DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
This Office Action is in response to the amended application filed on October 23, 2025. The Remarks of October 23, 2025 have been fully considered and are addressed as follows.
The Remarks regarding the objections to the Specifications are considered and the respective amendments to the Specification are accepted. There are no further objections to the Specification.
The Remarks regarding the 112 rejections of the original claims 1-10 are considered. The respective amendments to claims 1-4 and 6-10 are accepted. The 112(b) rejections of the original claims 1-10 are withdrawn.
The Remarks regarding the 103 rejection of the original claim 1 are considered. The applicant’s amendments to claim 1 overcome the rejection and the 103 rejection of the original claim 1 is withdrawn. Due to their dependency on claim 1, the 103 rejections of the original claims 2-10 are subsequently withdrawn, as well.
The Remarks, on page 9, regarding the cited references failing to teach or suggest all the recited features of amended claim 1 are considered. The examiner agrees that the embodiment in Xiang (Figs. 1 and 3) used in the 103 rejection of the original claim 1 does not teach a first microstrip and a second microstrip feeder added as limitations to the amended claim 1. However, another embodiment in Xiang (Figs. 8-10) teaches these and other limitations of the amended claim 1. Applicant's amendments necessitated new ground(s) of rejection as presented in the 103 rejection of the amended claim 1 below. In view of the new grounds of rejection, the remaining arguments of the applicant are mute.
Claims 1-4 and 6-10 have been amended. New claims 11-16 have been added. Claims 1-16 are considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. The following features are not shown in the drawings:
Claim 1: “a first oscillator region” (line 1); “a second oscillator region” (lines 1-2); “a first oscillator sub-region” (line 14); “a second oscillator sub-region” (lines 14-15); “a third oscillator sub-region” (line 19); “a fourth oscillator sub-region” (lines 19-20);
Claim 4 (line 4): “a first clearance slot”;
Claim 6: “a fifth microstrip feeder” (line 3); “a sixth microstrip feeder” (line 3); “a second clearance slot” (lines 4-5);
Claim 7: “two fifth microstrip feeder” (line 2); “two sixth microstrip feeders” (line 2);
Claim 11 (line 3): “a third clearance slot”;
Claim 13: “a seventh microstrip feeder” (line 2); “an eighth microstrip feeder” (line 2); “a fourth clearance slot” (lines 3-4);
Claim 14: “two seventh microstrip feeder” (lines 1-2); “two eighth microstrip feeders” (line 2).
Therefore, the above features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The amended claims introduce the following features which are not being described in the specification:
Claim 1: “a first oscillator region” (line 1); “a second oscillator region” (lines 1-2); “a first oscillator sub-region” (line 14); “a second oscillator sub-region” (lines 14-15); “a third oscillator sub-region” (line 19); “a fourth oscillator sub-region” (lines 19-20);
Claim 4 (line 4): “a first clearance slot”;
Claim 6: “a fifth microstrip feeder” (line 3); “a sixth microstrip feeder” (line 3); “a second clearance slot” (lines 4-5);
Claim 7: “two fifth microstrip feeder” (line 2); “two sixth microstrip feeders” (line 2);
Claim 11 (line 3): “a third clearance slot”;
Claim 13: “a seventh microstrip feeder” (line 2); “an eighth microstrip feeder” (line 2); “a fourth clearance slot” (lines 3-4);
Claim 14: “two seventh microstrip feeder” (lines 1-2); “two eighth microstrip feeders” (line 2).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 (line 2) “two fifth microstrip feeder” should be amended to “two fifth microstrip feeders”;
Claim 8 (lines 3-4) “the fifth microstrip feeders” should be amended to “the fifth microstrip feeder”;
Claim 14 (line 2) “two seventh microstrip feeder” should be amended to “two seventh microstrip feeders”;
Claim 15 (lines 2-3) “the seventh microstrip feeders” should be amended to “the seventh microstrip feeder”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 (lines 4-5) recites: “the second clearance slot is opened between the mapping sheet and the fifth microstrip feeder.” Previously, claim 6 (lines 4-6) recites “a second clearance slot is opened between the fifth microstrip feeder and the sixth microstrip feeder”. Therefore, the second clearance slot cannot be opened between the mapping sheet and the fifth microstrip feeder, which makes the scope of this limitation indefinite.
Claim 9 inherits the indefiniteness of claim 8 and is subsequently rejected, as well.
Claim 15 (lines 3-4) recites: “the fourth clearance slot is opened between the mapping sheet and the seventh microstrip feeder.” Previously, claim 13 (lines 3-5) recites “a fourth clearance slot is opened between the seventh microstrip feeder and the eighth microstrip feeder”. Therefore, the fourth clearance slot cannot be opened between the mapping sheet and the seventh microstrip feeder, which makes the scope of this limitation indefinite.
Claim 16 inherits the indefiniteness of claim 15 and is subsequently rejected, as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang et al. (WO 2019228339 A1, hereinafter Xiang) in view of Islam (US 8866689 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Xiang (Figs. 8-10) discloses a dual-band external antenna for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), comprising a substrate (1 in Figs. 8 and 10), a first oscillator region and a second oscillator region disposed on front and back sides of the substrate (regarding the first oscillator region and the second oscillator region, see annotated Figs. 8 and 10 in Xiang below), and a feed coaxial line (4) electrically connected to the first oscillator region and the second oscillator region, wherein:
an inner conductor (42 in Fig. 9) of the feed coaxial line is electrically connected to the first oscillator region, and an external conductor (41 in Fig. 9) of the feed coaxial line is electrically connected to the second oscillator region;
an avoidance region (311 in Fig. 8) for disposing the feed coaxial line is disposed in the second oscillator region;
the first oscillator region comprises:
a first oscillator sub-region and a second oscillator sub-region, vertically asymmetrically disposed on the front and back sides of the substrate (regarding the first oscillator sub-region and the second oscillator sub-region, see annotated Figs. 8 and 10 in Xiang below), wherein the first oscillator sub-region comprises a first microstrip feeder (21 in Fig. 8) and at least one second microstrip feeder (51 in Fig. 8); and
the second oscillator region comprises:
a third oscillator sub-region and a fourth oscillator sub-region, vertically asymmetrically disposed on the front and back sides of the substrate (regarding the third oscillator sub-region and the fourth oscillator sub-region, see annotated Figs. 8 and 10 in Xiang below), wherein the third oscillator sub-region comprises a third microstrip feeder (31 in Fig. 8) and at least one fourth microstrip feeder (61 in Fig. 8).
Xiang does not teach two ground terminals disposed on the front and back sides of the substrate, wherein the two ground terminals are respectively electrically connected to a feed terminal of the feed coaxial line.
Islam teaches (Figs. 1 and 1C; col. 8, lines 37-42) two ground terminals (120, 134 in Fig. 1) disposed on the front (top) and back (bottom) sides of a substrate (102 in Fig. 1), wherein two ground terminals are respectively electrically connected to a feed terminal of a feed coaxial line (186 in Fig. 1C) (regarding the feed terminal of the feed coaxial line, see annotated Fig. 1C in Islam below).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the antenna of Xiang by adding two ground terminals disposed on the front and back sides of the substrate, wherein the two ground terminals are respectively electrically connected to a feed terminal of the feed coaxial line. This modification would have provided electrical coupling between the antenna ground and the ground conductor of the feed coaxial line (see Islam, col. 8, lines 37-42). In addition, this modification would secure the feed coaxial line to be located within the avoidance region of the antenna, so that it does not interfere with the radiating elements of the antenna.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Xiang teaches the antenna of claim 1 as addressed above.
The modified Xiang (Fig. 8) further teaches both the first oscillator sub-region and the third oscillator sub-region are disposed on the front side of the substrate and are spaced apart along a length direction of the substrate (regarding the first oscillator sub-region and the third oscillator sub-region, see annotated Fig. 8 in Xiang above).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Xiang teaches the antenna of claim 1 as addressed above.
The modified Xiang (Fig. 10) further teaches both the second oscillator sub-region and the fourth oscillator sub-region are disposed on the back side of the substrate and are spaced apart along a length direction of the substrate (regarding the second oscillator sub-region and the fourth oscillator sub-region, see annotated Fig. 10 in Xiang above).
Claims 4-7 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Xiang as applied to claim 1 in view of Platt (US 20150244075 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Xiang teaches the antenna of claim 1 as addressed above.
The modified Xiang (Fig. 8) further teaches the first microstrip feeder and the at least one second microstrip feeder are electrically connected.
The modified Xiang does not teach the limitation wherein a first clearance slot is opened between the first microstrip feeder and the at least one second microstrip feeder.
Platt teaches (Fig. 2; [0026]) an antenna comprising microstrip feeders (112, 118, 122) and clearance slots (128, 130, 132, 134, 136, 138) between the microstrip feeders.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang so that a first clearance slot is opened between the first microstrip feeder and the at least one second microstrip feeder. This modification would help optimize the antenna performance at various frequency bands (see Platt, [0026], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Xiang teaches the antenna of claim 4 as addressed above.
The modified Xiang (Fig. 8) further teaches two second microstrip feeders (51-right, left) are provided, the two second microstrip feeders are respectively located on two sides of the first microstrip feeder, and a sum of areas of the two second microstrip feeders is smaller than a total area of the first microstrip feeder.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Xiang teaches the antenna of claim 4 as addressed above.
The modified Xiang (Fig. 10) further teaches the second oscillator sub-region comprises a fifth microstrip feeder (22) and a sixth microstrip feeder (52), the fifth microstrip feeder and the sixth microstrip feeder are electrically connected.
The modified Xiang does not teach the limitation wherein a second clearance slot is opened between the fifth microstrip feeder and the sixth microstrip feeder.
Platt teaches (Fig. 2; [0026]) an antenna comprising microstrip feeders (112, 118, 122) and clearance slots (128, 130, 132, 134, 136, 138) between the microstrip feeders.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang so that a second clearance slot is opened between the fifth microstrip feeder and the sixth microstrip feeder. This modification would help optimize the antenna performance at various frequency bands (see Platt, [0026], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Xiang teaches the antenna of claim 6 as addressed above.
The modified Xiang (Fig. 10) further teaches two fifth microstrip feeders (22, 32) and two sixth microstrip feeders (52-right, 62-right) are provided, the two sixth microstrip feeders are both located on a same side of the two fifth microstrip feeders.
Regarding claim 11, the modified Xiang teaches the antenna of claim 1 as addressed above.
The modified Xiang (Fig. 8) further teaches the third microstrip feeder and the at least one fourth microstrip feeder are electrically connected.
The modified Xiang does not teach the limitation wherein a third clearance slot is opened between the third microstrip feeder and the at least one fourth microstrip feeder.
Platt teaches (Fig. 2; [0026]) an antenna comprising microstrip feeders (112, 118, 122) and clearance slots (128, 130, 132, 134, 136, 138) between the microstrip feeders.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang so that a third clearance slot is opened between the third microstrip feeder and the at least one fourth microstrip feeder. This modification would help optimize the antenna performance at various frequency bands (see Platt, [0026], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Xiang teaches the antenna of claim 11 as addressed above.
The modified Xiang (Fig. 8) further teaches two fourth microstrip feeders (61-right, left) are provided, the two fourth microstrip feeders are respectively located on two sides of the third microstrip feeder, and a sum of areas of the two fourth microstrip feeders is smaller than a total area of the third microstrip feeder.
Regarding claim 13, the modified Xiang teaches the antenna of claim 11 as addressed above.
The modified Xiang (Fig. 10) further teaches the fourth oscillator sub-region (regarding the fourth oscillator sub-region, see annotated Fig. 10 in Xiang above) comprises a seventh microstrip feeder (32) and an eighth microstrip feeder (62), the seventh microstrip feeder and the eighth microstrip feeder are electrically connected.
The modified Xiang does not teach the limitation wherein a fourth clearance slot is opened between the seventh microstrip feeder and the eighth microstrip feeder.
Platt teaches (Fig. 2; [0026]) an antenna comprising microstrip feeders (112, 118, 122) and clearance slots (128, 130, 132, 134, 136, 138) between the microstrip feeders.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang so that a fourth clearance slot is opened between the seventh microstrip feeder and the eighth microstrip feeder. This modification would help optimize the antenna performance at various frequency bands (see Platt, [0026], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Xiang teaches the antenna of claim 13 as addressed above.
The modified Xiang (Fig. 10) further teaches wherein two seventh microstrip feeders (22, 32) and two eighth microstrip feeders (52-left, 62-left) are provided, the two eighth microstrip feeders are both located on a same side of the two seventh microstrip feeders.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Xiang as applied to claim 6 in view of Lv et al. (WO 2020029438 A1, hereinafter Lv).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Xiang teaches the antenna of claim 6 as addressed above.
The modified Xiang does not teach the limitation wherein a mapping sheet is further disposed on a side of the second oscillator sub-region away from the fifth microstrip feeders, and the second clearance slot is opened between the mapping sheet and the fifth microstrip feeder.
Lv teaches (Fig. 6) a mapping sheet (330) disposed on a side of oscillator sub-regions away from microstrip feeders (regarding oscillator sub-regions and microstrip feeders, see annotated Fig. 6 in Lv below).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang so that a mapping sheet is further disposed on a side of the second oscillator sub-region away from the fifth microstrip feeders. This modification would increase the directivity of the antenna radiation pattern as desired (see Lv, IP.com English translation of the description, p. 8, lines 1-2).
The so modified Xiang does not teach the limitation wherein the second clearance slot is opened between the mapping sheet and the fifth microstrip feeder.
Platt teaches (Fig. 2; [0026]) an antenna comprising microstrip feeders (112, 118, 122) and clearance slots (128, 130, 132, 134, 136, 138) between the microstrip feeders.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang so that the second clearance slot is opened between the mapping sheet and the fifth microstrip feeder. This modification would help optimize the antenna performance at various frequency bands (see Platt, [0026], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Xiang teaches the antenna of claim 8 as addressed above.
The modified Xiang (Fig. 10) further teaches a surface area of the fifth microstrip feeder is greater than a surface area of the sixth microstrip feeder.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Xiang as applied to claim 13 in view of Lv.
Regarding claim 15, the modified Xiang teaches the antenna of claim 13 as addressed above.
The modified Xiang does not teach the limitation wherein a mapping sheet is further disposed on a side of the fourth oscillator sub-region away from the seventh microstrip feeders, and the fourth clearance slot is opened between the mapping sheet and the seventh microstrip feeder.
Lv teaches (Fig. 6) a mapping sheet (330) disposed on a side of oscillator sub-regions away from microstrip feeders (regarding oscillator sub-regions and microstrip feeders, see annotated Fig. 6 in Lv above).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang so that a mapping sheet is further disposed on a side of the fourth oscillator sub-region away from the seventh microstrip feeders. This modification would increase the directivity of the antenna radiation pattern as desired (see Lv, IP.com English translation of the description, p. 8, lines 1-2).
The so modified Xiang does not teach the limitation wherein the fourth clearance slot is opened between the mapping sheet and the seventh microstrip feeder.
Platt teaches (Fig. 2; [0026]) an antenna comprising microstrip feeders (112, 118, 122) and clearance slots (128, 130, 132, 134, 136, 138) between the microstrip feeders.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang so that the fourth clearance slot is opened between the mapping sheet and the seventh microstrip feeder. This modification would help optimize the antenna performance at various frequency bands (see Platt, [0026], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Xiang teaches the antenna of claim 15 as addressed above.
The modified Xiang (Fig. 10) further teaches a surface area of the seventh microstrip feeder is greater than a surface area of the eighth microstrip feeder.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Xiang as applied to claim 1 in view of Richbourg (“Alfa AWUS1900 WiFi adapter review”, July 21, 2017).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, the modified Xiang teaches the antenna of claim 1.
The modified Xiang does not teach a UAV, comprising: the dual-band external antenna according to claim 1, a landing skid sleeved on the dual-band external antenna, and an arm connected to the landing skid.
However, Xiang teaches (Figs. 13-14; IP.com English translation of the description, p. 14, last paragraph) a UAV comprising an antenna (1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the antenna in the UAV taught by Xiang with the antenna according to claim 1. This modification would provide an improved antenna – e.g. with grounded and secured feed coaxial line (see examiner’s comments regarding claim 1), through which the UAV communicates with the ground control unit (see IP.com English translation of the description, p. 15, first paragraph, line 1).
The modified Xiang does not teach a landing skid sleeved on the dual-band external antenna, and an arm connected to the landing skid.
Richbourg teaches (first figure in document) a wireless communication device (wi-fi adapter) comprising external antennas, having a landing skid, sleeved on the antenna, and an arm connected to the landing skid (regarding the landing skid and the arm, see annotated first figure in Richbourg below).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Richbourg to add to the antenna of Xiang a landing skid, sleeved on the antenna, and an arm connected to the landing skid. This modification would provide both mechanical support and environmental protection of the antenna via the landing skid and would allow the antenna to be attached to the UAV via the arm.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIN STOYTCHEV STOYTCHEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/AB SALAM ALKASSIM JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845