. McMullen further discloses wherein the first or second microtexture is structured to provide an increased friction between the first or second nodule and the substrate, compared with a lack of the first or second microtexture (¶¶ 0034-0035, the microtexture of skin 204/310/400 is capable of performing the recited function compared to a contact surface without the microtexture; Examiner notes this limitation is very broad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to further modify the Philipossian/McMullen/Vetter/Song combination with the teachings of McMullen by modifying the first and/or second microtexture to perform the recited function (to provide an increased friction) because this is simply a design choice that is contemplated by McMullen (¶¶ 0034-0035) that can result in a better cleaning effect. Further, this modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955); MPEP § 2144.05(II). Here, the construction of the microtexture is a known result-effective variable because it achieves the recognized result of changing the fluid dynamic, friction, and cleaning factors of the contact surface (McMullen ¶¶ 0034-0035, “A textured brush skin could also be used to influence friction factors and fluid dynamics on a microscopic level at the brush-substrate interface. Properties such as shear forces, mass transport, and surface chemistry could be influenced and controlled by the texture of the brush skin. The coarseness of a textured brush skin could be tailored to achieve optimum results in removing particle contamination from a given type of substrate.”). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the effect of this variable and found a proper microtexture for the desired characteristic through routine experimentation. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Examiner notes that Applicant has not disclosed any particular microtexture construction or geometry as being critical (Spec. ¶¶ 0054-0055). Accordingly, this particular microtexture construction is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 11, the Philipossian/McMullen/Vetter/Song combination makes obvious the brush of claim 1 as applied above. McMullen further discloses wherein the first or second microtexture is structured to provide an improved cleaning efficiency, compared with a lack of the first or second microtexture (¶¶ 0034-0035, the microtexture of skin 204/310/400 is capable of performing the recited function compared to a contact surface without the microtexture; Examiner notes this limitation is very broad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to further modify the Philipossian/McMullen/Vetter/Song combination with the teachings of McMullen by modifying the first and/or second microtexture to perform the recited function (to provide an improved cleaning efficiency) because this is simply a design choice that is contemplated by McMullen (¶¶ 0034-0035) that can result in a better cleaning effect. Further, this modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955); MPEP § 2144.05(II). Here, the construction of the microtexture is a known result-effective variable because it achieves the recognized result of changing the fluid dynamic, friction, and cleaning factors of the contact surface (McMullen ¶¶ 0034-0035, “A textured brush skin could also be used to influence friction factors and fluid dynamics on a microscopic level at the brush-substrate interface. Properties such as shear forces, mass transport, and surface chemistry could be influenced and controlled by the texture of the brush skin. The coarseness of a textured brush skin could be tailored to achieve optimum results in removing particle contamination from a given type of substrate.”). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the effect of this variable and found a proper microtexture for the desired characteristic through routine experimentation. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Examiner notes that Applicant has not disclosed any particular microtexture construction or geometry as being critical (Spec. ¶¶ 0054-0055). Accordingly, this particular microtexture construction is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 12, the Philipossian/McMullen/Vetter/Song combination makes obvious the brush of claim 1 as applied above. Philipossian further discloses wherein the porous polymeric brush body comprises at least one of a polyvinyl acetal foam, a polyurethane foam, a polyolefin foam, a porous fluoropolymer, a silicone foam, a polyester foam, a nylon foam, or a polyacrylic foam (Figs. 3A-G, 4A-C; p. 11, lines 12-31, brush body 306 is made of a porous polymeric material (polyvinyl acetal (PVA) foam)).
Regarding claim 13, the Philipossian/McMullen/Vetter/Song combination makes obvious the brush of claim 1 as applied above. McMullen further discloses wherein the porous polymeric brush body is configured to disperse fluid through the first or second microtexture (¶¶ 0031-0035, as modified in claim 1, brush body is capable of dispersing fluid by way of the first or second microtexture: “A textured brush skin could also be used to influence friction factors and fluid dynamics on a microscopic level at the brush-substrate interface. Properties such as shear forces, mass transport, and surface chemistry could be influenced and controlled by the texture of the brush skin.”).
The obviousness rationale for claim 13 is the same as for claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, the Philipossian/McMullen/Vetter/Song combination makes obvious the brush of claim 1 as applied above. Philipossian further discloses wherein the brush body is molded over the brush support, assembled and then mounted on the brush support, or assembled as a sponge-only brush (Figs. 3A-G, 4A-C, brush body 306 is shown assembled and then mounted on the brush support mandrel 302; Examiner notes that this limitation appears to be a product-by-process limitation, but the resulting structure remains the same regardless of whether the device is actually produced/assembled in this manner. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695 (Fed. Cir 1985) (“The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.... If the product in a product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”); MPEP § 2113(I)).
Regarding claim 15, the Philipossian/McMullen/Vetter/Song combination makes obvious the brush of claim 1 as applied above.
Vetter further discloses:
wherein the first or second microtexture comprises a plurality of features... (¶ 0049, “The granular materials of the first stratum 30a may create a microtexture of asperities. These asperities may locally increase pressure on the target surface in response to compression applied by the user through the handle. The local increase in pressure may assist in scrubbing stains etc. from the toilet bowl. The granular materials may be in the shape of rods, sheets, spheres and/or combinations thereof and have a particle size from 1 to 13,000 or 100 to 5000 microns.”).
Song further discloses
wherein the first or second microtexture comprises a plurality of features which are aligned in a direction of motion of the brush body during cleaning (Figs. 1A-D, 2A-C, 4A-B, 5A-B; ¶¶ 0065-0072, microtexture features 20 (“micro protrusions”) are present on nodules 18 (“macro protrusion surface”) and are aligned horizontally and vertically relative to the brush pad (e.g., as shown in Fig. 2C)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to further combine the teachings of Vetter and Song with the Philipossian/McMullen/Vetter/Song combination by modifying the microtexture as recited (e.g., with micro protrusions 20 oriented orthogonally to the cylindrical brush’s axis) because this is simply a design choice that can result in a better cleaning effect. Further, this modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955); MPEP § 2144.05(II). Here, the orientation, construction, and geometry of the microtexture is a known result-effective variable because it achieves the recognized result of changing the fluid dynamic, friction, and cleaning factors of the contact surface (McMullen ¶¶ 0034-0035, “A textured brush skin could also be used to influence friction factors and fluid dynamics on a microscopic level at the brush-substrate interface. Properties such as shear forces, mass transport, and surface chemistry could be influenced and controlled by the texture of the brush skin. The coarseness of a textured brush skin could be tailored to achieve optimum results in removing particle contamination from a given type of substrate.”). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the effect of this variable and found a proper microtexture orientation, construction, and geometry for the desired characteristic through routine experimentation. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Examiner notes that Applicant has not disclosed any particular microtexture orientation, construction, or geometry as being critical (Spec. ¶¶ 0054-0055). Accordingly, this particular microtexture orientation, construction, and geometry is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 16, the Philipossian/McMullen/Vetter/Song combination makes obvious the brush of claim 1 as applied above.
Vetter further discloses:
wherein the first or second microtexture comprises a plurality of features... (¶ 0049, “The granular materials of the first stratum 30a may create a microtexture of asperities. These asperities may locally increase pressure on the target surface in response to compression applied by the user through the handle. The local increase in pressure may assist in scrubbing stains etc. from the toilet bowl. The granular materials may be in the shape of rods, sheets, spheres and/or combinations thereof and have a particle size from 1 to 13,000 or 100 to 5000 microns.”).
Song further discloses:
wherein the first or second microtexture comprises a plurality of features which are aligned transverse to a direction of motion of the brush body during cleaning (Figs. 1A-D, 2A-C, 4A-B, 5A-B; ¶¶ 0065-0072, microtexture features 20 (“micro protrusions”) are present on nodules 18 (“macro protrusion surface”) and are aligned horizontally and vertically relative to the brush pad (e.g., as shown in Fig. 2C)).
The obviousness rationale for claim 16 is the same as for claim 15.
Regarding claim 17, the Philipossian/McMullen/Vetter/Song combination makes obvious the brush of claim 1 as applied above.
Vetter further discloses:
wherein the first or second microtexture comprises a plurality of features having at least one of a rounded shape, a pointed shape, a squared shape, or a linear shape (¶ 0049, “The granular materials of the first stratum 30a may create a microtexture of asperities. These asperities may locally increase pressure on the target surface in response to compression applied by the user through the handle. The local increase in pressure may assist in scrubbing stains etc. from the toilet bowl. The granular materials may be in the shape of rods, sheets, spheres and/or combinations thereof and have a particle size from 1 to 13,000 or 100 to 5000 microns.”).
Song further discloses:
wherein the first or second microtexture comprises a plurality of features having at least one of a rounded shape, a pointed shape, a squared shape, or a linear shape (Figs. 1A-D, 2A-C, 4A-B, 5A-B; ¶¶ 0065-0072, microtexture features 20 (“micro protrusions”) are present on nodules 18 (“macro protrusion surface”) and are aligned horizontally and vertically relative to the brush pad (e.g., as shown in Fig. 2C)).
The obviousness rationale for claim 17 is the same as for claim 15.
Regarding claim 18, the Philipossian/McMullen/Vetter/Song combination makes obvious the brush of claim 1 as applied above.
Vetter further discloses:
wherein the first or second microtexture comprises a plurality of features... (¶ 0049, “The granular materials of the first stratum 30a may create a microtexture of asperities. These asperities may locally increase pressure on the target surface in response to compression applied by the user through the handle. The local increase in pressure may assist in scrubbing stains etc. from the toilet bowl. The granular materials may be in the shape of rods, sheets, spheres and/or combinations thereof and have a particle size from 1 to 13,000 or 100 to 5000 microns.”).
Song further discloses:
wherein the first or second microtexture comprises a plurality of features having a constant orientation over a surface of the brush body (Figs. 1A-D, 2A-C, 4A-B, 5A-B; ¶¶ 0065-0072, microtexture features 20 (“micro protrusions”) are present on nodules 18 (“macro protrusion surface”) and are aligned horizontally and vertically relative to the brush pad (e.g., as shown in Fig. 2C) and have the same orientation (e.g., pointed upwards) over the surface of the brush pad; Examiner interprets “having a constant orientation” to include the meaning of having the same orientation).
The obviousness rationale for claim 18 is the same as for claim 15.
Regarding claim 19, the Philipossian/McMullen/Vetter/Song combination makes obvious the brush of claim 1 as applied above. McMullen further discloses wherein the first or second microtexture comprises a plurality of features having a varied orientation over a surface of the brush body (Fig. 4; ¶ 0026, skin 400 (which is a microscope image of skin 204 and 310) shows the microtexture having features that have a varied orientation over the surface of the brush body).
The obviousness rationale for claim 19 is the same as for claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Philipossian discloses a system to clean a substrate (Figs. 1, 3A-G, 4A-C, system 10), the system comprising:
a cleaning brush (Figs. 1, 3A-G, 4A-C, brush 300; p. 1, lines 9-12), comprising:
a porous polymeric brush body having a plurality of nodules for cleaning the substrate (Figs. 3A-G, 4A-C; p. 11, lines 12-31, brush body 306 is made of a porous polymeric material (polyvinyl acetal (PVA)) and has nodules 308 that are capable of cleaning a substrate),
and a brush support configured to mechanically support the brush body (Figs. 1, 3A-G, 4A-C; p. 4, lines 15-32, p. 6, lines 1-15, mandrel 302 supports brush body 306 and is capable of coupling the brush body 306 to an actuator);
and an actuator configured to couple to the brush support and to rotate the brush along an axis of the cleaning brush via the brush support (Figs. 1, 3A-G, 4A-C; p. 1, lines 21-32, an actuator of system 10 couples to mandrel 302 and rotates brush 300 along its axis).
Philipossian does not explicitly disclose:
the plurality of nodules comprising a first nodule having a first microtexture and a second nodule having a second microtexture that is different than the first microtexture.
However, the Philipossian/McMullen/Vetter/Song combination makes obvious this claim.
McMullen discloses:
a porous polymeric brush body having a plurality of nodules for cleaning the substrate (Figs. 1-4; ¶¶ 0020-0035, the porous polymeric brush body 200 and 300 have nodules 206 and 304 that are capable of cleaning a substrate),
the plurality of nodules comprising a first nodule having a first microtexture and a second nodule having a second microtexture… (Figs. 1-4; ¶¶ 0020-0035, the porous polymeric brush body 200 and 300 have a skin 204, 310, 400 (including a skin on nodules 206 and 304) that has a microtexture (e.g., as seen in Fig. 4 at reference 400a).
Vetter discloses:
the plurality of nodules comprising a first nodule having a first microtexture and a second nodule having a second microtexture that is different than the first microtexture (Figs. 2-3; ¶ 0052, nodules 24 have different protrusion configurations, including “equal or unequal height, pitch and/or shape”, which are referred to as “macrotexture”; ¶ 0049, the nodules include a microtexture, “The granular materials of the first stratum 30a may create a microtexture of asperities. These asperities may locally increase pressure on the target surface in response to compression applied by the user through the handle. The local increase in pressure may assist in scrubbing stains etc. from the toilet bowl. The granular materials may be in the shape of rods, sheets, spheres and/or combinations thereof and have a particle size from 1 to 13,000 or 100 to 5000 microns.”)
Song discloses:
the plurality of nodules comprising a first nodule having a first microtexture and a second nodule having a second microtexture that is different than the first microtexture (Figs. 1B-D; ¶¶ 0065-0072, nodules 16 (“macro protrusions”) have a microtexture 20 (“micro protrusions”), which could be different for each nodule 16 (Fig. 1D); ¶ 0065, “One or more contact surface protrusions (micro protrusions 20) on one or more protruding surfaces (macro protrusion surfaces 14) may form one or more, for example all of the contact surfaces (micro protrusion surfaces 18).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to combine the teachings of McMullen, Vetter, and Song with Philipossian to make the modifications as discussed for claim 1. The obviousness rationale for claim 20 is the same as for claim 1.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment and remarks have been considered.
Drawings – Despite Applicant’s submission of replacement drawings, the objections to the drawings are sustained. Applicant’s submission of replacement Figs. 1A-D, 2A-C, and 6A-C do not appear materially different from that which was originally filed in this case. Applicant is required to submit amended drawings as outlined in the drawing objection above, noting the requirement of solid black lines (gray or dithered lines are unacceptable). Examiner notes that some of the drawings may need to be entirely recreated to address the issues (e.g., Figs. 1B, 1D). Examiner also notes that contrary to Applicant’s assertion (Reply at 7), these figures do not appear to be vector graphics (e.g., the image of the brush in Fig. 1B).
Claims – In light of Applicant’s claim amendments, the § 112(b) rejections of claims 9-11 are hereby withdrawn. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 6-8 have been withdrawn from further consideration under 37 C.F.R. § 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention. Claims 1-5 and 9-20 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments regarding amended claims 1 and 20 are unpersuasive in view of the new rejections above due to the amended limitations. Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s assertion that McMullen, Vetter, and Song do not disclose nodules where a first nodule has a first microtexture and a second nodule has a second microtexture different from the first microtexture (Reply at 8). As set forth in the rejections of claims 1 and 20, these references disclose this feature; and at the very least, this feature would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in light of these references as set forth above.
Applicant does not present any further arguments concerning the remaining claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on Form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure because the references pertain to cleaning devices similar to the disclosed invention, including cleaning device having microtextures on the surface of the cleaning devices.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.136(a).
/KENT N SHUM/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723