DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/4/2025 have been fully considered.
The rejections of claims 3, 7, and 11-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims.
Claims 4 and 14 were rejected in the previous Office action under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d) for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claims upon which they depend. Applicant contends that claims 4 and 14 have been amended to address the rejection (page 7 of Applicant’s response). However, the claims have not been amended to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewritten in independent form, nor has Applicant presented a sufficient showing that the dependent claims comply with the statutory requirements. Accordingly, claims 4 and 14 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d).
Claims 1-5, 6-8, 10-14, 16-18, and 20 were rejected in the previous Office action under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Packer et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0261122 A1) [hereinafter “Packer”]. Regarding this rejection, Applicant contends the following (pages 7-8 of Applicant’s response):
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As noted in at least paragraph [0022], Packer teaches the updating includes “changing a planned path associated with the vehicle (e.g., lane change right, lane change left, change planned path of vehicle within lane, drive on shoulder, etc.).” This is further disclosed in paragraph [0050]: “The action may include slowing the vehicle 302 to yield to the agent 306, stopping the vehicle 302 to yield to the agent 306, changing lanes left, or changing lanes right.” This is illustrated in at least Figure 1, whereby the host vehicle 102 identifies parked vehicle 112 in a segment of the trajectory of the host vehicle and operational commands are adjusted to route the vehicle into a neighboring lane to avoid the parked vehicle (see also [0026]-[0028]).
Figure 1 is reproduced and annotated below:
As can be seen, that trajectory of the host vehicle is broken up into a plurality of segments illustrated as points 110 (see [0026]). Accordingly, as can be seen in Figure 1, when the parked vehicle 112 interferes with the host vehicle at a particular segment illustrated as between two consecutive lengthwise points 110, additional points of the trajectory around the segment are also adjusted to allow the vehicle to navigate around the object. As can be seen from at least [0026]-[0028] in conjunction with Figure 1, Packer does indeed disclose “based on the determining, identifying a portion of the one or more operational commands associated with the particular segment of the trajectory of the vehicle and updating the identified portion of the one or more operational commands, wherein the updating includes updating operational commands of other segments surrounding an updated segment to get the vehicle navigated to the updated segment” as claimed in claims 1 and 11.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments are found unpersuasive and the claims stand rejected as presented below in this Office action.
Applicant further argues for the allowability of all dependent claims based upon their dependency from claims 1 or 11. As claims 1 and 11 stand rejected, so too do all dependent claims as presented below in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites “identifying a portion of the one or more operational commands associated with the segment of the trajectory of the vehicle; and updating the identified portion of the one or more operational commands.”
Claim 1, from which claim 4 depends, recites, in part, “identifying a portion of the one or more operational commands associated with the particular segment of the trajectory of the vehicle and updating the identified portion of the one or more operational commands.”
As such, claim 4 fails to further limit the subject matter of claims 3 and 1, as the limitations found in claim 4 are already present in claim 1, and therefore also present in claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites “identify a portion of the one or more operational commands associated with the segment of the trajectory of the vehicle; and update the identified portion of the one or more operational commands.”
Claim 11, from which claim 14 depends, recites, in part, “identify a portion of the one or more operational commands associated with the particular segment of the trajectory of the vehicle and updating the identified portion of the one or more operational commands.”
As such, claim 14 fails to further limit the subject matter of claims 13 and 11, as the limitations found in claim 14 are already present in claim 11, and therefore also present in claim 13.
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, 10-14, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Packer et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0261122 A1) [hereinafter “Packer”].
Regarding claim 1, Packer discloses a method comprising:
generating, with at least one processor (processors 516), one or more operational commands for a vehicle, wherein the one or more operational commands are associated with segments of a trajectory of the vehicle (path polygon 104; see [0012]-[0013], [0026], [0069], and [0074]);
receiving, with the at least one processor, sensor data, the sensor data comprising locations and velocities of detected objects (see [0031]-[0033] and [0068]);
determining, with the at least one processor and based on the sensor data, that an object of the detected objects and the vehicle are projected to be proximate to a particular segment of the trajectory of the vehicle at a particular time (see [0017]-[0021] and [0034]-[0050]);
based on the determining, identifying a portion of the one or more operational commands associated with the particular segment of the trajectory of the vehicle and updating the identified portion of the one or more operational commands (see [0022], [0050], and [0062]-[0063]), wherein the updating includes updating operational commands of other segments surrounding an updated segment to get the vehicle navigated to the updated segment (see [0022], [0026]-[0028], [0050], [0062]-[0063], and Figure 1); and
executing, with a control circuit of the vehicle (system controllers 526), the one or more operational commands (see [0022], [0050], and [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 2¸ Packer further discloses determining that the object of the detected objects and the vehicle are projected to be proximate to the segment of the trajectory of the vehicle at the particular time, further comprises: generating, based on the velocity and location of the object of the detected objects, a trajectory of the object (see [0017], [0031]-[0033], and [0080]-[0081]); determining, based on the trajectory of the vehicle and the trajectory of the object, whether the object and the vehicle will be proximate to each other at the particular time (see [0017]-[0021] and [0034]-[0050]); and responsive to determining that the object and the vehicle will be proximate to each other at the particular time, identifying a segment of the trajectory of the vehicle where the trajectory will be proximate to the object (see [0017]-[0021] and [0034]-[0050] and Figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 3, Packer further discloses determining, based on the trajectory of the vehicle and a trajectory of the object, whether the object and the vehicle will be proximate to each other at the particular time further comprises: identifying, at the particular time, a segment of the trajectory of the object closest to the segment of the trajectory of the vehicle (see [0017]-[0021] and [0034]-[0050] and Figures 1-4); determining whether a distance between the segment of the trajectory of the object and the segment of the trajectory of the vehicle is below a threshold (see [0017]-[0021], [0034]-[0050], and [0082]-[0083]); and responsive to determining that the distance is below a threshold, determining that the vehicle will be proximate to the object at the particular time (see [0017]-[0021], [0034]-[0050], and [0082]-[0083]).
Regarding claim 4¸ Packer further discloses identifying a portion of the one or more operational commands associated with the segment of the trajectory of the vehicle and updating the identified portion of the one or more operational commands (see [0022], [0050], and [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 8, Packer further discloses prior to updating the one or more operational commands, the method further comprises:
modifying the speed of the vehicle to a specified magnitude (see [0062]-[0063]);
receiving updated sensor data, where the updated sensor data includes updated locations and updated velocities of detected objects (see [0050], [0068], and [0097]-[0098]); and
based on the updated sensor data, generating a corresponding probability for each object, wherein each probability indicates how likely a corresponding object is to be proximate to the trajectory of the vehicle (see [0054]-[0062] and [0097]-[0098]).
Regarding claim 10, Packer further discloses the probability decreases as a distance between the location of the vehicle and the location of the object increases (see [0080], wherein objects beyond a threshold distance are not considered a collision risk).
Regarding claim 11, Packer discloses a vehicle (vehicle 102) comprising:
one or more processors (processors 516); and
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs for execution by the one or more processors (memory 518), the one or more programs including instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
generate one or more operational commands for the vehicle, wherein the one or more operational commands are associated with segments of a trajectory of the vehicle (path polygon 104; see [0012]-[0013], [0026], [0069], and [0074]);
receive sensor data, the sensor data comprising locations and velocities of detected objects (see [0031]-[0033] and [0068]);
determine, based on the sensor data, that an object of the detected objects and the vehicle are projected to be proximate to a particular segment of the trajectory of the vehicle at a particular time (see [0017]-[0021] and [0034]-[0050]);
based on the determining, identify a portion of the one or more operational commands associated with the particular segment of the trajectory of the vehicle and updating the identified portion of the one or more operational commands (see [0022], [0050], and [0062]-[0063]), wherein the updating includes updating operational commands of other segments surrounding an updated segment to get the vehicle navigated to the updated segment (see [0022], [0026]-[0028], [0050], [0062]-[0063], and Figure 1); and
execute the one or more operational commands (see [0022], [0050], and [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 12¸ Packer further discloses determining that the object of the detected objects and the vehicle are projected to be proximate to the segment of the trajectory of the vehicle at the particular time, further comprises: generating, based on the velocity and location of the object of the detected objects, a trajectory of the object (see [0017], [0031]-[0033], and [0080]-[0081]); determining, based on the trajectory of the vehicle and the trajectory of the object, whether the object and the vehicle will be proximate to each other at the particular time (see [0017]-[0021] and [0034]-[0050]); and responsive to determining that the object and the vehicle will be proximate to each other at the particular time, identifying a segment of the trajectory of the vehicle where the trajectory will be proximate to the object (see [0017]-[0021] and [0034]-[0050] and Figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 13, Packer further discloses determining, based on the trajectory of the vehicle and a trajectory of the object, whether the object and the vehicle will be proximate to each other at the particular time further comprises: identifying, at the particular time, a segment of the trajectory of the object closest to the segment of the trajectory of the vehicle (see [0017]-[0021] and [0034]-[0050] and Figures 1-4); determining whether a distance between the segment of the trajectory of the object and the segment of the trajectory of the vehicle is below a threshold (see [0017]-[0021], [0034]-[0050], and [0082]-[0083]); and responsive to determining that the distance is below a threshold, determining that the vehicle will be proximate to the object at the particular time (see [0017]-[0021], [0034]-[0050], and [0082]-[0083]).
Regarding claim 14¸ Packer further discloses the instructions further cause the one or more processors to identify a portion of the one or more operational commands associated with the segment of the trajectory of the vehicle and update the identified portion of the one or more operational commands (see [0022], [0050], and [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 18, Packer further discloses prior to updating the one or more operational commands, the instructions further cause the one or more processors to:
modify the speed of the vehicle to a specified magnitude (see [0062]-[0063]);
receive updated sensor data, where the updated sensor data includes updated locations and updated velocities of detected objects (see [0050], [0068], and [0097]-[0098]); and
based on the updated sensor data, generate a corresponding probability for each object, wherein each probability indicates how likely a corresponding object is to be proximate to the trajectory of the vehicle (see [0054]-[0062] and [0097]-[0098]).
Regarding claim 20, Packer further discloses the probability decreases as a distance between the location of the vehicle and the location of the object increases (see [0080], wherein objects beyond a threshold distance are not considered a collision risk).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Packer in view of Kazemi et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2019/0235499 A1) [hereinafter “Kazemi”].
Regarding claim 5, Packer does not expressly teach the one or more operational commands are stored in a data structure corresponding to the segment of the trajectory of the vehicle.
Kazemi also generally teaches systems and methods for controlling an autonomous vehicle (see Abstract). Kazemi teaches the motion plan data for the vehicle to follow autonomously is stored in a data structure (see [0024]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the invention taught by Packer such that the one or more operational commands are stored in a data structure corresponding to the segment of the trajectory of the vehicle, in view of Kazemi, as Kazemi teaches storing the motion plan data in a data structure is a known manner of allowing the vehicle controller to access and execute the motion plan.
Regarding claim 15¸ the combination of Packer and Kazemi, as applied to claim 5 above, teaches the one or more operational commands are stored in a data structure corresponding to the segment of the trajectory of the vehicle (see [0024] of Kazemi and the rejection of claim 5 above).
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Packer in view of Matsuoka et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2017/0084177 A1) [hereinafter “Matsuoka”].
Regarding claim 9¸ Packer does not expressly teach the probability decreases as a time interval between the vehicle and the object being at a proximate location increases.
Matsuoka also generally teaches a system of controlling a vehicle to avoid a collision (see Abstract). Matsuoka teaches that as the time to collision increases, the probability of collision decreases (see [0067]).
As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention taught by Packer such that the probability decreases as a time interval between the vehicle and the object being at a proximate location increases, in view of Matsuoka, as Matsuoka teaches it is known that as the time of collision increases, the probability of collision decreases (see [0067]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Packer and Matsuoka, as applied to claim 9 above, teaches the probability decreases as a time interval between the vehicle and the object being at a proximate location increases (see [0067] of Matsuoka and the rejection of claim 9 above).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANSHUL SOOD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667