DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office action. In response to communications received 4/16/2026, Applicant, on 7/17/2026, amended claims 1-9 and 11. Claims 1-9 and 11-19 remain pending in this application and have been rejected below.
Response to Amendment
With respect to Applicant’s amendments, the 112 rejections are hereby removed.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments have been considered. However, the 101 rejection remains and is updated below.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments have been considered. However, the 102/103 rejection remains and is updated below.
Response to Argument
With respect to the 101 arguments, Applicant argues that the “amended claim 1 now recites additional computer-implemented operations that are neither observations nor evaluations capable of practical performance in the human mind” (See Remarks at pg. 4). Specifically, Applicant argues that the amended limitation, “track a user’s progress by automatically generating objective update data from device-detectable data collected by a remote device without users interaction” does not equate to human observation because the automated acquisition and generation of objective update data cannot practically be performed in the human mind (See Remarks at pg. 4). Applicant also argues that this amended claim limitation “recites a specific automated computer functionality for generating objective update data from device-detectable information collected by a remote device without user interaction” (See Remarks at pg. 5). However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that claims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer. The collection of user data from a remote device to update data used to observe user’s progress is a method that could be performed mentally even though the claimed procedures are “carried out in existing computers long in use, [where] no new machinery being necessary." 409 U.S at 67, 175 USPQ at 675. See also Mortgage Grader, 811 F.3d at 1324, 117 USPQ2d at 1699. The amended claims use computers as tools to perform a mental process of observing user data and progress. The claimed invention values an idea in the manner of “apply it” and therefore, fails to practically apply the judicial exception. See the updated 101 rejection below.
Also, with respect to the 101 arguments, Applicant argues step 2B, such that “the ordered combination of (i) automatically generating objective update data from device-detectable information collected without user interaction, (ii) utilizing that objectively generated update data to evaluate schedule adherence, and (iii) iteratively modifying the generated schedule based upon the automatically generated update data defines a specific adaptive computer implementation” that amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception (See Remarks at pg. 6-7). However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner first notes that the argued claimed concepts of “(i) automatically generating objective update data from device-detectable information collected without user interaction, (ii) utilizing that objectively generated update data to evaluate schedule adherence, and (iii) iteratively modifying the generated schedule based upon the automatically generated update data defines a specific adaptive computer implementation” are all instances of data collection for evaluating and updating a schedule, which do not amount to additional elements. The concepts describe a mental process of observing and evaluating user’s personal behavior. In step 2B, additional elements are evaluated, where it is determined whether they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements recited in the claims amount to generic computer components. The recitation of the Applicant’s Specification provided in the 101 rejection below is evidence to how the claimed generic computer components are well-understood, routine and conventional. See the updated 101 rejection below.
With respect to the 102/103 rejection, Applicant argues that the previously cited references fail to disclose the amended claim limitations of the independent claim (See Remarks at pgs. 8-10). However, Examiner notes that this argument is now moot, as the rejection is now rejected by Mason (United States Patent Application Publication, 2022/0415469) in view of Katz et al. (United States Patent Application, 2020/0104782, hereinafter referred to as Katz). See the updated 103 rejection below.
Continuation-in-Part
This application is a continuation-in-part (“CIP”) application of U.S. application no. 17/886,573 filed on 8/21/2022 (“Parent Application”). See MPEP §201.08. In accordance with MPEP §609.02 A. 2 and MPEP §2001.06(b) (last paragraph), the Examiner has reviewed and considered the prior art cited in the Parent Application. Also, in accordance with MPEP §2001.06(b) (last paragraph), all documents cited or considered ‘of record’ in the Parent Application are now considered cited or ‘of record’ in this application. Additionally, Applicant(s) are reminded that a listing of the information cited or ‘of record’ in the Parent Application need not be resubmitted in this application unless Applicants desire the information to be printed on a patent issuing from this application. See MPEP §609.02 A. 2. Finally, Applicants are reminded that the prosecution history of the Parent Application is relevant in this application. See e.g., Microsoft Corp. v. Multi-Tech Sys., Inc., 357 F.3d 1340, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1815, 1823 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (holding that statements made in prosecution of one patent are relevant to the scope of all sibling patents).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-patentable subject matter. The claims are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
In accordance with Step 1, it is first noted that the claimed system in claims 1-9 and method in claims 11-19 is directed to a potentially eligible category of subject matter (i.e., processes, machine etc.). Thus, Step 1 is satisfied with respect to claims 1-9 and 11-19.
In accordance with Step 2A, Prong One, claims 1-9 and 11-19, the claimed invention recites an abstract idea. Specifically, the independent claim(s) recite(s) (abstract idea recited in italics and additional elements recited in bold):
Claim 1:
A system for developing a personalized and interactive curriculum, wherein the system comprises: at least a processor; a memory communicatively connected to the at least a processor, wherein the memory contains instructions configuring the at least a processor to: receive user data from a user, wherein the user data comprises scheduling data and domain-specific data, wherein domain-specific data comprises a plurality of domain-specific datasets corresponding to a plurality of distinct user domains; generate at least a domain target corresponding to the domain-specific data; identify a plurality of sub-targets associated with the at least one domain target, the plurality of sub-targets comprising progressive milestones toward achievement of the at least one domain target; rank the plurality of sub-targets according to at least one optimization parameter to produce a ranked progression toward achievement of the at least one domain target; generate a plurality of candidate schedules by allocating the ranked plurality of sub-targets within the scheduling data according to the ranked progression toward achievement of the at least one domain target; generate a score associated with each candidate schedule of the plurality of candidate schedules as a function of the ranked plurality of sub-targets and an objective function; select an optimal user schedule from the plurality of candidate schedules as a function of the score associated with each candidate schedule of the plurality of candidate schedules; track a user’s progress by automatically generating objective update data from device-detectable data collected by a remote device without user interaction; iteratively update the optimal user schedule as a function of the user's progress; and display an updated optimal user schedule using a remote device.
Claim 11:
A method for developing a personalized and interactive curriculum, wherein the method comprises: receiving, using at least a processor, user data from a user, wherein the user data comprises scheduling data and domain-specific data, wherein domain-specific data comprises a plurality of domain-specific datasets corresponding to a plurality of distinct user domains; generating, using the at least a processor, at least a domain target corresponding the domain-specific data; identifying, using the at least a processor, a plurality of sub-targets associated with the at least one domain target, the plurality of sub-targets comprising progressive milestones toward achievement of the at least one domain target; ranking, using the at least a processor, the plurality of sub-targets according to at least one optimization parameter to produce a ranked progression toward achievement of the at least one domain target; generating, using at least a processor, a plurality of candidate schedules by allocating the ranked plurality of sub-targets within the scheduling data according to the ranked progression toward achievement of the at least one domain target; generating, using the at least a processor, a score associated with each candidate schedule of the plurality of candidate schedules as a function of the ranked plurality of sub-targets and an objective function; selecting, using at least a processor, an optimal user schedule from the plurality of candidate schedules as a function of the score associated with each candidate schedule of the plurality of candidate schedules; tracking, using at least a processor, a user’s progress by automatically generating objective update data from device-detectable data collected by a remote device without user interaction; iteratively updating, using at least a processor, the optimal user schedule as a function of the user's progress; displaying an updated optimal user schedule using the remote device.
The above-recited italicized limitations viewed as an abstract idea are certain methods of organizing
human activity (i.e., fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance,
mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal
obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing
personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)) and mental processes (i.e., concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). The claimed invention is directed to observing user data and progress to evaluate an optimal user schedule, which is a mental process of observing and evaluating user’s personal behavior. Accordingly, the claims recite mental processes and certain methods of organizing human activity.
According to Step 2A, prong two, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application
because the use of bolded additional elements for receiving/transmitting data (e.g., receive user data from a user, wherein the user data comprises scheduling data and domain-specific data, wherein domain-specific data comprises a plurality of domain-specific datasets corresponding to a plurality of distinct user domains; generate at least a domain target corresponding to the domain-specific data; tracking, using at least a processor, a user’s progress by automatically generating objective update data from device-detectable data collected by a remote device without user interaction; iteratively updating, using at least a processor, the optimal user schedule as a function of the user's progress; etc.); processing data in the form of evaluating/observing (e.g., generate at least a domain target corresponding to the domain-specific data; identify a plurality of sub-targets associated with the at least one domain target, the plurality of sub-targets comprising progressive milestones toward achievement of the at least one domain target; rank the plurality of sub-targets according to at least one optimization parameter to produce a ranked progression toward achievement of the at least one domain target; generate a plurality of candidate schedules by allocating the ranked plurality of sub-targets within the scheduling data according to the ranked progression toward achievement of the at least one domain target; generate a score associated with each candidate schedule of the plurality of candidate schedules as a function of the ranked plurality of sub-targets and an objective function; select an optimal user schedule from the plurality of candidate schedules as a function of the score associated with each candidate schedule of the plurality of candidate schedules; etc.); storing data; and displaying data (e.g., display an updated optimal user schedule using a remote device; etc.) and repeating steps is merely implementing the abstract idea steps of valuing an idea in the manner of “apply it”. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to practically apply the judicial exception because they, whether taken separately or as a whole, merely use conventional computer components or technology to receive, process, store and display data and thus do not provide an inventive concept in the claims.
In accordance with Step 2B, the claims only recite the above bold additional elements. The additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer for evaluating user data to generate an optimal schedule) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Further, as evidence of generic computer implementation and an indication that the claimed invention does not amount to significantly more, it is first noted in the Applicant’s Specification, in ¶0093, that “computer system 1000 includes a processor 1004 and a memory 1008 that communicate with each other, and with other components, via a bus 1012.Bus 1012 may include any of several types of bus structures including, but not limited to, a memory bus, a memory controller, a peripheral bus, a local bus, and any combinations thereof, using any of a variety of bus architectures. Processor 1004 may include any suitable processor, such as without limitation a processor incorporating logical circuitry for performing arithmetic and logical operations, such as an arithmetic and logic unit (ALU), which may be regulated with a state machine and directed by operational inputs from memory and/or sensors; processor 1004 may be organized according to Von Neumann and/or Harvard architecture as a non-limiting example. Processor 1004 may include, incorporate, and/or be incorporated in, without limitation, a microcontroller, microprocessor, digital signal processor (DSP), Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA), Complex Programmable Logic Device (CPLD), Graphical Processing Unit (GPU), general purpose GPU, Tensor Processing Unit (TPU), analog or mixed signal processor, Trusted Platform Module (TPM), a floating-point unit (FPU), and/or system on a chip (SoC).” As additional evidence of conventional computer implementation, it is noted in the MPEP, the courts have recognized that “receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data” (See buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network) and “storing and retrieving information in memory”, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93” (e.g. receiving user data to store as a function of progress) to be well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (See MPEP 2106.05(d)). From the interpretation of the MPEP and the Specification, one would reasonably deduce that the additional elements are merely embodies generic computers and generic computing functions.
Dependent claims 2-4 and 12-14 recite elements that narrow the metes and bounds of the abstract idea but do not provide ‘something more’. The dependent claims do not remedy these deficiencies. Specifically, the dependent claims 2-4 and 12-14 further describe the domain of data that is observed in the abstract idea of evaluating user data to generate an optimal schedule. These dependent claims do not recite any additional elements and recite mental processes and methods of organizing human activity as described above.
Dependent claims 5 and 15 recite the abstract idea in italics and additional elements in bold): wherein generating the plurality of candidate schedules comprises: receiving scheduling training data correlating domain-specific data to scheduling data; training a scheduling machine-learning model as a function of the scheduling training data, wherein the scheduling machine-learning model includes a neural network, wherein the scheduling training data further comprises at least a historical domain target input and outputs at least a plurality of candidate schedules, wherein outputting the at least a plurality of candidate schedules further comprises applying weighted values to the at least a historical domain target input and correlating the weighted values of the at least a historical datum target input to adjacent layers of at least a plurality of candidate schedules; and generating a plurality of candidate schedules as a function of the scheduling machine-learning model. Examiner notes that the abstract idea recited in these dependent claims further recites how the observed user data is received in generating a user schedule, which is a mental process of observing and evaluating user’s personal behavior. The additional elements describe the training of a scheduling machine learning model that includes a neural network. The training as claimed describes the general training process of inputting historical inputs and outputs and applying mathematical weights to those mathematical inputs and outputs. Therefore, the machine learning model, as claimed, values an idea in the manner of “apply it,” does not practically apply the abstract idea, such that the observed data is merely used as data inputs to the generic machine learning model to generate a user schedule. Further, Applicant’s Specification recites that “a "machine-learning model," as used in this disclosure, is a mathematical and/or algorithmic representation of a relationship between inputs and outputs, as generated using any machine-learning process including without limitation any process as described above and stored in memory; an input is submitted to a machine-learning model once created, which generates an output based on the relationship that was derived… As a further non-limiting example, a machine-learning model may be generated by creating an artificial neural network, such as a convolutional neural network comprising an input layer of nodes, one or more intermediate layers, and an output layer of nodes. Connections between nodes may be created via the process of "training" the network, in which elements from a training data set are applied to the input nodes, a suitable training algorithm (such as Levenberg-Marquardt, conjugate gradient, simulated annealing, or other algorithms) is then used to adjust the connections and weights between nodes in adjacent layers of the neural network to produce the desired values at the output nodes.” It is clear from Applicant’s Specification that the claimed training is performed through the use of any generic or suitable mathematical algorithm. Applicant’s disclosure fails to provide a preponderance of evidence that the training of the scheduling machine-learning model constitutes a technological improvement. Therefore, the claimed generic implementation of a machine learning model does not amount to significantly more.
Dependent claims 6, 8-9, 16 and 18-19 recite elements that narrow the metes and bounds of the abstract idea but do not provide ‘something more’. The dependent claims do not remedy these deficiencies. Dependent claims 6, 8-9, 16 and 18-19 recite the receiving and transmitting of update data for further evaluation to the user’s schedule. Therefore, the dependent claims further recite observing user data and progress to evaluate an optimal user schedule, which is a mental process of observing and evaluating user’s personal behavior.
Dependent claim 7 and 17 recite an additional element “wherein generating evaluation results comprises generating evaluation results using an evaluation machine learning model.” This claim merely recites the abstract idea being applied generically on machine learning technology. The claims are silent to what the machine learning model is or how it implements learning in the technology, such that it constitutes an improvement. Rather the claim recites that the abstract idea step of “generating evaluation results” is performed using the evaluation machine learning model. The mere implementation of abstract idea steps of valuing an idea in the manner of “apply it,” does not practically apply the abstract idea. Additionally, it is noted in Applicant’s Specification, ¶0069, that “a "machine-learning model," as used in this disclosure, is a mathematical and/or algorithmic representation of a relationship between inputs and outputs, as generated using any machine-learning process including without limitation any process as described above and stored in memory; an input is submitted to a machine-learning model once created, which generates an output based on the relationship that was derived. For instance, and without limitation, a linear regression model, generated using a linear regression algorithm, may compute a linear combination of input data using coefficients derived during machine-learning processes to calculate an output datum.” It is clear from Applicant’s Specification that the used machine learning model can be any well‐understood, routine, and conventional machine-learning process that represents a mathematical and/or algorithmic representation. With respect to Applicant’s Specification, the claimed generic implementation of a machine learning model does not amount to significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-9, 11 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mason (United States Patent Application Publication, 2022/0415469) in view of Katz et al. (United States Patent Application, 2020/0104782, hereinafter referred to as Katz).
As per Claim 1, Mason discloses a system for developing a personalized and interactive curriculum, wherein the system comprises:
at least a processor; a memory communicatively connected to the at least a processor, wherein the memory contains instructions configuring the at least a processor (Mason: ¶0168-0169); to:
receive user data from a user, wherein the user data comprises scheduling data and domain-specific data, wherein domain-specific data comprises a plurality of domain-specific datasets corresponding to a plurality of distinct user domains (Mason: ¶0040 and 0045: A multitude of user data may be received for scheduling data specific to a cohort. Also, user data may be received describing user characteristics such as health data, exercise data, age, weight, etc. See ¶0111 where the datasets are specific to a cohort. Examiner notes that Applicant’s Specification recite “domain” as an area of a user’s life, such as a health domain (See Specification, ¶0015).);
generate at least a domain target corresponding to the domain-specific data (Mason: ¶0048-0049, 0067-0068: The treatment plans are generated with desired results that are domain targets specific to the healthcare domain.);
identify a plurality of sub-targets associated with the at least one domain target, the plurality of sub-targets comprising progressive milestones toward achievement of the at least one domain target (Mason: ¶0114: The treatment plans recommended [candidate schedules] identify a plurality of characteristics that generate different desired results. See ¶0123-0124 where the characteristics associated with the exercises in a treatment plan are associated with identified thresholds according to the desired results. Examiner notes that the exercises are measured with these thresholds that measure progressive milestones toward achievement of the desired result (i.e. target).);
rank the plurality of sub-targets according to at least one optimization parameter to produce a ranked progression toward achievement of the at least one domain target (Mason: ¶0145-0147: Tracked user data against the candidate treatment plan data variables for exercises is weighted by an optimization parameter to determine the impact of the variables on the domain target. A composite score is used to rank the progression of the user data in the candidate treatment plan.);
track a user’s progress by automatically generating objective update data from device-detectable data collected by a remote device without user interaction (Mason: ¶0122: A user’s progress in the current scheduled plan, optimized from the machine learning model is tracked. See ¶0158-0160 where the remote exercise apparatus and/or device is scanned for measurement data of the user to track a user’s progress.);
track a user's progress with regard to the optimal user schedule, wherein tracking the user's progress comprises periodically scanning a user device for medical data (Mason: ¶0122: A user’s progress in the current scheduled plan, optimized from the machine learning model is tracked. See ¶0158-0160 where the exercise apparatus and/or device is scanned for measurement data of the user to track a user’s progress.);
iteratively update the optimal user schedule as a function of the user's progress (Mason: ¶0146: According to the tracking of a user’s progress and depending if a variance in the user data and cohort data is acceptable, the user’s scheduled plan is dynamically updated.); and
display an updated optimal user schedule using the remote device (Mason: See ¶0119 and Fig. 7 where the selected optimal scheduled plan is displayed on a patient interface. See ¶0081 where the patient interface is on a remote device.).
Mason does not explicitly disclose; however, Katz discloses:
f) generate a plurality of candidate schedules by allocating the ranked plurality of sub-targets within the scheduling data according to the ranked progression toward achievement of the at least one domain target; g) generate a plurality of candidate schedules by allocating the ranked plurality of sub-targets within the scheduling data according to the ranked progression toward achievement of the at least one domain target (Katz: ¶0043-0047: Candidate schedules have a list of associated activities where each activity in the schedule is subject to constraints. These activities are scored [ranked] for quality (See evaluators in ¶0029). The activities are modified to optimize the quality score that ensures progression toward achievement.);
h) select an optimal user schedule from the plurality of candidate schedules as a function of the score associated with each candidate schedule of the plurality of candidate schedules (Katz: ¶0047-0049: When the quality score is maximized, the best-scoring schedule of the candidate schedules is set as the final plan.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Mason with Katz’s composite score for comparing candidate schedules because the references are analogous/compatible, since each is directed toward features of scheduling a recommended plan for a user, and because incorporating Katz’s composite score for comparing candidate schedules in Mason would have served Mason's pursuit of dynamically including or excluding recommended scheduled plans (See Mason, ¶0051); and further obvious since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 11 recites the limitations already addressed by the rejection of claim 1; therefore, the same rejection applies.
As per Claim 5, Mason discloses the system of claim 1, wherein generating the plurality of candidate schedules comprises: receiving scheduling training data correlating domain-specific data to scheduling data (Mason: ¶0066-0068: User-specific attribute, differential and measurement data is received an used as training data to match patterns of characteristics of a user to recommend scheduled plans for desired results); training a scheduling machine-learning model as a function of the scheduling training data, wherein the scheduling machine-learning model includes a neural network (Mason: ¶0069-0070: Training data is inputted into a neural network machine learning model.), wherein the scheduling training data further comprises at least a historical domain target input and outputs at least a plurality of candidate schedules, wherein outputting the at least a plurality of candidate schedules further comprises applying weighted values to the at least a historical domain target input and correlating the weighted values of the at least a historical datum target input to adjacent layers of at least a plurality of candidate schedules (Mason: ¶0127: The one or more machine learning models may be iteratively retrained to select different features capable of enabling output optimization. The features that may be modified may include a quantity of nodes included in each layer of the machine learning models, an objective function executed at each node, a quantity of layers, various weights associated with outputs of each node, and the like. See ¶0060-0061 where the domain for the machine learning model includes historical data correlations to various initial scheduled plans.); and generating a plurality of candidate schedules as a function of the scheduling machine-learning model (Mason: ¶0049-0051: The machine learning model is trained to generate recommended scheduled plans that are optimal for the user.).
Claim 15 recites the limitations already addressed by the rejection of claim 5; therefore, the same rejection applies.
As per Claim 6, Mason discloses the system of claim 1, wherein iteratively updating the optimal user schedule comprises: determining objective update data as a function of the user's progress; generating evaluation results as a function of evaluating the objective update data; iteratively updating the optimal user schedule as a function of the evaluation results. (Mason: ¶0121-0123: A user’s progress in the current scheduled plan, optimized from the machine learning model is tracked. The tracked performance information provides updated characteristics on the users. Specifically, it is noted whether the user is ahead or behind schedule. In the evaluation of the performance results information, a machine learning model can determine an adjustment to the scheduled plan.).
Claim 16 recites the limitations already addressed by the rejection of claim 6; therefore, the same rejection applies.
As per Claim 7, Mason discloses the system of claim 6, wherein generating evaluation results comprises generating evaluation results using an evaluation machine learning model (Mason: ¶0122: Determining the patient is on track for the current scheduled plan may cause the trained machine learning model to adjust a parameter. For example, the machine learning model may optimize one or more exercises of the scheduled plan the user is performing. To further improve the performance of the user, the adjustment may be based on the next step of the scheduled plan.).
Claim 17 recites the limitations already addressed by the rejection of claim 7; therefore, the same rejection applies.
As per Claim 8, Mason discloses the system of claim 6, wherein tracking the user's progress comprises sending one or more notifications as a function of the evaluation results (Mason: ¶0146-0147: When the scheduled plan is dynamically updated with respect to a user’s performance, a message may be sent to a user’s interface.).
Claim 18 recites the limitations already addressed by the rejection of claim 8; therefore, the same rejection applies.
As per Claim 9, Mason discloses the system of claim 1, wherein tracking the user's progress comprises comparing a geographic location of the user to lesson location data (Mason: ¶0036-0037 The determined scheduled plans compare the user’s location to the exercise protocol’s location, as a measure to monitor the user’s progress.).
Claim 19 recites the limitations already addressed by the rejection of claim 9; therefore, the same rejection applies.
Claim(s) 2-4 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mason (United States Patent Application Publication, 2022/0415469) in view of Katz et al. (United States Patent Application, 2020/0104782, hereinafter referred to as Katz) in further view of Anders (United States Patent Application, 2020/0234606).
As per Claim 2, Mason in view of Katz discloses the system of claim 1.
Mason does not explicitly disclose; however, Anders discloses wherein the plurality of candidate schedules comprises a plurality of lessons related to a domain corresponding to the domain-specific data, wherein the plurality of lessons comprises online lessons (Anders: ¶0069-0071: Comparable candidates schedules are recommended according to domain-specific data. See Fig. 7 where the lessons comprise online and livestream lessons.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Mason with Anders’ candidate course plan for recommendation to a user because the references are analogous/compatible, since each is directed toward features of scheduling a recommended plan for a user, and because incorporating Anders’ candidate course plan for recommendation to a user in Mason would have served Mason's pursuit of dynamically including or excluding recommended scheduled plans (See Mason, ¶0051); and further obvious since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 12 recites the limitations already addressed by the rejection of claim 2; therefore, the same rejection applies.
As per Claim 3, Mason in view of Katz in further view of Anders discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the plurality of lessons comprises exercise lessons (Mason: See ¶0120 where the scheduled plan includes exercise sessions.).
Claim 13 recites the limitations already addressed by the rejection of claim 3; therefore, the same rejection applies.
As per Claim 4, Mason in view of Katz in further view of Anders discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the plurality of lessons comprises nutritional lessons (Mason: See ¶0120 where the scheduled plan includes nutritional regimen sessions.).
Claim 14 recites the limitations already addressed by the rejection of claim 4; therefore, the same rejection applies.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALLISON MICHELLE NEAL
Examiner
Art Unit 3625
/ALLISON M NEAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625