DETAILED ACTION
The IDS filed 10/6/2026 was received and considered.
Claims 1-27 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 19-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claims 19-27 are directed to a “machine-readable medium”. The specification does not limit the interpretation of machine-readable medium to non-transitory media (“machine-readable storage media may include, without limitation…”, specification at ¶227, further clarifying that “embodiments of the disclosure also include non-transitory, tangible machine-readable media”, specification at ¶228). Therefore, the claimed “machine-readable medium” could be interpreted as a signal, per se and thus does not necessarily within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter defined under 35 U.S.C. §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0012369 A1 to Constable et al. (Constable), in view of “Mitigating interrupt-driven attacks against enclaved execution” by Piessens.
Regarding claim 1, Constable discloses an apparatus comprising: a cache (system memory, Fig. 1) to store a plurality of instructions and data associated with a trusted execution environment (memory access request is service by the cache, ¶50; memory stores enclave code and data, Fig. 1, 134, 136); instruction processing circuitry to execute the plurality of instructions and process the data (processor executes the enclave, ¶118), the plurality of instructions to include one or more instructions with memory operands (processor decodes opcode IR, for example, ¶97, comprising operands, ¶98), wherein responsive to an interrupt or an exception (handling an asynchronous exit and enter, ¶87; event triggers AEX, enclave is suspended, ¶88), the instruction processing circuitry is to pause processing of the plurality of instructions and to execute a handler (event triggers AEX, enclave is suspended, ¶88; ERESUME invokes handler to handle an operating system signal caused by asynchronous exit and then resumes execution of the code from the enclave, ¶87); and decode circuitry (circuitry to determine one or more memory addresses to be accessed by one or more instructions to be executed by the architecturally protected enclave following an asynchronous enclave exit (AEX) event, ¶268) to partially decode a next instruction of the plurality of instructions to be processed following execution of the handler (preload instructions and data, ¶258; begins with tickling the first few instructions that are executed following the handler, ¶260) to determine if the next instruction indicates a memory access (software instruction decoder in the TEE may determine, at operation 2810, which memory addresses will be accessed by the first few TEE instructions, ¶260) and, if so, to calculate at least one corresponding memory address (determine which memory addresses will be accessed by the first few TEE instructions; tickling will be done on those memory addresses, ¶260). Constable lacks wherein the partial decode is to be performed in accordance with one or more constant time programming restrictions. However, Piessens, in an analogous art (AEX-Notify1, p. 20), teaches that it was known to implement the decoding of the next instructions as a constant-time instruction disassembler (p. 21), such that latency is constant (p. 25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Constable such that the partial decode is to be performed in accordance with one or more constant time programming restrictions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification to implement the AEX-Notify handler to achieve a constant latency, as taught by Piessens2.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is similar in scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is similar in scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected using a similar rationale, with Constable further disclosing machine-readable medium having program code stored thereon which, when executed by a machine, causes the machine to perform operations (¶242).
Claims 8, 17 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Constable and Piessens, as applied to claims 1, 10 and 19, in view of “Smashex: Smashing SGX enclaves using exceptions” by Cui et al. (Cui).
Regarding claims 8, 17 and 26, Constable, as modified, teaches saving registers within the enclave memory in a state save area (Constable, ¶62), but lacks wherein to pause processing the instruction processing circuitry is to save an instruction pointer (IP) indicating the next instruction. However, Cui, in an analogous art (asynchronous entry/exit on SGX), teaches that at an AEX, the hardware automatically stores the current instruction pointer (rip) in a state save area (p. 781, § Asynchronous Entry/Exits). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Constable such that to pause processing the instruction processing circuitry is to save an instruction pointer (IP) indicating the next instruction. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification to conform to SGX ERRESUME, as taught by Cui.
Claims 9, 18 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Constable and Piessens, as applied to claims 1, 10 and 19, in view of US 5,148,538 to Celtruda et al. (Celtruda).
Regarding claims 9, 18 and 27, Constable discloses wherein the decode circuitry comprises register identification circuitry to identify an address associated with a memory access (after AEX, the handler determines which memory addresses will be accessed based on the first view TEE instructions, ¶260), wherein information stored at the address is to be evaluated prior to execution of the next instruction (after determining memory addresses, access those memory locations, ¶260), but lacks identifying a register containing an address. However, Celtruda teaches that it was known for a cache access system to receive and decode an instruction from a processor within a computer system (col. 4, lines 29-31), where the decoded instruction provides indicators of registers containing address information to access the cache memory (col. 4, lines 33-37). Celtruda teaches that the processor uses a base register to generate a real address (col. 4, lines 39-44 and 52-55), with the benefit of shortening address generation (col. 3, lines 55-65; see also col. 6, lines 22-33). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Constable such that the decode circuitry (processor) comprises register identification circuity to identify a register containing an address associated with the memory access. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification to utilize predicted address to decrease address generation time, as taught by Celtruda.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 11 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and any rejections under 35 U.S.C. §101 are overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 2, 11 and 20, Constable, for example, teaches that the decode/tickle mitigation option determines the next instruction such that it can access/warm a portion of memory (¶260). However, the prior art – individually, or in a reasonable combination, fails to teach performing, as part of the partial decode: confirming that one or more measured variables associated with decoding of the next instruction are consistent with one or more stored variables corresponding to an instruction type of the next instruction, within the context of the claims as a whole.
Claims 3-7, 12-16 and 21-25 inherit allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200409711 A1 (Constable; Scott et al.) teaches tracking cache entries impacted by security-critical events (¶¶51-52; see also ¶68) to mitigate side-channel attacks.
US 20200004552 A1 (LIU; Fangfei et al.) teaches secure execution and memory protection with respect to a TEE.
US 20170185533 A1 (Rozas; Carlos V. et al.) teaches suspend and resume operations in SGX (¶¶38-39).
“Teesec: Pre-silicon vulnerability discovery for trusted execution environments” (Ghaniyoun, Moein, et al.) teaches hardware designs to mitigate secret leakage from secure enclaves (§1).
“SGX-Step: A practical attack framework for precise enclave execution control” (Van Bulck, Jo, Frank Piessens, and Raoul Strackx, cited on IDS filed on 10/6/2023) teaches interrupt-driven attacks in SGX (§2.2).
/Michael Simitoski/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493
August 26, 2026
1 Constable references combining the disclosure with the AEX Notify instruction set ISA to detect and prevent single-stepping and zero-stepping using an AEX Notify handler, ¶249, ¶258
2 Piessens cites “Provably secure isolation for interruptible enclaved execution on small microprocessors” (Busi, Matteo, et al.), which teaches that constant-time execution mitigates timing leakage (p. 266).